Free shipping on all domestic orders over $39

An Uplifting Regimen for 50-Somethings

beauty regimen for 50-somethings
October 9, 2014 Reviewed by Marta 13 Comments

When I turned 50, I gave thanks for the chubby cheeks that have given me the unsophisticated look of a demented hamster. Of course, my entire previous life I would have traded them for the chiseled planes of a supermodel, but at 50 I could see that those cheek muscles were helping to hold things up. Four years later, I have come to realize that gravity is something to increasingly contend with. Luckily, I have found some solutions to sagging that are the cornerstone of this 50-something’s regimen – along with the tricky issue of exfoliation, repair and how to get back your glow. Here’s my essential four-part regimen for 50-somethings.

Exfoliation for Clear Skin

I get a lot of mail that goes along the lines of  “I’m using a daily retinol at night, an AHA cream in the morning and was wondering which vitamin C serum I could add in.” Everyone has to find what works for them, but this would be way too much exfoliation for me. My personal opinion is that however tempting it is to want to strip away the signs of age, there is such a thing as too much exfoliation and a balanced and patient approach will go a long way to getting back our glow.

The starting point is daily powered brushing. I believe that this is one of the foundations of beautiful skin since facial brushing is a most effective form of daily exfoliation that removes debris and dead cells to keep the skin clear. The trick is to combine effectiveness with a gentle touch and the key to this is to ensure that the brush head has sufficient rotations. The Ultra Clear ($86) has 1800 micro vibrations per second to whisk away the years. It can be used dry or with a cleanser that also delivers anti-aging ingredients, such as Josh Rosebrook Moisturizing Cleanser ($27) or La Vie Celeste Exfoliating Mother Of Pearl Cleanser ($40).

AHAs and Glycolic Acid for Glowing Skin

AHA and glycolic concoctions help a great deal to erase dull skin and leave a healthy glow. If you overdo it though, you can end up achieving the former but not the latter – skin is clear, but dry and papery. A good glycolic treatment a couple of times a week is, however, essential. Lumavera Glycolic Night Cream ($80) delivers noticeable exfoliating effects, but with 10% glycolic and some retinyl palmitate and vitamin C, it is not for the faint-hearted. This night treatment will even out skin tone and refine skin's texture. A gentler alternative is La Vie Celeste's Restorative Exfoliating Gel Mask ($60 in the shop), which brightens skin with a gentle but effective 5% glycolic concentration.

For a glow that doesn’t involve exfoliation, I’ve recommended to countless 50-somethings Royal Nectar Face Mask with Bee Venom ($68) – yes it’s the one with bee venom and devoted fans among the British Royals. Anyway, it leaves the skin soft, radiant and hydrated.

Peptides and Growth Factors for Wrinkle Fighting

Fifty-something skin needs a helping hand with a firm grip and skincare’s most recent breakthroughs come into their own with skin that needs some repair. Peptides and growth factors perform highly specific signaling tasks that give cells instructions to do useful things, such as produce more collagen.

Growth factor serums set about repairing wrinkles and are most notably made by ReLuma ($145), AQ Skin Solutions Active Serum ($149 in the shop) and E'shee Clinical Esthetic Cellular Repair Serum ($179 in the shop). E’shee’s FGF growth factor is also in its KI Therapy Serum ($189 in the shop) along with FAR ceramic powder, and this does a very good job of enhancing skin texture overall.

Peptides also do a splendid job of refreshing and plumping the skin. A great peptide complex appears in BRAD Essential Elixir Multipeptide ($95); when used at night, it gives your skin a lovely rested look the next day. Peptides also feature prominently in Sciote Peptide+Defense Firming Eye Creme ($65 in the shop), an eye cream that is most helpful for wrinkles and dark circles. Skinfinite Peptide Repair Serum ($69 in the shop) adds powerful antioxidants to its peptide-packed formula, which stimulates cell growth to repair wrinkles. 

Actives and Ultrasound to Stop the Sag

So back to the gravity issue. Topical treatment of sagging skin used to be confined to the realms of fantasy, but there have been a couple of breakthroughs. There are some new peptides that claim to help prevent sagging skin, most notably one marketed as ChroNoline. You will find it in Your Best Face Control ($160 in the shop), Prana SpaCeuticals Precious Fluids ($135) and a couple of products from La Vie Celeste: Extra Rich Crème ($75 in the shop) and Eclairage Restorative Serum ($98.50 in the shop). For an extra little lift for the eyes, I find that AQ Skin Solutions Eye Serum ($99 in the shop) is helpful.

The single most effective (non-invasive) lift for sagging skin in my experience so far is ultrasound. Along with plumping and wrinkle smoothing LED, this technology is found in our Truth Vitality Lux Renew ($279 in the shop) and, for firming and lifting the body, in the Ultra Renew Sculpt ($129). They are not quick fixes as they require regular (at least three times per week) and sustained use, but if you stick with the program heading well into your 50s, you will need not be accompanied by that sinking feeling.

See also:


A Beauty Routine for 60-Somethings

Beauty Essentials for 40-Somethings

A Beauty Regimen for 30-Somethings

  • June 5, 2015

    by Marta

    Hi Terri, if you can give us a product name or a bit more to go, we can try to help

  • June 4, 2015

    by Terri

    I am trying to order something for my mother she saw on one of Dr. Oz's show. She said it was like $4.95 for shipping and that's all and she told me to go under truthnaging.com but I am having trouble locating what she wants. Can you please help? thanks terri

  • October 16, 2014

    by Marta

    Hi Carla
    There is no reason why you should confine YBF Control to night. It can be used as a morning serum. The problem with layering with a retinol is that it will slow down the efficacy of the other product. Your skin will look to replace the sebum that the retinol has removed before it takes in the actives and so YBF Control will take longer to work. If you must use both then the YBF should go on first and leave as much time as you can before applying the retinol. An ideal solution would be to give up the retinol since you have dry skin and are seeing volume loss - over time it thins the skin. Regarding a C&E Ferulic replacement, I assume you mean with another C&E Ferulic? If so, there is Medik8 CE Tetra (with C and E but not ferulic) https://www.truthinaging.com/medik8-c-e-tetra or Your Best Face CE Concentrate https://www.truthinaging.com/your-best-face-advanced-ce-concentrate

  • October 14, 2014

    by Carla

    I just purchased the YBF Control and the AQ eye serum but I am a bit confused about how to integrate into my skin regimen. I'm assuming that YBF is night at the eye serum is applied twice a day. I have been using the Skin Ceuticals -Resveratrol BE and .05 retinol at night...I have a quite a bit of each product left. I'm almost at the end of my CE Ferulic which I will replace unless something else tempts me within a week. I'm also at the end of the B5 serum...it's very hydrating but I don't plan to reorder. What is the order at which I should apply these products. I'm 53 with brown skin (Kerry Washington) that is holding up well and leans towards the dry side. I have noticed some volume loss around my cheeks. It's mild but I want to get ahead of it. How do I order my night regimen and do you have a replacement (preferably less expensive) for C&E Ferulic.

  • October 9, 2014

    by Christina @ TIA

    Your wish is our command, Linda! Here is the article that we just published earlier this week:

    https://www.truthinaging.com/review/a-beauty-routine-for-60-somethings

  • October 9, 2014

    by Linda

    Why don't you do a regimen for those of us that are turning 60 very soon?

  • September 2, 2013

    by Marta

    That's a great point Terri. I just did a Top Ten for under $100 and will continue to do best of budget round ups
    http://www.truthinaging.com/review/top_ten_beauty_products_for_under_100

  • September 2, 2013

    by Terri

    It seems that for the average person on a budget, there must be a slew of wonderful, effective products on this site. I have spent a tremendous amount
    of money on products and I don't have unlimited funds to experiment with high
    end products only to find they don't work well for my skin or that they do work well but are diificult to sustain the regimen. The fifty something suggestions are great, I use several of these products myself, and as much as I would love to be able to use all the greats (But Expensive when added together) I know you give several product price points, but I think it would be fabulous if you could do a (Best of) Products for your readers/ supporters on a buget. Again, I do realize while you do give options from high to low, but I feel for those who couldn't afford more than meybe a couple of the exellent higher end products, would appreciate a write up on What works on a Buget, and only include affordable
    yet effective products in all catagories, so for those on a buget don't feel they
    are left without a skin care regimen they can afford. And everyone wants the best but can't always afford it,and adding the suggested category no one feels
    as though they are missing out. Just a suggestion.

  • April 28, 2013

    by Debra

    Marta, thanks so much for the 50-somethings regimen! I was glad to see that I'm already using some of the recommended products! I particularly like LVC & AQ products. And, I have the Ultra Renew! I'll be entering my "sixth decade" later this summer but you wouldn't know it! Thanks so much for all the product reviews and continued success!

  • April 26, 2013

    by Julie Kay

    Jen! oh, and I almost forgot... Disagreements are absolutely welcome here! Tell us what exfoliating method you prefer? I'm intrigued. ~jk

  • April 26, 2013

    by Julie Kay

    Jen! As I've told my friends, TIA was here as a blog long before the Shop was part of it. Marta and the rest of us would recommend these wonderful products and the rest of the community would holler and plead for easy access to these products; the best of them. After due diligence, Marta opened her Shop and slowly began adding the best of the best- and not only the expensive. It's been a long, well-thought-out process for those just now discovering Truth in Aging. When I'm advising women who desperately want skincare "help," I am so relieved I can direct them to a single source for their needs. I've checked prices. I'm stingy, myself, extremely, and I can say TIA will offer the best price for most everything offered here.

    This site isn't just about product reviews, either. Use the search engine. The site is vast in educational value on ingredients, possible harmful affects, and how to care for your skin. I'm so proud of having been here almost since the very beginning!

    ...just saying ~jk

  • April 26, 2013

    by Marta

    Hi Jen, thank you for your comment. The way it works here is that our community tests products and objectively reviews them. If they get a strong enough endorsement,then we consider selling them.

  • April 25, 2013

    by jen

    I love reading beauty blogs, but question how "truthful" this is when when all the recommended products are sold on this website. I disagree with your exfoliation recomendations and instead of paying those high prices people should go to their dermatologist office and get physician exclusive skincare for less money and a simplified regimen....one proven by decades of research.

Join the discussion! Leave a comment below.

My Comment

Add a comment...

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...