Free shipping on all orders over $39

100% Pure Tinted Moisturizer - reviewed and recommended

Reviewed by Kim September 10, 2009 10 Comments

Like most of us Truth-in-Agers, I am so careful and cautious about what skincare products I put on my skin. I read labels and literature. I google ingredients, and check The Environmental Working Group's searchable database of toxic ingredients. And then for some reason, when it comes to makeup I just throw all caution to the wind. I basically look for good colors and good textures. There seems to be only one qualifying question -- Does it make me look pretty? Check.

But the truth is, I know better. So when I saw the ingredients list of 100% Pure's Tinted Moisturizer ($32) -- so incredibly pure you want to eat it -- I was way too tempted not to try.  I have used a few of their bath products and LOVE them. But when it comes to makeup, can something so pure and simple really work? I had my doubts.

I should start by saying that all the pigments in their makeup come from fruit pigments. So the very first ingredients in their tinted moisturizer are pigments of peach, apricot, carrot, pomegranate, goji berry and tomato. YUM! This moisturizer is also an SPF 20 with Titanium Dioxide and Zinc Oxide. So your delicate skin is protected from the sun. And everything else in here is just super packed with antioxidants and vitamins. Things like white tea, acai oil, vitamin e and c,  and grapefruit seed.

But let's get down to what matters. How does it work? Drum roll please! I am so excited to say I love this stuff.  I am quite fair, so I have the lightest shade. And it's perfect. It glides on so smooth and easily. It's not heavy at all. And it provides just a tiny bit of coverage, enough to even out your skin and give you a little glow. If you don't like wearing makeup and prefer a natural look, this is your new favorite product. Plus it makes you feel pretty just knowing that you're treating your skin to such a nourishing and healthy delight.

Active Ingredients: 15% Titanium Dioxide 10% Zinc Oxide

Other Ingredients: May contain all or some of the following pigments: Peach, Apricot, Carrot, Pomegranate, Cocoa Bean, Goji Berry and Tomato, White Tea, Cucumber Juice, Aloe Juice, Acai Oil, Pomegranate Oil, Vitamin E (a-tocopherol), Vitamin C (ascorbyl palmitate), Rice Starch, Candelilla Wax, Extracts of Rosemary, Oregano, Thyme, Grapefruit Seed, Japanese Honeysuckle, Goldenseal and Cinnamon.

  • December 20, 2012

    by Reese

    I'm curious as to what is keeping this mixture from separating. It's a blend of pigments, oils and juices but no binders or emulsifiers? I think their ingredients declaration omits some things.

  • May 20, 2012

    by Andy B

    I would love to find a tinted moisturizer that doesn't stain my clothes. Dept store brands have failed that test. How can we non-west coasters select the correct color of 100% Pure?

  • April 26, 2011

    by Gloria

    Has anyone else tried Intellishade by Revision? It has an SPF of 45 and I got a sample from the spa and I love the way it goes on my skin. I am quite fair and the color is self adjusting and it looks very natural. I guess the ingredients aren't too bad, although I am learning quite a bit from this website on what is good and what isn't. Here is a link to check it out. i would appreciate any feedback on this product. So far I have not had any problems and it has been 1 week. I probably have another weeks worth left. Any thoughts
    http://intellishadespf45.com/faqs

  • April 26, 2011

    by Jaysie

    Since we're praising other products in this line, thought I'd add that the 100% Pure Coffee Bean eye cream is one of my staples. I use it in tandem with my more active-packed eye treatments whenever my undereye area is looking dry. Very soothing and doesn't complicate or compromise the treatments.

  • April 25, 2011

    by Susan

    I just returned from visiting the 100% Pure shop at Santana Row in San Jose. I really enjoyed the experience and was super impressed with the tinted moisturizer. I applied the primer first to the back of my hand and followed with the moisturizer. I loved the texture and look of it--far better than any department store brand I've ever tried--and I've tried the best.
    Again, thanks to TIA for making me aware of this brand.

    :-)

  • February 23, 2011

    by Vicki

    absolutely love 100% tinted moisterizer, esp. for winter in chicago, perfect spf and very moisterizing. best part, no breakouts. the tone perfectly evens out any redness. thanks for the recommendation, would have never found.

  • December 3, 2009

    by Jennifer

    I use OCM with essential oils for cleansing but I have been looking for make up that is pure. I am going to try this. Thanks!

  • September 26, 2009

    by Cheryl

    I use 100% Pure products and I love every single one of them, from the skin care to the cosmetics. I know a lot of women don't really care for the fragrance (the odor because 100% Pure uses nothing artificial) in the skin care and it's because a few of the products smell "Earthy" for lack of a better word. I really dig their products and enjoy the simplicity of the product. You simply cannot go wrong with 100% Pure.

  • September 10, 2009

    by marta

    Good question Devon. Probably I would choose 100% Pure. However, note that Abella has a higher SPF (30), so it depends how much much protection is needed.

  • September 10, 2009

    by Devon

    Martha, would you choose this one over Abella Colorshade?

Join the discussion! Leave a comment below.

My Comment

Add a comment...

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...