Free shipping on all domestic orders over $39

Best Anti-aging Device of 2012

Is a Solution for:
Sagging Skin
December 25, 2012 Reviewed by Marta 8 Comments
Last summer to coincide with the 2012 Olympics, I decided to award bronze, silver and gold medals to beauty products that were clear favorites with me and other members of the Truth In Aging community. A couple of winners, amongst 40 or so were Truth In Aging’s own brands and this deeply upset a woman who left a comment saying that I had created a trusted voice only to toot my own horn. I am in a difficult position on this one because the overridingly successful product of the year in terms of bestselling and appreciated by its users is Ultra Renew. And so I am going to toot Truth In Aging’s horn again with the award for the Best Anti-aging Device of 2012.

Truth In Aging Ultra Renew

There are three reasons why I love Ultra Renew. First and foremost, I find the device especially effective in ultrasonic mode for firming the skin, particularly the jowls and jawline. Secondly, there are three LED lights (red, blue and green) that are integrated for convenience (no changing of panels necessary). Third, it takes less than 15 minutes (typically I use it for 10 minutes or less), three to five times a week to get results.

Although these technologies, scaled back for home use, are fairly new, there is robust science behind them. For example, in October 2008, German researchers identified how LED works – by changing the molecular structure of a glue-like layer of water on elastin, the protein that provides elasticity in skin, blood vessels, heart and other body structures. The light strips away those water molecules that are involved in the immobilization of elastin, gradually restoring its elastic function.

There are theories that the non-thermal actions of ultrasound are also important and beneficial. The idea is that the rapid oscillation of tissue created by ultrasound energy promotes movement of fluid waves against cells, facilitating movement between the inner and outer cells and thereby increased fibroblastic activity and collagen formation.

One feature that I was personally a little skeptical about – the theory that ultrasonic increases product penetration – actually seems to be proven. One study I found demonstrated enhanced penetration with a vitamin C serum used for hyperpigmentation. It seems to do this by a process called cavitation – the ultrasound creates bubbles that implode to produce millions of microscopic jets of liquid (your serum in this case).
  • December 27, 2012

    by Nisha Buckingham

    Marta - if I may add to your response to Valerie re an anti-aging routine for someone in their 20's. I agree that Skin Nutrition would be overkill at this stage. Valerie, an anti-oxidant in your 20's is key to prevention & is largely overlooked in skincare regimes, so I definitely think you are on the right path. Moreover the signs of aging can occur quite suddenly so a preventative approach is great. I reviewed and love the Snowberry serum. You didn't mention your skin type or lifestyle & are considering an SPF 15. You may need to re-apply during the day as the SPF may break down - it's effective depending on the amount of time you are exposed to UV light. But it's everywhere and almost impossible to escape so I recommend re-applying (if that's possible) or bumping it up to an SPF 30. I still love Hydropeptide and pretty much any skin type can use it.
    I also suggest an eye cream if you aren't already using one as that's where the first signs of aging tend to show up. You don't need the big guns in Correct yet,thus Skinfinite LOL or Sevani (since you don't have an aversion to oils) might be options.
    Hope this helps!

  • December 25, 2012

    by Jan

    Marta, I say toot away! Although I have yet to purchase the Ultra Renew device, I trust your facts and experiences. I would think the TIA name behind this product would further lead potential owners of the device to feel they could INDEED trust the reviews. If by having some skin in the game causes the loss of a customer, I would like to see if she/he found another site that could provide as much insight and detail in reviewing a product such as this. Still your adoring fan ~ Jan

  • December 25, 2012

    by Marta

    Hi Denis, I've written entire article on this. Ultrasound cannot, by definition, be heard by the human ear. And you will not feel anything, just as you would not feel anything if you have a ultrasound scan when pregnant. The device will emit a very (very) faint hum that you can hear when it is right close to your ear. There's more on how ultrasound works here: http://www.truthinaging.com/treatments/ultrasonic-how-it-works

  • December 25, 2012

    by Dennis

    Marta, I've been wondering and you might have already answered this, but do you feel the ultrasound at all? does it make a noise? if not, how do you know it's working? Thanks!

  • December 25, 2012

    by Valerie

    Thank you Marta

  • December 25, 2012

    by Marta

    Hi Valerie and happy holidays

    I think the Snowberry would be a great idea as it has plenty of antioxidant botanicals, which are great preventatives. I think that Skin Nutrition would be like using a sledge hammer to crack a nut. You don't need peptides or growth factors yet. Another good idea would be Your Best Face Nourish and Your Best Face Restore, or Your Best Face Private Reserve, if you like facial oils. There are some more ideas for 20-somethings here:
    http://www.truthinaging.com/face/a-regimen-for-a-sleep-deprived-20-something

  • December 25, 2012

    by Valerie

    Happy Holidays to the Truth in Aging Team !

  • December 25, 2012

    by Valerie

    Marta,

    About anti-aging plans.If I am 27 without aging signs(apart form the fine lines under my eyes that really show only when I am smiling) what type of anti-aging routine should I adopt ?

    I was thinking of using anti oxydant serum under my SPF lotion such as Snowberry Bright Defence Face Serum, and Snowberry Every Day SPF15 in the morning.

    At night , use face oils high in antioxydants and vitamin E. Keep exfoliating regularly. Always keep moisture level balanced.

    Do you think serum such as Skin Nutrition Cell CPR or atives like Tridpeptide-5, Niacinamide, Rovisome Vitamin C, Sea Kelp Bioferment,Coenzyme Q10,Growth factors... are too much for now ?

    What actives would you add to the routine of a late twenties ?

    Thank you
    Valerie

Join the discussion! Leave a comment below.

My Comment

Add a comment...

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...