Free shipping on all orders over $39

Blinc Kiss Me Mascara

Is a Solution for:
Eyelashes & Brows
Reviewed by admin March 10, 2009 12 Comments
When I was in 7th grade in 1971, I was dreadfully skinny and a full head taller than all the boys in my class.  I was healthy but between a huge growth spurt and an extremely active lifestyle, I was a twig. I resembled a new born giraffe... cute only in an awkward, gangly sort of way, all knees and nose. I was actually so skinny that my parents took me to our family doctor, and he mandated that for the remainder of the school year  I wasn't to go out and play each afternoon until I polished off what I considered to be an insanely large bowl of vanilla cream topped with Hersheys' Chocolate Syrup. So, every day at 3:00 p.m,  you could find me sullenly forcing down my punitive bowl of ice cream while watching a television sitcom called "The Munsters".

There was a character on the show named Lillian Munster who was gothically beautiful, with crazy long  and thick eye lashes which she would flutter like a butterfly at her monster husband, Herman.  I would watch the sitcom mesmerized by those eye lashes, wondering if the 7th grade boys would find me more attractive if I had butterfly eyelashes, and I would count down the days until I would be allowed to wear mascara. And hopefully look more like long-lashed Lillian Munster than a skinny baby giraffe.

Thirty-plus years later, I finally found THE mascara that gives me those Lillian Munster eye lashes, and my fluttering has begun.

Blinc makes a mascara called Kiss Me mascara, and it is worth trying for all kinds of reasons.  First and foremost,  my eyelashes look longer and thicker than they have ever looked. At age 50, that is saying something.  Second, one quick coat in the mornings lasts me all day, with no running or smearing, and it doesn't flake off and irritate my eyes. Third, Kiss Me mascara comes off easily with ample amounts of warm water and one or two  "downward wipes" (not scrubbing) with my thoroughly dampened hands. No irritating mascara remover products needed, no leftover build up at the lash line....perfectly bare lashes in seconds without pulling and tugging my delicate eye area, and without breaking or pulling the lashes themselves.

This ain't your grandmothers mascara.  It goes on to form perfect little "tubes" around each lash. You can apply more than one coat if you apply it quickly (before the first coat dries) for even more length and volume, but honestly, one coat is plenty.  Be prepared for an interesting experience when you wash it off at night..... the "tubes" will slide off the lashes hollow but intact, and you will have a sink rimmed with mascara "worms".   Since removal requires a combination of warm water and slight downward pressure from your hands, it is a great mascara for those of us who are really active (read: sweaty), but I would stop short of recommending it for swimmers.

The full size mascara ($24) comes in black and brown, and there is also a companion primer and companion eyeliner product which I have not tried.  I originally bought the Kiss Me mascara in the trial size ($5), which lasted me for months, and I give trial sizes as a little "gifts" to friends who comment on my Lillian-like lashes.

Ingredients:
Water (Aqua), Ammonium Acrylates Copolymer, Propylene Glycol, Acrylates Copolymer, Triethanolamine, Isopropyl Alcohol, Sodium Dehydroacetate, Methylparaben, Propylparaben. (May contain (+/-): Iron Oxides (CI 77499, CI 77492, CI 77491), Ultramarines (77007), Mica, Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891).
  • March 10, 2011

    by marta

    Hi Ageless Jen, I haven't tried it myself, but I have heard good things about the one by Real Purity
    http://www.realpurity.com/shop/product_info.php?cPath=34&products_id=36

  • March 10, 2011

    by Agelessjen

    Look what I found on @HauteLook....Blinc mascara on sale! http://www.hautelook.com/short/egOj

  • March 10, 2011

    by Agelessjen

    Any good makeup removers out there? I finally put on my readers, to see what was in the product I have been using & was horrified that there were FOUR preservatives listed! No WONDER I have been getting white bumps around my eyes!

  • September 1, 2009

    by Adrienne

    I've been using Blinc on my 50-something lashes for about 2 months...LOVE it. It's gotten me through swimming, hiking, and weeping with nary a black eye from water, sweat or tears. *And* my lashes look thick and long. My only (tiny) complaint is that it tends to straighten out (a bit) my pre-curled lashes.

  • May 3, 2009

    by DENISE

    Mavala nail products also work wonders..old European company--they also have a good lash conditioner--not like Revitalash--but keeps them thick and shiny and very flexible and resilient

  • March 12, 2009

    by Kate

    Justine,

    I had the same issue with acrylic nails.... my nails looked horrible while growing out. I found a great product called Orly bonder (a rubberized base coat) that while clear, gave them a much better appearance. It didn't shine like regular clear nail polish so it didn't draw attention to my nails, but it smoothed out the ragged areas and white spots. It stayed on for about 2 weeks without peeling or chipping, etc. I used 2 or 3 coats, and it really helped their appearance. I still use the bonder under my regular polish to this day, and I must say that I am now blessed with 10 perfect, long natural nails... so perfect that my girlfriends often ask who me "nail tech" is.... and it is me!

  • March 11, 2009

    by justine

    Thanks Marta. I remember reading about this product line ages ago and totally forgot. I am definitely going to try it out. I actually caught a shop assistant grimacing at the sight of my nails today as I signed my receipt. How embarrassing!

  • March 11, 2009

    by marta

    Justine,
    have you ever tried Barielle products? They did wonders for my nails when I was travelling by plan all the time and they got dried and really brittle. http://www.barielle.com/

  • March 11, 2009

    by justine

    I used to wear the City Block but in the end I think I found it a bit chalky. I don't know if they have updated their formula because it was a while back. I will look out for that review. Personally I have been using Stila SPF 15. I have yet to find a tinted moisturizer that gives such a flawless finish. However, I wanted to try and find something a little more natural and with a higher SPF, hence my interest in Abella.

    My next problem area is my nails. In my attempt to completely overhaul my beauty regime, I finally dispensed with my acrylic nails that I had had on for about, oh, 5 years. You can imagine the underlying disaster.

  • March 11, 2009

    by Petra Hinterschied

    I have tried lots of mascara's and have to say this one is the best. It really stays put and does make my lashes look thicker and longer than anything I've ever tried.

  • March 10, 2009

    by Kate

    Justine,

    Any suggestions on other products to research? Love to get your feedback, and
    can't wait to hear how the Blink KissMe mascara works for you... the "tubes" are a bit weird compared to other mascaras but I can promise you won't end up with racoon eyes.

    I am also submitting a review for the chemical-free Murad sheer tint sunscreen (spf 15) which worked well for me too.... much sheerer tint than the Abella, but not as sweat proof, and am testing Clinique City Block (spf 25) physical sunscreen as we speak. Will let you know...

  • March 10, 2009

    by Justine

    Kate,

    You have this uncanny ability to review products that I am at that very moment searching aimlessly for. Last week was a tinted moisturizer with a high SPF; this week it's a mascara that stays put. I am embarrassingly vain in that I insist on wearing at least a little bit of make-up while out running in public (well, you never know, as my mum would say). However, as I live in Florida, this is typically ends up being a completely pointless exercise, especially as far as mascara goes. I think I will give Kiss Me a run for its money (sorry!). Thanks!

Join the discussion! Leave a comment below.

My Comment

Add a comment...

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...