Free shipping on all orders over $39

A truly natural sunscreen

Reviewed by Sunil May 21, 2011 11 Comments
True Natural Cosmetics is a new brand that is looking to take sun care to new heights. At the moment they are more of a sun care line, only offering a self tanner and a one sunscreen in two sizes, which they have labeled as the first “all natural USDA 100% Certified Biobased Sunscreen on the market.”

The company takes the ideals of natural ingredients seriously, offering packaging that is recyclable and formulas that are biodegradable. Their small but buzz worthy lineup contains no parabens, phthalates, petroleum, synthetic fragrances or dyes of any kind. We’re especially happy to see the lack of fragrance due to the concerns many have about it.

At the heart of True Naturals sunscreen is non-nano, uncoated zinc oxide which is less than likely to penetrate the skin. You might have remembered the review for Badger sunscreen which also uses non-nano, uncoated Zinc Oxide. The issue behind nanoparticled sunscreen is that some believe that it can be absorbed into the bloodstream, to be on the safe side, sunscreen companies are opting to leave that ingredient out. While you are less likely to have skin absorption, since the particles are bigger there is a chance you’ll have a work a bit harder to avoid white streaks. Along with the zinc oxide, True Natural is made up of ingredients to help your skin stay happy such as aloe vera, cocoa butter, and cupuacu butter which is great for long lasting hydration. It should also be noted that cupuacu is believed to have the ability offer some protection from UVA and UVB rays. There is also no shortage of oils; you’ll find coconut, olive, orange, and jojoba oils among the listed ingredients.

The only downside I can see is that the site claims that it takes about 1oz to cover your body and one tube holds 3oz so you’ll probably go through a whole tube by yourself on a day at the beach. However, at a decent price of $17.99, and a ingredient list that probably should be hailed more for what it doesn't have over what it does have, True Natural seems to be well worth checking out for those looking for a summer sunscreen.

Active ingredients: Non-Nano, Uncoated Zinc Oxide (17.5%).
Ingredients: Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Juice*, Beeswax*, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Cocoa Butter *, Coconut Oil *, Cupuacu (Theobroma Grandiflorum) Butter*, Deionized Water, Glycerin*, Jojoba Oil *, Lemon Oil*, Olive Oil *, Orange Oil*, p-Anisic Acid, Shea Butter* (*Certified Organic)
  • August 16, 2012

    by Sophie

    Ditto Jina! Please come out with your own sunscreen, Marta!

  • July 13, 2011

    by RaVon

    Sunil,

    Did you actually try the True Naturals sunscreen? I did and I was less than impressed. Although this product appears to be full of favorable ingredients, I really wonder if it was test-marketed prior to distribution. Regardless of the ingredients, I am not a fan of this sunscreen. The texture and feel is quite poor in my opinion. Bottomline, it is the GREASIEST sunscreen I have ever used. I wanted to remove it immediately. My entire family tried it - once - and everyone in my family refused to to use it again. I threw out a nearly-filled tube. We have also tried the Eco Body and Eco Baby, and in my opinion, these are far superior products for the body. I cannot speak to the performance of this product but from a feel and texture standpoint, I just don't get it.

  • May 25, 2011

    by Peggy

    Hi Victor.
    Thanks for providing info about your sunscreen. It's always much appreciated when someone who makes a product takes the time to respond to our concerns.
    However, I too am kind of puzzled by the choice to use phototoxic essential oils in a sunscreen. Even though I do appreciate the aromatherapeutic value of citrus oils (orange oil is one of my favorites for its sunny, mood-lifting quality), I would rather not have them in a sunscreen. As someone with very fair skin that burns earily, I'd rather not put anything on my skin that promotes burning. About the concentrations, is the total of lemon and orange together 0.4%, or is each 0.4%? I went to the link on your website about essential oils and phototoxicity, and the safe level for orange oil was listed as 0.5%, which is barely above 0.4%.
    Thanks in advance for any added info you can give about this. And I have to say, other than my reservation about the citrus oils, your sunscreen looks great.

  • May 23, 2011

    by Victor

    Hi all. Thank you Sunil for a great post on our sunscreens. Just wanted to respond to a few questions raised here. TRUE sunscreens do in fact go on completely clear - there is no white residue. All the ingredients are naturally sourced - full details on each ingredient can be found here: http://www.truenatural.com/education/our-ingredients.html.
    The zinc oxide particulars are 1000nm in size, 10x larger than the EU definition of nano-particles - most natural sunscreens use 150nm size or less.
    Finally, phototoxicity and citrus oils - we select these lemon and orange oils for their aromatherapeutic benefits and made sure that the concentrations (0.4%) are well below the International Fragrance Associations recommendations for use in the sun. Read more on this topic here: http://www.truenatural.com/education/sunscreen-education/item/205-essential-oils-and-phototoxicity.html.
    We're very excited - the sunscreens ship this week!

  • May 23, 2011

    by Bud Gillan

    Valerie,

    I have been testing all-natural Eco here in Florida with the Boca Raton lifeguards. It simply the best sunscreen I have field-tested and used. Period. It new from Australia and just getting to the US market. I am testing Eco Face / Eco Body / Eco Baby. Tell me what you think.
    Bud

    Bud's Biologicals

  • May 22, 2011

    by Jina

    Hi Marta,

    English breakfast does it all the time. I would gladly invest in what I would otherwise spend on products full of promises. Better return in $ and skin benefits.

    Regards

  • May 22, 2011

    by Marta

    Jina, genius thought! The only products I would consider are ones when I haven't yet found the right thing and sunscreen definitely qualifies. I shall start looking into it. Keep drinking that tea!

  • May 22, 2011

    by Jina

    Hi Marta

    Have you thought of producing your own TIA sunscreen. With your experience and contacts I'm sure your followers would gladly help invest in product. Just a thought I had while reading this review over my morning tea.

    Regards

  • May 21, 2011

    by Valerie

    I discovered this sunscreen this week along with another one: ecō logical Skin Care. The Eco looks great too.I will try test both

    ecō FACE spf 30

    ACTIVE INGREDIENT: Zinc Oxide 20%

    Inactive ingredients: Purified Water (Aqua), Isoamyl Laurate, Capric/Caprylic Triglyceride, Sorbitan Stearate, Sucrose Cocoate, Caprylyl Glycol, Cetearyl Alcohol, Cetearyl Glucoside, Hydroxypropyl Starch Phosphate, Polyhydroxystearic Acid, Xanthan Gum, Cucumis Sativus (Cucumber) Seed Extract*, Rosa
    Canina (Rosehips) Seed Oil*, Camellia Sinensis (Green Tea) Extract*. *Certified Organic

  • May 21, 2011

    by Jeni

    This sunscreen sounds familar to UV Natural (although I can't remember if it has nano particles or not). I wonder how much of a white cast this sunscreen leaves? I just bought BurnOut sunscreen, which gets a good review by EWG and it uses a high percentage of zinc oxide as its sun protection ingredient, but I think it does use nano particles.

  • May 21, 2011

    by JP

    Too bad lemon and orange oil are both phototoxic!

Join the discussion! Leave a comment below.

My Comment

Add a comment...

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...