Free shipping on all domestic orders over $39

Blue Lagoon Iceland Silica Mud Mask

January 17, 2013 Reviewed by Marta 13 Comments

Read my more recent review of the reformulated Blue Lagoon Algae Mud Mask.

A friend of a friend recommended that I seek out and try an Icelandic brand called Blue Lagoon Iceland that has an upmarket spa vibe and prices to match. After contacting the company, they sent us a generous batch of samples including the line’s signature Silica Mud Mask ($100). Although I loved using it, even I (a face mask junkie) had to concede it was pricey and so I did some hard thinking and plenty of research before making it a recommendation.

Blue Lagoon Iceland Silica Mud Mask is pure white, which seemed surprising for a mud mask (although having honeymooned in Iceland I can tell you that mud and minerals come in very weird colors indeed). The mask comes in a tube and the white cream is easy to smooth over the skin. Be warned though, when it dries you will look like Casper and frighten small children. After leaving on for 10 minutes and rinsing off, my skin looked very clear and felt super soft.

Given that the main ingredient is listed as “silica/silt (Blue Lagoon silica mud)” and there isn’t much else in this mask (apart from parabens, which I’ll come back to as there is some new research), it had better be good. Blue Lagoon Iceland says silica (a key ingredient used in many of its products) helps the skin barrier. However, when I tried to search that, the first thing that came up was a link to Blue Lagoon Iceland. Meanwhile, claims made for silica’s importance to collagen formation seemed mostly to be made companies peddling supplements. I was beginning to feel doubtful about this mask until I came across a few leads that make this product very intriguing.

First, there actually is a Blue Lagoon in Iceland. And it does indeed have white mud that has curative and skin healing properties. Apparently, when the geothermal sea water cools, it becomes supersaturated with silicon and long chains of silicon molecules are formed that eventually precipitate out of the water and form the white mud. The Blue Lagoon also has a unique algae. Research has shown that bathing in the Blue Lagoon and rubbing the silica mud into lesions has positive effects on psoriasis.

I also found some research published in Experimental Dermatology that tried to discover what it is about the silica mud and two different microalgae species derived from the Blue Lagoon that makes them good for the skin. The researchers saw that they are capable of inducing gene expression in human epidermal keratinocytes. The algae and silica mud extracts induced collagen and may help with the reduction of transepidermal water loss.. The conclusion was that the bioactives in Blue Lagoon have the capacity to improve "skin barrier function and to prevent premature skin aging".

So silica mud from the Blue Lagoon looks to be the real deal. But what of the rest of the facial mask’s formula. Well, there’s an unremarkable emollient (ethoxydiglycol oleate) a kind of wax (cetearyl isononanoate) and the potentially irritating laureth-7.  But many people may be alarmed by the preservatives, phenoxyethanol and every paraben known to man. I’m not wild about phenoxyethanol, an irritant and possible neurotoxin, but I did notice some new research on parabens from the UK saying that there is “no simple cause and effect relationship” between the use of underarm cosmetics containing parabens and breast cancer”.  Having said that, there were parabens in breast tissue of women who didn’t use deodorant and, frustratingly, the jury still seems to be out – aka more research is needed – on whether parabens cause cancer or not.

Ingredients: sea water/maris aqua (Blue Lagoon geothermal seawater), silica/silt (Blue Lagoon silica mud), ethoxydiglycol oleate, cetearyl isononanoate, polyacrylamide, C13-14 isoparaffin, laureth-7, phenoxyethanol, methylparaben, ethylparaben, propylparaben, butylparaben, isobutylparaben.

  • November 18, 2016

    by Renate

    We just returned from a wonderful trip to Iceland, including a visite to the Bleu Lagoon. I've tried the silica mud mask, but washed it off within a few minutes because my skin became very irritated. My face stayed irritated and red (almost like a heavy sunburn) for two dayes. What could have cost such an reaction to my skin? I only read very positive things about the silica mud mask.

  • December 28, 2015

    by Beth

    I went to Iceland about a month ago, and visited Blue Lagoon. My skin never felt so soft. It would be worth the trip just to go back and float in Blue Lagoon and do mud facials. My skin remained soft for over two weeks. I am not a beauty product junkie, and I didn't buy any product while I was there and now I am sorry.

  • December 24, 2015

    by Serah

    I recently went to Iceland and visited the Blue Lagoon and although it was quite enjoyable, I was skeptical about the overpriced skin products sold and didn't buy anything. It wasn't until about a week later I noticed my psoriasis had cleared up, as well as the frustrating blemishes I get even though I'm 30 years old. I wracked my brain trying to think of something that would have helped, i.e. change in diet, water, etc. and all I could come up with is that mud at the Blue Lagoon! It's been so annoying dealing with skin so dry I get psoriasis patches while at the same time breaking out like a tween. Now I wish I would have bought the mud mask while I was there. Or better yet, done what Londa did and put a bunch in a plastic bag! They did give me a sample of the algae mask and I just used it and already my skin looks and feels amazing. If it weren't for the parabens (and the cost), I would highly recommend it. Really, if you can afford it, go to the Blue Lagoon and use the mud!

  • October 17, 2015

    by Linda

    Just back from iceland my husband collected the White stuff in a bag at the blue lagoon and we brought it back to scotland I have a oily complexion and it's kept my skin clear

  • October 23, 2014

    by ingredient list and info on the silicon dioxide mud

    i am very interested in finding out more about the silicon dioxide mud, i watched a documentary on the blue lagoon, and it looks to have alot of benefits. however i am wondering about the ingredient list since it does come from the silt from the power plant, that is a concern. as i age my skin is very oily, blocked pores, blotchy sueface, not healthy looking at all. looking for one good product to use forever. something that works well. as well as safe ingredients. thank you very much,

  • July 7, 2014

    by Jacqueline

    Thank you for this review! Been trying to find out what the ingredients are and disappointed to hear about what's in them.

  • March 29, 2014

    by Diana

    May I know where to get some samples? Would love to try it out first before purchasing it.

  • December 20, 2013

    by Freja

    I visit Iceland often, and Blue Lagoon is one of the favorite places to visit. There is deffinately something about the white mud: I can see and feel it. Hair do not like it however, keep your hair away from the water there. Products are pricey but worth it, like is with everything that really works. Looking forward to buy more stuff when I visit Iceland next summer again.

  • June 23, 2013

    by Jessica Campbell

    Currently in Iceland. my family visited the Blue Lagoon and loved it yesterday. It was remarkable how soft my skin felt after and still today. I did not buy any of the products however, because as you say they contained a lot of unnecessary chemicals. One of the creams second ingredient was petroleum and I am used to using chemical free products from Neal's Yard Remedies or making my own. I guess this white mud is one product you cannot bottle and maintain it's integrity.

  • May 9, 2012

    by janet

    I just returned from Iceland and a day at the Blue Lagoon. I was so excited about duty free prices for BioEffect that I didn't pay much attention to Blue Lagoon products. Yes, I am lovng the EGF for my face, but I am also loving the body products from Blue Lagoon! The hand cream is the best I've ever used, the shower wash is my husband's favorite, even he notices how his skin feels after showers. The mineral intensive cream is fabulous on feet and body and I have yet to use the silica softening bath and body oil and oils are always a necessity for my generally dry skin, can't wait to try it and now Im going to order the face mask.

  • May 3, 2012

    by Mhor

    I have visited the Blue Lagoon in Iceland and the mud definitely is white. It was lovely to sit around in hot geothermal pools while putting the white mud all over your skin. I have naturally dry skin and usually sitting in water all day would make my skin unbearable. The mud definitely helped my skin feel softer and less dry.

  • January 27, 2012

    by Carmen Hulbert

    I live in the Pacific Northwest and this time of year my skin is so dry. I am always looking for a way to add extra moisture. I would love to try this product! Thanks!

  • January 19, 2012

    by mary clay

    i am also a face mask junkie! "super soft and very clean look" is exactly what i usually go for. for instance, i just tried another mask over the weekend and it gave me just that, i loved it. in fact, as soon as i rinsed it off, i ran out of the bathroom and asked my husband to feel my face, and he loved it! as far as the ingredients go, i'm not really overly green(organic or natural lover) i'll use anything if it works well! i am intrigued by this product and i would love to try it!

Join the discussion! Leave a comment below.

My Comment

Add a comment...

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...