Free shipping on all orders over $39

100% Pure Organic Pomegranate SPF 20 - reviewed and recommended

May 4, 2011 Reviewed by Kim 14 Comments
Back in September I wrote a post about DeVita Solar Protective Moisturizer SPF 30 that got a lot of action. Many people responded with how much they too love this facial sunscreen.  After borrowing mine, my mom also fell in love with it, but when she went to order her own she discovered that its beautiful glass bottle dispenser had been replaced with a tube. When she called the company to find out why, they said they were having trouble with the dispenser and it was leaving too much product in the bottle. To be honest, it’s true. Just a heads up to folks who bought it, when you think you are finished, open up the bottle and you’ll find lots more inside (oh and keep the bottle turned upside down on your shelf towards the end).

Despite the bottle change, I'm still a total fan of DeVita’s super light all natural sunscreen, but I wanted to write about another truly awesome find I recently discovered, with a glass bottle all its own. As you may know, I love the ultra pure, almost edible skincare line called 100% Pure, and I just tried their Organic Pomegranate Antioxidant Hydration SPF 20 – it’s divine! Of course the sunscreen protection is not chemical based and comes from Titanium Dioxide and Zinc Oxide, which blocks the sun's harmful UVA (ultra violet aging) and UVB (ultra violet burning) rays.  And the ingredients that follow are an amazing blast of antioxidant protection.  In a base of organic aloe juice you’ll find pomegranate seed oil, white tea extract, rosemary leaf, oregano, thyme, grapefruit seed, goldenseal and cinnamon… and that’s pretty much all you’ll find!  Not a single nasty thing in there. All of these herbs are incredibly high in antioxidants. And besides slathering them onto your face, I recommend adding them to your diet. What you put inside can actually have a major effect on how well your outside reacts to the sun.

The other great thing about having such heavy hitter antioxidants in your sunscreen is that they not only protect your skin against the sun, but also against environmental damage (free radicals) such as pollution, radiation, smoke, smog, car exhaust, etc. I also love this moisturizer because it’s nice and light and rubs in easily, making it perfect for the summer. It’s slightly pricier than the online discounted prices for DeVita’s (I found it for $22.00 here). But for such fantastic ingredients I think it's worth it, and I know your skin will too.

Active Ingredients: 15% Titanium Dioxide, 10% Zinc Oxide
Inactive Ingredients: Organic Aloe Barbadensis (Aloe Juice), Punica Granatum (Pomegranate) Seed Oil, Tocopherol (Vitamin E), Organic Cera Alba (Beeswax), Organic Camelia Sinensis Leaf (White Tea) Extract, Extracts of Rosmarinus Officinalis (Rosemary) Leaf, Origanum Vulgar (Oregano), Thymus Vulgaris (Thyme), Citrus Grandis Seed (Grapefruit Seed), Origanum Vulgare Leaf (Goldenseal), Cinnamomum Zeylanicum Bark (Cinnamon)
  • October 20, 2012

    by Susan

    No, you do not need to add an additional preservative for aloe vera juice. Some forms of vitamin E act as a natural preservative.

  • September 29, 2011

    by kim

    Jennifer,

    Not sure where you purchased it, but perhaps you can return it. I would give it a shot if I were you.

    kim

  • September 29, 2011

    by Jennifer

    I ordered two bottles of the 100% Pure Healthy Skin Foundation w/ Super Fruits & SPF 20...and can't stand it! It's the Full Coverage/Satin Finish version...it just doesn't spread well at all. I've even tried thinning it out with my new favorite, facial (non tinted) sunscreen by DeVita...still no good. It feels dry on my face & just settles onto my pores, accentuating every one of them! any suggestions as to make this work for me? If not, anyone want a good deal on minutely used bottles of this?

  • August 22, 2011

    by Jennifer

    I'm still loving the DeVita..even hubby likes it! Normally he only wants spray sunscreen due to his hairy arms & legs, but the DeVita doesn't get all gooey in his hair like most lotions.

  • May 7, 2011

    by Dawn Lorraine Skincare

    I personally find the 100% Pure Organic Pomegranite Spf 20 suspect. They list aloe juice as the first ingredient, yet I dont see a preservative other than Rosemary, which is not effective against gram negative bacteria. Either they are not providing full ingredient disclosure or this product could grow bacteria and become harmful.

  • May 6, 2011

    by Oksana

    I use Devita and like it a lot. will have to try this one - it may be the HG of the sunscreens!

  • May 6, 2011

    by Ravon

    Oksana,

    I do not see any shine/sheen with the new sunscreen.

  • May 6, 2011

    by Oksana

    Ravon,
    how is the sheen/shine factor with this new sunscreen?

  • May 5, 2011

    by Elizabeth Bender

    The Pomegranate SPF is GREAT & I also love the Argan oil plus with all its great antioxidant properties! 100% Pure has a lot of grat products and now that they've partnered with alex+von their products are even easier to get through consultants like myself who can help you find exactly what you're looking for! Look me up on fb for more information, www.facebook.com/avbyelizabeth

  • May 5, 2011

    by Ravon

    You should check out 100% Pure's newest sunscreen - Argan Oil Hydration Facial Moisturizer SPF 30. It contains 24.8% zinc oxide and no titanium oxide. I've been using it for about a month now. It's cosmetically elegant, leaves little to no whitecast and with no noticeable scent. It is an excellent choice for anyone looking for a zinc oxide based facial SPF moisturizer. I also use Devita SPF30, Pratima Neem Rose SPF 30 and Osmosis Shelter SPF 29 - all terrific products in my opinion.

  • May 4, 2011

    by ha ly

    i'm using their tinted spf 20 right now. it is super light. and i think it's with all their products/bottles. it's frustrating. sometimes it'll come out and sometimes you just have to keep pumping until it spits out. i love their products though! they usually have specials on their websites.

  • May 4, 2011

    by Candy

    Kim,

    Thanks so much for the testing it out and for the quick and thorough reply, too! My winter SPF isn't going to cut it for the summer, so I'm off to order some right now, and I'll be sure to let you know how it works out:)

    A million thanks! Sunscreen is the bane of my existence, but this one may even make it a treat!

    My best,
    Candy

  • May 4, 2011

    by kim

    Hi Candy,

    Ok let me try to answer some of your questions. First off, you will definitely not experience "white face." I think it's super super light, but if I had to pick, the DeVita's might just be the slightest bit lighter when applying. But to be honest, once it dries I think the 100% Pure feels lighter. I just put each one on other side of my face. And the 100% Pure side now feels lighter.

    I wouldn't say it's matte, but it's definitely not shiny. My skin isn't oily, and I think the Devita gives me a little more of a glow or ever so slight shine (which I like). The 100% Pure, once it's rubbed in, doesn't really leave any shine.

    Both of these sunscreens are the lightest weight I've ever used. I love them both, but I'm really into the 100% Pure ingredient list at the moment. It's a winner for me.

    Hope this helps!
    Kim

  • May 4, 2011

    by Candy

    Thanks for the timely review. Not only is summer around the bend (already happened here in FL), but I've just been checking out 100% pure's site looking for a super lightweight sunscreen.

    I now you mentioned it's lightweight, but to get more specific, would you say this is one of the lightest weight sunscreens you've used (and if not what is?!!)? Also, did you experience any of the "white face" issues, and as to the finish, is it shiny, semi-shiny/semi-matte, or crossing fingers for the Holy Grail of sunscreens, matte?

Join the discussion! Leave a comment below.

My Comment

Add a comment...

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...