Free shipping on all orders over $39

Dove Men+Care Body and Face Wash

Is a Solution for:
Face Care for Men
October 10, 2010 Reviewed by Jimmy 12 Comments

It was that time of year where I get home from a weeks-long jaunt to discover my roommate has bought another cheap product to use in the bathroom. This time it was the scary Dove Men+Care Body and Face Wash. Let me stress: scary. If you are familiar with my posts, you'll know I don't advocate the majority of brands found in supermarkets or drug stores. They're mass produced, using some notoriously unhelpful (and cheapest, of course) ingredients available. Dove Men+Care Body and Face Wash is no exception and perhaps the worst available.

Marta got her hands on Dove Men+Care Body and Face Wash back when it was originally launched and needless to say, it didn't impress her either. You'll cringe at the ingredients, all of which are irritants, chemicals and practically unsafe with regular use. With the combination of all ingredients applied daily, I wouldn't be surprised if your skin became red or peeled and flaked. The face of the product should be the Toxic Avenger.

It starts with the Sodium laurel sulfate, known to be an irritating sulfate. Then there's petrolatum: just the sound of it is pretty gross. Not to mention the refining process can result in carcinogenic byproducts. As a result, European Union’s restrictions require is that the “full refining history is known and it can be shown that the substance from which it is produced is not a carcinogen.”. Shall I continue with how harmful the ingredients are or do you get the idea? Do we even want to know what Red 30 Lake and Yellow 5 Lake are?

When I applied the body wash (the things I do for research), I couldn't believe how gross it was. It had that detergent-y scent that was clearly just added fragrance, and the petrolatum completely stuck out in a bad way. I felt like I was glossing my body with something from the movie Ghostbusters. It was slime. It felt horrible and waxy. I was surprised this kind of product was even made. Naturally, I was so unimpressed that it didn't even make it to my face. There was a "talk" with my roommate and the product was thrown out, the first time this has happened in my household.

Dove Men+Care Body and Face Wash isn't the best product for men. In fact, I would completely avoid altogether.

Ingredients: Water, Sodium Laureth Sulfate, Petrolatum, Acrylates Copolymer, Cocamidopropyl Betaine, Fragrance, Cocamide MEA, PPG-9, Microcrystalline Wax, Polyethylene, Sodium Chloride, Proplyene Glycol, DMDM Hydantoin, Tetrasodium EDTA, Iron Oxides, Red 30 Lake, Titanium Dioxide, Yellow 5 Lake.

  • March 20, 2015

    by Dave

    I have used Dove men + Shampoo, body wash, and face wash for 2 years and I believe it has ruined my skin. I quit using the face wash 6 months ago after i noticed my cheeks peeling, the skin on my cheeks has never been the same since. Its very rough and almost seems tight ,my cheeks seem like there A LOT closer to my teeth inside my mouth. I also have EXTREMELY dry lips now after using these products daily. I believe the shampoo has caused white spots under the skin of my palms from working it into my hands before lathering it in my hair. I also have similar spots on my penis ( white spots under the skin) and I'm sure its not an STI. I've been using these products for 2 years and I think the issues have gradually shown themselves. They might seem like some great products at first, but after using them a while i believe they Will cause some MAJOR skin issues.

  • February 2, 2015

    by Jen

    My kind of review, love it! Shall be following from now on.

  • May 7, 2014

    by Lemar

    Pretty much same here with the irritation. Each time I resumed use of Dove Men+Care Body and Face Wash after pausing for some time this annoying and irritating rash could be found majorly on my face, neck, arms, legs, thighs, pelvis! Even on my glans! Just dump the garbage, straight... cause that's what I've done.

    Used an anti-corticosteroid called elocon. Worked like a charm.

  • March 15, 2014

    by marc

    Dove MEN+CARE left me looking like the Elephant Man. Swollen red itchy dry face that probably needs medical attention!

  • July 20, 2013

    by donald

    I use dynamic youth body wash and soap its natural and estrogen free.

  • May 19, 2012

    by drexmondana

    it was impossible ,i was use that dove product s for a year...my skin stays healthy...don't buy some cheap products co'z or maybe it's imitation...choose the product that right for your skin.

  • September 29, 2011

    by Gram

    I've been using the Dove Men+Care Deodorant. The product says its for sensitive skin. After a few weeks of daily use A rash formed under my arm that felt like a bad sunburn. I stopped using it but i still developed large painful bumps under my arms. Stay away from Dove Men+Care.

  • January 14, 2011

    by Shadi

    I was wondering jimmy, what do you think is the best body wash for men. Because i agree with this post, when i started using dove men + care body wash my back broke out with pimples and it really got embarrassing. Do you think old spice is good??

  • October 14, 2010

    by Danny

    I must te you. My brother went to the doctors with a rash all over his body . The doctor asked him if he was using a new shower product and guess what !! He had been using this exact product !!! It has played havoc with his skin. Guess what the doctor recommended to make it better !!! Aqueous cream -- full of even more nasty chemicals !

  • October 13, 2010

    by Joan McClendon

    Needless to say, I would like to enter a product class that in my opinion should be taken off the market. It is supposed to be natural [Naturapathia] Barbarbar Closes' line, when I used it, the cleanser and the new night cream, I immediately felt a burning sensation, and the next day had a red welt all over my face. After months of treatment, I later learned that one of the lesions had resulted in a basisl cell carcimona, and I had to have that removed. This is the worst skin care line, I have ever use, and I am 73 years old and have used many of them. Just a warning.

  • October 11, 2010

    by Susan Dent

    LOVE the picture.

  • October 10, 2010

    by Julie Kay

    As "into" the GOOD ingredients as I am... my husband shuns all attempts at any suggestions of even considering anything that might replace his bottle of Head and Shoulders and unscented bar of Dove soap. Yin-Yang. Gotta love him, and I do. ~jk

Join the discussion! Leave a comment below.

My Comment

Add a comment...

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...