Free shipping on all orders over $39

Dermophisiologique Optyma Lip Perfect SPF 30- reviewed and recommended

Is a Solution for:
Sun Protection for Face
November 2, 2010 Reviewed by Junko 9 Comments
I was packing for a trip that my husband and I were taking to Monterey, when I realized that I had no sunscreen for my lips to take with me. A month prior, I had given my tube of KaplanMD Lip 20 to my mother and had neglected to order myself a replacement. The day before our trip, Marta's VIP Review Product arrived (all of us VIPs should have gotten something to review), and my VIP product happened to be a tube of Dermophisiologique Optyma Lip Perfect. The timing on this was absolutely 'Perfect'!

Dermophisiologique Optyma Lip Perfect was going to be put to a real road test: 24 hours of exposure to harsh sun and wind, on the back of my husband's Harley! 8 hours outside day one, another 8 tootling around day two, and then 8 more for the ride home. The first coat went on before we left the house and it was creamy, highly moisturizing and pleasant to wear. No smell, no taste, no color. KaplanMD’s Lip 20 is sufficient for normal in and out sun activities, but I appreciate Lip Perfect’s SPF 30 on days when I might need a bit more. Husband and I arrived home late Sunday with my face pink from exposure. My husband's lips were comically bright red, but my lips, well they were quite perfect since they’d been well-shielded.

At first glance, Dermophisiologique Optyma Lip Perfect's ingredients looked chemically scary and intimidating. Feeding them into the Environmental Working Group's Cosmetic Database, however, changed my mind. With exception of alumina, aluminum stearate and phenoxyethanol, the ingredients came up surprisingly gentle with ratings of 1 to 0. Tocopheryl acetate (vitamin e) gets a score of 4, but I still appreciate its benefits, rating aside. Bis-ethylhexyloxyphenol methoxyphinyl triazine, looks like two ingredients with a missing comma, but it’s really something called Tinosorb. I've copied its explanation from Marta's review since no one explains the complex better than our beloved Marta: Tinosorb is a broad spectrum sunscreen that is unique amongst chemical sunscreens in that it both absorbs and reflects like the inorganic filters such as zinc and titanium. But the thing that makes Tinosorb special is that it is extremely stable, whereas many other sunscreen actives are decidedly not.

For those like me, who are financially investing in your lips with YBF's Define, further protect your investment by swiping Dermophisiologique Optyma Lip Perfect on them too. It would be a shame for the sun to undo all the good that Define is doing and has done. I don't wear lipstick, but Dermophisiologique Optyma Lip Perfect could easily be swiped over lipstick if a colored sunscreen desired. It's a practical, economical must-have, especially on days that you’ll be out in the sun for hours.

Summer is gone, but the sun still shines. While you’re out playing, remember that your lips need sunscreen too!

Ingredients:

Tridecyl trimellitate, PEG-8 beeswax, methyl hydrogenated rosinate, hydrogenated vegetable oil, octyl methoxycinnemate, shea butter, c12-15 alkyl benzoate, titanium dioxide, carnauba wax, bis-ethylhexyloxyphenol<BR> methoxyphinyl triazine, butyl methoxydibenzoyl methane, tridecyl salicylate, aloe, glycrrhetinic acid, fragrance, cetyl dimethicone, polyhydroxystearic acid, alumina, aluminum stearate, sucrose distearate, sodium hyaluronate, phenoxyethanol, tocopheryl acetate, allantoin, bisabolol, ceramide-3, phytosphingosine
  • November 5, 2010

    by Jana

    Thank you, Junko, but we haven't set a day yet. We've been engaged for awhile but are dealing with kids and aged parents along with the long-distance thing. At least I probably still have a good long period in which to Perfect my lips!

  • November 4, 2010

    by Junko

    Jana * Sorry for the late Congratulations! You mentioned a fiance...I hope you have time to work on getting your Lips Perfect for your wedding day!

  • November 4, 2010

    by Jana

    Thank you very much, VickyL and Junko!

  • November 4, 2010

    by Junko

    VickyL and Jana ~ Am a Define fan too. I use it at night so it has plenty of hours to soak in and do it's magic.

  • November 4, 2010

    by VickyL

    Great review Junko. This sounds like just the ticket when you're spending a lot of time in the elements. My trio of ybf define, quench, and KaplanMD may become a quartet.

    Jana - I've seen great results from ybf define. It's about the consistency of eye cream but used on the lips and the area around the lips to prevent/reduce lines.

    RichardC - I thought that too but according to the octyl methoxycinnamate glossary entry the Tinosorb prevents it from breaking down. So Tinosorb does double duty as a sunscreen and as a stabilizer for the octyl methoxy. Maybe that's how they get such a high spf.

  • November 3, 2010

    by Jana

    Hi Junko ~ Thanks for your great reply. You've helped me a lot. Yep, my lips crack occasionally, especially in cold weather. I'm lucky to live in a warmer climate but visit the NY area often, so have problems going back & forth - wreaks havoc on my skin, particularly my lips. Lots of sunshine & wind where I live also have their perils.

    I discovered years ago that I couldn't wear lip stick, balms, or anything (I tried all of 'em) without risking canker sores - even when I was careful not to use anything during active outbreaks (as you know, the virus stays alive on the skin even while dormant). Anecdotal evidence showed that almost all lip products I tried gave me an active outbreak, while doing very little to help dryness, peeling, etc. And I make my living talking all day long, which just dries my lips further.

    Recently I rec'd a trial size YBF Quench - and I've had very good luck with it so far, but it's not a sunscreen per se, although I very much like the antioxidants in it. I also hope to try Define one day soon - you've seen results with it?

    I appreciate your analysis of why you like each product. Sounds much like how I'll base my purchases - one to share with the fiance; one for the girlie-girl in me. Thank you!

  • November 3, 2010

    by Junko

    Hi Jana ~ Mom got half a tube as I used the first half :) I think the color (Nude) suites her better than it does me. I'll be ordering the color Natural next. I like both these products equally for similar/different reasons. Both have beneficial amounts of sunscreen at SPF 20 & SPF 30. Both are very moisturizing. For hiking, skiing, cycling, etc. I'd opt for the higher SPF 30 in Lip Perfect. In look and cost Lipp Perfect is serious, practical unisex lip sunscreen that you could put on your husband (I should of mine) and kids. Lip 20 is 'girly lipstick' elegant twist top, comes in colors, costs more and most say they like the way it feels, hard to explain but to attempt...it feels cool (temperature wise) on the surface of my lips. I like YBF's Define for repair. I hope this info has helped. I'm sure your lips crack at times too which sounds painful. What have you tried on them that hasn't worked?

  • November 2, 2010

    by RichardC

    I'm curious to know what you think about it having methoxycinnamate as the most prominent chemical sunscreen. I remember it was written off as breaking down in the sun.

  • November 2, 2010

    by Jana

    Thank you, Junko, for yet another informative and interesting review. I have a question for you. You mentioned giving your mom your KaplanMD Lip 20. Did you ever use it? If so, what's your opinion as to how the Lip 20 compares to the Dermophisiologique Lip Perfect? I've been debating buying something for my perennially dry and peeling lips so would appreciate any feedback & info you'd care to give. I've tried a lot of things over the years, but many balms and other lip products have caused problems rather than helping. Thanks.

Join the discussion! Leave a comment below.

My Comment

Add a comment...

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...