Free shipping on all domestic orders over $39

Dr. Bragi Intensive Treatment Mask with marine enzymes- reviewed and recommended

Is a Solution for:
Dull Skin, Oily Skin
August 1, 2009 Reviewed by Marta 8 Comments
A few weeks ago, I wrote about Bliss newcomer, Dr Bragi Age Management, an Icelandic anti-wrinkle serum made from an enzyme that comes from codfish. After trying it out for a few weeks, I wasn't thrilled with the results and said as much in my review. Now what often happens if I write a less than glowing review, is that sooner or later a comment is posted by someone from the product's marketing department posing as a thrilled and delighted consumer who just can't understand why I had such a different experience. Not so the Dr Bragi team, who took the time to right a thoughtful and informative response and then pledged to change my mind by sending me Dr B's Intensive Treatment Mask ($20).

Kudos those guys for treating us like grown-up consumers and, I have to say, for the mask, which I tried this morning and like a lot better than I did the serum. The mask is one of those pre-soaked things made out of the kind of paper used for moist towelettes and with holes for eyes, nose and mouth. The thing I like about these kinds of masks is the enforced relaxation since you can't really go about your business and do the laundry without risking the thing falling off. So I put my feet and tilted my head back and listened to NPR's This American Life for 15 minutes.

As it happened, I've had a touch of rosacea for the past few days and when I peeled off the mask I noticed that it was much more subdued. Overall, my face was looking smooth and relaxed and my skin was definitely plumped up. Several hours later, as I write this, the effects are still noticable. What I also really like is that the list of ingredients hasn't got much more in it than Penzyme (the enzyme extracted from the stomachs of cod, which are assured by Dr B are not killed in the process and don't contain any mercury). There is certainly nothing not to like. Looking back over my last review, it makes sense that this mask should have done a good job on my roscacea since Icelanders have been using this enzyme for years in over the counter creams to treat skin disorders.

Now to bottom line: would I use this product again. Most definitely. This mask will come to the rescue pre-party, post-flight, morning after the night before or, as with my test, on a bad skin day. However, I'm not going to hand it to the Dr Bragi team that easily. Let's make the question more precise: would I buy this product for myself? Hmmm. Here's why I'm hesitating - these masks are sold singly at twenty bucks a pop. A pack of one is ridiculously inefficient. What, am I going to order this up every week, or order 10 at a time and remind myself how expensive they are? But, Dr B, if you would bring the price down a smidge and put them in a box of (at least) six, you've got yourself a customer.

Ingredients

Aqua, glycerine, Penzyme, alcohol, calcium chloride, tromethamine, acetic acid.
  • September 7, 2009

    by Joan

    I agree that $20 a pop for a single mask is outrageous.

    I don't know why making my own mask never occurred to me but I am definately going to try it. Wow! The possibilities are endless.

  • August 7, 2009

    by Cristina

    Oh and tonight I am going to moisten a sheet mask with the 4 packets of Lancome Genifique I have accumulated. I will empty the sample packs into a small dixie cup, put the mask in there and let it soak up the serum. Then smooth it on my face, relax, and wake up looking YEARS younger... lol.

  • August 5, 2009

    by Cristina

    Hi Michelle and Sally,
    I had ascorbic acid and niacinamide in my supplements cabinet..just open a capsule if you want. But you don't even need to go that route if you don't want. I did marta's parsley mask, put it on and laid a cloth damp with green tea over it. I kept it on for QUITE a while (I fell asleep) and the mixture did not dry out. I don't know where else tp buy those sheet masks besides ebay...but before I found them I used a washcloth that I cut a hole out for my nose and it worked great. Any mask will benefit from being kept "wet" or active.
    Look up DIY cosmetics and you will find many sources to buy raw ingredients. it was Marta's vitamin C serum challenge that got me into this. A whole new subject to explore and learn!

  • August 5, 2009

    by Michelle

    Marta,
    You know all the connections, can you tell us where we could buy those mask sheets without anything in them? Besides ebay? And buy things like niacinamide, ascorbic acid, HA and other base ingredients that can be applied to skin safely? And from good companies? Thank you for info.

  • August 4, 2009

    by Sally

    hey Cristina, I agree $20 is not cheap but not everyone has ascorbic acid or niacinamide lying around in their house...I might try the mask, Marta seemed quite impressed.

  • August 2, 2009

    by Cristina

    Let me know if you need any sheets masks..I have quite a stack!

  • August 2, 2009

    by marta

    Christina,
    I am so going to try this. Watch this space!

  • August 1, 2009

    by Cristina

    $20.00 a piece is outrageous. Penzyme, shmenzyme, you can make your own sheet mask for pennies that will work just as well and probably better.

    I do this at least twice a week.

    I bought a stack of several hundred of those masks from an ebay seller in Hong Kong for $10.00 including shipping. Just the cloth part...dry.

    Just mix up a little potion of hyaluronic acid with whatever you have..a bit of niacinamide or some ascorbic acid or just straight HA. Soak the mask in it, apply and relax. It's a good way to use up all those sample packets of serums you may have laying around.
    You can also apply a thick coating of a cream or serum, wet the mask in strong green or white tea, wring it out and lay that on top. My friend tried soaking hers in soy milk instead of HA and added things to it for lightening the skin. She said her mom used to do that in Korea. Your imagination is your only limit.
    $20.00!! That is infuriating!

Join the discussion! Leave a comment below.

My Comment

Add a comment...

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...