Free shipping on all orders over $39

DeVita Solar Protective Moisturizer SPF 30+ - reviewed and recommended

Is a Solution for:
Sun Protection for Face
September 29, 2010 Reviewed by Kim 25 Comments
A few weeks ago my very best friend Alyssa came to visit me from LA.  And, of course, one of our favorite rituals is a very girlie game of show and tell. I wanted her Sweedish Hasbeen clogs, she wanted my Rebecca Minkoff sample sale bag… blah blah blah. We do, at times, become girlie clichés, which is only reinforced in the bathroom as we dig through each other’s makeup bags and product stashes, oohing and ahhing.

I was immediately drawn to a quite beautiful and elegant bottle in her little toiletry bag. It was DeVita Solar Protective Moisturizer SPF 30+, which she insisted I try. I have very fair skin, so it’s important I wear sunscreen every day. But to be honest, I hate the way it often makes me feel like I have an unbreathable, somewhat sweaty, seal on my face.  Alyssa said this one is ultra light, so I was excited to give it try.

I should start by saying that DeVita is an all-natural brand, that sources “the very best organic Aloe Vera (the base for most all of their formulations), the finest essential oils, the purest plant and fruit extracts, the richest emollients, and the safest, most advanced anti-aging cosmeceuticals.” And they never use parabens, phthalates, fragrance, or chemicals.  The main sunscreen ingredient is micronized zinc oxide 19%. I know there’s all sorts of debate about micronized ingredients. And honestly, I don’t know enough about the facts to truly have an educated opinion. However, if this means anything to anyone, it does say on the package, “Not a nanotechnology product. Average particle size is 250 nm.”  The rest of the ingredients are harmless, if not healing. The first is the wonderful skin soother, organic aloe vera gel. There’s also super hydrating hyaluronic acid, as well as vitamin E and grape seed extract, making it a quite nourishing moisturizer.

Once again, Alyssa is right.  DeVita’s feather light sunscreen dries quickly and is not greasy at all. It feels super nice on, and makes for a great daytime moisturizer.  It’s formulated for sensitive skin, which I have. And I must say, it hasn’t been at all irritating - I ordered a bottle soon after she left!  Even though we are transitioning into fall, and many days (like today) can be quite over cast, it’s still really important to wear a sunscreen – everyday. Remember, it’s the day-to-day exposure to the sun that can really have a long-term effect on your skin. Not just those lazy summer days at the beach.

Active Ingredients: Micronized Zinc oxide 19%.

Inactive Ingredients: Aloe barbadensis (organic aloe vera gel), Purified Water (aqua), Capric/caprylic triglycerides (derived from coconut oil), Glycerin (vegetable), Hyaluronic acid (vegan source), Glyceryl stearate SE (derived from vegetable oil), Stearic acid, Lecithin phospholipid, Tocopherol (vitamin E), Allantoin, Vitis vinifera (grape) seed extract.
  • June 28, 2012

    by Dianne Ward

    Kristen, I have been using several of the DeVita products for over a year. I began with the Soar Protective Moisturizer because I got a sunburn around my eyes and was looking for an eye cream with an
    SPF. I love this product! I have sensitive eyes and most products make them water. Not this one. I use this as my daily moisturizer over their Vitamin C Serum. I also use their Aloe Vera Cleansing Gel (not at all drying on my combination skin) and Cucumber Toner. At night I have been using the Glycolic Acid Blend and Evening Rich Nutritional Moisturizer. I've tried the eye serum and am now using the Eye Lift Cream in the a.m. and Sen Zen Double Dose Eye Cream from the TIA store for p.m. All of DeVita's products are light and absorb easily on my combination skin and are very affordable. Last week I began using the Royal Nectar Face Mask. Just wish I could find a facelift in a jar for my 69 year old skin.
    For NoeyD77 the active ingredient is zinc oxide 19% Alantoin is the second to last ingredient. If that helps.

  • August 10, 2011

    by NoeyD77

    Hi Oksana-I'm interested in trying the Devita in the larger size you mentioned but I noticed in looking at the pics, the label SPF is missing....should this be a concern that it has not been FDA cleared as a true SPF product??? I'm questioning this because there are a plethora of accolades on this sunblock it leaves no white residue and in my experience that's almost always impossible with all physical sunblocks, what ar your thoughts on the missing label of SPF???

  • April 16, 2011

    by Oksana

    Kim,
    I have used the sunscreen on 2 occasions now and absolutely loved it!
    it absorbed very well, did not shine, and actually somehow slightly "airbrushed" my skin. It moisturizes so well!
    now it comes in 2.7 oz.

    speaking about testing other Devita products, it would be very interesting to trial Capillary Serum - it's new and there are just a few reviews.

    I tried their Aloe Cleanser and returned it - made mu skin feel tight.

  • February 20, 2011

    by kim

    Thanks Kirstin! I'm going to look into seeing if Devita would like to send us products to review. Stay tuned...

    Kim

  • February 20, 2011

    by Kristin

    I LOVE the Devita sunscreen, used since 2003 and will not use anything else. They also have a product called Optimal Rejuvination...another staple. I try other things and always come back to this brand. Only downside is it can be tricky to find, but there is always online. So happy to find a review on this...possible to review the whole line??? Would love to know your opinion!

  • December 31, 2010

    by Valerie

    I absolutely love this stuff too. It really is amazing. All of the other natural sunscreens I have are of a very thick consistency. This stuff really is wonderful. If anyone is on the fence, just get it!!

  • December 13, 2010

    by Sameera

    Hi All,
    I just got this and LOVE it - it has a great consistency and soaks right in! But, I do wonder what keeps it safe... there are no preservative or anti-microbial ingredients in it, not even natural ones. Does anyone have any thoughts on the safety of products with absolutely nothing in the ingredients to inhibit bacterial growth or to keep it from becoming rancid?

  • December 1, 2010

    by Rebecca

    Just wanted to say that I totally agree with this review - featherlight and totally non-sticky. For the person from Australia, and anyone else concerned, I use the body sunscreen, which is almost exactly the same set of ingredients as the face sunscreen, and you get way more of it - 6 oz. for less than $20 (the price at the cheapest online stores). I have sensitive, break-out-prone skin, and I use the body one on my face and have had no problems. Hope this helps someone!

  • October 30, 2010

    by Su

    I keep going back and forth on this one..haven't ordered yet, BECAUSE I can't find any reviews on another sunscreen that I keep looking at, but not liking the ingrdient Octinoxate, but it has so many other ingredients that lookso nice - I thought for sure there would be some review..Anybody??? Anybody have a Review for
    NCN Professional Skincare's
    ****BOTOX ALTERNATIVE SPF 30****

    Ingredients: Active Ingredients: Octinoxate 7%, Titanium Dioxide 2%. Other Ingredients: Green Tea Extract, Aloe Barbadenis Extract, Emulsifying Wax NF, Sorbitol, Isocetyl Stearate, Deionized Water, DmDM Hydantion, Lecithin, Rice Peptides, SD Alcohol 40, Iodorpropynl Butycarbamate, Sodium Styrl Phthalate, Octyl Salicylate, Acetyl Hexapeptide-3 Argireline, Retinyl Palimate, Silica, Sodium Laureth Sulfate, Triethanoplamine Tocopheryl Acetate, Alpha Lipoic Acid.elp Extract, Wild Oat Extract, Black Willow Bark Extract, Methyl/Propylparaben.

  • October 3, 2010

    by Paul

    Thanks for your advice :)

  • October 3, 2010

    by marta

    Paul, looking at the ingredients, I can't see anything that would cause a problem around the eye area. In fact, the grape seed extract would be beneficial at preventing fine lines.

  • October 3, 2010

    by Paul

    I just ordered this and can't wait for it to arrive :)
    However sorry, another question just came to me - do you think this is safe to use on the eye area as a sunscreen? Or am I better off buying a moisturiser with spf specifically for my eyes?
    Thanks so much!!

  • October 2, 2010

    by Paul

    Thanks very much both of you :)

  • October 2, 2010

    by marta

    Hi Paul,
    In my experience, it will last at least three months - probably longer.

  • October 1, 2010

    by kim

    Paul,

    I don't yet know how long the bottle will last, but I will say that it spreads on nicely, and a little goes a long way. But I would really only reserve it for my face.

    I hope this helps.
    Kim

  • October 1, 2010

    by Paul

    Hey there,
    summer is coming up here in Australia and I really want a very light-weight sunscreen - and this sounds perfect :)
    However, I'm a bit concerned about the quantity. It comes with only 1.7oz (approx 50ml)... which is very little? Do you need much product to apply it all over your face? Do you think one can will last me all three months of summer?
    Your help is greatly appreciated! Paul.

  • September 29, 2010

    by Aubrey

    That should have said, "the packaging looks even better now."

  • September 29, 2010

    by Aubrey

    I love the Devita too. It just has the best consistency ever. Silky smooth and completely lacking the stickiness of normal spf moisturizers. The packaging looks even now than when I last used it.

  • September 29, 2010

    by kim

    So glad you like it Angela! And yes, the glass bottle is beautiful... huge bonus.

  • September 29, 2010

    by Angela J

    I had the most difficult time trying to find a physical sunscreen that didn't leave me pasty white or sit on top of my skin in a thick, greasy layer. Thanks to TIA, I found Devita and I love it. It's everything you say it is, Kim - and I'm a total sucker for gorgeous packaging, so the bottle made it that much more enticing.

  • September 29, 2010

    by kim

    Thanks Barbara for this clarification.

    Kim

  • September 29, 2010

    by marta

    Thanks Barbara - that's a simple formula to remember. We appreciate the information.

  • September 29, 2010

    by Barbara

    There is a debate about NANOsized ingredients, MICROsized ingredients are safe and have been used for a long time.
    1 micro = 1000 nano

  • September 29, 2010

    by kim

    Oh, good to know!

    Kim

  • September 29, 2010

    by marta

    Hi Kim, thanks for the review. I have used Devita in the past as well and liked it. There is also a version for body that is good too.

Join the discussion! Leave a comment below.

My Comment

Add a comment...

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...