Free shipping on all orders over $39

Colorescience Mineral Powder Sun Protection SPF 30- reader reviewed and rejected

Is a Solution for:
Sun Protection for Face
August 24, 2012 Reviewed by Tiffany 7 Comments

I was given a sample of Colorescience Sunforgettable Mineral Powder Sun Protection SPF 30 ($50) in Fair Shimmer to try. For your reference, I am a 21-year-old with dry, sensitive very fair skin. I burn very easily, even while wearing sunscreen. I recently went to a family reunion near a lake and got to test this product (my first powder sunscreen) in a variety of situations.

I tried it first without makeup on a light sun exposure day. The instructions say “Apply liberally [and] reapply every two hours.” Immediately upon application the powder felt obvious on my face, which I didn’t care for. Also, although I didn’t see much pigment, I could see some obvious and sparse/random sparkling. This isn’t a product that will give you an all-over candle-lit glow. I didn’t care for the look or feel – but no sunburn.

Then I tried it over makeup. The powder on top of my light coverage BB cream was visible, and it caused a slight change in color, but nothing too drastic. This time I barely saw any sparkle – I’m not sure if this was because it looked less obvious against a made-up face or if there were just less shimmer particles in this application. Again, I had no sunburn with light sun exposure.

Finally, I decided to try wearing the product while canoeing, with no makeup again. I got quite a bit more sun exposure this time, and I did get some slight redness after about three hours in the sun (one hour over the prescribed reapplication time). I tried it in the water, and it washes right off. Colorescience doesn’t make any claims that this product is waterproof or water-resistant; I just wanted to try for curiosity’s sake.

In all, I won’t purchase the product and probably won’t even finish my sample. I think for everyday sun exposure, this will do the trick as long as you reapply as directed. But I didn’t care for the feel of the powder on my skin or the pigment effect (over makeup) and shimmer. If you are allergic to many liquid sunscreens or prefer to wear a heavier powder on your face, then you may want to try this, but I would recommend skipping the “shimmer” version and just getting the regular formula that would match your skin tone. Also, go for the SPF 50 if you burn easily, like me.

Ingredients: Titanium Dioxide 12%, Zinc Oxide 12%, Mica, dimethicone/vinyldimethicone crosspolymer, corallina officinalis, calcium silicate

  • August 26, 2015

    by Cori

    I have used this product for a few years now and will never be without it again! I use it with or without makeup and have never felt any heavy or dry or powdery effect. I like the fact that it's tinted and I love the fact that it works! I have even used it on my grandkids faces - and they're allergic to almost every other sunscreen out there. They are in the water almost all the time and their little faces are just fine as long as I reapply it every couple of hours. There are a few, very few, cream sunscreens that I'll use - but none of them on my face. I hate, hate, hate the reapplication process of creams on my face, and I seem to miss a few tiny spots here and there. I don't miss anywhere with the powder and best of all, it doesn't have that horrible greasy feel. So, since everyone likes something different, you need to give this a try and decide for yourself.

  • September 29, 2013

    by Jennifer

    Another thumbs up from me. This is a go-to product I depend on every day. I wear a tinted moisturizer with SPF but always keep this in my makeup bag to use right before I go in the sun or to reapply once the two hours is up. Like others, I uses it on my face, neck, décolleté, hands, etc. It's very easy to stay protected.

    I had a different experience than the reviewer with the powder feel though. I like my skin dewy and do not like powders. I was skeptical of this powder at first, but I actually did not notice a heavy powder feel. And my dewiness from my other products (like a glowy gel cheek stain) remains dewy even after I use this powder. The ultimate test was when my husband used some...after much convincing from me. He was scared it would like like he was wearing makeup. But it was undetectable on him.

    I use the Perfectly Clear in Medium, which is great for my medium skin tone, whether I use it alone or over top of my tinted moisturizer.

  • August 30, 2012

    by Laura

    I'm with the majority here. Until last year, at 50, I've never been able to find a powder I like so I've always just used foundations. Most have horrible ingredients so I swiched to a mineral based tinted moisturizer with suncscreen 20. It leaves me with a little too much "glow" so I decided to try to the Colorscience powder over top which also povides my face with extra sun protection. It works great for me, but it did take a couple of trys to get the right color. I also like how portable it is. This is a keeper in my books!

    Tiffany, all products are so individual and I"ve purchased many of the recommended products and not liked them, so don't worry. You did a great review and provided readers with insight based on your personal experience, so good job!

    This is why this is such a great website, experiences with products are shared and readers can take away what they want.
    Thanks Marta!

  • August 26, 2012

    by Tiffany

    I reviewed the product and I just want to be clear - even though I didn't fall in love with the product I didn't mean to suggest it was a bad one. What I specifically did not care for was the feel of the powder on my skin, which I felt was heavier than some powders I have tried (though they were finishing powders, not sunscreen). I didn't like the sparkles but going without a shimmer shade eliminates that as an issue. The shade itself matched my skin just fine; it was not perceptible when used alone and did not make my makeup look bad when applied on top. I just wanted to make it apparent that, due to the fact that it is lightly pigmented and not translucent, a color change from BB only to BB+Colorscience was noticeable because I know that for some people, especially those who use a full face of foundation, that could be an important purchase factor for them. Just wanted to make sure that was perfectly clear, and I'm glad you all found a product you love and are so loyal to :)

  • August 26, 2012

    by Teri Dourmashkin

    I agree with Marta and Olivier. I use this in "Perfectly Clear Medium," as my everyday sunblock and you cannot even tell it is on. Its great for not only your face, but neck, hands and arms or anywhere you need protection. If I had to rely on a another sunblock cream to slather on all those areas, I would be too remiss in using it. It's the best!

  • August 25, 2012

    by Marta

    I am totally with Olivier on this - perfectly put. This is one of my favorite products.

  • August 25, 2012

    by Olivier

    I've been using this product in my skin tone and without the sparkles for 4 years now and I am absolutely in love with it. I think it's the perfect product for short exposures, or if you are just running errands walking in the city or in and out of the car. If I know I am gonna be in the sun for long period of times, or the beach, I choose a cream, but for short exposures or easy reapplication, I go for this powder. My skin is very sensitive to sunscreen and conventional sunscreens clog my pores. Also if you do indeed reapply regular sunscreen every two hours throughout the day as it is suggested. Then by noon you look like a greasy mess. Which is why this product is so great. It protects your skin and leaves it matte without irritating or even disturbing make up.
    I feel sad to read that product was rejected when I feel it was mostly due to the sparkles and the wrong color shade.

Join the discussion! Leave a comment below.

My Comment

Add a comment...

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...