Free shipping on all domestic orders over $39

The new Quench lip balm from YBF

Our Rating: 5 stars

Pros

Texture is now smooth rather than grainy

Cons

No longer contains argan oil
March 18, 2009 Reviewed by Marta 14 Comments
Reformulated for the better

You are not just humble readers turning in a few words in return for a freebie. You are influencers, helping the wheels of cosmetic capitalism turn in ever more innovative ways to bring better products to market. Take Quench by Your Best Face ($15 in the shop). One reviewer said that Your Best Face need to be much better than Burt's Bees in the lip salve department to justify its higher price point. We all noted the grainy, clumping texture.

YBF listened and has come back with a new, reformulated Quench that aims to please on every level.

I had forgiven the original version of Quench for its lack of structural stability (lumps falling off) and its decidedly gritty feel - a pretty big forgive - because it seemed to transform my lips from frayed to kissable in the matter of an hour. Still, I must admit that the grainy lumpy (grumpy?) thing only got worse the longer I carried it around in my purse.

I've been using new, improved Quench over the weekend and can report that clumping is a thing of the past. The texture is smooth and all is still intact. But what really impresses me is that Your Best Face has looked at the whole formula and sent back an even better anti-ager.

Quench has spin trap. This shouldn't be a surprise since this busy little molecule that seeks out free radicals before they spin out of control is Your Best Face's signature ingredient (to be found, for example in my favorite eye cream, YBF's Correct). An exciting newcomer to the YBF oevre is lipochroman-6. This takes radical scavenging to a whole new level by going after reactive nitrogen species (RNS), which can cause cellular damage and oxidative damage to proteins. Scientists are coming to believe that oxidative damage to proteins may be the most important factor in aging. This is all so interesting that I will return to RNS and lipochroman-6 in a later post.

I was sorry to see that argan oil has not made it through to the final round with Quench. However, meadowfoam oil is still with us. It is very stable due to its fatty acid composition (each seed is 60% omega-9 fatty acids). In practice, it behaves like a safe silicone, adding gloss and helping with the retention of moisture. Meanwhile, blueberry is a source of vitamin E, carotenoids and antioxidants.

Ingredients in the new Quench

Beeswax, cupuacu butter, ethyhexyl palmitate, meadowfoam seed oil, triglyceride, ascorbyl tetraisopalmitate, vitamin E, blueberry seed oil, phenyl butyl nitrone (spin trap), clementine oil, lipochroman-6

Ingredients in the original Quench

Argan oil, olivem, meadowfoam seed oil, watermelon seed oil, ascorbyl tetraisopalmitate (vitamin C), blueberry seed oil, rice bran wax, micronized zinc oxide, peppermint oil, clementine oil

Buy Me
$ 15.00
  • August 29, 2012

    by JP Hues

    I'm a newcomer to TIA and to Quench. Please send samples! I would like to send you my feedback as I am committed to using new products.

  • April 5, 2009

    by Angela Miller

    interested in samples--heard only good about your products especially interested in lip balm thanks

  • March 19, 2009

    by aerwin

    I would love to try this . My lips are always parched. I absolutely love the YBF correct eye cream. I was able to try this due to the generous offer of a sample here. I cannot sing the praises if this eye cream enough. I really actually can tell a difference in my eye area , especially the dark circles. PS I love the smell.

  • March 18, 2009

    by Darrell Owens

    Hi Nimue,
    The new version completely replaces the old version.

    In the new formula, we set out to make improvements to a degree that would make the original obsolete. I think that's what we've accomplished and hopefully feedback about the new Quench will confirm we're making a much better product than before.

    Thank you,
    -Darrell
    darrell.owens@ybf-Skincare.com

  • March 18, 2009

    by Lori

    I would love to try the new formula! I had recommended EcoLips here before, and would like to compare the two.

  • March 18, 2009

    by Nimue

    I would like to try it. I would like to try the old version too, if that's possible. Is it being discontinued, or will there be 2 options?

  • March 18, 2009

    by JulieK

    Just seeing a post featuring a YBF product brings (good) goosebumps! and a smile to my face. I've never tried Quench... ~jk

  • March 18, 2009

    by Chris Tomek

    I've tried other YBF products, thanks to TIA, and was very impressed. I recently purchased Blistex Deep Renewal after reading Claire's review and have had good results (and it's a GREAT value), but would love to compare it to the YBF Quench.

  • March 18, 2009

    by Trinh

    Spring is coming, would like a chance to give these lips some nourishing TLC…to better prepare for the summer sun.

  • March 18, 2009

    by Darrell Owens

    Hi Justine,
    Many considerations went into why we dropped zinc from the formula; one reason being that zinc was impacting Quench's taste & texture. We also needed to decide what type of UV protection was the best fit for Quench and our brand.

    And so, we were at a crossroads while working to improve Quench. The options were, do we follow the path of physical UV protection zinc provides, or do more with antioxidants to try and create a better product? SPF ratings are very important and zinc is absolutely one of the best natural ways to create a physical UV barrier but SPF doesn't account for protection by antioxidants.

    Looking forward to Marta's post about Lipochroman-6...I hope Quench users will see that with the addition of Lipochroman-6...partnered with spin trap, C & E, the potential level of protection from Quench is astounding.

    -Darrell
    darrell.owens@ybf-Skincare.com

    As a side on Argan...
    That was also a difficult cut. Another challenge was to keep the actives at prominent percentages in the formula, which meant something had to go. Between Argan and Meadowfoam, Meadowfoam has a color, texture and aroma more fitting for lip products. We may work Argan into other types of formulas in the future though – it's a great oil!

    Thank you for all the feedback and comments from everyone!

  • March 18, 2009

    by Beata

    I would love to try lip quench. I am trying YBF Correct thanks to your site and like it a lot. Possibly this is going to be great too.
    I use Burt's Bee lip balm and Suger Lip Treatment spf 15 by Fresh that I bought at Sephora recently. I wonder how YBF compares.
    Thanks

  • March 18, 2009

    by Dana Pond

    I would love to try Quench. I really like YBF's products from what i have tried so far but I wont let that sway me from an honest opinion. Recently, I purchases Suki's lip repair butter and I have to say it might be better suited for a Male Order review. It's matte and not very creamy(which I've found I like in a moisturize) So with that said, I'd love to weight Quench against Suki.

    Thanks!

  • March 18, 2009

    by Justine

    Recently YBF sent me samples of Correct (which I already loved), Restore, and Control. I am really impressed by the whole line. They really are beautifully made products. I would love to try their new version of Quench.

    I noticed from the ingredients list that the zinc was removed. Does this mean that it did have an SPF before but now does not?

  • March 18, 2009

    by Karla

    I would love to try YBF's Quench lip balm. This past winter has left my lips extremely dry and chapped to the point where I now have a tube of Chapstick or Aveda lip balm literally beside me 24 hours a day. Unfortunately, neither of them has done more than a fair job of helping, and of the two, surprisingly Chapstick has out performed, but not enough. I am currently trying out YBF's Correct eye cream, which is doing a fantastic job, so it would be a pleasure to see if their Quench is just as great. If you send me a tube to try, I will gladly write back. Thank You in advance, Karla

Have You Tried Your Best Face Quench (lip balm) ?

Write your own review today
Perfect Great Good Didn't Like Hated It Rate Me
TIP: Roll over me

Join the discussion! Leave a comment Your Best Face Quench (lip balm) below.

My Comment

Add a comment... Your Best Face Quench (lip balm)

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...