Free shipping on all orders over $39

niod  Fractionated Eye Contour Concentrate
68

Deciem NIOD Fractionated Eye Contour Concentrate Review

is a Solution for:
Fine Lines, Sagging Skin
Reviewed by Marta December 28, 2015 12 Comments
TRU Rating

Pros

Smoothes and firms lids and under eye area

Cons

Contains a few PEGs, alcohol, acrylates and polymers
An eye serum that goes beyond maintenance to improve eye area

NIOD could be accused of being a bit gimmicky with its “drone” delivery technology and the name, Fractionated Eye Contour Concentrate ($68 in the shop) is a tad self-important. But what really matters is that this is a damn good eye serum. It firms. It really does.

Although water-based NIOD feels like an oil and, usually, I’m not wild about oils for the eye, but this product completely won me over. It is not greasy, absorbs quickly and is easy to smooth around the entire eye area. Of course the effects are the most important and I found that NIOD kept my lids and under eyes smooth and firm. My eyes are in fairly good shape, but NIOD did more than maintenance — six weeks in, I’m seeing an improvement and know that I will continue to use this eye serum until then bottle is finished.

So what’s with the drones? NIOD encapsulates its peptides in a special polymer that is supposed to target the fibroblast before releasing the active with drone-like precision. The peptides themselves are interesting as well. There’s a new one called methyl-glucoside-6-phosphate and it is credited with boosting collagen (although there isn’t much independent information about it). Ditto Decapeptide-22, a chain of 10 amino acids.

I am on more familiar ground with palmitoyl tripeptide-38, which is the newest power peptide from the makers of Matrixyl, goes by the name of Synth’6 and is supposed to stimulate six major constituents in the skin matrix. And there are several neuro peptides for softening those expression lines including dipeptide diaminobutyroyl benzylamide diacetate.

More exotic, but ultimately doing a similar job, is snail toxin. Or, to be more precise, a synthetic form of cone snail venom called mu-conotoxin Cniiic. I’ve only come across this once before in a product called TruActivs Tritoxin. Another new find is n-acetyl-glucosamine. This occurs naturally in our bodies, occupying the space in the skin between cells, and is responsible for maintaining the skin’s barrier abilities.

The actives just keep on coming. Worth a call out is darutoside, which comes from a plant called siegesbeckia and is an anti-inflammatory and skin repairer. I was intrigued to learn that polyglucuronic acid is part of a family unknown to science until the 1990s. Described as a mere film-former in some cosmetic formulations, there seems to be much more to it than that, including collagen biosynthesis and skin firming (source). One of the more unusual botanicals here is European ash bark extract (Fraxinus Excelsior). If you are short of dinner party small talk over the holiday season then you can always drop in that this ash tree changes its sex from year to year. More relevant for this review’s purpose, it is a wound healer.

I should point out that there are a few PEGs here, alcohol, acrylates and polymers (but down the list and not obviously used as fillers), as well as the usual suspects in the preservative department. The good far, far outweighs the bad and the quality and quantity of actives are impressive, especially at the price. NIOD is a great new find.

Buy Me
68
  • November 23, 2016

    by Cristina

    (3 out of 5)

    It is a good eye contour and has helped with dark circles, but it leaves my skin way too dry .... Anyone tried to add something on top of it?

  • January 26, 2016

    by PAMELA G

    WOO HOO!!!!! Can't wait to get this!

  • January 26, 2016

    by Marta

    Brilliant catch Pam! They have used the INCI rather than Sederma's marketing name. But you are right this has all the components of Beautifye - an ingredient that I wrote about in my predictions for 2015: https://www.truthinaging.com/review/my-beauty-predictions-for-2015

    Niod is on its way to us from Canada as we speak and so should be in the shop before the end of the week.

  • January 26, 2016

    by PAMELA G

    Marta - this eye product appears to contain "BeautifEye" although it's not identified as such in the ingredient list. I've been searching all over for a good eye serum containing it!! BeautifEye is made by Sederma and contains Albizia Julibrissin Bark Extract, Darutoside and Glycerin. I see these 3 ingredients are present in the list. Do you know if they perform similarly when incorporated separately into the formula (or are they using the Sederma ingredient and just not using the trademark name in the ingredient list)?

  • January 18, 2016

    by Marta

    Hi SusanDe, yes indeed! We wrote about the crazy Mars stuff and Nanoblur and I must admit it did make me think twice about trying out the Deciem lines. But so far, so good and, like you, happy to give them the benefit of the doubt. If anyone hasn't read about Euoko and Nanoblur, here are some links: https://www.truthinaging.com/review/euoko-goes-to-mars-for-beauty-secrets
    https://www.truthinaging.com/review/nanoblur-reviewed

  • January 18, 2016

    by SusanDe

    Hi guys. Just a heads up; Deciem are linked with EUOKO!!
    Brandon Truaxe co-founded both companies. Google "are deciem the same as euoko" and you should get a CosmeticsMag article telling you about Brandon Truaxe and his ventures with Euoko, Indeed Labs (which made Nanoblur) and now Deciem.
    Let's hope they don't end up on Mars. I do like the looks of some of these products, though and there are ones at multiple price points and I'll probably try some anyway, because curiosity. Maybe Truaxe was the sensible guy at Euoko before selling to investors and those intergalactic rose crystals. I'll give the benefit of the doubt - for now.

  • January 13, 2016

    by Marta

    A member of the Truth In Aging community is test the Hylamide HA right now.

  • January 13, 2016

    by Oksana

    I actually ordered NIOD's serum - will let you know. But the composition is similar, however NIOD has some heavy hitters.
    Hylamide's HA serum is THE BEST! No usual "dryness". My sister loves it too!

  • January 13, 2016

    by Marta

    Hi Oksana, it's worth looking at Niod and Sub Q's ingredients side by side. Here are Sub Q's - I would not say this is similar to the Niod serum reviewed above:

    aqua (water), propanediol, perfluorodecalin, glycerin, perfluorohexane, aminobutyric acid, polymethylsilsesquioxane, perfluoroperhydrophenanthrene, adipic acid/neopentylglycol crosspolymer, nylon-12 fluorescentbrightener 230 salt, albizia julibrissin bark extract, polyvinylalcoholcrosspolymer, myristoylnonapeptide-3, dipeptidediaminobutyroylbenzylamide diacetate, hydroxyethylacrylate/sodiumacryloyldimethyl tauratecopolymer, fucusvesiculosus extract, vp/vacopolymer, dimethicone/vinyldimethicone crosspolymer, polyacrylatecrosspolymer-6, epigallocatechin gallatylglucoside, cyclopentasiloxane, dimethicone, isohexadecane, gallyl glucoside, propylgallate, polysorbate 60, caprylyl glycol, hexyleneglycol, amodimethicone, hydroxypropylmethylcellulose, benzylalcohol, pentylene glycol, xanthan gum, darutoside, dehydroacetic acid, chlorphenesin, phenoxyethanol.

  • January 12, 2016

    by Oksana

    interesting, that DECIEM's sub company Hylamide, has an identical line of products. Anti Age sub Q is superp btw. but the Sub Q Eyes is much similar in composition to the product described in review, and at about 1/2 the $$. interesting company!

  • January 12, 2016

    by Shaneez

    I love love love this product! It is breaking new ground and promising to ACTUALLY help us #Brandon Truaxe# Miracle in a bottle

    I am only 31 but I have very thin skin under my eyes and have developed fine lines and wrinkles this product literally plumped my under eyelid up within 3 days granted the effect wears off after a long day but I am sure I will continue to see improvements in this as time goes by.

    On a similar note I have very sensitive skin that has literally reacted to any anti-ageing cream I've tried in the past this is the first serum to go on and not cause any redness or irritation DREAM!!!

    I would definitely recommend this product and Multi Molecular Hyaluronic Complex as Well as Photography Fluid all three are GROUND BREAKING products that will probably change your cosmetic life.

  • January 7, 2016

    by christina audley

    Im so ecstatic that products are coming out for upper eyelid firming! My eyelids are really getting saggy. Cant wait to try this product and so grateful for honest reviews, it really helps cutting through all the bull that is out there.

Have You Tried Deciem NIOD Fractionated Eye Contour Concentrate?

Write your own review today
Perfect Great Good Didn't Like Hated It Rate Me
TIP: Roll over me

Join the discussion! Leave a comment Deciem NIOD Fractionated Eye Contour Concentrate below.

My Comment

Add a comment... Deciem NIOD Fractionated Eye Contour Concentrate

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...