Free shipping on all orders over $39

Cindy Crawford's Meaningful Beauty

July 18, 2009 Reviewed by Marta 15 Comments
Sitting in an NYC cab the other day, I was subjected to a commercial for Cindy Crawford's aggressively ugly line of home furnishings. Everything looks as if it belongs on the set for an ad for discounted double glazing. If she was willing to put her name to this collection of bad taste, what in God's name could I expect from her cosmetic line, Meaningful Beauty?

It turns out not to be as scary as one of her sofas, nor as mediocre as her bland 'palm beach' rug. What Meaningful Beauty does have going for it is price. A seven piece kit for 30 days costs about $30. And who wouldn't spend $1 a day to look like Cindy. But I have to say that without Cindy, I wouldn't give this range a second look. It's OK, but just OK.

Take Maintenance 2 Night Fluide. You might expect for something that was created by Dr Jean-Louis Sebagh, a leading French dermatologist, that there would be a a few heavy-hitting anti-aging ingredients. But although there is a powerful form of vitamin C called MAP, an anti-inflammatory amino acid called palmitoyl proline and some soluble collagen, the other actives are the usual vitamins A and E. A lonely standout is decarboxy carnosine, with proven antioxidant activity, Carnosine can, according to Australian researchers, extend the Hayflick Limit, which means our cells will reproduce for a bit longer.

Meaningful Beauty makes much of its inclusion of a rare French melon. It looks to me to be a common cantaloupe. Although there is no shame in that. The musk melon is a source of potassium and vitamin A. Extract of the fruit is and antioxidant and anti-inflammatory. The seeds, unfortunately not used here, contain fatty acids.

As I said, this is all OK, but doesn't make me want to shout 'miracle cream' from the rooftops. And, being me, I'm not thrilled that there are enough preservatives to ensure that Meaningful Beauty's night cream will survive global warming and still be here when the next Ice Age starts. Still, I guess Cindy Crawford's brand is all about longevity.

Ingredients in Night Fluide

Water (Aqua), Isononyl Isononanoate, Prunus Amygdalus Duicis (Sweet Almond) Oil, Polymethyl Methacrylate, Ethylhexyl Palmitate, Ascorbyl Methylsilanol Pectinate, Sorbitan Oleate, Poylsorbate 80, Dicaprylyl Maleate, Dimethicone, Soluble Collagen, Cucumis Melo (Melon) Fruit Extract, Saccharomyces / Zinc Ferment, Elaeis Guineensis (Palm) Oil, Hydrogentated Palm Oil, Tocopherol, Cholesterol, Decarboxy Carnosine HCL, Magnesium Ascrobyl Phosphate, Butylene Glycol, Retinyl Palmitate, Lecithin, Sodium Polyacrylate, Mineral Oil, C13-14 Isoparaffin, Polysorbate 85, Polyacrylamide, Palmitoyl Proline, Magnesium Palmitoyl Glutamate, Sodium Palmitoyl Sarcosinate, Alcohol Denat., Glycerin, Magnesium Aluminum Silicate, Tocotrienols, Citric Acid, Disodium EDTA, Phenoxyethanol, Chlorphenesin, Methylparaben, Bensoic Acid, Dehydroacetic Acid, Propylparaben, Fragrance (Parfum), Benzyl Benzoate, Benzyl Salicylate, Citronellol, Limonene, Alpha-Isomethyl Ionone, Geraniol, Hexyl Cinnamal, Butylphenyl Methylpropional, Linalool.
  • April 22, 2013

    by cheryl

    Will you check out Exuviance targeted filler T5 soon??? thanks!!

  • April 21, 2013

    by Marta

    Hi Laura, thank you for your comment. I wrote this article. and I certainly did not get paid to write it.

  • April 20, 2013

    by Laura Mulcaster

    The type of marketing used in this article is completely unethical. The writer of the article pretends to be critical of the product to mislead people into thinking that they are objective and not being paid to convince people to buy the product. Shame on you, Cindy, you have enough money that you should not have to stoop to this. I work in marketing but would not write this type of fake article for any amount of money.

  • October 17, 2012

    by Steve

    I tried this line once. I really liked the packages but, to be honest, the cream did absolutely NOTHING to fight my wrinkles.
    So it was a complete waste of money. Plus, Cindy Crawford is not a very convincing person. When you watch the commercials for MEANINGFUL BEAUTY I was thinking to myself "Does she even believe in the products?" Because it didn't look as if she did.

  • March 14, 2012

    by Jenifer

    I have been using Meaningful Beauty for 3 years, and have had no problems whatsoever. I was using Arbonne, but it was just too expensive, so I was looking for an alternative. I saw an add and have it a try, and haven been very happy with the results.

  • December 31, 2011

    by Angela Pacheco

    Can you try it on older women in their 70s and 80s. Cause I see women that look young on your program and never in their 70's and 80's. My mom is 80's. So I would like to see older women try this.

  • November 13, 2010

    by Sunday

    Marta you are a Love ~ I did not suffer *wink* and I actually hoped after the rash subsided, that there would be fresher skin...or something. So let me be clear that I chose to continue use, I will submit my review this coming weekend. Now with much humor ~ unless something looks like it is going to fall off, shrivel up or rot ~ I'm willing to continue with any future reviews we might collaborate on ~ and since I know none of those things are going to happen ~ Cheers my Dear!

  • November 13, 2010

    by Marta

    Hi Sunday, no one should suffer rashes and breakouts in the interests of the TIA community and science. I hereby thank you on everyone's behalf for your stoicism. Looking forward to your review - although it seems you've let at least the cat's tail out of the bag.

  • November 13, 2010

    by Sunday

    Ahh so I am not the only one, I also developed a rash along the whole right side of my neck. Which interestingly is my preferred side to sleep on. I was given a tube to review for TIA and since the time is almost here to write my opinion, I thought I would read other comments. I started use on 10/20 and I WILL complete a full 4 weeks of use (we're all just troopers aren't we), the rash did go away, but I do NOT love this creme...more in my review.

  • August 11, 2010

    by Jolie

    I ordered the full suite of products hoping to have finally found a complete system that would also address my eyes and neck, two areas of concern as one ages. By the way I recently turned 40 with overall good/healthy skin and just wanted to keep it that way. Within less than two days of using these products (as directed) a rash developed on my neck and chest which was initially mistaken for hives. I immediately discontinued use of the neck cream under the circumstances and began taking Benadryl to alleviate the itch. It's now four days later with the rash lingering in large blotchy spots. My eyelids were also adversely affected as they became irritated over the five day period that I used the other products. At this point my eyelids are healing although have the appearance of crepe paper and are extremely dry and flaky. Upon realizing these products were the cause of my issues I contacted the distributor to cancel future orders and request a refund for the current shipment. Given my allergic reaction I don't need to return the items; however, they've gone straight into the trash because I can't recommend anyone that I know use them. I'm posting this comment so that others may benefit from my experience and forgo purchasing Meaningful Beauty. There are better products available at your local drugstore. I will be sticking with Neutrogena as my dermatologist recommended over ten years ago and simply purchasing a few more items for specific needs.

  • July 18, 2010

    by Agnela

    I've used the product before I purchased this i only had a sample that is why i purchased this bigger one and it works fine,but I have noticed a change in my skin though and I'm getting some rash, so i have stopped using it for a while, seems to be irritating my skin after a few weeks of use, and I'm getting some acne which i never had, so i guess anyone willing to try it can go ahead see what happens for them, every case is not the same. Good Luck!

  • May 21, 2010

    by Grace

    I really regret ordering these products. They made my skin dry and rough, so I returned them. I got a refund for the initial charge. But they kept sending me products and billing me after I asked them to cancel my account. I'm still trying to get them to stop. It's a major pain.

  • January 29, 2010

    by jacky c

    Be very careful in ordering Meaningul Beauty from the infomercial. Yes....it does say $29.95 plus shipping and handling. But....you will receive a bill for over $100!!! Be very....very cautious. I would not order from them again because of this deception.

  • December 7, 2009

    by sheikha

    hello
    i just i wonder where can i find this product at new york mean(meaningful beauty)...pleas



    thank you

  • July 19, 2009

    by colinmack

    What about Principal secret? I have been tempted to order that so many times it's not even funny. I know it has airgeline. Has anyone tried it?

Join the discussion! Leave a comment below.

My Comment

Add a comment...

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...