Free shipping on all orders over $39

Cellular Skin Rx Super Max

Is a Solution for:
Sagging Skin
Reviewed by Marta April 28, 2009 16 Comments
Posted by Marta

Ever since Kate reviewed Cellular Skin Rx Super Max Multi-Peptide Skin Solution Serum ($64 for 0.5oz), I have been very intrigued by it. I've been looking at the ingredients list on and off for a few days, trying to decide whether this potion is complex and sophisticated or just jumping on the peptide bandwagon.

Any product that has an active as its most dominant ingredient (in this case, seaweed extract) gets my vote. I am interested - but unmoved (pun not intended) - by the presence of not one, but three peptides that modulate facial muscle movement. I don't think I've seen three neuropeptides in one serum before. The thing is, I'm not sure that they really work significantly enough to make a difference on expression lines and I can't say I've felt much of an effect after smearing them on. Anyhow, the ones used here include Argireline (or acetyl hexapeptide-3), which is fairly common, and a newer, supposedly more powerful version called acetyl glutamyl heptapeptide-1 (also known as octapeptide or SNAP-8). According to the blurb, SNAP-8 is more effective at reducing wrinkle depth while acetyl hexapeptide reduces surface muscle tension. The third is tripeptide, a synthetic peptide made by combining three amino acids. Tripeptide is also used by Osmotics in its Anti-Radical Age Defense System, a cream that we've found effective for broken capillaries.

Then we move on, as far as I am concerned, to the real heavy guns. Palmitoyl pentapeptide-3 is our friend Matrxyl. As we have mentioned countless times before, the research results on Matrixyl are impressive (although carried out by its manufacturer and not independently) for collagen production: in vivo palmitoyl pentapeptide-3 was found to stimulate collagen synthesis by 30-117%. The results for "moderate" wrinkles aren't quite so spectacular though.

However, in addition to Matrixyl, there is its bigger and more powerful sister, Matrixyl 3000. This is the result of combining oligopeptide with tetrapeptide-3.

So with two kinds of Matrixyl and three neuropeptides, we have to ask ourselves if Cellular Rx's formulator is heavy handed or hedging his/her bets. It is possible that the tetrapeptide-3 in Matrixyl 3000 makes it not just more potent than plain vanilla Matrixyl, but capable of carrying out a different job. Tetrapeptide-3 seems to be a sophisticated anti-inflammatory that can suppress the body's production of interleukins, particularly IL6, which are the chemical messengers that trigger the body's acute inflammatory response.

SuperMax is notable for the absence of the gazillion botanicals that seem to be crammed into creams these days. I don't know whether that's a good thing or a bad thing, but there is a refreshing simplicity about SuperMax. The big question here though is whether SuperMax is just Argireline and Matrixyl with knobs on.

Well, the proof will be in the trying. The nice people at Cellular Skin Rx sent me ten 5ml samples, which I guess is a 30-day supply. I wonder if I'll like it as much as Kate did. Back in a few weeks with my verdict...

Related posts

Kate's review of SuperMax

Five Best products worth the splurge

Five Best anti-aging serums

Ingredients

Seaweed extract, purified water, hyaluronic acid, Argireline, pentapeptide-3, tripeptide, acetyl glutomyl heptapeptide-1, palmitoyl oligopeptide, palmitoyl tetrapeptide-3, phenoxyethanol, ethylhexylglycerin.
  • September 3, 2009

    by Stephanie

    NM- I saw your reviewed and rejected article shortly after posing the above question.

  • September 2, 2009

    by Stephanie

    Hey Marta,
    What were the results of your trial of this product?

    Thanks,
    Stephanie

  • August 30, 2009

    by Teresa Gillenwater

    I would love to try this one. I am close to seeing a dermatologist and/or cosmetic surgeon. I haven't given up hope, since I haven't tried everything else, yet. I can't afford the doctors procedures, but will invest in topicals when I find something that really reveals a change.

  • August 27, 2009

    by Katya Narozhnaya

    It is an interesting mix of peptides. I would love to try the product to see how it would tackle my emerging nasolabial folds and crow's feet.

  • August 27, 2009

    by Lucy

    Bring it on...
    61 and needing some help!

  • August 27, 2009

    by Matina Vourgourakis

    I also would love to try this. I am 45 and my skin (luckily) is still in good condition and thanks to the info on this site staying that way. However I know that eventually things will change :( Any tool I can use to fight on would be great!

    Thanks

  • August 27, 2009

    by michlny

    SKin has been looking a bit haggard lately - could use something new...that works!

  • August 27, 2009

    by Marylea

    I'd love to try this! Where and how much?

  • August 26, 2009

    by jc ross

    i am 48 with skin starting to loose elasticity so i would try it in a heart beat.
    I like peptides when reading about them and am still looking for a magic bullet that actually shows results....rather than promising them but would try anything trying to get the results.

  • August 26, 2009

    by Betty

    I would love to give this a try as I am looking for anything that will help my skin look younger that it feels. I would also like to try something that may lift it off the floor.

  • August 26, 2009

    by Cindy

    Marta,
    I would love to give this one a try. I'm fairly new to Truth in Aging and I love this site. I'm learning so much and you have guided several of my purchases lately.
    Thanks

  • August 26, 2009

    by anne

    where do you get this?

  • August 26, 2009

    by Cristina

    That's funny,Bess.
    My poor husband has about 2 square inches to himself in our bathroom...just enough room for his toothbrush and razor. He calls the bathroom my chemistry lab and is always warning me that my face is going to fall off or that I'm going to blow up the house with all my concoctions!
    I LOVE trying new things-especially such active-packed goodies like this one!

  • August 26, 2009

    by Marie

    I am game for trying this. If my face went through the Obagi regime and barely peeled, I think I can weather this.

  • August 26, 2009

    by Bess

    Marta: I would love to try this product. My husband calls my face a chemical waste dump because of my fearlessness.

  • August 26, 2009

    by Jess

    Hmm, how much is this? The ingredients are identical to one I've used (and had the same reactions as Marta) from Vitacost under a different name. You can find the link here:

    http://www.vitacost.com/CSI-Multipeptide-Serum-Anti-Wrinkle-Treatment

    However, over the past few months I've been using Mayumi Squalane (I think this is from shark liver and not olive, unfortunately - though my skin may not be able to tell the difference). I think if I combine the two I'll be able to rectify the drying effects, since I've had luck using it in combination with Retin A. I find washing my face 1/2 hour prior to using the retin a and applying a few drops of squalane while still damp has successfully negated the irritation I used to experience when using the product.

    Back onto the topic - I did have high hopes for the serum initially and ordered it again in the hopes that the peptides just needed a different delivery to my skin. Here's hoping the squalane oil solves the dilemma.

Join the discussion! Leave a comment below.

My Comment

Add a comment...

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...