Free shipping on all domestic orders over $39

Clarisonic Plus- reviewed and recommended

Is a Solution for:
Cellulite, Stretch Marks, Sagging Skin
December 28, 2010 Reviewed by Marta 20 Comments

I used to be prone to breakouts on my back until I discovered regular dry brushing with the Clarisonic brush, using the gray (firmer) brush head. Once I made it a habit – and I mean every day – bacne became a thing of my past.  A few weeks ago, I was sent the Clarisonic Plus, which I was delighted to see has a new body brush.

The Clarisonic Plus has a brush head that is significantly bigger than the face brush and it is a special body mode. This simple upgrade makes body brushing much more effective and my skin is really liking it.

Not only is my skin clear, I am not getting that winter build up of dry skin. It used to be so bad that some days I would see masses of dry skin cells inside my clothes when I took them off at night. Yes, gross. But now no more.

Clarisonic Plus also has three speeds for the face and costs $225, compared to $195 for the Classic. I wouldn’t trade in your Classic if it is still going strong, but if anyone is considering a Clarisonic, then it would definitely be worth going for a Plus.

Read more:

How to Use the Clarisonic Brush

The Clarisonic Mia

  • December 14, 2015

    by Kaela

    Does the clarisonic plus help with celluilte?

  • October 23, 2012

    by Yuliana

    could not resist but to say that i LOVE my clarisonic for the face (the regular one), it helped me with my blackheads immensely - even my dermatologist asked him what have i done to improve my skin that much! Of course, i also follow Marta's recommendations on serums, cleansers, etc, so i cannot say it's all due to clarisonic - BUT it was a big part of my skin glow! thank you clarisonic! and my boyfriend who gave it to me as a present :). One word of caution - do not over do it - i stopped using it daily and switched to few times a week... find the right balance for your skin.

  • February 28, 2012

    by christina

    Marta- may I ask if you have any opinion on if its possible to over use the clarisonic? i LOVE mine, use it twice a day, and always have for the past 3-4yrs. I recently went to a skin training and the educator said she advised against the clarisonic stating that it causes over exfoliation and long term damage to the skin and dermis . I said "show me some damn proof before you open your mouth and make claims such as that! haha i love my clarisonic and recommend it to most all my clients!!" anyhow, what do you think? thanks!

  • May 1, 2011

    by Marta

    Hi Hilary, I'm just happy that you've become part of the TIA community. Thank you and welcome!

  • May 1, 2011

    by Hilary

    Marta--I'm so sorry I misspelled your name in one of the above posts. It was a complete brain fog/typo sort of thing, as I definitely know your name is not Martha.

    Being that you seem like such an open, friendly type of girl (note the brown nosing use of girl), I imagine it's not a big deal to you, but you have a gorgeous, graceful and unique name, and I just wanted to take a minute to apologize to you for botching it. Sorry!!

  • April 30, 2011

    by Hilary

    Thanks, Marta. While I've had the dry brush exfoliation technique used on my body, I haven't used it on my face. On the body, I can't say I'm a big fan (fingernails on a chalkboard type of thing), but with the face being a much smaller area, I might be able to muster the courage to give it a go. Regarding Clarisonic introducing cleansers later, considering that dry brush exfoliation was the trend in spas when the Clarisonic came out, it would make sense that it was initially marketed to spas that way.

  • April 30, 2011

    by Marta

    Hi Hilary, so glad that you are enjoying your Clarisonic. The reason why I dry brush is because the first time that I ever came across the Clarisonic was when it was relatively new on the market and I was (for a birthday treat) at the Canyon Ranch spa having a facial and the esthetician used it dry. When I got home I promptly bought one and used it in the same way. I'm not sure, but I believe that Clarisonic only launched the cleansers somewhat later.

  • April 30, 2011

    by Hilary

    I've had the Clarisonic Plus for less than a week, and I can't recall my face ever feeling this smooth before. Perhaps it was this smooth when I was prepubescent, but certainly not since then. The difference in my face from last week to now is nothing short of astonishing. An expensive purchase for me, but well worth each and every penny spent:)

    Thank you, Martha (et all, too!), for singing the Clarisonic's praises time and again. Even though I had already read a good bit about the Clarisonic before finding your site, had it not been for your dedication to education and your continual unbiased reviews, I would have continued to view the Clarisonic as an overpriced cosmetic tool.

    If you don't mind explaining, I'd love to know why it is that you prefer drybrushing over using the brush for cleansing. I've read in several of your posts that you prefer the drybrush method, but I haven't been able to find exactly why you feel it is better to use it dry over wet.

  • April 12, 2011

    by Pam

    I purchased my Clarisonic brush today. I did get the Pro model from a spa salon but paid no more then what places are charging for the Plus model. All it has different is a 4th speed for the face, in addition to the 3 speeds (Low, Normal, High) on the Plus model. It is called the "Pro" speed and is one speed higher then "high" on the Plus model. Don't know that I will use the upper speed or not since I have never used a brush like this but was excited about it after reading the review. It also has the Body Mode. It came with the "normal" brush (gray base)and I thought I might need the "sensitive" brush (white base) so I purchased it and the "body" brush even before trying it. They also have a "delicate" brush (pale blue base) for purchase, which is softer then the "sensitive" brush and claims it is for those with very delicate skin or those with rosacea or acne-prone skin but I figure I can get by with the sensitive and up, considering the extra brushes are $25 ea where I bought them!! Now, I have to charge it for 24 hrs before use anyway, ughhh. Thanks so much for the review Marta and the hints from various people. Can't wait to try it.

  • April 12, 2011

    by Marta

    Hi Camilla, before washing, in the morning.

  • April 12, 2011

    by Camilla

    Marta,
    Do you dry brush in the morning before you wash your face or in the evening?

  • January 11, 2011

    by marta

    Hi Pamela,
    No I don't. I prefer to use the Clarisonic as a dry brush before cleansing. I don't have any grand theories about it. Just a personal preference.

  • January 11, 2011

    by Pamela Soderling

    Do you also use the Clarasonic to wash face with a cleanser?

  • December 29, 2010

    by Valerie

    Thanks Sunday and Marta.

  • December 29, 2010

    by marta

    Hi Valerie, I mostly agree with Sunday. I dry brush face and body once a day - except on the days when I use another exfoliant (eg scrub or AHA).

  • December 29, 2010

    by Sunday

    Hi Valerie, speaking for myself I have dry brushed daily for specific needs only. For example: rough knees and elbow control; I have dry brushed daily and then applied lotion for 1 week and then when the dry patches were better, I've maintained the smoothness with 2 to 3x a week. I personally would never brush AFTER applying AHA's, but I do dry brush and THEN apply my acids. Currently I brush my face an average of 3x a week religiously. I don't think twice a day is a good idea, based on how much exfoliation is accomplished with 1 brushing, I feel too much natural oils would be removed, like the hint of a rug burn or something ~ just my opinion. Hope this helps. I'm sure Marta will reply with her thoughts too.

  • December 28, 2010

    by Valerie

    I have a question about Dry-brushing: Whether for the face or for the body,

    Is iy okay to dry brush everyday?

    It is safe to dry-brush on the days you use AHA mask or face scrubs?

    Do you dry-brush once or twice a day?

    Thanks
    Valerie

  • December 28, 2010

    by Sunday

    I absolutely LOVE my Clarisonic Plus, I bought mine last year when I turned 42 as a birthday gift to myself. This is the reason I get asked how my skin is so smooth all the time. I attend night college and there are lots of ladies who notice ~ it is an investment, but well worth the $. I did not use the cleansers or polishes that came with the set, instead I just dry brush or use with some of MY cremes. One of my favorite ways to use is first thing in the morning while I still have some of last-nights product still on my skin. Currently I use Cellbone Skin Nutra night nutrient cream, the two work REALLY well together and then I apply a serum. LOVE my Clarisonic Brush Plus!!!

  • December 28, 2010

    by marta

    I don't have the Pro, but yes, the Plus is good for face and body (and for body is much better than the Classic).

  • December 28, 2010

    by Ines

    Hi Marta,

    Did you mean that the Clarisonic Pro brush is good for both, face and body?

Join the discussion! Leave a comment below.

My Comment

Add a comment...

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...