Free shipping on all orders over $39

Date-rape preventing lip gloss consigned to Dept of Daft

October 8, 2009 Reviewed by Marta 8 Comments
This week's improbable product combo: a lip gloss that comes with a date rape drug testing kit. I am embarrassed to admit that this nutty idea comes from the UK and a company called 2LoveMyLips.

The idea is that you'd be sitting in a bar and as you bend down to adjust the strap on your stiletto, some fiendish cad spikes your Cosmopolitan. But you are ever on the alert and whilst feigning to adjust your lip gloss you cunningly dip a pink taper into your drink that can detect GHB and Ketamine.

Naturally, I take all this to be a gimmick to sell lip gloss. Still, I thought I should check if drink-spiking had reached epidemic proportions whilst I wasn't looking. Robert Hansson, principal chemist at the Forensic Science Laboratory in Australia, conducted a study and concluded it was an "urban myth". Studies in the US turn up a miniscule number of drug spiked drinks (eg: less than half percent).

One thing to bear in mind as you wait for the pink taper to turn blue, is that forensic researchers say that GHB, in particular, is extremely difficult to detect.
  • August 2, 2010

    by deborah rodell

    The idiots who try to sell this do not deserve any press. Even bad publicity is seen as good to these goof balls.

  • January 8, 2010

    by Lauren

    This is my first visit to this site and I had a good chuckle at the review of the Anti-Wrinkle Decollete Bra, but the tone of this particular review made my blood boil. Why on earth does the author describe the attacker as though he's a silly schoolboy pulling a harmless, annoying prank? And make rape victims out to be ditzy floozies asking to be attacked by stepping out in strappy heels? And act as though a woman's concern for her own safety is a joke? All of this is extremely offensive to me.

    I've worked in clubs and bars (not dives) for the last seven years, and I can tell you that drink drugging is a serious problem and (should be) a legitimate concern for women, regardless of the type of bar or its location. But do you know where it is the biggest problem? College campuses. Kids at college parties often drink to crazy excess to begin with, making it very easy to drop something into a drink and whisk the victim out of the room without anyone noticing -- and it happens much more often than this author apparently relizes. The sad truth is that most of these attacks go unreported to authorities, because the women fear the undeserved blame that our society - like this reviewer - dumps on victims of rape. This fact historically has left rape-related studies, like the supposed ones vaguely referenced by the reviewer, inaccurate. Go to a "Take Back the Night" gathering and you'll get a much clearer representaion of the actual numbers. Chances are good that you know at least one victim of rape or sexual assault.

    Stepping away from my complaint against this writer's blatant insensitivity and disregard for the seriousness of rape, I also have to mention that as product reviews go, this one is pretty shoddy. By reading it, I know nothing about the quality of the ingredients, nor, more importantly in this case, the effectiveness of the drug test and its design. Is it easy to use? Would it still be easy to use after a few drinks? (Few things are.) Is it reuseable, easy to clean, discreet? Does the price make it inaccessible to most women, or could the average (broke)collegiate woman afford to purchase several tubes as gifts for her friends? A well-written review would not leave the reader wondering this sort of thing. (To be fair, I have to reiterate that I'm not familiar enough with this site to know their quality standards or their mission - I might very well be expecting too much.)

    LADIES: When drinking in mixed company and with people you don't know around you, play it safe! Always watch the bartender pour your drink, and if you have a server, keep your eyes on him also while your drink is in his possession. (Fellow drinkers are not the only folks who might want to harm you. Believe me, this happens. For this reason, it's also better to carry your drink into the bathroom than to leave it on your table or at the bar for an employee to watch.) If you are standing/dancing in a crowd of people, keep your drink covered: hold your glass by the top, palm covering your beverage; or with bottles, slip the tip of your finger or thumb into the opening. It doesn't have to be obvious and it's easier than keeping your eyes glued to your drink while socializing.

  • January 7, 2010

    by zinclinc

    Euan might be right about this product having some benefit, but the safe drinking guide reads like it was written by an 8th grader with a limited grasp of grammar. http://2lovemylips.co.uk/Our-Guide-i-6.html

    There is no explanation of why you need the stupid lip gloss AND the card either - couldn't you just buy a few kits separately? I mean, it only comes with two tests, so it's kind of disingenuous to suppose this is some kind of prevention measure to count on. And here's the real question in my mind - why not just throw away a drink you think might be tainted?

    I feel for the people who have been drugged or victimized, but I don't think this product does much at all to help them. You'd be better off buying whatever lipgloss you like, and donating money to your local rape crisis center.

  • October 20, 2009

    by Dennis

    Unfortunately, too many times we have been faced with bar owners that felt the same way as Ms. Pond.

    Try to look at it this way, providing DrinkSafe products is a way of innoculating your bar from the crime. Since it is a felony, someone wishing to spike drinks would be much more likely to choose a bar that has no means of detecting the drugs.

    It has happened in the upscale bars in Dallas, New Yourk, Los Angeles, Las Vegas - the list goes on. Stupid doesn't seem to be restricted to a demographic, or socio-economic group. The people that spike drinks are equal opportunity morons. The one caught in Dalls recently was an off-duty Dallas Police Reserve Lieutenant!

    The fact is, it happens anywhere and everywhere and is performed by the least likely of people. You don't know.

    Patrons should fear the attitude of complacency exhibited by some. Hopefully, that complacency is out of ignorance and this world-wide conversation we're having may allow them to see their error in judgement.

    The owner of the bar in Dallas declined purchasing coasters. He now has DrinkSafe products.

  • October 16, 2009

    by Zoe

    @ Dana Pond

    "I would think if that’s the steps the bar is taking maybe that’s not a bar I want to hang out in"

    Drink spiking doesn't just occur in 'shady' bars. It happens anywhere and everywhere. The fact that some bars are stepping up and taking measures to combat drink spiking is commendable, not a reason to avoid the bar.

  • October 16, 2009

    by Zoe

    Fiendish cad?

    Try potential rapist.

    How insulting to drinking spiking and rape victims everywhere. Pathetic.

  • October 9, 2009

    by Dana Pond

    There was just a report on the local news last night that some Dallas bars are taking part in "Drink Safe" a program here that lets people know (friend and foe) that spiking drinks will not be tollerated. They have drink coasters in the bar that when you dip your finger in your drink and then on the coaster will let you know if anything has been placed in your drink that is foreign (GHB or Ketamine). Some bars are even handing out bottle covers for your beer bottle. There is a ring that goes around the neck of the beer with a cap attached.
    I agree with you Marta, I wasnt aware that spiking drinks was running rampant to the point of bars having testing kits on coaster and bottle covers. I would think if that's the steps the bar is taking maybe that's not a bar I want to hang out in. However, it is nice to see that spiking drinks is being taken seriously.

  • October 8, 2009

    by Euan

    Hi Marta,

    In your website "ABOUT" section you say:

    "How do we go about our reviews? First we scrutinize and research every ingredient...."

    Have you actually reviewed this product as per your own review rules? Held it? Tested it? I would be most interested in your results, but I fear you only read about this and decided to speak without a full understanding of the product or its background.

    I am Head of Public Relations for 2LoveMyLips and unfortunately/sadly you have misguided people on how to use the strip tester and also what the company is actually about.

    Please visit the online press area (www.2lovemylips.co.uk/pressarea.php) for FULL details on the product, its origins and its endorsement from the Roofie Foundation, do you know who they are?

    Please Google drug rape and read some of the horrendous cases that have happened - happy to direct you if needed.

    I would also be happy to discuss with you any queries you have, and I pray you never fall victim to drug rape unlike the 1000's of women and men in the UK every year.

    I have pasted a excerpt from our 'Background Info' below to help you understand...
    ...............
    A Brief Background to 2LoveMyLips by Tracy Whittaker, Managing Director

    On a date with a charming lawyer in the autumn of 2007 in Newz Bar in Liverpool, I went to the girls toilet to freshen up and realised I had forgotten my lip gloss as we all do from time to time. I thought to myself I wished they had a vending machine selling cosmetics and on mentioning this on my return to the table my date said why don’t you set up your own business, which planted the first seed for the idea behind 2LoveMyLips.

    A few weeks later during a girl’s trip to Belfast, myself and my girl friend Mona had drinks bought for us by a couple of young lads, nothing unusual there. I didn’t have my drink but my friend did and she felt very uneasy about the situation that was quickly unfolding as the lads became more amorous.

    Just prior to meeting the lads a local girl at the bar advised me not to accept drinks in Belfast from strangers, as spiking was rife at that time. By this point the lads were becoming somewhat uncomfortably leachy, so we left the bar and headed back to our hotel to end our night unwontedly early - but at least safe.

    When I returned to Liverpool my mind was still full of these recent experiences. By coupling the two situations, the 2LoveMy concept was born and I was determined to set up my own cosmetic business focusing on women’s safety and beauty simultaneously. Every lip-gloss contains a drink-spiking kit and a stay safe guide for girls on nights out enabling women to feel sexy and stay in control.
    .............

    Our bespoke test kits are prepared and certified by expert chemists and our lip gloss itself produced by a leading cosmetics manufacturer.

    Please email me your postal address and I will send you a sample to put through your review process and I look forward to reading your full review in due course.

    Kindest regards,

    Euan
    eblake@blakepr.co.uk

Join the discussion! Leave a comment below.

My Comment

Add a comment...

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...