Free shipping on all orders over $39

Emergin C Multivitamin Retinol Serum (free for a guest reviewer)

Is a Solution for:
Sagging Skin
Reviewed by Marta August 4, 2008 12 Comments
The other day Lori posted the full ingredients list for Emergin C Multivitamin Retinol Serum ($79) and reminded me that this is a powerful over-the-counter retinol potion that deserves a closer look.

Emergin C Multivitamin Retinol Serum has a hefty 4% concentration of retinol and a 5% concentration of vitamin C. The multivitamin component is made of B complex, E, F, H and K.

Emergin C is really about the retinol, which is vitamin A. Unlike most other vitamins, vitamin A does not have a direct biological effect. It works via its active metabolite (biochemical derivative) called retinoic acid. Retinoic acid (also called tretinoin) is the active ingredient in Retin A and Renova, which are prescription only.

Vitamin A has been shown to stimulate new collagen production. The increased cell turnover caused by Vitamin A has made it particularly helpful for acne sufferers. The skin exfoliation unclogs pores and helps fade acne scars. Vitamin A is one of the few substances with a small enough molecular structure to penetrate and repair the lower layers of the skin where collagen and elastin reside. Skin will appear smoother, softer, pores will appear smaller and less noticeable, and signs of aging will begin to diminish.

All this turning over of skin cells can cause redness and irritation. Most non-prescription creams contain retinyl palmitate. This is less irritating than retinol, but not much use. Emergin C stands out amongst a handful of over the counter creams that pack a retinol punch.

I am too nervous about introducing my pathetically sensitive skin to this much A and C, but if you are made of tougher stuff and are willing to write a review, then post a comment saying why we should choose you as the lucky recipient. Post comments by August 10, please.

Ingredients in Emergin C Multivitamin Retinol Serum

Water (Aqua), Butylene Glycol, Magnesium Ascorbyl Phosphate (Vitamin C), Ethoxydiglycol, Camellia Olifera (Green Tea) Leaf Extract, Glyceryl Polymethacrylate, Sodium Ascorbyl Phosphate (Vitamin C), Retinol, Tocopheryl Acetate (Vitamin E), Sodium Tocopheryl Phosphate (Vitamin E), Mimosa Tenuiflora Bark Extract, Prunus Amygdalus (Sweet Almond) Fruit Extract, Biotin, Glycyrrhiza Glabra (Licorice) Extract, Arachidonic Acid, Linoleic Acid, Linolenic Acid, Bisabolol, Phytonadione (Vitamin K), Humulus Lupulus (Hops) Extract. Chamomilla Recutita (Matricaria) Extract, Melissa Officinalis (Balm Mint) Leaf Extract, Achillea Millefolium (Yarrow) Extract, Foeniculul Vulgare (Fennel) Fruit Extract, Panthenol, Calcium Pantothenate, Allantoin, Polysorbate 20, Phenoxyethanol, Caprylyl Glycol, Carbomer, Sorbic Acid
  • August 22, 2009

    by krista

    I just came across this product while on the search for the best retinol serum. I am a 35 yr. old mother of two very active boys, who just recently got laid off work. I have returned to college and money is tight. I however consider my skin care a must. Its the one thing I do for myself. I like most women dont care to pay the price if I get results. So many times we get frustrated because we have spent so much money with little or no results after buying into the promises of certain products. So I have learned to do my research before I buy now because quite frankly I cant afford not to. I would so love the chance to have the chance to use and review this product for you and hopefully help some women who are in the same position I am in. Because I know most women I know will pay any price if it delivers the results we are looking for.

  • October 28, 2008

    by Marta

    <p>The Baby Quasar at-home LED treatment is very helpful for acne. I would also recommend MaMa Lotion and Super Cop 2X. There are reviews of all of these products on the site.</p>

  • October 28, 2008

    by Michelle Tang

    <p>Hi Marta, or anyone who can help,</p>

    <p> Is this product effective for males around the age of 26 who have acne, and acne scars/pits? I know many of the products reviewed on the site target mostly women consumers, but I know someone who has been constantly looking for an effective treatment. Proactive didn't work out too well for them. I was wondering if this product would do the trick. If not, are there any alternatives or suggestions for male products that prevent, treat, and/or get rid of acne, acne scars/pits? </p>

  • August 31, 2008

    by marta

    <p>This is reply I received from EmerginC:<br />
    hi marta,<br />
    <br />
    thank you for your email. each color capsule contains a different vitamin. all you have to do is to pump and the balls will break as they are pumped out, so you will be able to apply on your face as a serum (sometimes, when the bottle is new, you need to pump a number of times until the first squirt comes out). this is our most popular product and i am sure you will love it, but please don't hesitate to contact us again if you have questions or concerns.</p>

  • August 30, 2008

    by marta

    <p>I agree that it looks weird. The balls are meant to be air-tight. Given that vitamin C is unstable, that's probably a good thing. There are no artificial colors listed. I would guess that each ball contains all the ingredients, but I have emailed EmerginC to find out more.</p>

  • August 30, 2008

    by Lori

    <p>Okay - Just got my product... maybe I don't get it but what are the little balls that are floating in the clear liquid? When I pumped a small amount out it was green (probably a green ball). Is it already mixed well? Or is it that one day I get a punch of one ingredient and the next day a different. And the colors are vibrant but are they artifical color? Anyway, feeling a bit of a dork cause maybe this is a stupid question. </p>

  • August 15, 2008

    by Toni

    <p>Hi, I would love to try this product. It may be too late and you may have already picked someone. If so, do you know where I can buy this product? I am 47 and have been looking for a vitamin c retinal product like this for quite some time. I'm a single mom of three who works two jobs, but I would still like me skin to look nice (I don't want to look old and hagard:) Please let me know if you know where I can purchase this, thanks! Toni</p>

  • August 15, 2008

    by Toni

    <p>Hi, I would love to try this product. It may be too late and you may have already picked someone. If so, do you know where I can buy this product? I am 47 and have been looking for a vitamin c retinal product like this for quite some time. I'm a single mom of three who works two jobs, but I would still like me skin to look nice (I don't want to look old and hagard:) Please let me know if you know where I can purchase this, thanks! Toni</p>

  • August 11, 2008

    by marta

    <p>Since there were only two of you, I flipped a coin and Lori came up tails. Please confirm your mailing address by emailing me at marta@truthinaging.</p>

    <p>Kathy, you would have had to give up your beloved A&G since the website says don't use it with retinyls, so perhaps its for the best.</p>

  • August 9, 2008

    by Lori

    <p>This weekend at the SkinStore there is 20% off all products, and they always have free shipping... I am going to go ahead and purchase this product. :) </p>

  • August 6, 2008

    by Lori

    <p>I was on the hunt for a good Retinol Serum when I came across your earlier TIA post . I would love to use this product and give a review!</p>

    <p>If you pick me not only will you get a review from me, a fair complected, combination sensitive skinned, 38 year old that has fine lines and uneven skin tone; but also, my husband will use it and review from a dark complected, acne scared, 40 year old combination tough skin.</p>

    <p>Two reviews from the opposite ends of the spectrum... </p>

    <p>Pick Me :) </p>

  • August 4, 2008

    by Kathy Walsh

    <p>Pick me for the Emergin C guinee pig!!!</p>

    <p>As a long time reader and big fan of the column, I would love to give this product a try. </p>

    <p>My skin is in decent shape for age 50, but I do have some sun damage, some minor hyper pigmentation and of course the age-appropriate wrinkles.... all of which combine to make me "every woman" and a perfect "test". I also have no concerns about it causing a reaction. </p>

    <p>At age 35 I used a prescription renova product for about a year to (successfully) address some minior adult acne, so I would have a baseline from which to compare the pro's and con's (and results) of Emergin C vs the renova-based line of products. </p>

    <p>And it would be fun!</p>

    <p>So pick me, and let's get started! </p>

Join the discussion! Leave a comment below.

My Comment

Add a comment...

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...