Free shipping on all orders over $39

Renee Rouleau Vitamin C & E Complex (add your own ferulic acid)

Is a Solution for:
Age Spots
Reviewed by Marta September 2, 2008 9 Comments
Some of you may have read yesterday that I made my own - extremely effective - DIY solution of ferulic acid and vitamin C. Ferulic acid, a good antioxidant in its own right, heightens the performance of vitamin C and E. The result is especially good for hyperpigmentation. Out damn [age] spot (to quote the bard).


Anyway, I just remembered that I have a pot of Renee Rouleau Vitamin C & E ($61) to give away. So if anyone out there wants to awaken their inner mad scientist, I will send you the Renee Rouleau plus a little dose of ferulic acid.

Ms Rouleau claims that her vitamin C & E complex is a best seller. It has C in various guises: the powerful (tetrahexydecyl ascorbate), the stable (ascorbyl methysilanol) and the water-soluble (magnesium ascorbyl phosphate). There is also the run-of-the-mill acsorbic acid. There are a couple of manifestations of vit E. And our new favorite, rosehip seed oil.

Nothing really comes for free at TIA so the one to post the most convincing comment promising to come back with a review wins.

Ingredients in Renee Rouleau Vitamin C & E Complex

Purified water, sunflower seed oil, stearic acid, dioctyl succinate, dimethicone, tocopheryl linoleate, PPG-8/SMD copolymer, tetrahexyldecyl ascorbate, cetyl alcohol, lemon bioflavinoids, ascorbyl methisilanol pectinate, methyl gluceth-20, magnesium ascorbyl phosphate, tocopheryl acetate, ascorbyl palmitate, ascorbic acid, tocopherol, rosehip seed oil, cyclomethicone, PEG-8, shea butter, PEG 25, soy sterol, polysorbate 80, carbomer, dipotassium glycyrrhizinate, triethanalomine, butylene gycol, grapefruit extract, grapefruit oil, orange oil, xanthan gum, citric acid, tetrasodium EDTA, lemon peel extract, lemon oil, phenoxyethanol, methylparaben, ethylparaben, propylparaben, butylparaben.


  • August 27, 2009

    by Denise Lynn Smith

    I too may be too late since it's 2009 but I'm curious to know how you made your own Vitamin C serum. I've been researching the products on the market and find they are WAY over my budget. I've also found a site that I can purchase the Ferulic acid and the L-Ascorbic Acid (purest form of Vitamin C) and was wondering what your measures are when mixing....

    I so thank you for your post and I've always been interested in making my own skincare and would love to know your secrets...
    thanks agin

  • June 12, 2009

    by Deborah Barnett

    Has a review been submitted yet? Curious to know how it worked out.

  • May 16, 2009

    by Sue Hohlweg

    I may be too late, but would like to try to make myself what I cannot afford to buy. If the offer is still good, I would be happy to write a review of the results.
    Thank you.

  • January 10, 2009

    by Linda Ambroso

    Would like to try free sample with ferulic acid.

  • September 8, 2008

    by marta

    <p>In the end, we chose Susan for this one. For the disappointed check out the site later today as we have a Neova product to offer up.</p>

  • September 7, 2008

    by Amy

    <p>This actually sounds too good to be true. I am Asian with skin that heals but leaves behind a brown patch that can take months or years to fade. So I have hyperpigmentated areas on my face from old healed pimples to faded scrapes on my arms and legs. Currently, I am left with numerous brown spots on my legs and ankles from healed mosquito bites that I've received this summer. From past experience, this would take the rest of the year to fade so these would be the areas where I would use the solution first. If this concoction works on me then it would work on anybody.</p>

  • September 6, 2008

    by Mary-Alice

    <p>I'd be willing to do before and after photos for a try at your potion. I have some stubborn dots!</p>

  • September 3, 2008

    by Patricia

    <p>I've been doing the mad scientist 'thang' at home, in hopes of ridding myself of age spots...and having sensitive skin and an empty pocket book...I'd love to stick to more 'natural' products (tho 'natural' can 'bite' sometimes also.) To be given a go at the product and adding furelic acid, which is tremendous for the skin in and of itself, could only add to the pluses of Renee Rouleau Vitamin C & E Complex I'd love to 'guinea pig' and give it a go!</p>

  • September 3, 2008

    by Nimue

    <p>I would love to try that product! I would be happy to review it. It sounds like a great product because it has all these forms of vitamin C- like tetrahexyldecyl ascorbate and magnesium ascorbyl phosphate and they're all together. Ferulic acid should be good too. I've been reading your blog for a while.</p>

Join the discussion! Leave a comment below.

My Comment

Add a comment...

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...