Free shipping on all domestic orders over $39

Anti Aging Moisturizer - ReLuma Skin Illuminating Anti-Aging Moisturizer– Reviewed and Recommended

Our Rating: 0 stars

Pros

Fragrance-free, semi-matte finish didn't cause breakouts

Cons

Not a deep moisturizer for very dry skin
March 23, 2011 Reviewed by Junko 26 Comments
A brightening moisturizer recommended for acne prone skin

Anti Aging Moisturizers are essential. For the past 10 years, my normal to oily skin has wanted to be treated like a tween. Now, that would all be fine, if my skin weren't 49!! For many years, I've used moisturizers that were specifically made for acne and break-out prone skin. I find this to be an oxymoron, since these types of moisturizers are designed to absorb moisture, not give it. As I head towards 50, I feel that my aging skin needs more moisture (plumpness) and debate whether a dry wrinkled face is better or worse, than a moist pimply one. I am periodically tempted to try non-acne type moisturizers, which end up breaking me out, but I never, never give up hope (a commonality amongst Truth In Aging members). Last month Marta offered some products for review and ReLuma's Skin Illuminating Anti-Aging Moisturizer ($85) was one of her offerings. This was a tempting moisturizer! Marta recommend ReLuma's Serum in 2008 and after reading the ingredients off the box, I've decided it's not just a moisturizer, it's a serum, and a moisturizer in one!

I've been able to use ReLuma's Skin Illuminating Anti-Aging Moisturizer for 4 weeks now without breaking-out. This alone makes it a wonderful product. It has no detectable odor, absorbs rapidly and leaves a semi-matte finish. Once absorbed you can feel just the slightest bit of moisture/protection on the surface of your skin, but that's all. It's not a moist and dewy moisturizer if this is what you want. It only took two weeks of daily use, for the color, tone and texture of my skin to be visually improved. After 4 weeks, I love this moisturizer so much that quite frankly, I don't even care what's in it, but Marta probably wouldn't publish this review if I didn't write about its' ingredients...

If you look at the ingredients, you might think I listed them backwards, but this is how they're listed on the box. Human Adipose Derived Stem Cell Conditioned Media (largest quantity first) is #1 (same in the serum and cleanser), with water last. How many times do we see water in position #1 with the actives to follow? So often, that it's almost unbelievable to see an active at the top of the list! For more information on Human Adipose Derived Stem Cell Conditioned Media, please see Marta's 2008 and 2011 serum reviews. The conditioning agents, emulsifiers and emollients in this lotion are all very mild. Jojoba oil, jojoba ester and hyaluronic acid is what turns this serum into a moisturizer. ReLuma has added an interestingly large group of protein building amino acids as well. Amino acids are essentially peptides which improve the feel and texture of the skin, while some believe that proline, glycine, leucine are able to help build collagen. There's coenzyme Q-10, which is a small molecule that can easily penetrate skin cells helping to boost skin repair and reduce free radical damage. Only 2 ingredients that some will find objectionable, the first is sodium lactate which is a buffering agent, PH balancer, exfoliant and preservative. From TIA's ingredient database I've copied this info for you: The EWG has noted concerns about cancer, but classifies it as 'not likely to be carcinogenic'. The second ingredient of concern is preservative methylisothiazolinone, as it can possibly be an irritant and neurotoxin.

If your skin needs a lot of moisture you may want to use ReLuma's serum with a heavy hitting moisturizer on top, but for my skin, ReLuma's Skin Illuminating Anti-Aging Moisturizer is a rare gem. A real value I believe at $85.00 for 1.1 fl. oz., as it contains a high concentration of the same active that's in the serum, light moisture, collagen building peptides and antioxidants...all in one! If you're put off by the high cost of the serum, give ReLuma's Moisturizer a try, and if you do, remember to share the love, post your results and thoughts here for the rest of our readers and members!

Ingredients

Human Adipose Derived Stem Cell Conditioned Media, Cetearyl Olivate, Sodium Olivate, Caprilic Capric Triglycerides, Vegetable Glycerin, Jojoba Oil, Jojoba Ester, Sodium L-Pyrrolidone Carboxylate, Sodium Lactate, L-Arginine, L-Aspartic Acid, Glycine, L-Alanine, L-Serine, L-Valine, L-Proline, L-Threonine, L-Leucine, L-Phenylamine, Silica, Vitamin E Tocopherol, Xanthan Gum, Hyaluronic Acid, Coenzyme Q-10, Methylisothiazolinone and Caprylyl Glycol, Water

Buy Me
$ 85.00
  • November 15, 2011

    by CindyC

    I am the type of consumer who reads EVERYthing I can about anti-aging products. I am 36 with minimal lines but only b/c i adhere to every little recommendation we've all read about. I've tried all the beauty lines of moisturizers and I even use Vitamin A. I have not seen anything come even close to the Vitamin Enhanced Moisturizer from Made from Earth in terms of creating a very glowing, dewy look and, when used consistently, meaning day and night, will make a BIG difference in those frown lines. I am so amazed by the Vitamin Enhanced Moisturizer that i just purchased another jar when i'm only a quarter of the way through my old one! I'm scared they may discontinue on me!!

  • September 22, 2011

    by Anna

    I'd love to try Reluma's new Advanced Facial Moisturizer.
    I am 50 and have few concerns about my skin. I know the aging process is impossible to stop.
    But also know that I can slow it down and make it less noticeable.
    I have already used ReLuma Skin Illuminating Anti-Aging Serum for a month along with the old formulation of ReLuma Moisturizer. I am quite pleased with the results. Not that I lost all the wrinkles, I wasn't expecting that, but my skin looks healthier, less red, better toned and not oily. I am thinking of purchasing the ReLuma Trio from TIA shop to follow up and to try an eye cream.

  • September 21, 2011

    by Howard

    I am very curious to compare the Advanced Facial Moisturizer and the Skin Illuminating Anti-Aging Moisturizer...especially considering I just purchased the latter (I was so impressed with the reviews and the effect of a sample of Serum on a 50 year old man's skin that I purchased the 20mL along with the 30mL Skin Anti-Aging Illuminating Moisturizer) over Labor Day.....now there is a new formulation AND 50 Ml...for less....just have to laugh

  • September 21, 2011

    by Denise Miller

    I had tried ReLuma a couple years ago as a sample. I liked it but not enough to pay the price back then. Now that I'm a little older and willing to pay for quality products (and more desparate lol), I would like to try this new ReLuma with the skin cell technology. I love the way skin care is going with so many new ways for our skin to look fresher and perhaps a little younger? Sign me up for your trial, if you have one of the new Reluma.

  • September 21, 2011

    by Justd

    I have very dry cheeks that are forming scales and it's been extremely challenging finding something that works for heavily pigmented combination skin, that doesn't create more issues or exacerbate the existing problem. I am discovering that there is a chasm of difference between non-ethnic and ethnic, combo-related skin types and it only gets wider and deeper as we age. I'm looking for a moisturizer that will help to bridge that gap and complement my face in a way that will, hopefully, finally unify it.

  • September 21, 2011

    by LIna Jacobson

    I would love to review the new version of ReLuma's moisturizer. I purchased the Skin Illuminating Serum and their Eye Serum after reading Marta's reviews, and have been very impressed with both. If their moisturizer is up to their other standards they have a winning line.

  • June 2, 2011

    by Marta

    Hi Karina
    You are absolutely right to try to find out everything you can and then make the choice that seems right for you. I just wanted to point out that we have given some background on the ReLuma stem cells and also on apple stem cells. Follow these links:
    http://truthinaging.com/ingredient-spotlight/apple-stem-cells
    http://truthinaging.com/face/stem-cells-and-human-conditioned-media
    http://truthinaging.com/face/juice-beauty-stem-cellular-repair-moisturizer-reviewed-and-recommended

  • June 2, 2011

    by Karina

    I guess this is all well and good but with a fabulous list of ingredients but I would love to know where the ingredient ' Human Adipose Derived Stem Cell Conditioned Media ' comes from. What I could find on line is that it is human derived. Frankly if this is true it's the the idea of putting someone else's tissue all over my face for beauty is kind of Yuk!

    Currently if it is stem cell therapy we are after there is the new one out of switzerland from apples. How effective it is I am not sure but I guess apple sauce on your face is better than fat or bone marrow from someone you don't know

  • May 2, 2011

    by Oksana

    Rosanna,
    I received samples from Hydropeptide - the Serum has the "updated" ingredients; most of the websites list the old composition of the serum.
    Marta reviewed Hydropeptide Serum with updated ingredients in 2009.
    I would not purchase from Amazon - not this product.

  • May 2, 2011

    by Rosanna

    Oksana - Which Hydropeptide Serum are you using? The Azure Cosmeceuticals Hydropeptide Serum that was reviewed by TIA? Or the HydroPeptide Serum in the blue bottle? May be the same, but they come in different packaging and their Amazon descriptions list different ingredients. Thank you!

  • April 29, 2011

    by Oksana

    Marta and Junko,
    I have a question - I am probably trying to compare apples to oranges here, but...
    I've tried Hydropeptide Serum and loved it! in 4 applications (one w/Aurora) I saw improved clarity and texture of skin. Amaizing, right?
    I also noticed, that Junko's results w/Reluma moisturizer were similar to that of the Hydropeptide Serum - clarity, texture, etc.
    It also sounds, like my skin is very similar to Junko's. Going into summer, both products maybe perfect for night-time hydration and treatment without the am "slick".
    my question is - what to pick?

    Marta, is it possible to remove the insane comment under Reluma moisturizer in the TIA store?

    thanks so much!

  • April 17, 2011

    by Oksana

    ty, Marta!

  • April 16, 2011

    by Marta

    Hi Oksana, ReLuma has reformulated and Junko tested the new version. ReLuma has not yet updated its website (I think it is probably waiting until the old stock is sold). We are selling the new version in the TIA shop.

  • April 16, 2011

    by Oksana

    off Invitrx website:
    Patented Human Growth factor technology infuses the skin with hydration while UVA/UVB SPF 50 provides full spectrum Ultra Violet protection against the damaging effects of sun exposure.
    what ingredient is this protection coming from?
    http://invitrxtherapeutics.squarespace.com/moisturizer/

  • April 15, 2011

    by Catrina

    Hi All...The serum has 85% of the stem cell conditioned media and the moisturizer has 45%.
    Using both will give you optimum results. There will also be a new eye cream released in a few weeks that is my new favorite! The eye cream is defiantly the cherry!

  • April 13, 2011

    by Junko

    Dennis, excellent question since Human Adipose Derived Stem Cell Conditioned Media is the first ingredient in the moisturizer along with a bevy of other quality ingredients. The moisturizer looks like a serum sundae with a couple of extra scoops of ice cream, whip cream and a cherry on top, but...I'm drawn to Marta's comment (above) where she says the serum should have the highest CONCENTRATION of Human Adipose Derived Stem Cell Conditioned Media in it, which then I'd presume is why it costs more?

  • April 12, 2011

    by Dennis

    I'm curious why the moisturizer is so much cheaper...?

  • April 12, 2011

    by Marta

    I should mention that here Junko reviewed the NEW formula for ReLuma's moisturizer. It is much improved with amino acids and no longer contains phenoxyethanol or sodium benzoate. If you see a $65 version on other websites, it is the OLD formula.

  • April 6, 2011

    by lilly

    Hi, I'm 30 and was wondering if this is still ok to use on my skin? Specifically I'm wondering about the human adipose tissue stem cell media as I've heard that some anti-aging ingredients should be saved until you really need them so your skin doesn't become conditioned to them. Any advice?

  • April 5, 2011

    by Junko

    I was so impressed with the moisturizer that I jumped in and added the serum after 3 weeks. I'm not a patient personality. The combo is impressive, smoothing out lines around my mouth, above lips and 11's. Hasn't eliminated them totally but has noticeably diminished them. I'd start with the moisturizer, use a bottle and see if it's smoothed out the lines sufficiently for you or not...for those less lined it might be all you need!

  • April 5, 2011

    by Marta

    That's a good question Rosanna. The concentration of the active should be higher in the serum. Junko, have you tried both yet?

  • April 5, 2011

    by Rosanna

    Does it make sense to use the serum and the moisturizer if the moisturizer contains similar ingredients? Or should we just try the moisturizer first?

  • March 24, 2011

    by Barbara

    How exciting, a moisturizer that does not cause breakouts! At 52, I still get pimples, mostly on my chin, if I use any moisturizer other from those for acne-prone skin, which, as you point out, don't moisturize very much. Thank goodness oily skin generally takes longer to wrinkle so at least we have that going for us but lLately my skin has been scaly and dry and lines have been developing around my lips too. I have just recently ordered the serum so will try that before investing in the moisturizer but I'm excited to try it.

  • March 23, 2011

    by Junko

    Marta * Thank you for commenting about the OLD formulation!! A LOT of online stores are selling the OLD formula with SPF in it. If anyone is shopping for the moisturizer please know that the old is out there...and it is OLD! The new formula is absolutely wonderful :)

  • March 23, 2011

    by marta

    Thank you Junko for a great review. BTW, we checked with ReLuma and the price of $65 that you found online was for the old formula that some stores are still selling. You tried the new formula and that's what's in the store (I added it when your review came in).

    However, we have put together the ReLuma Trio - buy the small serum, cleanser and moisturizer and save $55! https://truthinaging.com/store/ReLuma/ReLuma-Trio

  • March 23, 2011

    by Jan

    Sounds like exactly what I'm looking for - Junko, we're the same age and have similar skin type. Thanks for the review, I will be ordering this!

Have You Tried ReLuma Anti-Aging Moisturizer: Original Formula?

Write your own review today
Perfect Great Good Didn't Like Hated It Rate Me
TIP: Roll over me

Join the discussion! Leave a comment ReLuma Anti-Aging Moisturizer: Original Formula below.

My Comment

Add a comment... ReLuma Anti-Aging Moisturizer: Original Formula

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...