Free shipping on all domestic orders over $39

Dare to try it: LashFood natural eyelash product

Is a Solution for:
Eyelashes & Brows
January 28, 2009 Reviewed by admin 18 Comments
Jan Marini has proven that you don't need prostaglandin analogues (associated with eye-altering side effects) to grow a garden of long lashes. With this in mind, a company called Jane Beauty has come out with a plant-based eyelash growth product called LashFood. Can this all-natural eyelash conditioner compete with the big guns, and what precisely makes it work (if at all)?

With no harsh chemicals mucking up its formula, you don't have to worry about stinging or irritation with LashFood. The formula's active ingredients are two names that you'd be more likely to find in a nutritional supplement than a cosmetic: the essential vitamin biotin and the amino acid arginine. Extracts from irises (the flower, not the eye) and a blend of fifteen herbs are included to condition and nourish the eyelashes.

Applied just like an eyeliner twice a day, LashFood promises longer, thicker, stronger lashes in 2-3 weeks. According to the LashFood website, the contents of a single tube will last five months when used as directed. By improving the health of frail and brittle hairs, this water-based product is safe for both eyelash extensions and eyebrows.

It is fairly certain based on the ingredients that LashFood won't produce the adverse side effects of some eyelash growth products (Revitalash, Latisse, etc). The question is, does LashFood actually lengthen lashes in the long-term, or does it only temporarily create the illusion of fuller lashes, in the same way as mascara? Though they are popular inclusions in hair-loss remedies, there is little scientific proof that arginine and biotin actually stimulate hair growth.

But an eyelash grower doesn't necessarily need Jan Marini's hydrolized glycosaminoglycans or Folligen's copper peptides to be effective. Just look at Dermaquest's Dermalash, which for the most part consists of a blend of botanicals. Truth in Aging is enlisting the help of one dedicated reader to decide if LashFood delivers real results.

Here's the deal: We send you a brand-new box of LashFood ($129). You document the progress of your lashes on LashFood from day 1 to day 21. This experiment may require the help of a decent digital camera and a willing partner. If you agree to feed your eyelashes LashFood every day to ensure a proper trial, and you are willing to subject your lashes to the scrutiny of Truth in Aging readers, please leave a comment under this post. A winner will be selected (arbitrarily) on the last day of January.

Ingredients:

Water, Arginine, Biotin, Trehalose, Niacinamide, Panthenol, Citric Acid, Polysorbate 80, Phenoxyethanol, Methylparaben, Acorus Calamus Root Extract, Artemisia Princeps Leaf Extract, Portulaca Oleracea Extract, Polygonum Multiflorum Root Extract, Glycyrrhiza Glabra Root Extract, Angelica Gigas Root Extract, Ephedra Sinica Extract, Sophora Angustifolia Extract, Arctium Lappa Seed Extract, Thuja Orientalis Extract, Lycium Chinense Fruit Extract, Ginkgo Biloba Leaf Extract, Paeonia Suffruticosa Root Extract, Carthamus Tinctirius Flower Extract, Betillia Stritata Root Extract, Rheum Undulatum Extract (root/stalk/stem), Placenta Protein, Erythritol, Carbomer, Copper Tripeptide 1

  • November 22, 2013

    by Carrie

    I would like to participate. I'm 24 years old and have a camera with good resolution.

  • January 30, 2011

    by JustD

    Add me to the list, I'm 57 and willing to try anything that has to do with lashes. I have been reading and studying up on everything this site has to offer and I'm really gaining an education. I began using Lilash 2 years ago with great results, but experienced some side effects. Moved on to Revitalash, with no results at all, lost what I had gained, moved on to Hydropeptide after reading Marta's review a over a month and a half ago and have recently added Code:ai to see if that will amp it up. I am learning so much here at TIA, and I'm grateful for all everyone brings to the table here! I've been concerned about the mascaras that I'm using, so I too would jump at the opportunity to participate in testing any of the products here. Currently I'm using Bare Escentuals Buxom mascara, as my lashes are getting long again, but still haven't seen any thicnkess as I originally did with Lilash. My eyes are a huge part of my beauty regimen and anything that I can learn to keep them rating the compliments I receive for a 50ish g-mama, will be greatly appreciated.

  • January 30, 2011

    by Sandra

    I have very short thin lashes and a digital camera.

  • January 29, 2011

    by Pamela Mentzer

    I would be honored to try and document your product. I'm thankful to say I have been cancer free for 5 years now. I'm 45 and breast cancer treatment and menopause have left my eyelashes scares and thin. I have large beautiful eyes and healthy eyelashes would be a wonderful positive thing. Thank you again for this opportunity and for considering me to represent Lash Food.

  • July 16, 2010

    by laila

    I am currently using an eyelash conditioner called revitalash and it is absolutely amazing. After using revitalash for 6 week i noticed a difference i got NO eye irritation and my lashes transformed from short and stubby to absolutely gorgeous!! what more can you ask for, SAFE and EFFECTIVE.

  • June 15, 2010

    by Kim Smith

    I’ve used Latisse for 8 weeks and totally noticed results. My daughter said my lashes were so long they looked like spiders I guess that’s a good thing? The medspa I go to is a total ripoff trying to charge $120 a bottle. I found a place to order online for $12.50 + shipping. Here’s where I bought it http://bit.ly/latisse Same stuff just the generic version. They also have Retin-A for like $5 a tube for the good Retin-A micro stuff. I can’t believe the Dr’s offices try to rip people off by charging soooooo much for a little tiny bottle of solution!

  • May 14, 2010

    by Katelyn

    My eyelashes easily falls even if it's rubbed. I've researching and asking my friends on what to do with my lashes. Most of them recommends Revitalash eyelash Conditioner. I'm planning to get one this coming pay day. Have you ladies tried it? any tips or suggestions?

  • February 15, 2010

    by Charmagne

    I might try this sometime though it is veryyy pricy. I have/had trichotillomania and pulled out pretty much all of my eyelashes they are starting to grow back though they are barely visable. maybe that stuff would make them grow faster, but idk if i want to spend over $100 if im not sure that will work

  • January 28, 2010

    by stephanie hasty

    Hi, I'm 22 and a college student. I'm always surrounded by gorgeous people, and wish I could be just as pretty. A huge feature that sets me apart from them is beautiful eyelashes--or in my case, lack thereof. I have blond eyebrows and thin blond eyelashes, and they're on the shorter side. I try to curl them sometimes to make them look longer, but they break and I end up losing one or two every time, and freak out because I don't want to lose what eyelashes I do have left, and whenever I take off eye makeup, I lose one or two each time as well. I really wish there was something I could do about it, but after having spent my entire bank account on med school applications (one of which I was accepted into...yay!!), my bank account literally has $8.32 left in it (no joke). I *wish* i had upwards of an extra $100 dollars to try out a product (but who does, honestly), and after looking around the internet to see reviews and prices of eyelash growth/conditioning products, I found this page. If I had the chance to use (and review) a product like this, it would be a pure miracle. I've always been told I should have more confidence in myself, and knowing I'm beautiful and have those entrancing blue eyes with the stunning lashes is something I've only dreamed of to this point and would make my confidence soar. I'd promise to use it religiously as directed, give a completely thorough report after the product's usage is complete, and hopefully give you guys the results you're hoping to see in a blind test. Please please please pick me...it would be so deeply appreciated!!!! And thank you for taking the time to consider my entry, I didn't realize how long this post had gotten! Anyway, I do have a digital camera and a willing partner who wants to participate in your trial. Please pick me! =) =)

  • January 15, 2010

    by gloria alemany

    I just turned 45 and noticed my eyelashes are falling out along with some sudden grey hairs...I bought hydropeptide and was all ready beginning to document the changes if any. I've been blogging about beauty products too. I took my first pics before starting to use any product. So i would be willing and able to assist in the trial and document every step of the process if needed.

  • January 5, 2010

    by Paula

    Hi from the UK
    I am 41 and have noticed that my originally long dark thick lashes have become brittle, shorter and thinner. I have never had to use mascara or lash extensions as my own lashes have always been so good. I don't want to resort to these measures and would love my old lashes back. I have a willing partner and a digital camera and would love to participate in your trial.
    Thankyou

  • December 6, 2009

    by Kate Collins

    I would love to try this product! I had a defective eyelash curler cut off my eyelashes, believe it or not! They unfortunatly did not grow back as they were before that happened. I am considering Latisse, however the fact that its prescription only puts in on the back burner for now.

  • April 3, 2009

    by Kassandra Manship

    hey i would very much like to try this product and see if it really works ...because i have a picking problem i get stressed and riped out my eyelashes but it so happend that last year they didn't come back ive tried everything and would like to know if this would help me to get my long lashes back :)

  • February 9, 2009

    by Sylvieee

    I started using Revitalash after lash extensions destroyed my own lashes... and love it so far. I have noticed a huge improvement in my lashes and feel safe using it because it was made by an eye doctor… I also really like what the company stands for; from what I have seen they donate to the cancer fighting community. This means a lot to me because I have had family and friends that have had to deal with cancer... Anywho, try them for yourself and you will see!!

  • January 31, 2009

    by Michelle

    As you've read through my plethora of comments on TIA, I've been searching for an effective eyelash growth product with negative side effects for a while now. I've tried the folligen cream as a result of a TIA recommendation, and was about to try the MD Lash Factor from rave reviews. However, if I can test this eyelash growth product first, I would definitely document my progress from day 1 to day 21, and follow up with a review. I have a digital camera, as well as "before" pictures of my lashes/face shot taken for me by a friend before I tried the folligen cream. Thank you!

  • January 29, 2009

    by Nhan

    GASP!! Has anyone agreed to try it yet? I have always wanted to grow my lashes out!

  • January 29, 2009

    by Claudia

    I'd love to be a guinea pig and try this product out. I have a digital camera and a partner (my husband, who gets a kick out of my subscribing to a beauty treatment blog).

  • January 29, 2009

    by Annie Young

    Hi,

    I have veerryy short lashes as well as sensitive skin near the eyelids. I'm allergic to certain types of eye makeup such as maybelline, l'oreal, etc & putting it on makes my eyelids swell a bit. It is important for me to find a product that does not cause allergic reactions & I would love to review this product for other people with similar cases. I believe that with my short lashes and sensitive skin, I can test this sample out with more noticeable results (hopefully good results!).

    Thank you,
    Annie

Join the discussion! Leave a comment below.

My Comment

Add a comment...

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...