Free shipping on all domestic orders over $39

Biao Beauty Rejuvenating Night Crème- reviewed and recommended

Pros

Kept skin soft and hydrated all day long

Cons

Too rich for oily skin
September 13, 2012 Reviewed by Marta 7 Comments
Really does the work of a high-end cream at an economical price

Sometimes I actively choose not to check out the price of a new product until I have been testing it for a while. I usually end up with a price in my head and it’s always fun to see whether I am going to be shocked or pleasantly surprised. In the case of Biao Beauty’s Rejuvenating Night Crème, my mental price tag was about three times the actual one. Which makes this rich moisturizer one of the bargains of the year as well as being a product that I really enjoy using.


I must admit I wasn’t expecting to be quite so completely won over by Biao. While its aims are laudable – “committed to pampering women of all ages, supporting our remarkable planet and advancing global philanthropic causes” – I feared that its botanicals might not be as potent as my aging skin needs. And touches like the biodegradable packaging, which is impregnated with wildflower seeds so that instead of tossing the box you can plant it in the yard or window box, suggested that Biao’s emphasis might be more on planet rescue than skin rescue. My fears were misplaced. Rejuvenating Night Crème is an excellent product.

I have been using it on my hands and sometimes my neck (this cream is a bit too rich for my face, as my skin is already a little oily. I swear my hands look five years younger – like they did when I did regular LED treatments on them (something I’ve lately been very remiss about). They look considerably plumper and more hydrated and they feel much, much softer. They don’t just feel softer immediately afterwards, this is an all day thing. And all for less than 25 bucks for 4 fl oz.

The core of Rejuvenating Night Crème’s ingredients is a complex called EpiCalmin TMC. The TMC part is an acronym for traditional Chinese medicine and is the inspiration for three plant extracts: honeysuckle flower, xanthium sibiricum fruit and cyperus rotundus root. Mibelle Biochemistry, which makes the formula, says it will make skin feel soft, moisturized and comfortable. In my experience, that is exactly what this Biao cream does. EpiCalmin is also supposed to reinforce the skin’s natural defense system. I have found no independent research to corroborate this, nor by looking up the three extracts individually.

Chamomile, an anti-inflammatory and skin conditioner features strongly, while the most of the ingredients are nourishing oils. Calendula isn’t as nutrient rich as olive (the latter is more expensive and way down on the ingredients list), but still has useful fatty acids and there’s babassu, avocado and cocoa seed butter.

Biao Beauty goes out of its way to eshew nasty ingredients. However, it should be pointed out that the EpiCalmin complex comes with the preservative sodium benzoate (which has some unpleasant associations according to some researchers) and even honeysuckle extract is controversial as it may contain a compound that is similar to parabens (I will be researching this topic in the future). The other preservative, potassium sorbate, is considered very mild.

Ingredients: Aqua, Aloe leaf juice, Organic Anthemis Nobilis Flower Extract, Organic Lavender extract, canola oil, glyceryl stearate*, cetearyl alcohol*, cetearyl glucoside*, glycine, glycerin, organic babassu seed oil, honeysuckle flower extract (and) xanthium sibiricum fruit extract (and) cyperus rotundus root extract (and) sodium benzoate, palma rosa oil, rose flower oil, sweet almond oil, clove flower oil, tocopherol (vitamin E), xanthan gum, potassium sorbate, Moroccan rose oil, algae, cocoa seed butter, avocado oil, jojoba seed oil, olive fruit oil. *vegetable derived

  • September 24, 2012

    by Kim

    I would love to try this product!!!!

  • September 20, 2012

    by MELODY

    Yes, I would like to try this product!

  • September 19, 2012

    by Kath

    I would love to try this product!

  • September 19, 2012

    by Carolyn austin

    Yes, I would like to try this product!

  • September 14, 2012

    by Nicole Baldwin

    Hi Julie Key! Biao Skincare uses Moroccan Rose oil and Rose oil for its scent. The scent is not loud, a bit calm and mild. I think it all depends on your senses because everyone inhales it differently.

  • September 14, 2012

    by Nicole Baldwin

    Hi Marta,

    Please check out An Herbal Blend for Antiaging Effects: TCM in Personal Care
    Daniel Schmid, Esther Belser and Fred Zülli Mibelle Biochemistry, Buchs, Switzerland

    Thank you so much for the review. The above article is a great article to introduce you to the beautiful benefits of EpiCalmin TCM as well as show you the results from the clinical testing and trials conducted on this ingredient. Each of the above ingredients in question is all certified by the Natural Product Association (NPA) and EpiCalmin TCM ECOCERT approved.

    At Biao Skincare, we believe in creating products that are pure, honest, effective and inspiring and we were so inspired by the overall benefits of EpiCalmin TCM and the fact that it was ECOCERT approved.

    EpiCalmin TCM has been clinically tested in vitro (Normal human keratinocytes) and in vivo in clinical trial. Its effects on keratinocytes were tested in a gene array experiment measuring 1,308 markers for skin disorders. Results suggest the TCM blend offers strong anti-aging potential. Results also showed that EpiCalmin TCM effectively reinforces the skin’s self-protection against dehydration, oxidative stress and also degradation of the extra-cellular matrix.

    EpiCalmin TCM was also noted to actively protect the skin and prevents premature aging according to clinical testing and trial.

    Furthermore, The tested TCM blend was found to stimulate the cell’s own defense system by up-regulating the thiol-reducing enzymes glutaredoxin and thioredoxin.

    Aged skin is characterized by an imbalance in the extracellular matrix: the biosynthesis of matrix components is reduced and their degradation is increased, resulting in a loss of elasticity and thinning of the skin. The tested TCM blend counteracted this tendency by inhibiting the formation of extracellular matrix-degrading enzymes.

    As the founder and Beauty Advocate of Biao Skincare, I am a consumer first, so I will be researching the honeysuckle extract and sodiun benzoate which is commonly found in foods most people consume daily, usually beverages such as sodas and juice drinks that are acidic. It's also found in items such as pickles, salsa and dip, and can turn up in cosmetics and medicines.

    If our study finds these ingredients to be harmful or toxic to our consumers health in any way, we definitely will be removing them from our Beauty Rejuvenating Collection formulations.

    Overall, we are so glad you enjoyed the night crème and thank you for introducing a new way to use it to beautify the skin on the hands!

    -Stay BIAO!

  • September 13, 2012

    by Julie Kay

    Marta- What about fragrance? If it has one, is it light, heavy, does it linger. I finally purchased Stemulation to use on my hands, and I must say the fragrance is ... it almost gags me. I don't remember you mentioning that in your review. I'm hoping it works on my aging, weathered lower arms- but even if it does I dont think I could purchase a second jar. I will be seeking a follow-up, and I guess by this comment I've already begun. ~jk

Join the discussion! Leave a comment below.

My Comment

Add a comment...

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...