Free shipping on all domestic orders over $39

Amatokin stem cell cream is challenged by standards authority

Is a Solution for:
Sagging Skin
July 10, 2008 Reviewed by Marta 8 Comments

It couldn't have happened to a nicer cream. The British Advertising Standards Authority (ASA) has rapped Amatokin on the knuckles for failing to substantiate its anti-aging claims. Good for the ASA. I thought Amatokin looked dodgy from day one.

For a start, it has a spectacularly silly origin myth for its mystery key ingredient, "polypeptide #153". It involves Russian scientists, a secret laboratory behind (Cold War-like) razor wire, and gun-toting security guards. The hilarious finishing touch to this account is the phrase "no kidding". Now that is a marketing team with a keen sense of humor. One of the scientists, according to my research, seems to reside comfortably in Switzerland. But that is by the by.

Secondly, Amatokin ($190) is made by Voss Laboratories, a company owned by Basic Research, which also makes StriVectin (a potion fronted by "doctors" who have never practiced any form of medicine).

Thirdly, it is really unlikely to work. Which, to its credit, is the point the ASA is getting at. Voss mentions trials of its key ingredients, but the ASA said that positive conclusions could not be extrapolated
to apply to the cream and that it was impossible to determine
whether the ingredients were tested in the concentrations and
quantities in which they are used in Amatokin. The company asserts that it tested the peptide on rats to demonstrate an
increase in blood flow and on mice to demonstrate stem cell activation. Skin stem cells allegedly increased 2-3 fold on the mice. On human skin, there was only a 10-minute before-and-after test. Polypetide 153 has undergone no independent trials.

Polypeptide 153 is vaguely marketed as something to do with "harnessing the power of your own stem cells". Whatever the heck it actually is, it is one of only two actives in Amatokin (although there is some yeast and soy protein). The other is the synthetic peptide (dipeptide diaminobutyroyol benzylamide diacetate) that mimics snake venom to reduce
muscular movement and, consequently, the expressions that cause wrinkles.

Ingredients in Amatokin


Water (Aqua), Neopentyl Glycol Dicaprylate/Dicaprate, Yeast Extract
(Faex), Silica, Glycerin, Hydrolyzed Soy Protein, Cetearyl Alcohol,
Tridecyl Trimellitate, Glycereth-26, Glyceryl Stearate, Cetyl Alcohol,
Dimethicone/ Divinyldimethicone/Silsesquioxane Crosspolymer, PEG-100
Stearate, Polypeptide 153, Albumen, Cetearyl Glucoside, Phenylethyl
Resorcinol, Dipeptide Diaminobutyroyol Benzylamide Diacetate,
Dimethicone, Carbomer, Mica, Titanium Dioxide, Disodium
Distyrylbiphenyl Disulfonate, Potassium Chloride, Polysorbate 20,
PEG-8, Triethanolamine, Aluminum Hydroxide, Aluminum Chloride, Aluminum
Benzoate, Disodium EDTA, Sodium Phosphate, Trisodium Phosphate,
Butylene Glycol, Phenoxyethanol, Methylparaben, Propylparaben,
Isobutylparaben, Butylparaben, Ethylparaben


Related articles


StriVectin Neck Cream and wood sealant

  • June 14, 2011

    by Junko

    Was searching, ended up here with Romira (I do remember her) ~ curious as a cat Marta if she ever sent you a potion ??

  • February 23, 2009

    by marta

    Flattery will get you everywhere. Although the nice picture is entirely the result of the talented photographer, Amy Fletcher.

    I'd be happy to try your potion. You can mail it to TIA, 241 West 36 St, NY NY 10018

  • February 23, 2009

    by Romira

    Hello Marta;

    As I type this, a 100g sample of the so-called polypeptide 153" is being sent to me from Switzerland. In fact its NOT a peptide and I think Amatokin is using that name to throw off the competition as long as they can.

    The product does indeed, according to in-vitro and in-vivo experiments emailed to me, help to delay skin stem cell death (apoptosis) as well as protect them from UV injury while at the same time promoting the growth of mesenchymal stem cells.

    It also apparently delays the aging of the skin due to its protection of the vital skin stem cells. The skin remains younger longer and looks correspondinghly better.

    I will keep you posted, although from the data I reveived so far, I fully plan to dvelop a SERUM to incorporate this active into. In fact I have already converted the present serum and updated it to accept the new ingrefient.

    And by the way, I appreciate that you don't wish to test my product, which is your right. Frankly, from your picture, I doubt you need any such products. You are very pretty and youthful looking anyhow.

  • February 19, 2009

    by Romira

    Hello again Marta.
    I suppose doing it publically will not hurt since I have nothing to hide.

    Besides, and I wish it were not so, but doing it for the web site here is almost like doing it privately.

    You have such a lovely site and user friendly. I am not sure why so few come by. I have never had any of my comments posted on other sites and in fact, banned from most after I would post a complaint about the unethical promotion of a particular product. Democracy at work.

    In any case, for you to review a product you would have to use it for a while to determine its benefits. Simply reading the ingredients and commenting on them is not quite "kosher"

    If you wish to try my "symphony" then let me know how to get it into your hands and please let me know if your site is sponsored by a specific company promoting its own products under the guise of "reviewing" products.

    Sorry if that sounds rude and suspicious. Its just that the more I get into this internet "web" the more tangled it appears to be and I would hate to be an unsuspecting participant in all of the dishonesty that appears to be going on.

  • February 18, 2009

    by marta

    Hi Rimira,
    I'd be happy to try your product, but I don't do private consultations. If I review it, it will be for the website.

  • February 18, 2009

    by Romira

    I decided to post the ingredient listings on here for you since you might think I am just a "nut-case" and simply dreaming.

    Assessing a product should be done by actually trying it on ones skin. However, one who knows how to read ingredient listings can also get a good idea of what the product can do.

    This is a formulation I had always wanted to create, except cost accountants were in the way. I am now retired and free to create the very best synergistically applied actives in the appropriate percentages (and NOT wild claims like 25% Argireline, etc.):

    My serum is made up of the following in decending order:

    Pure Aloe Vera juice from 200:1 concentrate, Hyaluronic acid (used at 30% per wt),Palmitoyl oligopeptide-Palmitoyl tetrapeptide7, Acetyl hexapeptide3, Squalane, Palmitoyl oligopeptide, Marine Collagen, Carboxymethal Beta Glucan, Pentapeptide-18, Palmitoyl tripeptide-5, Dipeptide Diaminobutiroyl Benzylamide Diacetate, Elgea Extract, Trifolium Pretenese (clover) Flower Extract, Dipalmitoyl Hydroxyproline, Superoxide Dismutase, Glycine Soya Seed Extract and Cerimide III, Saccharomyces Lysate Extract, Green Tea extract, Preservative.

    This is as beautiful and as powerful as a Wagner symphony and just as effective on the skin as the former is to the soul.

    Too bad you are not here to "hear" it. :)

  • February 18, 2009

    by Romira

    Remember me Marta?

    I doubt you will read this since the last entry was posted on july 11,2008 (7 months ago)

    In any case, my serum that I said I was going to develop, is done and in fact Dipeptide Diaminobutyroyol Benzylamide Diacetate is only one of 6 powerful peptides that I have chosen for my serum, along with other powerful supporting actives (I do NOT use anything but actives in the formulation... NO fillers) and I substitute the water phase with Pure Aloe Vera juice from a 200:1 concentrate...... my next ingredient on the ingredient list would be Hyasol-BT (Swiss Hyalauronic Acid) which I use at 30% in the formula, followed by the peptides and the glucans and collagens, etc.

    So, how do I get you a sample in a plain 1oz. bottle for you to try, since you do not have a "contact" mode on this site, and give me your opinion on it, since I truly feel that it is so far superior than all the ones everyone raves about on the internet?

    NO need to do it publicly. I truly would love to have your assesment given to me in private through my email.

    The only thing left to do is to get the packaging, which has already been ordered.

    If you happen to read this, please contact me through my email that you should have. If you don't, then its romira_myra@hotmail.com

    You have nothing to lose. :)

  • July 11, 2008

    by Jan Raza

    <p>Thanks Marta for the update, and Thank you ASA for exposing Amatokin. I am sticking with A&G Active Serum the results are great and the doctors are Americans and not former russian scientists. </p>

Join the discussion! Leave a comment below.

My Comment

Add a comment...

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...