Free shipping on all domestic orders over $39

Jane Iredale Longest Lash Mascara

Our Rating: 0 stars

November 2, 2008 Reviewed by Marta 50 Comments

Getting the perfect lashes to bat requires patience and painstaking research to find eyelash growth products that work and are safe. The quick, superficial fix of a flick of the mascara wand doesn't really cut it; most mascaras work by adding a coat of gunk that make the lashes look thicker, but not longer. Jane Iredale's Longest Lash Mascara ($33) promises to do just the opposite.

The key ingredient in this water-based mascara is algae extract. We aren't told which of the 20,000 species of seaweed this is. However, since it is purported to stimulate lash growth, I am wondering if it might be spirulina. This has a high dose of vitamin B, which is associated with hair growth.

There is also a dash of vanilla. In this case it comes from a relatively rare Tahitian variety. Vanilla is an antioxidant. As well as almond seed extract, there is tribehenin, a fatty acid. And, this being Ms Iredale, there are no nasty preservatives or strange chemical growth factors to be squeamish about.

If you would like to try Jane Iredale's Longest Lash Mascara, we have a 'deluxe'-size sample (1oz). Post a comment to convince us that you are up for sending in review with your verdict.

Ingredients In Jane Iredale Longest Lash Mascara

Water/Eau/Aqua, Algae Extract, Beeswax, Copernicia Cerifera (Carnauba) Wax, Cellulose, Glyceryl Stearate, Glycerin, Hydrolyzed Algae Extract, Vanilla Tahitensis Fruit Extract, Prunus Amygdalus Dulcis (Sweet Almond) Seed Extract, Tribehenin, Hydroxyethylcellulose, Panthenol, Oleic Acid. May Contain: Iron Oxides (CI 77489, CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499) Carmine (CI 75470) Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891).

Buy Me
$ 33.00
  • May 10, 2015

    by Sophia

    Hello, i am a make-up fan, and espcially Jane iredale fan. I have recently tested rms mascara but i would like to tryck ice black to see if It Will produce an eve better result. People often ask me what I wear I am happy to share. I am gluten free and this mascara promise IT is.

  • April 5, 2015

    by Anne

    I am in an endless quest for the right mascara. This could be it. I will enthusiastically try, and articulately review!

  • September 28, 2014

    by Joanne Gildea

    I would definitely love to try this product!! I've tried numerous mascaras which claim to be organic, safe and free from harsh ingredients but when you look closely at some of the ingredients in them I can't believe I was duped by their promises!! The ingredients in this mascara seem brilliant and I would definitely love to give it a go and review it so that other women start to become more aware of what they are using so close to their eyes.

  • May 3, 2014

    by Peg S

    I have purchased numerous lash enhancers and frankly have seen little to no improvements. I also have a drawer full of mascaras which may have worked well in the first few uses but now seem to be too clumpy looking. I have fair hair and almost invisible lashes so would love to find a mascara that gives definition and length yet looks natural. Please, send me a sample and I'd be happy to write a review.

  • February 27, 2014

    by Lorelei Atwood

    Hi Marta, I just ordered the Benir Bee Venom Cream. I would also like to try a sample of the mascara. My eyes get irritated with virtually all mascaras and eye creams (though the Snowberry Eye Cream has not irritated them!), and I want to try it before buying it. I'm totally willing to review it as well. Thanks!

  • March 7, 2011

    by Ashley

    Would love to try a lash lengthening mascara that really works. I've done the Neulash, Revitalash and others to growth lashes, but after a while they stop working and if you miss a day or two, you almost need to start all over again for a straight 30-60 days. Too expensive and too time consuming. Mascara...well we do that everyday. Dior, Ysl is great and so is Maybelline but Jane Iredale has a good reputation for leading edge products. Let's give it a try.

  • February 9, 2011

    by JustD

    Was there a reader review and recommended or rejected done on this? If not, sign me up to try it as well, if it's even still a consideration. Otherwise, from what I've seen in the five best mascaras, I guess I'll try the Tarte brand. I'm using Bare Escentials Buxom now, but not sure if it's hurting, I also use Lipsils prior to putting on mascara, and when I'm cognizant before passing out at bedtime, I slather my lashes with vaseline or vitamin e oil...seems to help keep them supple and I notice less falling out with them.

  • February 8, 2011

    by melissa

    would love to try this product, I have very scarse eyelashes and need a product to help them, I've been buying mascara after mascara and none of them are helping with the growth of my lashes, thanks

  • June 1, 2010

    by gina fair

    Oh my goodness...this comment was posted 2 years ago! I would have loved to try this mascara. I'm ALWAYS on the hunt for new mascara and I'm almost out of my faux cils from Yves St Laurant and want to try something new. How did your readers like it? Is it too late for a free sample?

  • May 19, 2010

    by marta

    Claudia, you can check out some of our recommendations in our <a href="http://truthinaging.com/uncategorized/five-best-for-eyelash-and-brow-growth-2010" rel="nofollow">Five Best for eyelash growth</a>.
    http://truthinaging.com/uncategorized/five-best-for-eyelash-and-brow-growth-2010

  • May 19, 2010

    by Claudia

    my eyelashes are falling out i barely have any eyelashes left. What product do you recommemend or is there anything I can do to get fuller lasher in a short amount of time?

  • December 28, 2009

    by Charlene Rehn

    I have recently tried MD Lash Factor and am excited to try Jane Iredale mascara. Anything to enhance my sparse lashes would be welcome. Thanks for offering the sample. Charlene

  • November 8, 2009

    by Alexis

    I have been using Iredale products for many years, the early nineties for sure. I have real sensitivities to most mascaras and have tried many brands, but only once the Iredale, which was flaky and rather dry. It would be fantastic if this one is leaps and bounds beyond that older one. I'd love to try it and would promise to review it at various venues online, even my new blog, which I'm developing to replace my author's website at http://www.alexismasters.com

    Thanks for offering the sample. If it turns out to be as good as I hope, I will definitely buy it.

    ~ Alexis

  • September 6, 2009

    by Karla Tschida

    I have two issues:

    My eyelashes are disappearing!
    -and-
    Mascara doesn't look natural on me anymore!

    I would love to try this product and I would definitely write a review.

  • August 27, 2009

    by Ana

    I have not so long not so thick eyelashes and have gone through most every single brand of mascara out there and also tried the Mavala eyelash growth serum (didn't do much for me).

    I would love to try out this mascara and would definitely submit a review if selected! I'm wondering if I'm too late to try this product. If I am, can you please let me know where I can find it?

  • July 5, 2009

    by Pam Evans

    My eyelashes and eyebrows have thinned over the years, I just turned 61. I saw the Latisse commercial and would like to try something that is not prescription and found this one. If it can still be had, I would like to try it. I find that most mascaras actually break what lashes I have so don't use it much, however, I would like to again. Please, send me a sample or free trial, or whatever you have?? thanks so much

  • July 1, 2009

    by Roxy

    As I was looking at eyelash conditioners and growth help, I came across this site. I have tried department store brands as well as cheaper ones. So far none of them have really improved the condition of my lashes. About every other month I end up with a bald patch on my upper lashes. I would really like to remedy this and have healthier lashes. I would like to try this product and I will give an honest response. Roxy

  • June 27, 2009

    by Ali

    I have about 30 different mascaras, i love finding and trying new things. I will be able to replay swiftly and get a response in. I would love a chance to try this out. Thank you!
    Email me if I am chosen

  • June 27, 2009

    by Joy

    I have battled with mascara my whole life and still I have not found one I am crazy about. If they promise thickness or length you usually wind up with globs, lash clumping or spider legs for lashes. I have tried popular brands, expensive brands, off brands and I am still searching for that one brand that will end the mascara journey.
    I am 53 and have noticed my lashes are starting to become thin and shorter, so a product that combines the look of mascara but helps promote growth sounds incredible. I am very interested in trying Jane Iredale’s Longest Lash Mascara, it sounds like one of those products you never want to be without.

  • June 18, 2009

    by Carole

    Hit that venerable age--60 years--and here's what you can expect:

    1- eyebrows turn gray and begin to disappear.
    2- eyelashes thin out.
    3- head hair goes gray. This could prove to be stunning, except for those darker patches near the crest of the skull...exactly where the hair is thinning.

    Over all, a less-than-charming picture.

    The good news? Your eyesight begins to fail, so it's harder to see those nasty little details mentioned above.

    I would love to try Jane Iredale's Longest Lash Mascara and report on it. But I have to warn you--I'll be wearing my eyeglasses when I do!

  • June 12, 2009

    by Mimi

    I definitely would love to try this product since I already use her lipsticks [sensational and come in beautiful colors], her lipliners [equally good], and her foundation [excellent]. I had never heard of her line until I found it at Dr. Richard Maloney's office in Naples, Florida. I was not aware of the growth-promoting mascara and would love to try it because I am curious to see if it is as effective as Lancome's -- which also promotes beautiful lashes. The only growth-promoting product I have ever used is called Talika, made in France and very good. How can I get a sample?

  • June 11, 2009

    by Mimi Denman

    I love Jane Iredale's powder foundation. I could not use Bare Minerals as it irritated my skin. Jane Iredale's has not. If this mascara is as gentle and effective as her other cosmetics, I'm sure it would be a winner.

  • June 10, 2009

    by marta

    Kamran,
    Take a look at our eyelash growth <a href="http://www.truthinaging.com/2008/10/five-best-eyelash-and-brow-growth-products.html" rel="nofollow">recommendations</a>. Perhaps Dermalash would help.

  • June 10, 2009

    by Kamran

    I'm actually a guy. i noticed that as of late, my eyes started seeming much more dull and boring. then i noticed that my eyelashes were gone! ever since then, i've been desperately searching for some cure to help me get my eyelashes back. (i think it's the residual effects of bell's palsy that prevents me from completely shutting my eyes, drying them out and creating crusties that dry out my eyelashes too). I would do anything to help restore my eyelashes! Please let me know if you can help, if it's not too late! Thanks.

  • June 5, 2009

    by Jean

    Over 50 and still looking for the magic mascara that is good looking and good for the old lashes. Anything to grow lashes has got to be a plus.

  • May 28, 2009

    by Mary

    OK - so I am ready to find the "one and only" between trowing away cosmetics every so many months and trying every product that I see to make the lashes best... I have not found it yet....

  • May 27, 2009

    by Susan

    Looking to trying something new. I have used Revitalash, both formulas, for about two years now. I feel like the growth rate has tapered off substantially even though I still apply thrice a week. Would like to try Jane Iredale's longest lash and share my experience with lash enthusiasts.

  • May 17, 2009

    by Ali Prichard

    Hi,
    I have tried many different mascaras throughout my life and none have made such results as i have wanted. None actually seem to lenthen my lashes. I would love to test this product out and report to everyone how it works!

  • May 16, 2009

    by myra

    05/16/09

    Hello I am a 42 year old black female and came across your web site while searching for information about eyelash growth products. I have recently gone through a series of test for glucoma and have been put on the lumigan (bimatoprost) 0.03% eye drop (nightly)

    <I> - side effects are supposed to enhance eyelash growth etc... Being that I also have a moderate to sever case of trichotillomania (hair plucking disorder) I have been pulling & plucking my eyelashes for years and have grown tired of being bald eyed. Due to this disorder my plucking is always in the center of each eye where eyelash are supposed to the most fulfilling for a woman's eyes & eyelashes with length and volume.

    Today I purchased a bottle of the Lilash in hopes of growing healthier, longer eyelashes.

    After reading the reviews of other customers/clients I became more interested in the "free" sample trial for the longest lash mascara. Store bought mascaras seems to make my already brittle and thin lashes fall out even more. At this desperate time in my life I am willing to try just about anything. However, I chose not to get a prescription for the number one popular eyelash grower and that is the "Latisse" because my glucoma Rx already has the same components in them as the Latisse does, therefore; I chose to purchase the "Lilash" instead.

    Although having no other choice at this time in my life but to use the Rx Lumigan (for about a month now) I haven't seen a significant change - possibly due to the fact that my eyelashes have to start growing from scratch because of the baldness. I am hoping for a better out come and sooner results with a combination of both the Rx Lumigan and the Lilash. I would love to have a mascara that will give me the betty boo (pop) that I have always desired and envied of other women with long luscious lashes. I hope to considered as one of your candidates for the free sample trial and would be more than delighted to write a review (as a foot note) you did mention that it varies from person to person. I only wished I could find more recourses' on how these products work with african american women?

    I apologize for the length of this board message. Thanks for listening.

  • April 15, 2009

    by Laura

    I would definitely love to try this product! I love that its all natural and doesn't have any of the scary ingredients that can cause blindness or change the color of the iris (Sorry but I'd rather have thinner lashes than be blind or change the color of my eyes...). Jane Iredale Longest Lash mascara sounds like a great product....I'd love to try it! :)

  • April 11, 2009

    by Julie Priest

    I would love to try Jane Iredale longest lash mascara. in black.I love the look of mascara, but have not been able to use because all of them I have tried itch my eyes including Arbonne whose products I used to sell. I will be more than happy to write a review on this product.

  • March 5, 2009

    by Connie

    I would love to try and review this. I used to be a mystery shopper so I am very observant. I have pretty blue eyes but would love to find the perfect mascara as I never seem happy trying anything from dept. store to less expensive brands. I want my lashes to grow long and pretty, please send me a sample and I will send an honest and through review for sure :-)

  • January 30, 2009

    by Lisa Allen

    I have been a user of revitalash over the past 6 months and have had no bad side effects. My eyelashes have grown much thicker and I receive compliments from others. After reading your website - I know I need to find another way for my lashes. I have used other Jane Iredale products and am very happy with the results. I would like to try a sample of this mascara.

    Thank you

    Lisa

  • January 29, 2009

    by Cigdem

    Hi again girls,

    I couldn`t wait for the sample and I bought one from the store.Here is my review..

    I gave 9 out of 10.

    My first wouvv;
    -I can say it is drier than other mascaras and thanks to this, however I put too many coats on my lashes,it never clumped. I think it looked so soft and natural.

    My second wouvv;
    -It lifted up my lashes longer time than my other former mascaras.

    -My biggest concern was the volume because according to the reviews I have read on the internet, some of the organic and healthy mascaras doesn`t give the as much volume effect as the other volume mascaras.But I can say about this one, you can get very close results with the other volume mascaras.(p.s. I had to put too many coats with this one,too, like my other mascaras.)

    As a result I liked it...
    Hope it helps...

    Cigdem

  • January 27, 2009

    by Linda

    I am older and have been using Blinc tubing mascara to intensify what little is there. But with sparse stretches, the effect is appearing unnatural, sadly spikey, as in a child's drawing of eyes. I am curious if the natural component would induce resurgence in the areas which have gone fallow? I am very much interested in giving this a try if you think it would be of help. Thank you.

  • January 17, 2009

    by Cigdem

    Hi,
    I`ve tried so many mascaras but most of them made my upper lashes fall out because of the chemicals they have in their ingredients. I`m still looking for the mascara that doesn`t harm my eyelashes.I hope Jane Iredale`s product will be the end of my searches.
    I would really appreciate if you give me chance to try it on.
    Thank you,

  • January 11, 2009

    by Sonia

    I'm an Asian with short lashes. I generally go for an 'unmade up' look and want natural-looking longer (not thicker or clumpier) lashes. Since, Jane Iredale's products claim to do just that, without any harmful chemicals, I'd be very interested in trying it out

    Thanks,

  • January 7, 2009

    by marta

    You all seemed so sincerely deserving and excited by Longest Lash that I asked the nice people at Jane Iredale for more samples - they sent enough for everyone. So email us at samples@truthinaging.com with "longest lash" in the subject line and your mailing address.

  • January 3, 2009

    by Lesa Thomas

    Marta,

    I would love to try Jane Iredale's solution to thin lashes.

    I have short, thin lashes on the top, but my lower lashes are so short and thin that many people don't even notice that they exist. With the addition of mascara; although difficult with not much of a lash, the lower lashes look a little better.

    I would love to try the product and review it. I would be even happier to buy the product if I found it to work.

    Thank you for considering me.

  • January 1, 2009

    by Kristi B.

    hi,
    i have been slowly but surely converting to healthier beauty products, researching safety first and then narrowing it down to what works for me. i have to say that finding this balance in mascara has been the biggest frustration. JI's longest lash is one of the top rated for safety and, although a little on the pricey side, may be well worth it. i would truly appreciate the opportunity to give it a try and share my experience with others! thank you!

    Blessings,
    Kristi

  • December 29, 2008

    by Jen s

    PICK ME :)
    I have been in the fashion industry for a couple of years and have always ran into a problem with my lashes and other girls I apply makeyup to. I have tried many different products and was never fully satisfied. It would be great to try your product!

    Thank you!

  • December 6, 2008

    by Michelle

    Hi,

    Has there already been a follow-up review for this product? I have noticed that my lashes have been falling out, shortening, and thinning over the past few years with the frequent use of chemical mascaras over time. Since the Jane Iredale mascara claims not to have any nasty preservatives or chemicals, I would like to know if it really works. If it does, I would be glad to purchase it! I think a chemical-free mascara would be much healthier for my lashes! Thank you!

  • December 5, 2008

    by Lynn H.

    I just heard about this miracle eyelash product today at Ulta 3 - they highly recommend it! I have NO eyelashes and only "clumps" when I use regular mascara so I would love to try a product that not only adds volume but also is purported to grow my eyelashes. Please rush! Thank you for the free sample!

  • November 4, 2008

    by Joan McGuire Richardson

    <p>As I have only houseplants to attend to, I most assuredly have the time and the inclination to write a review of Jane Iredale Longest Lash mascara. (My houseplants do not converse with me nor sass me; perfect companions, they are.) I have had success before with an eyelash growth product: NuSkin. I would be more observant of any lengthening. However, as I am more intuitive than most about what is effective for me (and not nocive to my physical body) I can only state what is working for Joan Richardson. </p>

  • November 4, 2008

    by Trinh

    <p>I have asian lashes. Which mean, it's not thin but it's short. My upper lashes is just a bit longer than my bottom lashes. What I find is that it's easier to find a mascara that adds volume and but I have yet find one that really lenghten them. Would love to try this out.</p>

  • November 3, 2008

    by Jennifer White

    <p>I would love to try this product because I have tried Jane Iredale mineral foundation recently and loved it, so I would be curious to see if the other products offered are as impressive. I have historically suffered from short lashes and the new "tubing" mascaras or false lashes do not appeal to me. </p>

  • November 3, 2008

    by Claudia

    <p>My problem is short lashes on top, long lashes on bottom. I need some help. Thank you.</p>

  • November 3, 2008

    by Michelle

    <p>I'm sorry, but this bugs me. I noticed that I used the wrong form of the word "there" in the second to last paragraph of my previous post. I meant to type it as "...found out there were..." Sorry, but things like that bother me. O_o </p>

  • November 3, 2008

    by Michelle Tang

    <p>Hi,</p>

    <p> Please pick me!! I have been on the search for a great mascara that actually delivers the multiple effects (length, curl, volume, definition, etc)it promises to give. I have tried many products ranging from higher end brand names, to drug-store finds. After being a bit desperate to find one that I can finally be satisfied with and settle with, I went as far as to buy a few products of each line to test. I have tried Christian Dior's Diorshow mascara, Benefit's BadGal Lash, Sheiseido, Lancome, and nearly every mascara product from the Maybelline line and the Rimmel line, as well as L'oreal's featherlash. I even bought Shu Uemura's eyelash curler to help enhance the look. To be fair, I have to note that different mascaras may render varying results for different people. Not everyone has the same type of lashes, nor is everyone compatible with the same types of mascara; thus, results may vary. However, I think many who are in the make-up industry know that Dior's Diorshow, and Benefit's Badgal Lash are currently at the top of the line, and possibly at the price. Dior sells their product for about $23, while Benefit sells theirs for about $19 (you can probably get it for $18 at Sephora though). Benefit also has the BadGal lash in blue to give your eyes a brightening effect and make them pop out. Both of their brushs are quite big/thick, so this may be a bit messy to apply for those with short or brittle lashes. <br />
    Rimmel's Lycra Lash Extender mascara also seems to give a lengthening effect. Sheiseido's brush seems to hold on to each of my lashes just right to cover a complete coat. Lancome's mascara (i forget the name) isn't bad either. Their new oscillating brush (yes, it actually "oscillates as you push a button) is quite interesting also. I think it claims to lengthen your lashes. Rimmel's Glam'Eyes does a good job at thickening my lashes. I really liked Maybelline's XXL line, even the curl brush version in the purple container. However, I did not enjoy their Great Lash in the pink bottle (surprisingly enough, it's their best seller). I've used L'oreal's featherlash a very long time ago, but as I recall, it didn't do a bad job at lengthening. </p>

    <p> I was completely excited when I found out their were "conditioners" that made lashes grow, lengthen, and thicken! I am going to try the Folligen, and if that doesn't work, I will try the Jan Marini. </p>

    <p>Also, my lashes aren't extremely long, therefore I can't give the Iredale Longest Lash an unfair advantage. So, if it works for me, it should work for a majority of others. Therefore, I'd be a great candidate to test out this mascara!! =D <br />
    </p>

  • November 2, 2008

    by rose

    <p>Hello,</p>

    <p>I am crazy about finding a good mascara. I've gone through so many, and I was thinking of buying Sephora's 10 for $35 deal. I have found good ones, but I am not sure if they are safe. </p>

    <p>I use mascara almost everyday; I will be able to get in a review promptly, if I am chosen. </p>

    <p>Thank you!!!</p>

    <p>-R</p>

Have You Tried jane iredale Longest Lash Thickening and Lengthening Mascara?

Write your own review today
Perfect Great Good Didn't Like Hated It Rate Me
TIP: Roll over me

Join the discussion! Leave a comment jane iredale Longest Lash Thickening and Lengthening Mascara below.

My Comment

Add a comment... jane iredale Longest Lash Thickening and Lengthening Mascara

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...