Free shipping on all orders over $39

Dremu (and Deception)

Is a Solution for:
Sagging Skin
Reviewed by Marta February 6, 2008 11 Comments
Celebrity endorsements, as George Clooney wisely remarked, can backfire on you. Dremu Oil has had such a barrage of gushing accolades from the likes of Oprah, Demi Moore, Angela Landsbury and a bunch of journalists who should know better that it is crying out for an expose. Here it is: Dremu Oil will have very little impact on wrinkles and claims that oil from emus (yes, the large flightless antipodean birds) is the ultimate anti-aging solution are entirely unsubstantiated.

Emu oil is, as it happens, a perfectly good anti-inflammatory. People who are treating acne with solutions that are hyper drying add emu oil to their routines for soothing hydration. I've had good reports from people who have used emu oil after treatments such as chemical peels. People who use it to treat wrinkles are almost inevitably disappointed.

If you need it as a skin soother, buy it from a company such as Skin Biology (makers of Super Cop 2X and other good copper peptide products) for about $30 for a 2oz bottle. If you are extremely gullible, splash out on Dremu at $125 for 1.7oz. Skin Biology's emu oil also has a couple of anti-oxidants thrown in for good measure, such as CQ10.

Photobucket

The makers of Dremu have another silly product that contains emu oil: Deception. Yes really, but I suspect that no one at Dremu HQ was stung by the irony. Deception doesn't even pretend to treat wrinkles, but merely reflect the light from them using microprisms. One of the ingredients used is normally found in hair spray (being the key thing that 'sets' the hair). Another is petrolatum, a petrolium jelly that is banned in Europe.

Photobucket
  • July 9, 2013

    by sima

    not working ,looked horrible

  • January 7, 2010

    by Sheila

    Wow. Looking at the ingredients on most of the products at the Dremu site...all I can say is WOW. They take the wonderful oil of Emu..and mix it with horrible things, all for the money I'm sure. Deception...(which is ENTIRELY deceptive), airbrush, cashmere, midnight, and whistle products are FULL of man made chemicals. If you use those...you are SLATHERING toxic chemicals all over your precious-living-breathing skin! It may "feel good on your skin" but All those I mentioned have practically ALL the "bens" that are toxic! methyl....para...etc. You're better off with just PURE emu oil, period. (my opinion)

  • November 9, 2009

    by isabelle gawley

    I ordered 5 products from dremu 2 months ago and to date i have only received item.
    I have sent numerous emails and have tried to contact them by phone to no avail.
    Through all of this i am still receiving daily emails telling me what special offers they have

  • September 2, 2009

    by Craig

    I originally ordered Dremu and Deception from a site called FDBUY.com on 04/02/2006 (yes that's right almost three and a half years ago). Well, after dozens of emails and threats that I would take my missing order to the public forum - my order turned up today!!! It's no wonder that people are still apprehensive to shop online when you are faced with time-consuming challenges such as this...

  • August 31, 2009

    by Paul

    Christine I am in a simmilar situation with you. The difference is I am in Australia and did not recieve my package.

    I have sent them over 10 e-mails and they are not responding...I have given them over 3 weeks - it is so annoying because before I was about to make the sale they were sending me many emails, giving me suggestions and how to use the oil.

    Now - nothing - and I guess I can't really complain to anyone damnit! I hope you get your problem sorted!

You are leaving a comment on below...

My review

Reviewing >

8+9=
-or- Cancel my review
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...