Free shipping on all orders over $39

dermawand

DermaWand Review

is a Solution for:
Fine Lines, Large Pores, Wrinkles
Reviewed by Marta January 15, 2014 10 Comments

Pros

None

Cons

Bad smell and uncomfortable sensation
The discomfort of this treatment makes it too difficult to judge effectiveness

There is a bad smell when I use my DermaWand ($289). My experience is probably not uncommon since DermaWand’s website acknowledges that there is a smell, but says that I will “recognize” it as “that fresh, clean after a rainstorm fragrance.” Actually, I don’t; it smells like singed cat fur.

I bought my DermaWand for $289 and I don’t like it one bit. It isn’t just the smell  (which, given the cat isn’t in the vicinity when I use DermaWand, makes me wonder if I am burning peach fuzz), I don’t like the sensation of using it on my skin. Oh, and it doesn’t work (for me, so far).

DermaWand is an at-home radio frequency device, sold solely — at the time of this review — by DermaWand and on Amazon. This technology is best explained by how machines in dermatologists’ offices worked in the past and how they have evolved. High frequency radiowave technology used to be best known as systems such as Thermage. These used high temperatures, were very painful and not terribly effective. New versions of this technology include the Pellevé Wrinkle Reduction System and they cause heat to build up where the skin and fat layer come together. Enough heat is required to cause a process called denaturation - collagen fibers contract and, because they believe they are undergoing a trauma, they start stimulating new collagen.

There’s a nasty zap (that always has me jumping off my seat, more due to the surprise factor than any pain) when DermaWand first comes into contact with the skin. Once in contact, the device is moved over the face in rapid circular motions. Although neither hot, nor painful, I found that the sensation to be uncomfortably prickly.

The thing is that “denaturation” takes place at 41°C — at least for the professional Pelleve treatment. I once had one of those and, trust me, the thing gets very hot. There is no way that DermaWand is operating at that temperature. This is the issue I had with Silk’N FaceFX, which has an operating temperature of 15°C to 35°C — too low for denaturation.

DermaWand promises to remove wrinkles, soften lines, reduce pores, diminish cheek puffiness and plump lips. I found DermaWand much too uncomfortable to use on my lips or anywhere near my mouth area. When DermaWand touched a zit on my forehead, I nearly jumped out of my skin. And overall, I just found it unpleasant even for the mere three minutes per session suggested.

This means that to be fair to DermaWand, I have not given it a full and fair trial over the past month or so. DermaWand recommends two three minute treatments a day. There have been few days when I managed this and I so actively disliked using DermaWand that days would go by before I could galvanize myself to give it another go.

Given no discernible results, nasty sensations and the burned cat pong, DermaWand is back in its box to stay. 

  • February 21, 2017

    by sheena

    first reviewer claim SHE PAID $289 ? is that a typo or deliberate ?
    she also admits she didn't use it according to directions.
    so what did she expect ?
    derma wand costs basically 89 to99 bucks and works when used according to directions.
    i think the FIRST REVIEW, the "lead in" is a paid shill discrediter of the item.
    289 bucks paid should give you pause to think.

  • September 15, 2016

    by Lisa

    I have had SUPERB results from the Detmawand. I look at photos from a few years ago and I look younger. I do it everyday though, as instructed. People began to compliment me on my youthfulness after a few months, so I doubly know it's working.

  • January 13, 2016

    by ann

    A friend of mine bought a Derma Wand and let me try it. There is no pain or smell at all. She has been using it off and on (doesn't always have time for twice a day) and likes it very much. I think she looks great.

  • June 17, 2015

    by Rere

    I've had my Derma Wand for over a year. I used it for a longer time in the beginning, and that seemed to make no difference. I can feel it tightening my skin, and I see the difference in the mirror. I quit using it about eight months ago and bought an LED device (believe it was Sirius (may not have spelled it right)). The LED machine was extremely uncomfortable, and did not work for me. I used the red light. It also bothered my eyes.
    I've just gone back (after six or so months) to using the Derma Wand for about five minutes a day. People have commented on my "younger looking" skin. I'm an older woman who is very active and do not look my age (exercise and lots of veggies). I can do three to five minutes a day to look younger. I feel the Derma wand is great. The zapping that others have talked about is nothing. Just lower the number when you use it around your mouth, and use it for short periods.

    Rere

  • December 26, 2014

    by karen

    I received a Derma Wand for a Chrissy present 2 days ago, I have used it for 2 days, then while I was using it the "Zap" just stopped, the redish light still goes on when I it touches the skin, but no zap is happening, have I done something wrong or I could it be a fault in the machine, I would appreciate some feed back.

  • December 26, 2014

    by karen

    I received my Derma Wand as a Chrissy gift 2 days ago, I have used it for 2 days but when using it, the "zap" just stopped, have I done something wrong or maybe there is a fault in the machine, the red ultra light still goes on when it touches my skin. I would appreciate some feed back to see if it is normal for this to have happened.

  • July 10, 2014

    by Sandy

    I have used mine about 4 times on my face and I can feel my skin under my chin getting tighter. I also used it on my feet for pain and got immediate relief!! The buzz doesn't bother me at all; I just want to look younger.

  • May 28, 2014

    by Princess Me

    I LOVE My Dermawand! I am a middle aged woman and look way way younger! I feel a major part of this is owed to my almost religious use of Dermawand. Yes You have a smell and at first it is not so nice but once you become accustomed to this it IS actually a fresh smell similar to after the rain is gone. Not a cat smell or nasty smell at all. Just something different and new. I even have used it on a foot injury that nothing has helped. YES, I use it on my foot and clean it with alcohol swabs to disinfect it. I use my Dermawand daily. Others I know who have one of these use theirs once or twice a week. I use mine for more than the time allocated and I must say the results are phenomenal to say the least! My eyes have NO crows feet or sags or bag, I have really worked on my laugh lines and they are diminished too. My face is lifted, my eyes glowing and uplifted, and I have no jowls. Thank God for Dermawand! It is a remarkable little tool for all different body parts.....I use it on my face and neck, my neckline, my elbows, on my sciatic nerve for help with leg pain in the night AND even on the back of my calves and my foot to promote circulation and oxygenation to help healing of a plantar fasciitis injury to the heel of my foot. AND It Works! Kudos for Dermawand....money well spent! And if you do not like to use the products lotions that come with it or run out....YES! You can certainly use other creams and gels for the conduit.....But the Dermawand IS the complete package!! Thank you Dermawand!

  • April 27, 2014

    by Lee

    That bad smell is ozone, and it's extremely good for your skin. It oxygenates your skin. The zap is good for your skin too, because it helps with circulation. Beauty is pain is a true statement. If you were to keep on using it, you will find that the zap doesn't bother you at all anymore. I use it at the highest power 9, and it doesn't bother me at all. This product really works to tighten your skin and make it look better, but you have to give it time. I don't think that this is a fair review at all. I don't believe that this product is meant to stimulate collagen, and it doesn't make that claim. This machine has a similar affect to a microcurrent machine in its lifting benefits, but uses ozone which oxygenates the skin, tightens the skin, is antibacterial, and is good for lymphatic drainage (depuffs). It also helps to penetrate your skin care. Both a microcurrent machine and this machine provide long term, but temporary benefits. If you stop using these machines, eventually the results you achieved will go away.

  • February 11, 2014

    by Denise

    Well, that's not good. I just saw your review and I've already ordered my Dermawand. Not looking forward to using it after reading this. Kind of scares me. I don't want to be "zapped" lol.

Join the discussion! Leave a comment below.

My Comment

Add a comment...

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...