Free shipping on all orders over $39

Beware of Micro Needling (Dermarolling)

Micro Needling
September 21, 2013 Reviewed by Sunil 64 Comments

What is Micro Needling?

The allure of dermarolling never really caught on here at Truth in Aging, despite having a loyal fan base. The procedure involves using a small roller with fine micro needles over the skin. This then causes micro punctures which lead to a puffy swollen face. It isn’t pretty but it is supposed to help with acne scarring and general skin damage. Once pricked, new collagen is rushed to the damaged areas  and creams/serums that are applied to the area are able to be more easily absorbed which is meant to help you get a better skin tone. Many consider it an alternative to expensive laser treatments or harsh peels, officials in China are considering it something of a nuisance.

The Dangers of Micro Needling

According to Hong Kong’s consumer council, there have been 43 complaints of bad reactions to micro needling procedures at salons across the city. Salon workers often skip the sterilizing process in between sessions and continue using rollers which can become bloodied after one session. This can expose clients to risks such as HIV and hepatitis. Publicity and community relations officer Philip Leung Kwong-hon told the South China Morning Post: "It is unwise to risk your life for a prettier appearance."

Sign up for our newsletter to get the latest product reviews and save 10% on all orders over $50

Micro Needling at Home

Despite this, demand for micro rolling has continued to take off. After being featured on The Rachel Ray show, the media has continued to run with the roller. Thanks to growing demand, more retailers are selling it and dermarollers are now pretty affordable. You can buy a roller for around $40 or a set for $200 and do the procedure yourself. Unfortunately, it is a bit more risky. Pressing too hard could cause added trauma to your face and if you buy a needle size too long results will be extra painful and bloody. Then there’s the healing, people have reported their pores being larger and white heads appearing after use which go away in time. But for some, these small issues are canceled out by the reported benefits of these rollers.

Our Take on Micro Needling

You may want to consider seeing a professional before trying out a roller yourself, and if doing do, make sure they sterilize the needles or use a new batch before. Expect one session to cost anywhere from $300-$500 and take about 30 minutes, more than one session may be needed to achieve the desired effects you are looking for.

See also:

Micro-Needling - What Is It?

Dermaroll - Not a Treatment for the Faint-Hearted

Stem Cell Dermarolling Facial

sign up for our newsletter

  • April 8, 2017

    by SulaNiceSkin

    Microneedeling has it's benefits as do all cosmetic prodecures. There are the pro's and there are the con's. Microneedling shouldn't be avoided because you can get a serious illness if the instrument is not sterilized. This cocern could happen with anything! Do your research and find a reputible establishment with medically trained and certified professional's and your chances of having unsterlized tool's applied to you are pretty much slim to zone. It's not the procedure, it's the person!
    And for those who say it does not tighten you skin, it swell's your skin, must understand the concept. The needlng promtoes skin collagen. Plump swollen skin equals firm tight skin due to increase collagen production.
    also, make sure your using the correct size needle for your skin level. less mature skin cannot handle a needle with a longer length. 0.20-0.30 mm is for home use. 0.50-0.75mm is for clinical use. all mms greater is for medical and physician use!
    I am 39 years old and have been using retin-a since im 24 so my skin is pretty much used to the irritaed exfoliating process. I use a micro needle size 0.25mm and it does wonders for me. It plumps my skin innceasing bood flow and collagen, and after each use I apply vitamin c (any brand will due) before my pored close which is usually five minutes after an application. My skin does tingle and feel slighlt raw even after using such a small needle. The tenderness and redness does goes away after a coupe of hours. Remember how hard you press and how many times you rolll over each spot all depends on the results an the recovery time! Always make sure you remember to clean it each time! And never ever share your micro needle!

  • December 21, 2016

    by Sheila

    I recently started microneedling. There is redness, tingling, and slight swelling. It all disappears, leaving me with a nice fresher looking face. Don't press hard and use the correct needle size 0.5mm or less. I don't look young, I look toned.

  • September 1, 2016

    by Aimee

    For those of you who have been microneedling for yrs..please tell me which vitamin c serum you use and which peptide and moisturizer you are using?
    Ty

  • August 19, 2016

    by Trish

    Micro needling works for me... Have been doing my face, neck and chest for about 1 year. Crepey skin is gone. Wrinkles are gone. What was once sagging skin, doesn't sag.
    Using 0.5mm on a regular basis... 1 -2 times a week. Then every 3rd week. I use the 1.5mm or 2.0mm . I always wait 1 week after a deep roll before using 0.5MM again and at least 3 weeks between deep rolls to let the skin heal thoroughly before doing a deep roll again.

    It is working for me. No chicken neck, no jowls... I'm loving it!

  • June 27, 2016

    by dee

    microneedling and PRP do not work!It is a expensive scam.
    I had about 15 regular needling sessions done w dermapen over 2 years for some scarring from laser.I had indentions from where the laser burnt me.Very little improvement.I could have got this improvement by doing nothing.Had 2 PRP appointments w injections and needling.Did NOTHING!wasted thousands .

  • October 21, 2015

    by Mary

    Ladies, please be very weary of what you do or allow to have done to your face. One week ago I had a dermapen micro needling procedure done to my whole face and neck by an esthetician. My face is still very swollen and lumpy in spots. I have very sensitive skin with fine pores to begin with. I am very unhappy with the outcome. Please understand that your skin is NOT tightening, it is swelling. I for one will never do anything like this again. I now worry everyday that this may not ever go away.

  • September 21, 2015

    by christina

    I am an esthetician where can i buy the micro needling pen

  • September 9, 2015

    by Tracie

    Please tell us where you buy the most effective pens and any lotions needed.

  • July 26, 2015

    by Elaine

    Where can I buy a micro needling PEN in West Palm Beach Florida. I've been told the pens can only be used by a doctor. But I see from some of your comments they can be purchased for home use. I cannot find where to buy one. Thank you.
    Elaine

  • June 16, 2015

    by casablanca

    I've been using an electric dermaroller for the last few years and the results are just great! I've used it on my face for wrinkles and sagging and on my body for scars. The effect on scars is outstanding! It also helps with wrinkles and texture but the best effect is the thickening and firming of the skin on my lower face. And yes, one should be careful; on the few occasions when I were not - I will get some redness or minor rashes that disappear in a day or two. I've done fraxel and IPLs, termage and ulterapy and the dermarolling is the most efficacious treatment (and the cheapest), it's really worth trying!

  • June 16, 2015

    by Edith Thurman

    I've been using micro needles for years, BUT I never paid over $10 for a roller thats for sure! I always do mine myself! I now have a micro needle pen, did not pay over $50 for it and it works great, and yes I do this myself as well! I have watched enough videos of doctors doing it to people to know I will NEVER let anyone else us one on my face! You can see the pain on the peoples faces while the doctor is just yapping away. I have a numbing cream I got from an esthetician, that is made in their office specifically for micro needling, it has ingredients in it to stop bleeding as well. Any way it does a lot more that what you said. Its taken at least 10 years off my face alone, not to mention the scare I have on the front of my neck from cervical disk surgery where they went in twice in the same spot, not it looks like a wrinkle and gets better every time! It does make your face swell, but the last time i did I used AminoGenesis Cocoon lotion afterwards, and I was swollen the next day, but not as much as normal. Plus within 3 days you couldn't tell I even did it. I did not even peel at all this time, and normally I always do! They are great tools if you use them right. The best part is they allow products to absorb up to 10,000 times more than they normally would! So I'm always careful what I put on my skin afterwards! I also took a lot of time doing research, and watched a lot of YouTube videos. The pen works a lot better than the roller, but it also hurts more, and you have to be very careful with it!

  • May 23, 2015

    by Jackie

    I would not even consider having someone perform an invasive medical procedure like this unless they were graduates of an accredited beauty school which is also licensed by a state board of medicine. Rachel Ray is a cook, a great one, but a cook, not a dematologist.
    Personally I have had lots of cosmetic treatments, but never, would I ever would let someone needle me without ample evidence that they know what they are doing. Geez, we do not let any old body work on our cars but some apparently think it's okay to let the man in the moon work on our faces?
    By the way, one study does not prove these are safe.

  • May 7, 2015

    by H

    I recently bought a certain digital dermaroller.
    I love it.
    I don't think there is anything better against wrinkles above the upper lip (I won't call them "smokers' lines" because the association with smoking is a fallacy, albeit a well-established one; they are genetic). There is also an indepedent clinical study available online which proves it. The results of a single session evaluated a year later showed a HUGE reduction in the depth of the lines.
    My own results would totally confirm it.

  • April 28, 2015

    by Kimberlee

    $300-$500?? Only if you're talking about 3 treatments over a year to (preferably)a year & a half's time. Not a bad investment to get your own collagen going again. I've been researching this for the past week and am currently looking at a couple spas that do this. First, I'm going to inquire as to what type equipment they use and subsequent serums and where they're sourced. But I don't see where this has to be dangerous. Forty-five people out of how many? And in China? Think we're a little more occupied with sterile settings and equipment here in the states. I'm not worried.

  • April 22, 2015

    by Samuel

    Wow, you tell people to beware of a procedure because certain people out there are doing it wrong? At best, that is misinformation. At worst, it is preventing people from finding good, legitimate solutions to their problems. I am pretty sure that HIV infection is not a risk of microneedling or derma rolling when it is done properly. Any bozo without a medical degree would probably assume that it is not a good idea to dermaroll one person's face then do another person's face without thoroughly sterilizing or replacing the needles. You might as well tell people that getting shots has a high risk of HIV infection. Sure, if the nurse reuses needles, which is illegal.

  • March 27, 2015

    by Brenda

    I use the numbing cream (gel) Simply Numb Advance with my dermapen. It's hands down the best ever. You can buy online.

  • February 24, 2015

    by Marisel Interior

    You need to used your own micro needle! Soak first in alcohol for 10 minutes before you used it! And don't you barrow to others, that can couse you a transmitted bacteria, so be wear of it! But your own stuff!!

  • February 20, 2015

    by Hepl

    I used my friends micro needle roller after her with out sterlizing it. Ther is a red rash. Am I okay?

  • February 19, 2015

    by Val

    Where can I get a numbing cream so I can treat myself at home?

  • November 15, 2014

    by Cynosure


    Helena and others who had a "bad" experience - it is not because of the dermarolling, it is because you used it every single day! Opinions about the necessary intervals differ, but from what I've read (and I read actual clinical studies - independent studies, BTW), a 1 mm (and up) dermaroller should not be used more than ONCE every THREE WEEKS. That's how long it takes collagen to build, thought the process isn't finished until a YEAR later.

    I have been using a 1 mm dermaroller for three months now (about 5 or 6 times in total), and couldn't be happier with the results, especially on my upper lip wrinkles.


  • September 4, 2014

    by NYCchick

    Hi NCAesthetician,

    Where can I find/purchase an electonic needling device? Where did you get yours and what brand is it? I would greatly appreciate it if you could fill me in on this.

    Thanks!

    NYCchick

  • August 29, 2014

    by Helena

    Beware indeed! I'm a young woman who tried out a home derma roller to prevent wrinkles. Naively, I used it non stop every day for 2 weeks! oh my God! I must've been mad! At first ok my skin seemed plump, red, a little sore, and that was it. However a month later I have noticed a weird, red lined scar between my nose and cheek on the right hand side and enlarged pores in that area. It's so ugly and reminds me of a nasolabial fold in certain lights. I know it's not natural as I never had this before I rolled and the other side is smooth...however my skin was perfect before. I was told by my Dr that it may never completely heal. I'm devastated. I will never ever be so foolish again. I will never derma roll again in my life!

  • August 6, 2014

    by John

    Just saying that you can buy one of these, one that's exactly same as those being sold for 20-40 dollars, for 2-3 dollars from stores such as ebay or amazon.

  • August 1, 2014

    by NCAesthetician

    I am a medical aesthetician and have been administering microneedling treatments for 3 years. This procedure is very safe and non invasive as long as its done correctly. Without getting too wordy, here are the basics for best results:

    1) DONT'T use or be treated with microneedle rollers. And I mean either at home or in a spa. Rollers are old technology. They tear at the skin's surface and cannot be properly sterilized due to their mostly plastic and rubber material makeup. They are more painful, less effective, and carry risk of blood borne pathogens.
    2)DO get treated with electronic micro needling devices. The electric pens can be adjusted for speed and needle depth for proper treatment on different areas of the face or body. Needle cartridges are disposable and therefore safer and more sanitary. The pen is held perpendicular to the skin and pierces rapidly for less pain, no skin tearing, and more area covered.
    3) Best advice is to have a few professionally administered treatments before trying to do at home so you can ask questions about technique, needle depths, and products used during a treatment.
    4) Be consistent with treatments and use quality serums for moisturizing and collagen production. I do this treatment to myself every two weeks using hyaluronic acid serum and Vitamin C serum. I'm 47 and people think I am 30. Needling WILL improve your skin, but its not a one shot, one time thing. Look at is as exercise for your skin. Do it regularly and be consistent and the results will follow.

  • July 13, 2014

    by cookiesta

    Please heed this warning if you are going to derma roll at home!:I used a dermaroller at home several years ago, and now I have permanent scars on my face where I rolled....Never will I try this again.

  • June 1, 2014

    by lorraine gathers

    Ania,
    You say that you use the DermaPen at home? I was wondering where you were able to purchase this for at home use?

  • April 24, 2014

    by cesar castano

    The micro needle or derma pen are so effective
    If you use the right serum with HA or any organic silicium
    Vit c etc.
    After each procedure I use the led light to active
    The epidermis and close the pores and micro holes
    To avoid contamination and sun pigmentations.
    Thks
    Cesar castano
    Houston, TX

  • April 12, 2014

    by subdued joy

    I think it's better to do the rolling at home. That way you know the dermaroller you are using is safe. Treatment price and look of facilities do not equate to dermarollers being used only once, being sterilized, or being sterilized properly.

    The 0.5mm dermaroller is for anti-aging, the 1.0 is for hair loss and age spots, and the 1.5 is for scaring, stretch marks, and cellulite.

    I use a 1.5 dermaroller because I have deep acne scars.

    I do not numb the area first. I want to know how aggressive I'm rolling so I don't roll too aggressively.

    I've been using the roller for about eight months now. I have used the roller about five times. I have noticed an improvement in my fine winkles and deep scars. I have two deep winkles. I haven't seen any improvement in them, at least not yet.

    The only side effects I have gotten is that my acne gets a little worse for about five to six days after rolling. I would not recommend rolling over boils.

  • April 9, 2014

    by momtaz

    I'm a man 41 years old, have some wrinkles around the eyes, I tried the needling one time at a lazer clinic,
    I asked the Dr. who did the needling for me in the first time, he told me the needles of the derma roller (manual) lenght is 1.5 mm,
    at first, he applied a gel named (emla 5%) for numbing, and left it for 45 mints, then started the procedure, once he finished applied an anti-biotic cream called (fucidin) and told me that I have to avoid the water in shower, or swimming or any for at least 3 days, the skin was a bit rosy at the first 2 days,

    I guess I can do it myself, I found derma roller vibration photon 540 titanium for sale online, which looks better than the one he used (manual).

    Kindly advise me for the following things:
    1. which dermaroller is safe and more confortable and better results also,
    2. the best effective numbing cream to be used before the needling procedure.
    3. the best serum, collagen, or cream to be used after the needling for an effective and quick results,
    4. the dermaroller needles, should be used just time for safety?
    5. how to make the best sterilize foe the needles before use? heating? or any?

    Any relevant feedbacks will be highly appreciated, thank you in advance !
    Best regards

  • February 18, 2014

    by Rebecca

    I am an esthetician in Colorado with fairly extensive experience with micro needling, both rollers and the pen type. This was not a good article. There are many issues raised here. For example, needling at home vs. professional needling. Even needling at home needs to be monitored by a professional. I have "select" clients whom I allow to roll at home. I direct the length of the needle, the serums they use and monitor their skin for adverse reactions. There is more going on here than just whether they get an infection. Not everyone should needle at all! You can do irreparable harm. At home, no one should needle at a length longer than .3 mm. You are injected serums at a depth where serums are not meant to go! Does a layperson, or for that matter, even a professional always monitor what is being injected? Not from my experience.
    Just because you can buy something on the internet doesn't mean it is safe to use or that anyone should.
    This is a serious procedure, at any depth. Even a .2 can cause inflammatory responses that lead to problems. How many "at home" users will develop even more telangestasia and not have a clue where it came from? Please focus on more than just sanitation issues. We have a responsibility to take care of this primary organ that protects us every second of our lives.

  • December 29, 2013

    by Ania

    I'm a big fan of micro needling and derma pen. I've been doing these treatments for a couple years with amazing results . I do my treatments at home and never have any problems or side effects and in my opinion this article is exaggerated . I prefer to use derma pen now because it's more precise and I don't believe you need a "licensed esthetician " to do the treatment - common sense is all you need and go to youtube for a "training" .The devices and cartridges are available all over the internet for a fraction of a cost in comparison to what "professional esthetician " would charge you in her office .

  • December 16, 2013

    by Melissa

    I do micro-needling at home with diabetic lancets that I buy from the store. After I'm done with my face, there is blood, but the healing is quick. It usually takes about 2 days for my whole face to heal.

    I've done it 3 times and I'm planning on doing it once a month from now on. I haven't noticed any negative side effects, other than the pain. I already have clear, smooth skin, but I do this more to keep my skin looking youthful and to prevent wrinkles as I am 31.

    I've read reviews about the dermarollers, and in my opinion they seem a bit risky. The diabetic lancets come sanitized and are easy to use.

    This is a good fit for me and my skin. It's cheap, it can be done at home, and studies have shown it to be effective.

  • November 24, 2013

    by fred

    This article mentions nothing about the efficacy of the procedure. The negatives that are mentioned are more about the negligence of the users and not the actual derma rolling itself. Not a very good article.

  • October 1, 2013

    by Tamara

    As much as Nancy's comment annoyed me. She has a small point. I am a licensed esthetician aka "Professional" and FYI...not a high school drop out. I have over 20 years in the spa industry and I have worked for Plastic Surgeons and Dermatologists. Let me be the first to say there are uneducated people in EVERY profession and there are estheticians who make ridiculous claims and don't know what they are talking about.

    However, I have also seen doctors that should have been qualified but are not. Do you know that most doctors don't even receive laser training in medical school? They learn how to use lasers from a SALES REP from the manufacturer of the laser. Sometimes these reps are nurses but not always! After working in the medical field it was a real eye opener and people shouldn't assume because a "doctor" is doing something that he or she is qualified to do it either! Many beauty treatment procedures are learned through trial and error.

    In my opinion the rollers are dangerous in client's hands without proper instruction because many people think "more is better". I do not use the rollers on clients either. I use a "pen" with sterile needle tips. Each client gets a brand new sterile tip when they come in. Micro needling has been in South Africa and other countries for quite some time and has been proven effective when used properly and in the hands of someone educated.

    As a client you should do your research before buying one of these devices from China (I certainly didn't get mine from there) and before you let someone do the procedure on you make sure they show you that they are using a pen and not a roller and that they are removing it from a sterile package.

    Lastly, whether you have a chemical peel, microdermabrasion, or micro needling the product that is applied directly after is as important as the actual procedure itself and you need to know what is going on and into your skin.

  • August 20, 2013

    by katherine

    i've been doing it for 4 months and they say you see results at 6. you are only to do it 1x per 4 weeks depending on the length of the needles to allow your skin to heal and that is why it takes a while. you will need to replace your rollers after 6 months before the needles become dull.

    another benefit is that it allows beauty products to seep deeper into the skin thereby being more effective. i reserve special products for the 3 days following a session.

    am waiting to see results.

  • August 8, 2013

    by hupi

    What kind of article is this? It doesn't provide any opinion whether microneedling is effective or not? It provides some valuable facts about the dangers, but doesn't say anything about the aforementioned.

    I thought articles were suppose to all have a point. If this is the quality of your writing on this website I dare say I'm suspicious of some of the reviews I've read.

  • May 11, 2013

    by John Nguyen

    You should not use micro needing if you're still having active acne. It's for people who have acne scars but not having active acne anymore. Using the roller on the face with active acne then you're in big trouble because the needles will puncture the acne pockets and spread the pus to other areas of the face! Wait until your skin is no longer have active acne and then use it. Only then that you'll see result!

    With regards to expectation, you will never truly get rid of those acne scars. Sorry, but it's the truth. The collagen will form after a few months of treatments and the scars as well the indentation will be lessen but you will always see the scars if you look hard enough. I'd say about 50-60% better but it will never be 100% like nothing has happened to your skin. However, I'll take that chance of having 50% better skin than nothing any day. Hope it helps :)

  • April 14, 2013

    by Rose Wall

    Wow Nancy what a bitchy comment!! While I agree with you that dermal needling that involves using needles that actually reach the dermal layer is best left in the hands of a medical practitioner, not all students that attend "beauty school" are high school drop outs! I went to a "beauty school" to become an esthetician after 18 years of being a teacher and wanting to try something different as my 2nd career! I also have a master's degree in Psychology. Students that want to attend "beauty school" also must have a high school diploma or a GED. You probably complain about young women with children on welfare too! At least these young "high school dropouts" are trying to better themselves. Mean spirited comment!

  • April 7, 2013

    by Nancy

    Yeah, use professionals because highschool dropouts who go to beautician school are qualified medical practitioners who perfectly know how they need to use the roller from how much pressure to apply to what kind of cleaning is required. When you pay 50 bucks to get them to do it, it makes them professionals who know everything there is to know about the roller. You may want to ask them the next time "how the roller works" and you would be amazed with the interesting answers from "well there are hidden lasers that optimize skin growth" to "the rollers have a special coating that melts fat".

    Unbelievable @@!!@@

  • March 23, 2013

    by Vicki

    I've used a micro needle roller for many years. I purchased it for around $80 and feel it does make a difference. Of course I use it in conjunction with exfoliants and serums and creams that seem to also help. I've never had any sort of puncture wound (at least nothing visible or painful), although when running the roller across my face I do feel the pricks of the needles. But I'm only doing it for 30-45 seconds.

  • February 20, 2013

    by Lisa

    FYI>> Cosmetic / Medical Rolling was founded & Pioneered by a World Renowned Plastic Surgeon in South Africa over 17 years ago. Unfortunately miscommunication and education is the problem. You should NOT be using a 1.0 or higher needle length at home. This treatment is only to be performed by a RN or Dr after proper diagnosis and preparations. Everyone really needs to be careful on where they purchase these rollers. They are not created equally and can cause severe damage to your skin. As an Aesthetician for over 13 years your roller should be purchase from a Medical professional -(Aesthetician, RN & Dr) who can educate you on treatment protocols and disinfecting your tool. You get what you Pay for OnLine!!

  • February 7, 2013

    by gill

    tretinion RetinA is the most effective Retinol product which needs a doctor presciption. why should this not be used after rolling?

  • December 21, 2012

    by NM

    I also disagree with all the negative comments as well, if you use a 1.o mm length quality roller (i use dr. roller) and sterilise the work area as well as the roller and wear gloves there is less risk to get an infection than you would have just walking around with a small cut. It is essential to not overdo it, this procedure works in the long run and is not a miracle cure after one treatment. I use it now for half a year and already see improvements on my crowsfeet and I will continue using it.
    As for the products I am still trying to find the perfect serum and will probably try to make a vitamin c one myself.
    I did have five sessions professionally done first and the doctor used viscontour serum afterwards which is a pure hyalouronic serum without additives, so I have been using that ever since.

  • December 1, 2012

    by jp

    I don't agree at all with your negative comments about dermarolling. I have been using a 1.0mm dermaroller during my at home treatments. I am following the directives on Sarah Vaughter's site and she is extremely descriptive how to sterilize the roller and the work area. All of my rolling sessions have been successful and there is no bleeding at all. I highly recommend this procedure but it is extremely important to follow the directions by Vaughter. Do not assume that what you see demonstrated on youtube is correct or any random site. If not followed correctly there can be bleeding and other hazardous results. It is a highly effective treatment when executed carefully and correctly. I look forward to my treatments which are once every two weeks with this size roller.

  • October 29, 2012

    by Marsha

    I have an appointment this week for a micro needle proceedure and after doing a lot of
    research, I have some concerns. I have very snesitive skin. Will this cause trauma to my skin that would take more than a day to heal?
    How painful is this. The Salon says they will
    re use my roller and they recommend every 4 weeks. I am 64 years old and they say if I do this, I may not need a resyln injection which I am preparing to have in myl lip area. I take good care of my skin and other than my neck and lip areas, I do not have any problems. I am wondering, if I should even start this???

  • October 22, 2012

    by Jennifer

    To Stephanie,

    How long do I need to be off of Retinoid cream before beginning professional skin needling?? Also, what is the best products to use on your skin after performing a home needling treatment? I have heard using collagen cream, Vit C, peptide mask. Not sure what is the best. Thanks!!

  • October 14, 2012

    by Stephanie Edgar

    With regards to Lynda's post above. I agree with everything you say Lynda, especially that you should always go to a professional for your skin needling. However, Dermarollers should never be used more than once, even if sterilised between treatments. The needles have to be razor sharp and that is why they are disposable.
    I am the founder of Roller Girl Skin Needling, and I have seen some absolute horror stories from people using cheap rollers at home. If you are going to use a home roller make sure it is less than 0.5mm, and that you buy from somebody reputable like The Boston Medical Group or Medik8 who both sell good high quality rollers. Home use rollers are for product penetration only and will not increase collagen. Collagen and fibroblasts will only be induced with rollers over 1mm. These need to be used in a sterile environment to prevent infection, and by a trained skin needling practitioner.
    There are also quite a few contraindications of skin needling and dermaroller such as patients taking warfarin, aspirin, ret A creams or retinoids, as well as patients wil certain health problems (past or present) so it is not suitable for everybody.
    Skin Needling is a very effective treatment but only in the right hands. I have had clients with fantastic results for acne scars, deep wrinkles, smokers lines, crows feet.......you name it! But, using cheap needles, in an unsterile environment with no idea of technique, clinical endpoints, contraindications or aftercare is a recipe for disaster.
    Skin needling and Dermaroller are fantastic treatments but they are quite an investment. Don't believe anybody who says you'll only need one treatment just to get your cash! However, the results are long lasting and you haven't used anything artificial. Dermaroller heals skin naturally, from the inside out.
    Hope this is of help to people considering the treatment.

  • September 26, 2012

    by Elena

    Hey guys,
    You can purchase the copper mask from Sarah vaughter's website Shop.owndoc. She specializes in micro needling equipment. The mask however has TEA, propylene glycol, parables and fragrance and since your skin is really open and sensitive after rolling you could cause more irritation If y have sensitive skin. Plus penetration is greatly enhanced so y r pushing a lot of nasty stuff into your dermis.

  • September 24, 2012

    by Valerie

    I am interested in the roller and products Danny used and where to purchase them-
    Has anyone used the white lotus derma roller ?
    Thank you

  • September 10, 2012

    by Dawn Stanley

    Danny plesase send me info on which roller and products you use. Thanks, Dawn

  • August 13, 2012

    by Cheryl

    Hey, Anita, Danny and Shirley:

    Would love to know the name of the derma rollers that you use and where to purchase them.
    Main concern is for beginning of sagging skin.

  • February 15, 2012

    by annie

    Hi Danny,
    I would be interested in the name of the copper peptide mask you mentioned. Thank you.

  • February 15, 2012

    by Danny

    Hi there . The 1.5 mn roller should only be used once every 6 weeks maximum as it takes that long for the damage created to heal to the get the new dermal matrix made . Any sooner will just undo the healing process and there is a danger of causing more damage than benefits . Also after you do the intensive roller treatment give the skin at least a week off to start to heal and calm down before your back to your normal 3 times a week treatments .
    I must say I also need the Emla numbing cream to numb my face as this length of needle hurts . You can buy special masks that you use straight afte your treatment that are in sheet form soaked in an amazing solution with Copper Peptides . It forms an occlusive barrier and forces the goodness deep into the derma rolled skin . They soothe it wonderfully well :) and boost the healing process . Can give you the name if you wish .
    Regards
    Danny

  • February 15, 2012

    by shirley

    I have been using rollers for about 10 months and I'm delighted with the results.I use 0.50mm 3 times a week and use proven actives and moisturizers such as Hyaluronic Acid,Copper Peptides, Resveratrol to name but a few! I also use 1.50mm once a month but that requires a topical numbing cream ..I control the pressure and only found a few blood pricks..no big deal!Common sense prevails and sterilisation is a must.My skin has never looked better..while it does take some commitment it does yield results eventually.

  • November 12, 2011

    by Susan Dupre

    I have been using one with my Rodan and Fields. However, it is my "own" and I know it is sanitized. :) I also can control the pressure, and it doesn't hurt at all. It definitely makes a difference with the products. It's a yeah from me.

  • August 26, 2011

    by Julie Watson

    For acne scars (and others) there is a professional procedure called skin needling that is performed by qualified advanced permanent cosmetic professionals. The technique requires 3 treatments of approximately 30 minutes in length, with one month between each treatment and results are great if aftercare instructions are followed correctly. The technique was pioneered by renowned educator and lecturer Susan Church back in 1989.

  • August 25, 2011

    by Anita

    I have been using a derma roller for a few months now. I have been happy with the results. I can tell that it has helped with facial sagging. This was my may concern. I can't tell any negative reactions to this device. I will continue to use it.

  • August 24, 2011

    by tracy

    this article actually piqued my interest in derma rolling, as i have some acne scars that aren't too deep, but I'd like to get rid of. Any feedback on long term results and suggestions of depth of needle and reasonable priced but good ones to get?

  • August 23, 2011

    by Jeni

    I bought a cheap microneedle roller (with short needles) because I had read so many rave reviews about them. The good thing is that it doesn't really hurt, but the first time I used it I could tell it wasn't capable of helping my skin form new collagen. Inherently I'm lazy, so I stopped using it after a few weeks.

  • August 22, 2011

    by Alicia

    Ahhhhh, no thanks. I wonder what the long term effects are (after your sessions).

  • August 22, 2011

    by Kim

    I've got to add a few things here. First, if your rollers are 'tearing' your skin (on a microscopic level or not), that is WRONG. If you purchase cheaper rollers, many times, the metal with which they are made is not precisely formed and, microscopically, there are hooks or rough tips - it is THOSE that 'tear' the skin. This is the main reason to spend a little more on good rollers. A good rollr will have a precisely pointed diamond tip with nothing to catch and tear skin, and also SHARP enough to penetrate without tearing, just as a fresh scalpel works. And YES, all the rollers puncture the skin, it is simply a matter of to what degree - the short needles are so short, it isn't something you can notice with the naked eye and, also, they are so mild, they close right up very quickly. Lastly, to the author of this article. I think it is common sense that if you are going to puncture, or get your skin punctured, that you obviously have to make sure that whatever you are puncturing it with is sterilized. And obviously, don't go to some garage operation to get it done where they might be cutting corners at the expense of your health. This is like anything one does for oneself. If you don't do your research and you place price over EVERY other consideration, you are going to get what you pay for. That is pretty obvious. So, if China considers it a 'nuisance', it would seem they have to enforce stricter regulations for their use, so they are used properly. I don't stop going to the dentist because of the risk of infection - I just find a good dentist, whom I can trust not to infect me by such things as not changing gloves or not thoroughly sterilizing instruments. You just have to do your homework.

  • August 21, 2011

    by Lynda

    There are a lot of problems with the article above. First of all, you get different results from having the microneedling done at a dermatologist's office, not at a shady operation. A professional session with an experienced esthetician yields great results, but it is more expensive, and requires several visits to see the benefits. I have had great results from 5 sessions. In a professional setting, the needles are larger and actually tear the skin microscopically, to promote new collagen growth. You should have your own roller, which is sterilized between uses.

    The roller for home use is much smaller, and should not puncture the skin. My esthetician at the doctor's office said it mainly exfoliates and allows serums to penetrate more deeply.

    Now that I've had a few in-offics session, I will purchase the derma roller for home use.

    Having investigated many alternatives, microneedling is a less expensive and less invasive way to improve your skin, when compared to a laser, fillers or surgery. When done properly, it is safe and very effective.

    -That's my experience, worth considering!

  • August 21, 2011

    by Jan

    Hmmmm....I know a lot of people swear by it, and the process actually makes sense...just not sure I'm brave enough!

  • August 21, 2011

    by Julie Kay

    HA! I'm only just now beginning to dry brush... puncture myself? Voodoo... ~jk

Join the discussion! Leave a comment below.

My Comment

Add a comment...

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...