Free shipping on all orders over $39

Melania Trump Beauty Products

A Look at Melania Trump Skin Care

Reviewed by Marta July 20, 2016 19 Comments

"I created the Melania Skin Care Collection,” says Melania Trump on her website. Just two days ago, Melania also told us that she’d written most of her own speech for the Republican Convention — and, well, you’ve read the news. Perhaps Michelle Obama first had the idea for caviar-infused creams, too, but got too busy setting up a veg patch in the White House grounds.

All jokes aside, I must confess that Melania’s anti-aging line completely slipped by me for years. It seems that she rolled out the products in 2012, not long after The Donald launched his short-lived skin care line BioCé (gone but not forgotten).

Melania Beauty Caviar Complexe C6 is said to be a “revolutionary” line that is driven by technology. The star ingredient is caviar from a cultured sturgeon farm in the South of France. I wonder what cultured sturgeon are — perhaps they read a lot, recite poetry, opine on home décor. I wonder what a cultured sturgeon would feel like in a gold-plated, Baroque jar of cream on Melania’s vanity.

Before I even pondered caviar as an anti-aging ingredient, I remembered a recent New York Magazine article on caviar cruelty. According to How Stuff Works, “the freshest caviar is plucked from a live fish, so sturgeon are often stunned to the head and slit open while still alive.” Not a nice thing to happen to unrefined let alone cultured fish. However, there is a no-kill caviar massage technique that was developed by a German scientist. So how does Melania get her fish eggs? She doesn’t say.

If that all sounds a bit fishy, I’m even less persuaded by its Lipid Matrix Receptor. The only thing I could find out about it is that it delivers nutrients to the skin. Pretty vague. Other key ingredients in Melania Beauty include PhotoFirm Blend and opal mica — note that the only opal mica I could turn up in brief online search was a car.  

Melania admits that Donald has only tried Caviar Complexe C6 a couple of times, but she slathers young Barron with it from head to toe. Good enough for Barron? Good enough for me. So I went off to track down and purchase one of her potions.

Lord & Taylor no longer sells Melania Caviar Complex C6, having depleted inventory in a half-off sale, according to the Daily Beast. And although the line lives on as a series of glossy photos on Melania’s website, I couldn’t find it on sale anywhere. Another shuttered Trump business?

  • April 10, 2017

    by sherri

    I totally agree with by Vicky! I come here to learn about skincare products, tools for aging etc...I'm really not interested in your political opinion or your opinion about anything but beauty. I'm tempted to unsubscribe to your newsletter & to you all together. this is not the arena for politics, religion, sexual preference, race, or any other controversial subject. that kind of arguing is all over the internet. shame on you for using your beauty/aging site to shove your personal thoughts on anything else besides beauty on us. #itsnotmybusinesswhatyoubelieve

  • November 9, 2016

    by Amy

    Would love to try it

  • October 13, 2016

    by Elena

    Glossy photos, body make up and face make up. Clear beautiful skin, either you have it or you dont. Stay off the sun so you dont wrinkle quick. We all get old and wrinkly. My husband is 50 and his skin is mighty smooth clear and just plain beautiful. He uses irish spring bar. He was born with beautiful skin. Just eat healthy, take care of your skin avoiding extreme sun so you do not get skin cancer or some illness. Id say, eat fresh fruits and vegetables. Exercise for good cardiovascular health. We can put all skin care line but the truth is we all get wrinkled one day. I used well known expensive products and it never changed my looks. Just be happy with you have. If someone loves you, he loves you wrinkled or not.

  • September 29, 2016

    by Vicky

    I just recently liked on this page and was looking forward to some information about anti aging products....not a beat down on the Trumps. I certainly hope this is just a little glitch and not the norm! It's not the place for political satire or for bashing anyone!! Please keep your political opinions to yourself!

  • August 22, 2016

    by Ruth

    Wwebsite goes to trump.com. I think its a done deal...

  • August 3, 2016

    by Karen

    Imagine how many preservatives would be needed to keep fish eggs from going rancid! And my husband's allergies would prevent him from wanting to get romantic if I applied this to my skin. In fact, maybe I'd get an allergic reaction as well, causing my skin to swell up into my eyes….

  • August 2, 2016

    by Nancy

    Good timing as certainly topical . As with so many celebrities & their skincare lines thanks for checking this one also out. I often wonder ...... Well actually question when you see some of these women & flawless skin if they are actually true to their product. Be it their own or the ones they represent in advertising. I mean really does Jennifer Anniston really rely on Aveeno.
    Appreciate your investigative research Marta as come on ladies we all love the scoop on pretty faces out there ! Nothing political taken here .

  • August 1, 2016

    by david

    Are her products made in USA?

  • August 1, 2016

    by stella

    Thank you, Marta! Never reviewed the product, but had to write and tell you you have a right to joke about The Trumps, especially because you did not say anything offensive. They both lie in unison, and, yes, it does tell you something about the claims Melania does. Thank you, Marta.

  • July 23, 2016

    by Susan

    No snide politics, please! I'm so fed up with this summer of politics, so I come to TIA looking for relief ... and stumble on this "review." Ugh.

  • July 22, 2016

    by SB

    I clicked, I read, I chuckled. I felt a little ashamed. And then I chuckled again.

  • July 22, 2016

    by Ann

    Ah, more to Marta than just Matryxl! Thank you for a morning giggle.

  • July 22, 2016

    by Julie

    I don't understand the sensitivity here. There is nothing political about this article. Marta is just having a bit of fun.

  • July 22, 2016

    by Marny

    No Trump talk please.

    I'm already tired of the circus. Slathering a child in caviar creme? Good grief.

  • July 22, 2016

    by Mira

    On the other hand, I appreciate finding out about products based on flimsy or cruel origins- especially when the biggest selling point is celebrity name.

  • July 22, 2016

    by Cindy

    I, for one, enjoyed your witty commentary. So I disagree with the above comment.

  • July 22, 2016

    by KT

    I really don't appreciate the political overtone here. Many people have started businesses and failed....the key is...THEY TRIED. This is a skin care website not a view into other people's lives. It's about community and finger pointing.

  • July 22, 2016

    by Cheryl

    I agree with Kathy, even though I would personally never put caviar on my skin.

  • July 21, 2016

    by Kathy

    Don't like to see your political views show up in a skincare review, even as a joke. Many of us don't agree with you and it colors the rest of your article.

Join the discussion! Leave a comment below.

My Comment

Add a comment...

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...