Free shipping on all orders over $39

DIY Hair Oil for Growth

Reviewed by Junko November 10, 2010 30 Comments

It was Shyema's review of Yarok's Serum #1 that inspired me to find the right oil for my hair, but it was the $28.00 per ounce that motivated me to make a DIY hair growth oil. Many of us have budgets and with all the great TIA products being reviewed, I make sure that my money is always well spent each month. Such was the case when Shyema’s review was posted. I calculated that my 32 inches of hair would need 1 ounce of Yarok per treatment, once a week, making my cost $112 each month. This made my E'shee's Repair Serum look like a bargain!

My mantra is: Never go without, just DIY. I purchased most of my oils online at www.mountainroseherbs.com for approximately $1.50 an ounce. If you buy organic and food-grade when possible, you'll be able to cook with many of the carrier oils as well. I'd been using my DIY oil (recipe below) for a couple of months before purchasing Yarok's travel size Spark of Youth Serum #7. Out of curiosity, I just had to see if I’d been missing out. I’ve decided that I like the DIY version better. I don't have to be frugal on how much I use, and the best part is that it's custom blended with the exact oils that work for my particular hair type.

What follows is a list of the oils I mix together, with a few notes pulled from various websites that tout their benefits. 1 or .5 ounce each of the carrier oils with 4-6 drops of each of the essential oils (per total ounce of carrier oil). Use whatever you think will help your hair type. I'd love to hear your suggestions for other oils to use. Share the love and comment with your own ideas!

Carrier Oils:

Wheat Germ Oil * Long-chain fatty acids with emollient properties add moisture and softness. Contains vitamin E which can promote skin cell formation and helps keep oil from spoiling. Contains a polyunsaturated fat called squalane along with B vitamins B1, B2, B3 and B6. B vitamins are readily absorbed through the skin and may increase scalp circulation.

Hemp Seed Oil * Contains unsaturated fatty acids Omega-3 and Omega-6. These essential fatty acids help grow stronger, less brittle hair.

Coconut Oil * One reason for hair loss is microbial action on the scalp and roots. Anti-microbial agents work against this. Lauric acid and capric acid in coconut oil are triglycerides which produce anti-microbial agents. This oil has high moisture-retaining properties to prevent hair breakage. Contains vitamin E and fatty acids.

Emu Oil * Contains linolenic and oleic acid which are anti-inflammatories that can rejuvenate skin cells for healthy hair growth. Wakes up hair follicles to the anagen (growth) phase. Helps follicle development and growth by increasing the synthesis of DNA in the epidermis, stimulating skin regeneration and proliferation of cells around the hair follicle. Enlarging the follicle makes hair thicker. Emu oil blocks DHT (a derivative of testosterone) from attaching to the hair follicle, thus stopping DHT from degrading and shortening the hair’s growth cycles.

Olive Oil * Prevents the production of DHT hormones on the scalp. Antioxidants, anti-fungal and antibacterial properties promote scalp health.

Grape Seed Oil * Non-greasy oil rich in linoleic acid which is an essential fatty acid for the skin and cell membranes. Contains vitamins, minerals, proteins, GLA, and a small amount of vitamin E.

Avocado Oil * Contains essential nutrients like proteins, vitamins A, D, E and B6, magnesium, copper, iron, amino acids and folic acid, all of which are essential for hair growth and nourishment. Rich source of lecithin for penetrative qualities. Contains natural sunscreen properties to protect against UVA and UVB.

Castor Oil * Humectant which draws in moisture with omega-9 fatty acids that nourish the hair and scalp. Contains ricinoleic acid which has anti-bacterial and anti-fungicidal properties.

Evening Primrose Oil * Rich in Omega 6 fatty acids and potent prostaglandins.

Essential Oils:

Add the essential oils after you have mixed your carrier oils: 4-8 drops, depending on the type (4 drops of stimulating oil; 8 drops of Balancing/Nutritive oils) for every 1 oz. of carrier oil(s).

Clary Sage * Balances estrogen.

Rosemary * Stimulates hair follicles (not for children, expectant mothers or people with nervous system conditions).

Basil * Improves circulation.

Bay * Contributes shine, luster.

Peppermint * Stimulates blood flow.

Other Suggestions: Burdock for stimulating blood flow and hair cell renewal; Tea Tree for dandruff and moisture; Sea Buckthorn for stimulating cell metabolism; Lavender for calming antibacterial and anti-inflammatory properties.

See our video on the Hair Vitality collection



Buy Truth in Aging's Hair Vitality Complex and Emu Oil set in the TIA Shop

  • March 6, 2012

    by Junko

    Marta! I will definitely be giving TIA's Hair Vitality Complex a try!

  • March 6, 2012

    by Marta

    Hi Junko, I'm hoping that you'll give Truth In Aging's Hair Vitality Complex a try! <a href="http://truthinaging.com/hair/truth-in-aging-launches-hair-vitality-complex" rel="nofollow">http://truthinaging.com/hair/truth-in-aging-launches-hair-vitality-complex</a>

  • March 5, 2012

    by Junko

    Hi Marleen,
    You pose a very difficult question for me to answer. I was making & using this DIY hair oil when I had butt length hair and it helped tremendously to moisturize and silken it. I wouldn't say it made it thicker, but my hair wasn't falling out either, like it is this year (maybe menapause?). Last year I cut it all off, stopped using the oil and now I have a whole host of other issues! Without all that weight, it's wavy, thick and drier (again, drier probably due to menapause). Thinking about using some oil again to see if it'll help with moisture and manageability. Definitely don't need more hair, except in my widows peaks, and I've been using ReLuma for Men in those area's. Maybe try Folligen or ReLuma if more follicles is what you're wanting?

  • March 3, 2012

    by Marleen

    Hi Junko,

    I was wondering if you noticed fuller hair, as in new growth, besides longer length. Great article! Thanks!

  • January 22, 2012

    by MrsFitz

    I had recently gotten a sample of morrocan Argan oil and put it on my winter dry hair. I have fine hair and normally would shy away from oil thinking it would be too greasy and way my hair down. It was light and perfectly smoothed and moisturized my hair. On looking to replace it I noticed a lot of the commercial Argan oil products are combined with lots of chemicals and/or silicon. So off to the health food store I went. I use about 3 drops and work it into wet hair. It works beautifully.

    So, I was also wondering if Junko has tried adding Argan oil to her blend and if it would be compatible. I don't know that I need the full treatment but would like to stretch the Argan oil out as it was $18 an ounce.

  • January 21, 2012

    by iicapn

    Just noticed this great post, thanks. Junko, junt wondered about jojoba oil for carrier oil. Do you not use jojoba oil for a reason? I thought it was good for scalp and hair.

  • December 1, 2011

    by Marta

    Junko's oil played perfectly nicely with my chemically colored hair.

  • December 1, 2011

    by Junko

    Hi Dee,
    Apply to dry hair ~ Use as often as you desire, but once or twice a week should be sufficient. Have fun mixing!

  • December 1, 2011

    by Dee

    Do you apply oil to dry hair and how often do you use this on your hair?

  • November 30, 2011

    by Junko

    Hi Mary ellen, I don't know as I do not color my hair yet. Maybe Marta can post as to whether she had any wash out or change of color when she used what I sent her last year...

  • November 30, 2011

    by Mary ellen Brumbaugh

    Thank you for this wonderfully helpful info. Question: are any of these oils a problem for highlighted/ colored hair?

  • January 22, 2011

    by JustD

    Junko, your DIY solution is intriguing. I honestly don't feel competent enough to try to do this myself, but if you're in the market for selling samples, LOL, don't hesitate to let me know. I do appreciate the wealth of knowledge that you have shared here, how amazing to see so many offerings available to us if you just know where to look. At 57, I'm a newbie here, with lots of silver tinting my once natural black tresses, heavily altered by surgical menopause. That's something else that has an affect on us that I'm still trying to learn about and understand. Anyway, just wanted to encourage you and thank you. I'm taking notes and also growing out my hair, but for different reasons. Best wishes on the length! Thanks again!

  • January 5, 2011

    by Junko

    Marta * so happy that you are enjoying it! I've done without for 3 weeks while in Germany for the holiday's and my hair is yearning for a good soaking this week!!

  • January 5, 2011

    by marta

    Junko, thank you so much for sending me a sample of your oil. I have been trying it out and I love it. The consistency is perfect. It shampoos out and the essential oils are an aromatherapy treat. I'm looking forward to seeing how it performs longer term. Thanks so much for sharing!

  • December 26, 2010

    by junko

    Nina, I do use all the carrier oils in the recipe above, but you can just choose the ones that suite your needs. Adjust the amount of essential oils you use according to the total ounce(s) of carrier oils you have mixed together.

  • December 22, 2010

    by Nina

    do you use ALL of the carrier oils....I dohn't quite understand the recipe and would love to try it out. Thanks for the info

  • November 12, 2010

    by Junko

    Forgot to thank Olivier for the recommend! Took at look at their site and their products look really nice!

  • November 12, 2010

    by Junko

    Jaysie, My objective is to see how long I can grow my hair. One last hair growing marathon before I cut and donate a large length of it. I am questioning now...if 50 year old hair is donateable or even desireable LOL! Thanks to TIA I started using sulfate free shampoo's almost 2 years ago and had not had to cut my hair so often because of split ends. This made me wonder, how long can I grow this stuff? Surely age and length (longer than it's ever been) has made it feel exceptionally dry this past year. Split ends still aren't a problem but dryness/texture is. This oil has helped make my hair feel more manageable and I can feel the difference if I skip a week. It seemed that growth was slow, and I think this oil is helping the growth too. I'll keep using it for the next 6 months and see if I can grow another 3 inches!

  • November 11, 2010

    by Olivier

    The hair loss treatment oil by Just Natural is really fantastic.

  • November 11, 2010

    by Jaysie

    Junko - Thank you so much for sharing your research; it's so great to have this info in one place. BTW, what is your objective in using an oil treatment and have you seen any results?

  • November 11, 2010

    by Jan

    Wonderful, informative post Junko. Thank you!

  • November 11, 2010

    by Junko

    Sunday ~ I wonder if your mother's generation started this craze? In my late teens mayo was 'the' hair treatment to try. I did it once and never again because I couldn't get it washed out and had to go to school with greasy hair. An embarassment slightly less than having a huge pimple on one's nose! Thank you for bringing back a memory from my youth. It's nice to remember, that I WAS once sixteen...

  • November 10, 2010

    by Sunday

    Wow what a fantastic amount of information, I had no idea this would become my favorite website in such a short amount of time! Junko THANK YOU for this post, I remember as a girl watching my Mom put mayonnaise in her hair and thinking "WHY???". Now I know and really appreciate what she was trying to accomplish, these oils for DIY seem so much more fun...I have tried some of these oils, but your offerings here are so much more bountiful!

  • November 10, 2010

    by Lisa

    Thanks for the clarification, Junko! I will get back to you...

  • November 10, 2010

    by Lindsey Parker

    Thanks for this post! What do you think about using Almond Oil as a carrier? I also wanted to mention Rosemary is really good to prevent dandruff. Right now I use my own oil but add SEA BUCKTHORN oil. It's kinda orangey, but actually gives a nice tint to my hair=)

  • November 10, 2010

    by VickyL

    Junko,
    This is a wonderful, informative post. I love the yarok but it is pricey. Can wait to try a DIY mixture.
    You have given us a wealth of information for mixing up a potion. Thanks for the research.

  • November 10, 2010

    by Junko

    Lisa ~ the only oil which needs heating to be liquid is my organic unrefined (raw) virgin coconut oil. It is solid at room temperature. I warm it on the stove over VERY, VERY low heat as I don't want to alter it's properties in liquifying it. I coat my scalp and ALL my hair with the oil, twist up, clip, put a plastic shower cap on and go to sleep. But, many websites say that everything that can be absorbed into the skin and scalp will do so within an hour, so you could apply, wrap warm moist towel around your head for penetration instead. Great question on the wash and I'm sorry I didn't write this into the article. Warning ~ I've found that I do have to suds up and rinse 3 times. 2 times and I end up a bit greasy still, but 3 times will always get all the oil washed out. Use one of your cheaper shampoo's for the first 2 wash's :) Let me know what you think after you've used it a couple of times!

  • November 10, 2010

    by colinmack

    Thank you ! This is awesome,I too have spent money on hair growth products. I am going to try your recipe for sure!

  • November 10, 2010

    by Lisa

    Oh and do you heat and combine and then cool for use?

  • November 10, 2010

    by Lisa

    Great post, Junko! I am going to try this...Can you explain your application method, how long you keep it on and how to "rinse"? Thanks!

Join the discussion! Leave a comment below.

My Comment

Add a comment...

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...