Free shipping on all orders over $39

Neova Night Therapy with copper peptides

Reviewed by Marta August 10, 2008 10 Comments

I was given a clutch of Neova products the other day and, since I'm not big on night creams, I'm offering up a free jar of Neova Night Therapy ($74 for 1.7oz) to whomever is willing to review it for us. Just post a comment saying why you'd like to give a go and promise faithfully that you'll send in your feedback.

My take on Neova Night Therapy is that it is a gourmet sandwich filling in between slices of mediocre grocery store bread. The standout ingredient is copper peptide, but not just any old one. When you combine copper with a GHK protein peptide (GHK-CU), something pretty impressive happens. One study performed on 20 people showed that, after 30 days, the formation of pro-collagen (a precursor of collagen) increased by 70% (shown by skin biopsy) compared with 50% from vitamin C and 40% due to tretinoin (vitamin A).

A peptide naturally found in human skin and tissue, GHK (glycyl-L-histidyl-L-lysine), binds copper molecules, allowing them to arrive in an active state where needed. This peptide is now chemically synthesized and is known as prezatide copper acetate. This is used by Neova. You won't find this GHK form of copper peptides very often (due, as far as I can work out, to closely held patents). In addition to Procyte (Neova's parent), Skin Biology and Neutrogena are the only potion makers that I know of that us it.

The Copper tripeptide in Neutrogena is a 1:1 ratio of the GHK molecule to copper and the prezatide copper acetate in Neova products is a 2:1 ratio of GHK to copper. In addition, Neova Night Therapy has sodium carboxymethyl betaglucan (another wound healer), camellia oleifera (tea), vitamin E, sodium hyaluranate, squalane, grape and apricot kernel. The rest is made up of emollients, silicones and the usual suspects from preservative land.

Ingredients in Neova Night Therapy

Water, glyceryl stearate, stearic acid, cetyl alcohol, sodium behenoyl lactylate, octyldodecyl neopentanoate, C12-15 alkyl benzoate, cyclomethicone, dimethicone, prezatide copper acetate, sodium carboxymethyl betaglucan, camellia oleifera extract, tocopheryl acetate, sodium hyaluranate, vitis vinifera seed, squalane, prunus armeniaca kernal oil, ethylhexyl stearate, propylene glycol, isoceteth-3 acetate, propylene glycol, hydroxyethylcellulose, isopropylparaben, isobutylparaben, butylparaben, diazolidinyl urea, methylparaben, propylparaben

  • March 3, 2017

    by Marta

    Hi Melissa

    Here is the review: https://www.truthinaging.com/review/reader-review-neova-night-therapy-ghk-copper-peptide-complex

  • March 2, 2017

    by Melissa

    Did anyone ever write the review of this Night Therapy cream? I just bought a bottle of it and was looking for a review. I see you gave someone the one you had in exchange for a review.. but I can't find it. Thank you!

  • June 4, 2013

    by Patricia Glasco

    I would like to try the Neova because I am 74 years of age, and still have a zest for life and want to take care of my face. I use moisturizer every day, separate sunscreen, and then night cream at night. What led me to this site was to see if Neova really works...what better way to know than to try it myself at no cost. I'm interested.

  • December 28, 2010

    by Nancy Morales

    I would love to use it! Have heard of Neova products at The Doctors show. I'm 47 and starting to see changes in my skin. What I have tried, so far, has made only a small difference.

  • September 2, 2008

    by marta

    <p>Hi Terry,<br />
    I'm afraid the Neova was taken up a while ago. Do keep checking back because we have plenty of new things coming up. </p>

    <p>I really would give all these retins and peels a rest. It sounds as if you could be in danger of over-exfoliating. I am a big believer in a gentle glycolic (I use Image Skincare's Ageless), but would wait a few weeks for your skin to rest a bit. In the meantime, a good peptide to help build cells and collagen should be part of your daily routine. If you have Bellaplex, that would be a great place to start. Let us know how you get on. </p>

  • September 1, 2008

    by Terry

    <p>Hi there!<br />
    I am 50 years old, never have used any face creams UNTIL this year!! I know, I know......sigh :-( What was I thinking!!)</p>

    <p> After 4 TCA peels this year at 6 week intervals, 15%, 20%, 25% & 30% (lived 17 years in FL, NEVER using sunscreen!) I am trying to figure out What to do & where to start!! I have everything from all organic stuff like, "Now" brand coQ10 face creams & "kiss my Face" stuff to Olay's complete reginerist line, Avon's latest elixer & day & night & eye creams....all unopened & UNtouched! (ALso IQ Derma, Loreal Dermo line, & even bought 4 bottles of Bellaplex!)<br />
    I have purchased loads of stuff , BUT I do not know which to try first, what is hype & what IF any of this stuff actually works!! <br />
    Some of these things might actually do more harm than good!<br />
    As I have a fresh pallete to apply these on what would you recommend? Iknow everyone is different but would appreciate an educated guess from someone who knows QUITE a lot!</p>

    <p>I have an RX for generic tretinoin.01% gel & .1% cream been using the weaker strength gel for 1 week, but am thinking about stopping, as it is very drying & read that I should let my skin rest?? Sooooo......... last night I slathered on squalane oil after reading about the Hayflick limit!! YIKES!! <br />
    I do not work outside the home, & do not wear make up, so you would have FRESH slate to try this on! <br />
    I am concerned about having OVERdone the TCA peels as I have just read about the HAYFLICK limit .........sigh! </p>

    <p> I also now know you are supposed to wait 12 hours between using a copper peptide product with AHA , retinoids, VitC products etc from the info here:<a href="http://www.smartskincare.com/infopacks/download/skinrejuv_2008p.pdf" rel="nofollow">http://www.smartskincare.com/infopacks/download/skinrejuv_2008p.pdf</a></p>

    <p>IF I am selected to try this night cream I will give a GENUINE unbiased opinion & I would have the benefit of feedback from you as the "trial" continues!<br />
    Let me know & any advice would be appreciated on where to start taking care of my skin, I have brown hair, red highlights, hazel eyes & freckle easily!<br />
    I can email you my picture if you want!</p>

    <p>I REALLY need advice!!</p>

  • August 19, 2008

    by Sandi Brenner

    <p>I've been curious about Neova Night Therapy with Copper Peptides so I'd love to trial it and give feedback to others looking for what does and doesn't work! Scout's promise to review honestly...!</p>

  • August 13, 2008

    by Alisa Henry

    <p>I would like to trial the Neova Night Therapy with Copper Pept. I have just recently tried the Neova Refining Lift Eye Gelle' (Sample)and the Neova Advanced Perfecting Elixir. It would be an interesting comparison to see if adding the night cream gives any noticeable <br />
    advantage(s) or maybe speeds up the process.<br />
    I would be sure to give my feedback. Just tell me how often you would expect comments<br />
    ie - 1 x per week until jar is empty?<br />
    </p>

  • August 11, 2008

    by Julie Kay

    <p>Part 2: I'd test this product faithfully as I'm of the mindset that it's during the night the true regenerating power of body combined with 'product' has the best chance of digging in. A review would be following forthwith. -Julie</p>

  • August 11, 2008

    by Julie Kay

    <p>Marta, I can I do use night creams. Moreover, I'm seriously looking for 'the' night cream for my face and mean it with all sincerity. What I've read about copper is intriging, and more so now I've read your article. </p>

Join the discussion! Leave a comment below.

My Comment

Add a comment...

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...