Free shipping on all domestic orders over $39

Beat Winter Redness

winter skin care
January 27, 2015 Reviewed by Christina 15 Comments

Our poor skin has a lot to contend with during the winter — frigid temperatures, harsh wind, loss of humidity and indoor heating, just to name a few. The result can be not only the expected dry skin, but also redness and blotchiness. To help combat winter redness, you'll need skin care products that cleanse gently, moisturize, exfoliate, calm irritated skin, and repair damage. Your best bets will be products with nourishing, natural ingredients that rejuvenate skin, boost collagen and stimulate cell renewal. Here are some of our recommended products to banish blotchy winter skin and restore a healthy complexion.

And by the way, don't forget to use sunscreen to protect your skin — yes, even in the winter.

Products That Fight Redness

Cleansers

Red Flower Lymphatic Phytopower Sea Cleanser and Masque ($42) is a light, creamy facial wash that cleanses the skin without drying. It does double duty as a face mask boosted with marine antioxidants and anti-aging ingredients.

Blissoma Fresh Mild Rice Facial Cleanser ($31.99) is a non-soap, daily cream face wash that uses natural grain fiber and B vitamins to remove dirt and energize skin. It contains willowbark extract to gently exfoliate and emollient organic oils to moisturize.

Serums

Medik8 Red Alert Serum ($60 in the shop) provides relief for redness and flare-ups caused by skin hypersensitivity, irritation and erythema. This extremely targeted formula has just one active ingredient — teprenone — that is cutting edge and remains quite rare. It claims to mend broken veins and calm rosacea.

E'shee Cellular Repair Serum ($179 in the shop) is hugely beneficial for rosacea, broken veins and deep wrinkles. The key active is the cutting-edge FGF 1 (a Recombinant Human acidic Fibroblast Growth Factor), which is a powerful ingredient to rejuvenate damaged or aging skin by boosting collagen production. The ingredient horse chestnut is the repair for broken capillaries.

Blissoma Smooth A+ Perfecting Serum ($25.99) is certified vegan and has no silicones or fillers that can clog pores. The serum contains 4% niacinamide, anti-inflammatory herbs and vitamin A to treat and prevent acne breakouts, cleanse and calm pores, soothe rosacea and reduce hyperpigmentation on damaged or irritated skin.

Moisturizers

Prana Reishi Mushroom Shield ($42 in the shop) is a nourishing, lightweight day moisturizer that provides a sufficient layer of protection in dry cold weather. It has SPF 45 derived from organic plant stem cell mushrooms and micronized zinc — ingredients that are designed to block UVA/UVB rays while reducing redness and inflammation.

Elizabeth Dehn for One Love Organics Active Moisture Time Release Vitamin D Moisture Mist ($39) is one of the few cosmetic products with vitamin D, which is especially beneficial during this time of the year. This aromatic spray provides lasting hydration for the face, neck and décolletage. Alpine rose extract helps to increase skin's resistance to environmental stressors and dryness; shiitake mushroom soothes irritation and redness.

Sevani Advanced Complexion Corrector ($39 in the shop) is formulated to calm redness, rosacea and other skin irritations. It is a light spray, so there is no need to slather on yet another cream. This complexion-correcting mist improves skin's texture over time with natural exfoliants and nourishing ingredients, such as niacinimide, licorice root, panthenol and green and white teas.

Masks

Astara Golden Flame Hydration Mask ($46) hydrates and calms dry and weathered-damaged skin. It has cucumber extract and aloe vera, which relieve dry, irritated tissue, and sodium hyaluronate, which holds moisture in cells. Recommended for sensitive and dry skin-types, as well as for rosacea, this mask is refreshing, soothing and anti-inflammatory.

suki transformative purifying masque ($48.95) is a multi-tasking clay that doubles as a mask and and overnight treatment. It helps to clear pores and reduce blemishes, balancing your complexion, while it calms and soothes irritated skin and redness with ingredients such as white willow salicins, kaolin clay, glycerin, calendula, witch hazel and seaweed.

Note: This article was last updated on January 27, 2015.

  • January 27, 2015

    by Aubrey

    I would love to try the Medik8 Redness Corrector. I've got the typical Irish fair skin and rosy cheeks, which are getting rosier with age. They flare up when my skin gets dry or irritated, but even when they are at their calmest, some permanent broken capillaries remain. I slather moisturizer on all the time but I could use some help that's more targeted than that!

  • January 27, 2015

    by Tiffany

    I would love the chance to try the Medik8 Redness Correcter. I tend to have a general pinkiness/flush to my skin that I'm not fond of, in addition to redness associated with a pimple here and there. Redness was the main reason for my wearing makeup, which I've since fallen out of the habit of wearing every day. But I would LOVE a product like this which both treats the redness and has some color correction to help me look a little more polished without having to apply makeup. I am very intrigued by the inclusion of green pigments in this formula to immediately correct skin tone.

  • January 27, 2015

    by Julie

    Hi - would love to try the Medik8Redness Corrector. I have uber sensitive skin and am always in pursuit of a calming product that will undo the elements caused by cold and dry conditions in an office environment. Medik8 has such glowing reports on all their products that this could be the holy grail for calming my irritated skin. Would love to give it a chance. Thanks for your consideration.

  • February 5, 2014

    by Lorna

    Hi,
    If it's not too late I'd love to be considered for the "Dare To Try" E'shee Serum Hydra Gold. I think the current condition of my skin could give this product a serious workout.
    I spent a couple of days in hospital, starting the Sunday before Christmas, after a dramatic reaction to a new migraine medication interacting with another medicine I'd been prescribed. I was diagnosed with Serotonin Syndrome (not pleasant!) and one of the many symptoms was a complete inability to sleep. I went from Sunday morning to Thursday night with no sleep whatsoever. If you've ever wondered what your body is doing while you are sleeping I can tell you a major process is the regeneration of your skin. By New Year I was NOT looking at my best, and despite using some of the many wonderful products I've purchased from you I'm still looking for that certain "hero" serum to give my skin some much needed TLC! I've also had a bout of adult acne & I went a little overboard with some drying medicated lotions (NOT bought from you!) so my skin is rather raw and sensitive. So a product that would tackle redness, coarse skin texture, lines and a general lack of sparkle would be amazing!
    Many thanks for an excellent informative site!
    Lorna.

  • February 4, 2014

    by Karin

    I would love to test e'shee serum hydra gold. Just turned 57 yrs old and could use a bit of a lift!. Lately I have noticed some signs of sagging. Ugh! Please help!

  • February 4, 2014

    by lorraine

    Hi would luv to try your redness product, living in england takes its toll on my Fair skin, and since the loss of my mother 2 years ago and not sleeping to good has made my skin age (wrinkles) haha the hydro gold sounds good , would luv to be chosen thank you :)

  • February 4, 2014

    by Gunilla

    Since winter struck hard and early here in Sweden, I'd love to give my face a good dose of not only hyaluronic acid - which I know is good for my skin - but also 24K gold - which I know looks good next to my skin [big grin] - so I humbly ask to be considered for this Dare to Try!
    Love,
    Gunilla

  • February 4, 2014

    by Jessica

    I must admit, i find the idea of applying gold to my skin very alluring. As i approach 41 I've been sparing no expense to repair and protect my skin..however i am still experiencing issues with texture , dryness, uneven tone and lines. I would love to ad this product to my arsenal, perhaps it would be the one to tip the scales in my favor.

  • February 4, 2014

    by Julie

    I am almost 60 years old. I currently use your ultra renew and had had awesome results. Would love to try your new serum

  • February 4, 2014

    by Terri

    This serum is just what I have been searching for! I have very red dry skin, not to mention my wrinkles are looking more pronounced than ever with this cold dry weather. I love what the E'shee Cellular serum has done for the redness and helping to diminish the broken cappilaries on my nose and cheeks. Yet this year my skin seems more needy and this Hydro gold sounds like just the ticket to help healing my dry , red and rough skin. I would truly be grateful if I'm chosen to try this.

  • February 4, 2014

    by Theresa

    I would be sincerely greatful to be chosen to review this, I've tried and reviewed numerous products for redness and dryness. This product sounds perfect for my skin, not to mention E'shee is one of my top favorite product line, and I have tried many. If I can't find it here on TIA I will go to their website and buy it. In my opinion E'shee is the Gold standard in cosmeceuticals. It's my go to line for just about anything that needs repairing and nourishing just to mention a few. I would be absolutely thrilled to try
    the E'shee Serum Hydra Gold as it's one I have yet to try and sounds perfectly complimentary to the current needs of my skins condition.

  • February 4, 2014

    by Lori

    My skin is exposed to harsh winter conditions, and as such it is an ongoing battle with keeping it soft and supple. There are dry patches, redness and some age spots peeking through - my skin needs help and E'shee Serum Hydra Gold sounds like a wonderful product. I would be happy to Dare to Try!

  • February 4, 2014

    by Brooke

    I would absolutely love to try the Serum. I'm only 25, but after two kids I have the tell-tale crow's feet creeping in around my eyes, dark circles, and tiredness in my face.

  • February 4, 2014

    by Rachelle

    I would love to be the person chosen to try the E'shee Serum Hydra Gold because I just turned 60 and my skin really needs something to perk it up. Being that it is winter, my skin is very dry and flaky right now and the serum with gold in it sounds very intriguing! Thank you for considering me.

  • February 4, 2014

    by Regina S

    Retin A and winter is why I need to try this!

Join the discussion! Leave a comment below.

My Comment

Add a comment...

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...