Free shipping on all domestic orders over $39

Arbonne foundation and tinted moisturizer– reviewed and recommended

Is a Solution for:
Sagging Skin, Sun Protection for Face
March 24, 2010 Reviewed by admin 22 Comments
As mentioned in Marta’s review of Arbonne’s new RE9 line,  the company also launched their brand new, full-range cosmetics line last week. They say that it uses “optilight technology”, which works to diffuse light to create a soft-touch effect while still letting the skin breathe. Their Perfecting Liquid Foundation ($40) and Sheer Finish Tinted Moisturizer with SPF 15 ($36) were my introduction to the line, and wow – I don’t even know where to begin singing their praises!

First a quick look at some of the ingredients. The active ingredient in both is sun-protecting zinc oxide. They also have a slew of anti-aging forces including polypeptides, buddleja davidii extract (which we noted in an earlier review, has wound healing phenylethanoids, antioxidant flavenoids like the powerful quercetin, and anti-inflammatory saponins) and marrubium vulgare extract, or white horehound, which also protects against UV damage. Additionally, they hold bragging rights to the anti-wrinkling sugar molecule ribose which prevents skin tissue breakdown. The tinted moisturizer also contains sodium PCA, a naturally occurring humectant which absorbs and locks in moisture from the air, and ethyl macadamiate, a plant based alternative to silicone from the fatty acid of macadamia oil. All great anti-aging and moisturizing ingredients expected from the botanically-based ethos of Arbonne.

Furthermore, tests were conducted to measure moisture and breathability, and they found that the moisture content increased 30% with the foundation and 57% with the tinted moisturizer and both were found to be as breathable as naked skin.

Now for starters, I’m not much of a tinted moisturizer OR liquid foundation gal…and that’s totally not because I have perfect skin (boy, I wish!). Rather, tinted moisturizers end up being not enough coverage, and on the other end of the spectrum, liquid foundation feels too cakey and heavy to me for everyday wear. That’s partly due to the mineral makeup craze when I switched over to powders. After finding that the powders really weren’t a great color match for my tan skin though, I was already too adapted to the light coverage to go back to liquid. Instead, I had relied on a small balmy concealer and not much else.

So, when I received both full sized products, I was a little skeptical. I decided to start off testing the tinted moisturizer. I was pleasantly surprised to find that it was a perfect mix of a light moisturizer without skimping on the coverage. The ones I’ve used in the past just felt like they wouldn’t stay in place throughout the day – not this one. It not only felt like it gave me a smoother canvas (goodbye visible pores), but it was sheer enough to give me a brighter, dewy look. Incredible.

Now with way more confidence in the products, I moved on to trying out the foundation on days when I felt I needed a little more. The foundation spread easily and didn’t feel heavy at all. In fact, it really felt as ‘light-as-air’ as the company touts. Also, happy to report that I had no breakouts from either products as I’ve experienced in the past – including the one time I broke out so bad from a drugstore liquid foundation, I had to make my very first appointment with the dermatologist. Not fun.

I can honestly say I never felt so comfortable in liquid makeup as I have with these two products from Arbonne. They have found a long term home in my makeup cabinet!

Sheer Finish Tinted Moisturizer Ingredients

Water, cyclopentasiloxane, zinc oxide, isododecane, hydrogenated polydecene, polyglyceryl-3 diisostearate, polymethylsilsesquioxance, glycerin, HDI/trimethylol hexyliactone crosspolymer, popanedial, dimethicone, hydrogenated castor oil, magnesium sulfate, ribose, avena sativa (oat) kernal extract, camellia sinesis leaf extract, alaria esculenta extract, buddleja davidii extract, thymus vulgaris (thyme) extract, marrubium vulgare extract, hexapeptide-10, tocopheryl acetate, retinyl palmitate, tetrahexyldecyl ascorbate, aminobutyric acid, caprylic/capric triglyceride, sodium hyaluronate, sodium chloride, ethylhexlglycerin, caprylyl glycol, phenoxyethanol, sodium benzoate, potassium sorbate, titanium dioxide, iron oxides.

Perfecting Liquid Foundation Ingredients

Water, cyclopentasiloxane, zinc oxide, ethyl macadamiate, glycerin, polyglyceryl-3 diisostearate, oleyl oleate, propanedial, ricinus communis (castor) seed oil, polyglyceral-3 polyricinoleate, magnesium sulfate, zinc stearate, ribose, hydrogenated castor oil, camellia sinesis leaf extract, buddleja davidii extract, thymus vulgaris (thyme) extract, marrubium vulgare extract, hexapeptide-10,glyceryl dibehenate, tribehenin, glyceryl behenate, tocopheryl acetate, retinyl palmitate, tetrahexyldecyl ascorbate, bisabolol, sodium PCA, sodium chloride, ethylhexylglycerin, caprylyl glycol, phenoxyethanol, sodium benzoate, potassium sorbate, titanium dioxide, iron oxides
  • June 1, 2010

    by Nancy Quinn

    I just have to say that even though I am an Arbonne Consultant I was never able to wear the foundations before the new product line now I almost feel like I want to wear the liquid foundation daily as I get so many compliments on how even my skin looks and beautiful it is ... gotta love that !!

  • June 1, 2010

    by Jen

    Kathy -- I had the same problem with my foundation pump. Don't know if you've already called, but I was able to call their 800 # and they replaced my bottle no questions asked. They do seem to be good about customer service if there is an issue with pumps!

  • May 28, 2010

    by Kathy

    The only thing that I can say that is BAD about the Arbonne Perfecting Liquid Foundation is that the pumps do not work well, and the foundation seems to leak through the pump into the inside of the bottle. I have had 3 bottles and all 3 have pumping issues (they stop working) and all leak - this will always keep me from purchasing any more.

  • May 9, 2010

    by Lovella

    Love the whole line of Arbonne cosmetics. The new RE9 line is amazing with light technology. I use mineral foundation with ne wlight technology. Love the new stuff!

  • May 4, 2010

    by Shyema

    Jean – sorry it took a while to get back to you, I was checking with Arbonne people on this. This is what they said re: oil in the tinted moisturizer: “There is in fact a touch of oil in the formula. It’s recommended for all skin types, but for oily skin, can be supplemented with the FC5 Mattifying Powder – to promote a more matte finish.

    About FC5 Mattifying Powder:

    Translucent, oil-absorbing powder discreetly minimizes unwanted shine while reducing the appearance of redness for a fresh, matte finish. Dusts on lightly over or under moisturizer or makeup. $25.”

  • April 30, 2010

    by Ellie Kleinman

    Shyema, Thanks for your helpful reviews. This is my first perusal of your site. I am sorry to hear about the sales pitch problem. I will be sure to remind my team not to use sites such as yours as a sales vehicle. We sure appreciate your unbiased third-party opinion of the products. Since so many of them are new, we are all learning about them too. Thanks so much! Ellie

  • April 20, 2010

    by Shyema

    Hi Deborah! I used it in “medium beige.” It’s such a great base for me. It’s a nice warm color! If you’re naturally lighter skinned, “Warm Beige” might be going too dark, I think.

  • April 20, 2010

    by Jean

    Can someone with oily skin use the tinted moisturizer? Is there too much oil in it? Is it oil free?

  • April 11, 2010

    by Deborah

    Thanks for the review – can you tell me what color tinted moisturizer you used? I would like to get one for “tanned” skin color, hoping I’ll spend less time in the sun actually tanning! I’m leaning toward Warm Beige but I’m not sure if that’s going to work.

  • April 7, 2010

    by Nadine

    Thank you, Marta/TIA. Your reviews are very valuable as an objective third-party that we can refer people to learn more about Arbonne and their products.

  • April 6, 2010

    by Rebecca West

    Thank you Marta for your honest feedback on Arbonne’s products. I’m a VP with the company… please accept our apologies for any consultants that used the comment section for a “sales pitch.” I assure you those that did DO NOT represent Arbonne consultants as a whole. Can you please comment again with each new review that consumers are welcome to go to http://www.arbonne.com and locate a consultant near them if they would like to purchase the products you are recommending. We will make sure to spread the word that no consultant is allowed to solicit on your site. Thank you again for your impartial review and we are so pleased you love the products as much as we do!!

  • April 5, 2010

    by Anne Morris

    Sorry for the bad manners of some Arbonne consultants. I will certainly spread the word that their lack of tact may affect Arbonne products being reviewed by TIA. Love to visit your website and appreciate your reviews and humor!

  • April 4, 2010

    by Cortney

    Thank you for your input on the new products. It is always nice to hear what non-reps have to say about the products! Do you have any reviews on other Arbonne products? Sorry about any ill-mannered consultants, as one, I appreciate the genuine feed back from third party so hopefully they do not ruin it for the rest of us.

  • March 30, 2010

    by Julie

    Hi Marta, Just a quick thank you for reviewing Arbonne’s products. Your “third party” opinion is valuable to me and I enjoy your comparison and thoughts. I am disappointed that you have been having a negative experience with many consultants, and I hope you won’t let the poor manners and lack of etiquette discourage you from your reviews that are beneficial and appreciated by many. I hope this finds your day improving! :)

  • March 30, 2010

    by Sarah

    Thanks for a great review. I’ve wondered about tinted moisturizers and now will give this one a go (especially with the guarantee) and see how it works out! Glad I found your site. With summer coming, I’d prefer “light-as-air” to cakey, heavy make-up! Thanks!

  • March 30, 2010

    by marta

    This is a second message to Arbonne reps. And there is no third strike! I am spending an inordinate amount of time deleting scores of messages from you. This is not a free bulletin board where you get to bombard the TIA community with sales pitches. You are wasting your time as you are all being marked as spam. But as you are wasting my time too, not to mention playing havoc with my normally calm and sunny disposition, if you continue to try to leave messages on this site I will remove all posts on Arbonne and we not cover the brand or any of its products in the future.

  • March 25, 2010

    by marta

    Ha, Arbonne only sells through its own network of direct sales reps and its website so we can’t get the range for our shop.

  • March 24, 2010

    by ha

    Any plans to have this in Tia store? :D

  • March 24, 2010

    by JulieK

    Arbonne also offers loose mineral foundation- my hair stylist uses it; she’s a classy chick and always looks fresh as a daisy. I looked into trying them once and decided it was over my price point. I’m surprised, in a very pleased way, at the affordable prices of these new liquid cosmetics. I have built this (quite subjective) select image of Arbonne and hope it works out for you, Junko! ~jk

  • March 24, 2010

    by Junko

    Thank you for that Marta. I somehow was thinking that Inner Light had a tint. I’ll be reading back thru the reviews & ingred. lists before I make final purchase(s). Perhaps I’ll have to try them both :)

  • March 24, 2010

    by marta

    Junko, don’t forget that Inner Light has no tint at all (which is fine by me, but would have to be used with tinted moisturizer or foundation if some color is preferred_

  • March 24, 2010

    by Junko

    Sounds like these could replace a couple in the current Best Five Anti-aging Foundation list? I’ll be trying liquid after I use up my powders. I’ll be difficult to choose between Arbonne and Inner Light (which reviewed with stars too).

Join the discussion! Leave a comment below.

My Comment

Add a comment...

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...