Free shipping on all orders over $39

Avon Reversalist's power duo with a new take on anti-aging

Is a Solution for:
Sagging Skin
Reviewed by Marta October 14, 2009 13 Comments
Avon's latest products, Anew Reversalist Serum ($39) and Night Cream ($27), are the result of the company's research into aging. I wrote about Avon's anti-aging breakthrough in my report on visiting the Avon research labs, so will just summarize it here:

After reviewing 30,000 genomes, the Avon team discovered that there is a key molecule that is responsible for skin repair and is called activin. As we age, the IGF1 growth protein that stimulates activin declines. Having worked that out, they set about creating an active, which Avon is calling Activinol, to do the job of IGF1.

Activinol is basically two plant extracts, sesbania grandiflora and amorphophallus capanulatus. To be honest, I haven't been able to find out much about either of them. Sesbania has been studied in India as an antioxidant and amorphophallus seeds contain antioxidant flavenoids although mostly it seems to function as an antibacterial. Reinforcements are provided by antioxidant pomegranate, a rich source of conjugated fatty acids (of which punicic acid is the most common) and polyphenol compounds (such as anthocynidins and the powerful, miraculous ellagic acid) that lend the fruit potent antioxidant, anti-inflammatory and free radical scavenging abilities – higher than that of green tea and red wine.

There are several other of Avon's tried and trusted ingredients, such as thiodipropionic acid, an antioxidant (although it is most commonly used for preserving food), while thiazolylalanine is a synthetic amino acid and phytol is a precursor to vitamin A and E. Another ingredient that Avon frequently uses is palmitoyl lysyl aminovaleroyl lysine. I am not all sure what it is, but I'll take a stab at it being a synthetic peptide derived from palm.

There are a bunch of silicones, unremarkable emollients and phenoxyethanol (a neurotoxin and irritant) and a paraben (a xenoestrogen and irritant). On the whole though, this is cosmetic high tech at a keen price. According to Avon's own research, women testers saw a 25% reduction in the appearance of wrinkles in two weeks and a "dramatic" reduction in four weeks.

Ingredients in Night Renewal Cream:

Water/eau, dimethicone, cyclopentasiloxane, glycerin, ethylhexyl isononanoate, ethylhexyl salicylate, glycolic acid, dimethicone crosspolymer, hydrogenated polyisobutene, peg/ppg-19/19 dimethicone, polymethyl methacrylate, phytol, thiodipropionic acid, thiazolylalanine, sesbania grandiflora flower extract, amorphophallus campanulatus rhizome/root extract, punica granatum fruit juice, palmitoyl lysyl aminovaleroyl lysine, agarose, dimethiconol, butylene glycol, carbomer, ammonium hydroxide, sodium chloride, parfum/fragrance, phenoxyethanol, disodium edta, methylparaben

Ingredients in Renewal Serum:

Water/eau, cyclopentasiloxane, dimethicone, silica dimethicone/divinyldimethicone/silsesquioxane crosspolymer, butylene glycol, glycolic acid, cetyl peg/ppg-10/1 dimethicone, thiodipropionic acid, hiazolylalanine, sesbania grandiflora flower extract, amorphophallus, campanulatus rhizome/root extract, punica granatum fruit juice, palmitoyl lysyl aminovaleroyl lysine, boron nitride, glycerin, isohexadecane, cetearyl alcohol, peg-30 dipolyhydroxystearate, tocopheryl acetate, ammonium, polyacryloyldimethyl taurate, lauryl peg-9 polydimethylsiloxyethyl dimethicone, triethoxycaprylylsilane, tocopherol, polysorbate 80, polysorbate 20, ammonium hydroxide, magnesium sulfate, parfum/fragrance, chlorphenesin

sodium dehydroacetate, disodium edta, phenoxyethanol, titanium dioxide/ci 77891iron oxides
  • January 23, 2010

    by Dee Leggett

    I am an Avon Representative and a professional make-up artist. I have also had Master Esthetician training. Reversalist is designed to help build new skin and smooth out wrinkles. Because of the glycolic acid it will also help those with uneven skin tone and dark spots. If you want to firm your skin I recommend the Anew Derma-full X3 serum paired with Anew Thermafirm.

    For more information about getting the right Avon product for your needs, write me at leggett.dee@gmail.com
    I can do a proper analysis and recommend products you won't have to return or throw away. Tell me you found me here in the subject line!

    My website is still under construction, but please stop by!

  • November 22, 2009

    by patrice podvoj

    I am still doing the 'trial' run of reversalist which I will have completed 5 weeks of nightly use on Dec 7. Somehow I had 11/18 on my brain but don't know what I was thinking because I only received it Nov 2nd. It does apply beautifully with no sticky feel and good absorption, but have not noticed anything significant in firming or lift. I see where it is part of a duo so perhaps my purpose is to discover if it works as a single item.

  • November 3, 2009

    by Heather Dixon

    Patrice

    I am an Avon Representative who using the Reveralist duo and it is a fabulous product!!

    If you want more information about the duo please send me an e-mail at avon4u.heatherdixon@gmail.com and I will help you out with any questions.

    Thanks,
    Heather
    Unit Leader
    Avon Independent Representative

  • October 27, 2009

    by Mona

    I tried the 99 cents trial of reversalist night cream, and enjoyed the results very much. Actually, I am 44 and still prone to acne breakouts, for which I must use Proactiv. Anything else, my skin erupts. While using the trial, I stopped the Proactiv and had NO breakouts, and my skin felt so smooth. I bought the duo now, and am very pleased with the two products, and highly recommend!

  • October 21, 2009

    by patrice

    I am presently using Regenerist (almost finished jar); Obagi eye firmer (90$) and Nectifirm ($64). I've not really seen much lift effect in the Regenerist. And am still in the beginnings of the other two. I am 68 and want to have great skin w/o a face lift as I venture further and further into the aging abyss.

  • October 21, 2009

    by Heather Dixon

    I am 40 and just started selling Avon 4 months ago. I feel fortunate to be able to use the Reveralist Duo!! I LOVE IT!!!

    If anyone has any more questions regarding this product. Please let me know.

  • October 15, 2009

    by C Scanlon

    Hi, I'm 56 and certainly have all the requisite skin issues with aging. It would be fun to participate. I am an RN and I appreciate the whole science emphasis that Avon is using... I hope it's not just marketing and bonus if it really works. I'd prefer to try the serum. Thanks for your informative website.

  • October 15, 2009

    by Joan

    I started selling Avon when I was just 18 years old. Since that time I have sold skincare products in Bloomies,Macys etc. When I read this article my curiosity got the better of me. Back when I sold Avon I had met their spokeswoman/model Sunny Griffin. Its been a long time since-I am now 57!!!!

  • October 14, 2009

    by hogan

    I am also a willing subject :)

    The name & packaging reminds of Olay's Pro X...
    Mary

  • October 14, 2009

    by Teresa

    I am a cream junkie. I have been wanting to try Avon and have just run out of the Vichy cream I have been using. So now would be a perfect time to try Avon. I will write a honest and detail report back to you and any blogs you would agree would want this type of report.

  • October 14, 2009

    by m handakas

    I just turned 50 and am freaking out about looking old. There are the usual crows' feet, but now I'm getting jowls and there are permanent indentations on either side of my mouth. It would be great to try something that would lift my spirits (and my jowls!) a bit.

  • October 14, 2009

    by Dee Nelson

    Hi Marta & Co,
    I have zero skin-care budget at the moment, and am using up the leftovers, none of which are helping with the general congestion and lack of tone I'm seeing. I'm hoping that the Reversalist might, well, Reverse the trend -- And as always, I'd be happy to write a review. I guess I'd give a slight edge to the serum in terms of preference, but would be happy with either. Thanks so much!

  • October 14, 2009

    by jc ross

    I have tried everything.....i am 48-female- and my skin is okay but it is sagging at my chin which ages me and i have forehead lines.I am peromenopausal which does not help but fast forward the aging process.I would love to try to serum or cream and report how well my skin reacts in a month. I would greatly appreciate this opportunity. I am very desperate to try something that actually works and is not all hype.
    Thank you for your consideration.

Join the discussion! Leave a comment below.

My Comment

Add a comment...

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...