Free shipping on all orders over $39

Dare to try it: REN Sirtuin Phytohormone Replenishing Cream

Is a Solution for:
Sagging Skin
Reviewed by Marta October 24, 2008 12 Comments
Mark my words, sirtuin is going to be the new anti-ager that tout la America will be speaking about in 2009. Not least because it is the ingredient that Estee Lauder will be throwing its weight behind with two new potions, Time Zone Line and Wrinkle Reducing Moisturizer, to be launched in December in time for the holidays. For Truth In Aging readers who want to put the sirtuin hype to the test before then, I have a bottle of REN Sirtuin Phytohormone Replenishing Cream ($80) for a reader to review.

I posted a What Is It on sirtuin about month ago. The backstory is fascinating and worth a quick reprise. The main role of sirtuins is to regulate the activity of the genes responsible for metabolism, cell defense and reproduction. When food is scarce, the body's sirtuins go into self-preservation mode. Researchers discovered the role of sirtuins when trying to find out why mice live longer if you put them on a subsistence diet. Ever since, anti-aging potion makers have been trying to find things that will activate the sirtuins.

It seems that the magic ingredient in grape, resveratol, can do it and so can rice germ. REN has gone with the rice germ oil. In addition to activating the sirtuins, REN says it is also activating perlecans. These are proteins that cross-link across the surface of cells and, claims REN, prevent sagging skin. Phytohormones derived from wild yam are the perlecan activators.

This being REN, the product uses only natural ingredients (no PEGs, silicones, sulfates, parabens etc) and has packed a dizzying number of them in. Worth a call out are cranberry (an antioxidant with moderate levels of vitamin C), candle tree (an anti-fungal used for treating skin infections) and kudzu (an invasive plant that is full of flavenoids).

Before you post a comment to convince us that you are deserving and honest (when you say you will write a review, it means that you will write a review), please note that REN positions this product as being aimed at the pre and post menapausal.

Ingredients in REN Sirtuin

Rosa Damascena Flower Water, Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea) Butter, Caprylic/Capric Triglycerides (Source Coconut Oil), Cetearyl Octanoate (Source Palm Oil), Cetearyl Alcohol (Source Palm Oil), Oryza Sativa (Rice) Germ Oil, Myristyl Myristate (source Palm Oil), Oleyl Alcohol (source Palm Oil), Cetearyl Glucoside (source Corn), Glycerin (Source Coconut Oil), Camellia Oleifera Seed Oil, Triheptanoin (source Coconut Oil), Lauryl Laurate (Source Palm Oil), Dioscorea Villosa (Wild Yam) Root Extract, Glycine Soja (Soybean) Lipid, Vaccinium Vitis-Idaea (Lingonberry) Seed Oil, Palmitoyl Hydrolyzed Wheat Protein (source Palm Oil and Wheat), Oryzanol (source Rice), Calcium PCA, Dipalmitoyl Hydroxyproline (Source Amino Acid), Phenoxyethanol (Source Aromatic Ether), Vaccinium Macrocarpon (Cranberry) Seed Oil, Mannitol (source Sugar), Cyclodextrin (source Sugar), Faex (Yeast) Extract, Disodium Succinate (source Salt), Omega 6 Ceramide (source Carthame), Commiphora Myrrha Resin Extract, Laminaria Ochroleuca (Algae) Extract, Carbomer (source Polymer), Sodium Hyaluronate (source Wheat), Cassia Alata (Candle Tree) Leaf Extract, Inulin (source Wheat), Alpha Glucan Oligosaccharide (source Wheat), Pueraria Lobata (Kudzu) Symbiozome Extract, Sodium Hydroxymethyl Glycinate (source Amino Acids), Oryza Sativa (Rice) Extract, Hippophae Rhamnoides (Seabuckthorn) Berry Oil, Rosa Damascena Flower Oil, Citrus Aurantium Dulcis (Orange) Flower Oil, Citrus Grandis (Grapefruit) Peel Oil, Natural Fragrance (100%).
  • November 1, 2008

    by Peter

    <p>More you can do to turn back the clock</p>

    <p>I have a free e-book for you.</p>

    <p><br />
    "Super Food for Super Health"<br />
    is written by experts<br />
    with lots of useful information<br />
    go to<br />
    <a href="http://www.ozgo.biz" rel="nofollow">http://www.ozgo.biz</a><br />
    Just cut and paste the link into your browser.<br />
    When you arrive just enter your e-mail address<br />
    and the book will be sent directly to you.</p>

    <p>While your there have a look on the second page <br />
    under Superfoods<br />
    where you can see a great little video<br />
    "Food Matters"<br />
    the title is self explanatory</p>

    <p>have a great day <br />
    and if you like the information<br />
    feel free sharing<br />
    Peter <br />
    peterkroesche@yahoo.com.au<br />
    </p>

  • October 30, 2008

    by Marta

    <p>Petra, the best way would be to sign up for a feed (see "Subscribe to this blog's feed in the right hand column) and/or sign up for our email newsletter where we have links to the site and exclusive samples for newsletter subscribers.</p>

  • October 30, 2008

    by ash

    <p>I like stan, am very eager to see a review on this product soon! </p>

  • October 30, 2008

    by petra

    <p>Darn, I missed out on this opportunity to test this wonderful sounding product because I didn't see it in time. I am a natural skincare fanatic! I'm always trying new products and would be happy to provide reviews. I love your site and the reviews are so helpful to see before going out and throwing my hard earned dollars at some of these expensive potions out there on the market. I have left a few reviews of products I have tried and really like on your site and really enjoy sharing my experiences with others. Is there a way to get on your list to be notified whenever you have a product available for testing? </p>

  • October 28, 2008

    by Kathy

    <p>Hi Marta,<br />
    I'm really intrigued by this cream. And since I fall into the target zone (sigh), I've gone ahead and ordered it. They said it is not available to ship til Friday (oh, okay....), but as soon as I get it and I've tried it for a few weeks, I'll send in a little review too. Not too wordy, I promise!</p>

  • October 27, 2008

    by Marta

    <p>Kathy (Kate)<br />
    You have been chosen as our reviewer - send your shipping address to marta@truthinaging.com</p>

  • October 27, 2008

    by Stan

    <p>I must say I have become an ingredient monster of late (last three months) after discovering TIA. Both REN and STEM have captured my fascination since they are so organic. I hope to eventually try them, but look forward to hearing of reader's reviews. I am afraid I will have to sit this one out since I am not the target candidate and I have already been the recipient of other generous samples. Can't wait to hear from the winner. </p>

  • October 25, 2008

    by Peter

    <p>Hi Martha<br />
    Aging research is giving resveratol the thumbs up<br />
    and a concentrated scource is available at ozgo.biz</p>

  • October 24, 2008

    by Kathy (Kate)

    <p>Hi Marta,</p>

    <p>And here I thought that the only perimenopausal "surprises" I could count on were these hot flashes and mood swings... until I read the news that I am now an official skin care product TARGET MARKET and might be in the running to test a sample of REN! My 50-year-old slightly sundamaged perimenopausal skin and I would love to give this scientifically interesting product a try, and with practice and effort I vow to also learn to PRONOUNCE "REN Sirtuin Phytohormone"! I also promise to send in an honest, punctual, and hopefully useful review.... so please pick me! </p>

  • October 24, 2008

    by Cheryl Lance

    <p>I would absolutely love to test and review this product. I will be getting married in a month and may try this regardless as it sounds very promising. </p>

    <p>If you had only 1 month to improve your face and neck, is this the product you would look to?</p>

  • October 24, 2008

    by JulieK

    <p>I make an attempt to be selective what I ask to test. Thus far I've been met with good fortune. My gratitude is bountiful. That said, I'm still lost in a sea of various half measures when it comes to an a.m. (or p.m.) anchor cream. Reading about this one gave me a little lift- it sounds promising. I'd really like to give it a try. I swear a review would follow forthwith! ~Julie</p>

  • October 24, 2008

    by Beata Szacillo

    <p>Dear Marta,<br />
    I discovered your blog two months ago and ever since then I have to check it every day. I made a list of products that I would love to use based on your recommendations. I have already tried few of them with very good results, thank you. <br />
    When I read about possibility of trying a new product and writing a review I decided that I would love to do it. I am 43 so I guess I qualify as pre menopausal. I am not quite sure how to convince you that I am trust worthy and if I say that I do something I will (in this case write the review). Thank you in advance for considering me.<br />
    Beata<br />
    </p>

Join the discussion! Leave a comment below.

My Comment

Add a comment...

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...