Free shipping on all orders over $39

Code.ai eyelash and brow growth products

Is a Solution for:
Eyelashes & Brows
Reviewed by Marta February 7, 2010 14 Comments
Code.ai is the latest eyelash and brow growth stimulator on the block. The eyelash growth business is increasingly crowded and every week I seem to hear about a new that needs to be added to our 2010 roundup of whether they work and are safe. Code.ai seems to have brought a couple of unique approaches to help it stand out. One is that Code.ai has not one, but three products that combined come to $230. Those lashes better be worth batting afterwards.

The second is that Code.ai does not include the potentially harmful active, prostaglandin, that you'll find in Latisse or Lilash, for example. Instead, it claims that there is a proprietary combination of peptides that, in the Lash Extend Serum ($115) are at a 30% concentration. The peptides are also in the Brow Boosting Shaper Gel ($75), although the concentration is not mentioned. They are not in the Lash Extend Primer ($40), which is not a growth product as such but is supposed to protect the lashes from damage from mascara and other onslaughts with botanical extracts and heavy duty moisturizers.

I have been given one of each to test and started this weekend, diligently using them twice a day. The big guns in the formula are myristoyl pentapeptide-16 and 17. Code.ai is not the first to hone in on them,  Marini Lash, which works well enough, also has myristoyl pentapeptide-17 (but not 16 as well). And you'll also find 17 in Tarte Mutlipleyes.

Licorice root is frequently found in products to prevent male hair loss, although I haven't found any research to back up why that should be. Hydrolized wheat protein is generally added to hair products to promote strength and, of course, panthenol is ubiquitous in all things hair.

Although it is good to see that Code.ai hasn't  copied the parabens that are high up in Jan Marini's formula, there is triethanolamine. This is a well known toxic and irritant, although I haven't had any adverse reactions so far.

I shall report back in a few weeks on how I get on with Code.ai's lash and brow products.

Ingredients in serum

Aqua, glycerin, licorice root extract, hydrolized wheat protein, allantoin, panthenol, pentylene glycol, ethylhexylglycerin, myristoyl pentapeptide-16, myristoyl pentapeptide-17, hyaluronic acid, panthenyl ethyl ether, acrylates C10-30, alkyl acryates copolymer, triethanolamine, diethanolamine, phenoxyethanol.

Ingredients in lash primer

Water (Aqua), Beeswax, Butylene Glycol, Sucrose Polystearate, Copernicia Cerifera Wax (Carnauba), Acrylates Copolymer, Hydrolyzed Wheat Protein, Stearic Acid, Sericin, Methylsilanol Acetyltyrosine, Tribehenin, Behenyl Alcohol, Polysrobate 80, Glycine Soja Seed Extract (Soybean), Elaeis Guineensis Fruit Extract (Palm), Oryza Sativa Extract (Rice), Limanthes Alba Seed Oil (Meadowfoam), Sodium Hyaluronate, Tocopheryl Acetate, Squalane, Ceramide 2, Sorbitan Sesquioleate, Panthenol, Sodium Levulinate, Magnesium Aluminum Silicate, Hydroxyethylcellulose, PVP, PEG 32, Cellulose, O Cymen 5 OL, 1,2 Hexanediol, Caprylyl Glycol, Triethanolamine, Disodium EDTA, Sodium Benzoate, Sodium Dehydroacetate, Phenoxyethanol, May Contain (+/-): Iron Oxide (CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499)

Ingredients in brow booster

Aqua, glycerin, licorice root extract, hydrolized wheat protein, panthenol, pentylene glycol, ethylhexylglycerin, myristoyl pentapeptide-16, myristoyl pentapeptide-17, hyaluronic acid, panthenyl ethyl ether, acrylates C10-30, alkyl acryates copolyemer, PEG-8, PEG-8/SMDI copolymer, palmitoyl myrtistyl serinate, sodium polyacrylate, methacrylic acid sodium, acrylamidomethyl propane sulfonate copolymer, triethanolamine, diethanolamine, phenoxyethanol.
  • January 6, 2014

    by Marta

    Wendy - here is the URL for an article that explains human conditioned media http://www.truthinaging.com/review/epidermal-growth-factors-do-they-work-and-are-they-safe

  • January 6, 2014

    by Wendy

    Thanks Marta!
    I am wondering what is in the AQ Lash proprietary formula? You mentioned an ingredient that inhibits lash growth but I wasn't sure which product contained it to avoid it? So sounds like Lashurious would most likely work like AI, where it works somewhat, but not too much. I'd like to try worked best for you with the AQ, but wish I knew what was in the "Human Fibroblast Conditioned Media?"

    P.S. is there a way to get notices if there is a comment on these boards? thanks.

  • January 5, 2014

    by Marta

    Hi Wendy, I found that it worked OK, but not spectacular. Here is a link to the review: http://www.truthinaging.com/review/code-ai-eyelash-brow-stimulators-reviewed-and-recommended The best I have found so far is AQ Lash:
    http://www.truthinaging.com/review/aq-lash-reviewed-and-recommended

  • January 4, 2014

    by Wendy

    Hi Marta,
    How did this product work out for you? Another one that is a bit less expensive than code ai is Lashurious $79, and it also containts peptides 16 and 17. I had tried the Tarte lash product and it didn't work for me, perhaps because it didn't have both peptides? i don't know. Has anyone tried Lashurious?

    ingredients aqua, glycerin myristoyl pentapeptide 17 myristoyl pentapeptide 16 hyaluronic acid resveratrol saberry fruit extract, coffee extract licorice root extract grape fruit extract cocoa seed extract, camellia sinensis leaf extract, garcinia mangostana peel extract, goji berry extract pomegranate extract, acai extract, allantoin, panthenol, pentylene glycol, acrylates c10 30 alkyl acrylate crosspolyme panthenyl ethyl ether, phenoxyethanol ethylhexylglycerin, triethanolamine

  • August 22, 2010

    by Susan

    Following chemotherapy, my lashes had thinned considerably and I had made matters worse by using false eyelash extensions with glue that pulled out and broke off my remaining lashes with each removal. I was in desperate need of help. After thorough research and in relying upon Marta's evaluation, I decided to try Code.ai Lash Extend Serum. I have been faithfully using the product at least 2-3 times per day and experienced no irritation whatsoever. After approximately 2 weeks, I began to notice repair and growth. Now, 4 weeks later, my lashes are to the point of average length but healthy and definitely thickening. I am hoping that the coming weeks will bring additional length and thickening. I have also used the eyelash serum on my brows and experienced enhanced growth there as well. Due to my frequent use of the product for both eyelashes and brows, I am already ordering a replacement to ensure that I do not run out!! Thanks, Marta. I will keep you and your readers posted moving forward.

    Susan

  • May 26, 2010

    by marilyn

    hi marta, I had the same reaction too to prolatogen. I think it may be the benzylkonium chloride (0.01%) as it is in the latisse. Thank you so much you are always so kind to reply. I am trying out the code ai per your site! SIncerely, marilyn

  • May 24, 2010

    by marta

    Hi Marilyn, unfortunately I developed an allergic reaction to Prolatogen (my eyelid would become very puffy and itchy) and eventually I gave up trying to use it. I couldn't really tell whether it has an effect on lash growth because I had to keep stopping it for a few days and wait for my eye to get better. A reader has another pack to review so hopefully we'll hear back from someone who has a better experience.

  • May 23, 2010

    by marilyn

    Hi Marta, thank you so much. I was also wondering if you have tried prolatogen yet with any positive results? thanks, Marilyn

  • May 21, 2010

    by marta

    Hi Marilyn, hadn't heard of Lashipix or Lash Relonge. So thanks for the tip. I just took a look though. I can't find ingredients for Lash Relonge. But Lashpix is the same as<a href="http://truthinaging.com/eyes/nutra-lift-lash-renue-eyelash-growth-stimulator" rel="nofollow"> Nutra-lift Lash Renue </a>but $20 more expensive
    Lashipix: Aqua (Deionized Water), Glucerin, Xynox-5 Complex: (Myristoyl Pentapeptide-17, Cyclomethicone, Bis-Vinyl Dimethicone, Biotin (Vitamin B7), dl-Panthenol, Cucurbita Pepo (Pumpkin) Seed Extract, Cyanocobalamin (Vitamin B-12), Allantoin, Pyridoxine HCl (Vitamin B-6), Hesperidin Methyl Chalcone, Steareth-20, Dipeptide-2, Palmitoyl Tetrapeptide-7), Polysorbate-20, Xanthan Gum, Sodium Hyaluronate (Hyaluronic Acid), Retinyl Palmitate (Vitamin-A), Punico Granatum (Pomegranate) Extract, Cucumis Sativus (Cucumber) Fruit Extract, Camellia Sinensis Leaf (White Tea) Extract, Phenonxyethanol, Ethylhexylglycerin

  • May 21, 2010

    by marilyn

    Hi Marta, have you heard of lashipix and lash relonge? If so, what do you think? thanks so much, I value your opinion and website!

  • May 9, 2010

    by marta

    Hi L, I started using Code:ai at the beginning of February and it seems to be coming to an end. So, it looks as if they (serum and brow) last a little over two months.

  • May 8, 2010

    by L

    Some days I use the lash primer.
    Some days I use it and put mascara on over it.
    My lashes look super long when I do.
    This Code:ai is just amazing...the serum. How long has
    it lasted for you, Marta?
    I am so happy that it is working for me.
    I feel good about putting the primer on my lashes also.
    I am so pleased with the set I got.
    Thank you for finding these great products for us.
    Have a wonderful weekend!
    L

  • May 8, 2010

    by marta

    Hi L, I am so pleased. I've been using Code:ai ever since my review and am now at the point where I am running out. With so many products to test this often means I just move on to the next thing. I feel strongly motivated to get some more Code:ai so that's a very good sign. That's also great news about the Primer - I didn't love it, but the nice people at Code:ai were just so happy to work with us and give everyone a great deal by throwing it is an extra with the Lash Serum (for the first 100 buyers - there are still plenty left).

  • May 8, 2010

    by L

    I have used the serum and the primer for just a few short
    weeks and my lashes get longer and thicker daily.
    When I look in the mirrow now, I have to take a double take
    because it looks like I have mascara on when I don't.
    I do like the primer too. It was a nice extra.
    Thanks for offering such fabulous products, Marta!
    I enjoy all the posts from you and from everybody.
    L

Join the discussion! Leave a comment below.

My Comment

Add a comment...

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...