Free shipping on all domestic orders over $39

Discovered: Anti-Aging Body Lotions

woman applying body lotion to her leg
Is a Solution for:
Dry Skin, Sagging Skin, Wrinkles
October 1, 2015 Reviewed by Marta 31 Comments

What’s so hard about body lotion? Why is this category the poor relation of the beauty market? Why are body butters thick and gloopy? Why are lotions thin concoctions of mediocre ingredients? And then there’s all those body lotions that are really perfume in cream form. I’ve only ever found one anti-aging body lotion worthy of the name (Stemulation’s Relance) and I was beginning to think that if I ever found another it would be like having an out of body experience.

I began my quest with a little research on the challenge of making a good body lotion. The stratum corneum is thicker on the body than the face, so topical treatments with fancy anti-aging ingredients can’t easily penetrate. Body skin also has fewer oil glands and dries easily. Plus, there’s all that surface area — making it costly for formulators and consumers alike to attain the Holy Grail of effective anti-aging body lotion.

Still, I decided to go out on a limb and find some truly anti-aging body lotions. You know, there’s really not a lot out there. So here are my results — rejects and those that deemed worthy of testing. And if you have any to add to the list do let me know.

Rejected

Elizabth Arden Prevage Body Total Transforming Anti-Aging Moisturizer ($135)

Years ago a member of the Truth In Aging community gave Prevage Body a positive review. Revisiting it today, I think I’ll take a pass since overall the good things reside with too many bad or problematic ingredients. The good includes Prevage’s signature ubiquinone, a powerful antioxidant, tripeptide 1, moisturizing phospholipids and an interesting skin whitening agent, octadecenedioic acid. But against these are every peptide known to man, plus just about every other harsh preservative, no-nos like sodium laureth sulfate and quite a lot of silicone.

Skin Care L de L Retinol Anti-Aging Body Lotion ($16.99)

I went out of my way to hunt down some body lotions with retinol and turned up this reasonably priced one on sale at Ulta. Unfortunately, the ingredients list looks as if it has been tipped upside down with dominant ingredients being preservatives and the actives straggling at the end. And then there’s some ingredients that are a mystery to me as to why they are in a cosmetic cream, such as trimethylolpropane tricaprylate/tricaprate, used for curing plastics, glue and ink.

Chantecaille Retinol Body Treatment ($96)

At the other end of the price spectrum is Chantecaille and, of course, this retinol body lotion is altogether more refined.

Olay Total Effects 7-in-1 Anti-aging Body Lotion $4.99-$8.99

To see the antioxidant niacinamide as the third ingredient is a reminder of how Olay manages to stand out as a low cost drug store brand. And then there’s a slew of amino acids. Pretty impressive. The problem is that petrolatum, a cheap by-product of the oil industry, is also dominant and there are parabens abound along with harsh ingredients such as sodium hydroxide.

Selected for testing

Wilma Schumann Body Contouring Serum ($60)

I had high hopes for this body lotion that also tackles cellulite. Most of the ingredients are excellent. I especially like the unusual use of English ivy, an ingredient that was recently discovered to act as a sunscreen. Horse chestnut is believed to be helpful for broken veins and a thoughtful complex of caffeine, L-carnitine and coenzyme A is there to smooth dimpled thighs. A pity about the use of parebens though. After much back and forth with myself, I decided to give this a go on the grounds that parabens are controversial but not unequivocally proven to lead to cancer. Other preservatives are as bad if not worse. Furthermore, when we polled the Truth In Aging community 50% said they were ok about using products with parabens.

Perricone MD Cold Plasma Body ($110)

I bought a bottle of this and started using it earlier this week. It's too soon to tell what it's going to do and I can only report that it is a light, easily absorbed lotion that is pleasant to use. Certainly the formula has potential with Perricone’s signature DMAE, which is supposed to have skin firming properties, as the most dominant ingredient after water. As always, Perricone’s choice of actives are interesting with phosphatidylcholine, a kind lecithin that is anti-inflammatory and the super-antioxidant astaxanthin. It isn’t perfect — unnamed fragrance, a PEG, alcohol and usual preservatives — but it is certainly intriguing.

EO Certified Organic Body Serum 02 Restorative ($21.99)

This struck me as a decently priced all-natural body lotion. Although it calls itself a serum, I’m not sure that I will find it a potent anti-ager. However, the blend of argan and avocado oils, reinforced with vitamin E, looks nourishing.

One Love Gardenia & Tea Antioxidant Body Serum ($39)

We already like the Elizabeth Dehn for One Love Organics products and I was intrigued by this “body serum” that is actually a spray. The idea of spraying the body could be genius, although perhaps more of a summer product. Green tea is a given, but I was pleased to see that there is also sea buckthorn, antioxidant seaweed and pumpkin.

See all current body lotion recommendations

  • July 15, 2016

    by Lisa

    i too bought the crepe correcting lotion and absolutely zero results.. I mean no kind of difference at all. And I bought extra for the first time buyers cheaper price Oh well. Sucker born every minute

  • July 14, 2016

    by Jo

    Beverly Hills Crepe Correcting Body Complex is a complete waste of your money.
    I went through 2 jars and used it for 3 months. I used it morning and night. Nothing.

    Their products are such a scam. I used one of their wrinkle creams that was supposed to wonderful and it was a total waste also. Don't waste your money on there products.

  • June 23, 2016

    by Jane

    I was thinking about buying this but am glad I saw your comments. I won't purchase any now. Thanks for the heads up! What do you recommend for this problem in particular?

  • June 23, 2016

    by Marina

    I also used Crepe Correcting body complex diligently and had no results. I mean none. This cream does not work. Beverly Hill MD is probably making a fortune because women aren't asking for a refund. Don't get fooled by the reviews which are actually written by these plastic surgeons themselves, making money and preying on women instead of being responsible human beings. It's a very sad commentary.

  • June 17, 2016

    by Melody B

    I ordered this product 3 weeks ago, based on all the high reviews it was given. However, these reviews were given on the Beverly Hills MD website and are customers, so they probably get kickbacks for their high rated review.

    I have used this product diligently, and as directed and truthfully see NO improvement whatsoever! In fact, the only difference I see is that my skin is actually drier and flaky! Maybe I'm allergic to it? I don't know, but I'm VERY disappointed in spending this kind of money for such a worthless product. I would NOT recommend it!

  • June 6, 2016

    by Roxane

    Just watched the presentation (Long and boring) from Beverly Hills M.D. Would like help with crep correcting. Feel like this is just a hoax, since he spends to much time talking. Any reviews on success of this product?

  • April 25, 2016

    by Marta

    Hi Beth, I don't have any plans to review it.

  • April 24, 2016

    by beth

    Now that the full ingredient list was posted for the crepe correction from Beverly Hills md, do you think you'll try it and review it for us?

  • March 2, 2016

    by lorri

    I also just finished watching the lengthy infomercial, but won't order unless I also see more reviews on this product. Using a test group of only 24 people is not a reliable test. No specifics were given to support any percentages that are claimed. This lack of info and a non-acceptable number to be considered to be a group, brings me to the conclusion that it is as worthless a product as all the other anti-aging products on the market. If this product actually worked, where are all the younger looking people? Would there be any of us walking around with "old looking" skin. I think not.

  • February 24, 2016

    by Sandy J

    I did purchase the crepe correcting cream from Beverly Hills MD; right now just using on hands and neck. There's a glow, but not seeing reduction. My complaint (wrestling with it now) is the intro offer was either bogus or they charged me three times (on my Visa statement). Whatever, I won't order again until I see results and it proves to be a legit company.

  • February 11, 2016

    by Lori

    Just sat thru the lengthy presentation from the Beverly hills MD. Was so hoping it would work. It is believable but I'm always a sceptic! Has anyone purchased and have results?

  • January 31, 2016

    by Cindy

    I have started usin straight coconut on my face at night time and in three weeks people are noticing a difference in my skin. I am as well in photos that are taken. I have ordered the crepe correcting body complex today. Will let you know in a few weeks how that works.

  • January 26, 2016

    by Joanne

    Really long pitch. Want to see actual user testimony first.

  • January 23, 2016

    by Shells

    Still waiting to see if anyone has tried the Beverly Hills Creping cream. I still cannot find any reviews on it, and I certainly will not be the first to purchase it. Surely someone has more money to spend on it than I do. I guess that I will just wait a while. Anyone who goes onto a web site and tries as hard as the plastic surgeon did to sell the stuff is usually bogus. They repeat themselves and make you go through an online presentation that takes FOREVERRRRRR!!!

  • January 17, 2016

    by Ginny

    How about straight up coconut oil. I also like Maui baby. My face and decolletage get the hyaluronic acid serum plain or with A & C first. then Nivea collagen cream. I also like Stivectin.

  • January 11, 2016

    by Donna

    This is the ingredients listed for the Beverly Hills MD Crepe Correcting Body Complex. This is listed on their webpage.


    Water, Cetearyl Alcohol, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Lactococcus Ferment Lysate, Glycerin, Cyclopentasiloxane, Niacinamide, Hordeum Distichon (Barley) Extract, Butylene Glycol, Dimethicone, Glyceryl Stearate, PEG-100 Stearate, Lens Esculenta (Lentil) Fruit Extract, Pyrus Malus (Apple) Fruit Extract, Avena Sativa (Oat) Bran Extract, Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Juice, Vulgaris (Watermelon) Fruit Extract, Phellodendron Amurense Bark Extract, Santalum Album (Sandalwood) Extract, Sodium Hyaluronate, Ceteareth-20, Ribose, Phenoxyethanol, Chlorphenesin, Acrylates/C10-30 Alkyl Acrylate Crosspolymer, Caprylyl Glycol, Ethylhexylglycerin, Hexylene Glycol, Citrullus Allantoin, Cyamopsis Tetragonoloba (Guar) Gum, Xanthan Gum, Tetrasodium Glutamate Diacetate, Sodium Lactate, Glycolipids, Tocopherol, Carrageenan, Soybean Phytosterols, Sodium PCA, Sea Salt, Fragrance

  • January 7, 2016

    by Mary

    I would like to know response to Koress body butter is it all natural product. I know it doesn't have parabens but not sure of the rest of the ingredients.

  • January 4, 2016

    by Rosilene

    Hi Marta, and Deborah, I am also curious about the Beverly Hills MD Crepe Correcting Body Complex. I found this article online with a list of ingredients for this product: http://supplementpolice.com/beverly-hills-md-crepe-collecting-body-complex/. I assume that they would not post an inaccurate list of ingredients on a product review.

  • January 4, 2016

    by Marta

    Hi Deborah, no we haven't tested it. The process works like this: first we try to get a full list of ingredients and if that passes muster we will try it out. The ingredients are not listed on the company website and request for them has gone unanswered. So we'll pass on this one.

  • January 3, 2016

    by Deborah Dunn

    Hi, Did you ever test Beverly Hills MD crepe correcting body complex cream? It's difficult to find any information on this, except from Beverly Hills MD.

  • October 29, 2015

    by Michele Watson

    I am actually loving the UV Damage Repair with Boost by Skin Actives at the moment. I am also using their Anti- ageing cream as well as their Brightening cream. Really good formulations with so many skin actives you recommend. However I am also going to order Stemulation Relance based on your ongoing mention of this as a quality body treatment. BTW am still chuckling at your 'out on a limb' phrase re body lotions lol!

  • October 12, 2015

    by Karen S.

    Believe the Crepe Erase is a firming/crepey skin product with Trufirm. Jane Seymour promotes it.
    http://www.crepeerase.com/on/demandware.store/Sites-CrepeErase-Site/default/Default-Start?uci=US-CS-O-PS-MA-61561&cid=449p943&GeoRedirect=false

    I find that one of the best options for crepe like skin texture is red palm oil combined with shea butter and other ingredients that are found in a few products.

    The Beverly Hills MD product for sagging skin (neck as well) is a separate sculpting creme developed by two Beverly Hills plastic surgeons.

    I have not tried either one of these products but plan on doing so.
    http://yourbiggestagetell.com/lift-firm-sculpting/secure_order_c3.php

  • October 4, 2015

    by Marta

    Hi Imelda, can you send a link? I can only find some faux blogs and a dark spot correcting cream by Beverly Hills MD. I must be missing something.

  • October 3, 2015

    by Imelda

    Please check out and give us your opinion on this new product I read about recently: Crepe Correcting Body Complex (a powerful new anti-aging treatment, which erases the look of wrinkled, “crepey” skin from head to toe) from Beverly Hills MD. It's key actives stated are HydraFirm, Riboxyl and Niacinamide. There are the PEG-100 stereate paraben and the phenoxyethanol preservative though.

  • October 2, 2015

    by Pam

    I've been using Cerave Moisturizing Cream for years. The skin on my arms and legs is very dry and this is the only cream I've ever used that keeps moisturizing throughout the day and is not oily or greasy. I never have to reapply during the day. It's also inexpensive and available at the drugstore.

  • October 1, 2015

    by Sunny

    I live at 9000 foot altitude with no almost humidity at all. Alligator skin is a real challenge up here. The only thing I have found that works is Astara Aroma Nutrient Face and Body Oil and Astara Antioxidant Body Lotion. When used together even freshly shaved legs stay soft and hydrated.

  • October 1, 2015

    by Marta

    Hi Paige, thanks for this. I'd have to say that for the price the Alba looks good. Natural oils and antioxidant botanicals and there are more good things than bad. While there is silicone, it isn't packed with it. A few things to beware of are potassium hydroxide, which is very corrosive, and the allergan benzyl benzoate.

  • October 1, 2015

    by Marta

    Hi Sheena, I like Sweetsation's body lotion as well - although I find the strong scent hard to get past. Still, it is a good case in point as it contains kojic acid as one of the main actives. This is certainly preferable to hydroquinone, but can still be an irritant and the research on whether it is a carcinogen is contradictory. The point being that there are risks to be weighed with almost every product. As to the curated products, there have always been some products chosen despite some of their ingredients. Osmotics is a case in point and they have been with us for years. I agree with you that parabens are tricky, but again the science is not conclusive and full half of the TIA community are unconcerned about this ingredient. While the Wilma Schumann seems worth trying for the reasons I mentioned, there are other paraben-laden products that I would pass on. I'm weighing my choices and trying to share how I make them. The thing that intrigues me about gentler acids and their combination with collagen boosting ingredients is that there should be a net gain on cells rather than the potential net loss with a deep chemical peel or laser. Anyway, rest assured that I'll be monitoring results and will stop if it looks as if I am overdoing it.

  • October 1, 2015

    by Paige

    Dear Marta,

    I use a body lotion I would love to have you review the ingredients of; for safety, hydration and anti-aging, as you are so well versed in doing, if you would? I would love to know how it ranks with a Truth-in-Aging look-see.

    Alba Botanica Natural Very Emollient Body Lotion Maximum

    Thank you for your consideration,

    Paige Warren

  • October 1, 2015

    by Sheena

    Hi Marta,
    Interesting article as it is really hard to find nice body products. One cream you already carry that I adore is the Sweetsation body lotion - it certainly turns back time on my legs by erasing sun damage.
    I can't help but feel worried that a 'slippery slope' is starting regarding formulations and questionable ingredients in the curated collection: octyldodecanol, potassium hydroxide, BHT and 'parfum' etc in the lauded Dennis Gross range and now parabens, PEGs and so on. I always thought the idea of TIA was to find products that actually work without containing 'nasties'. I'm disappointed that I'll have to start looking through ingredient lists to sift out products with yucky things in them - that was never an issue with TIA until now.
    I've also valued the thinking behind product and regime choices - like not overusing acids because of the hayflick limit. I've loved your product choices for years now but I can't help but feeling TIA is changing...

  • October 1, 2015

    by Jan

    OMG! Your description of many of our body lotion options is SO accurate. Either a fake smell, too thin and does nothing, or too thick and soaks thru clothes, or just plain ineffective. Thanks for the list, love the price range too, some are very budget friendly. :-)

Join the discussion! Leave a comment below.

My Comment

Add a comment...

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...