Free shipping on all orders over $39

E’shee Aqua Radiance Hydra Mask- reviewed and recommended

Reviewed by Marta August 22, 2011 19 Comments

Pros

Not greasy, makes skin glow

Cons

Proplene glycol is high on the ingredients list
A multi-functional mask that hydrates, brightens and soothes skin

A few weeks ago, I was asked to recommend a “truly” hydrating facial mask and, I must confess, I was a little stumped. I am something of a mask-file and at any one time have about six to choose from that do all sorts of things such as soothe and calm troubled skin, deliver a concentration of anti-agers, or exfoliate (see my Five Best facial masks), but a really moisturizing one…. In the end, I suggested one by Abrione . But now I have a very worthy alternative, E’shee’s Aqua Radiance Hydra Mask ($96).

It is new to the E’shee repertoire and bucks the usual trend of diminutive, intensive, very expensive serums and is a (relatively) gigantic 3.4fl oz. When considering the price, bear in mind that Aqua Radiance Hydra Mask is actually much more than a mask and multitasks as a moisturizer, night cream and after shave lotion. And it really does give the skin a hydrated glow.

I have used it as a mask and have also found that is well-behaved – this is a clear gel - over serums to bring additional hydration. Younger skins could probably use it on its own as a daily (or nightly) moisturizer. It is not greasy, or oily, is instantly absorbed and peppermint and menthol give it a refreshing coolness that is very welcome on a hot New York evening. E’shee even suggests keeping it refrigerated for an extra cooling sensation.

Apart from water, the base is aloe vera gel, which stimulates collagen and is a protector of healthy cells, and rose distillate. I’m a big fan of witch hazel – as is E’shee (you’ll also find it in their serum). Much more than a humble astringent, it is an antioxidant and powerful anti-inflammatory. Another E’shee favorite is fucus vesiculosis, or bladderwrack, a rich source of vitamin C.

Other helpful ingredients include cucumber, hydrating sodium hyaluronate, antioxidant grape and d-panthenol (vitamin B5). I recently found a study on cucumber extract that found it to be effective for anti sebum secretion, skin whitening and moisturizing. Cucumber is also a good source of vitamins and folic acid.

There’s a couple of things that I don’t like in E’shee’s mask; there’s propylene glycol near the top of the ingredients list and – admittedly after all the good stuff, triethanolamine. Propylene Glycol acts by retaining the moisture content of skin or the formula, preventing the escape of moisture or water. However, it is classified as an irritant (I have not had an adverse reaction to using this mask) and should not be used on damaged skin. Triethanolamine, typically used as a pH adjuster, is a toxin and should not be used at concentrations over 5% (I imagine it is well under at that here, but I’d still prefer it not to be here at all).

Ingredients: Aqua, Aloe Vera Gel, Rosa Damascena (Rose) Distillate, Propylene Glycol, Cucumis Sativus (Cucumber) Fruit Extract, Hamamelis Virginiana (Witch Hazel) Distillate, Vitis Vinifera (Grape) Leaf Extract, Glycerin, Lecithin, Fucus Vesiculosis (Seaweed) Extract, Sodium Hyaluronate, Mentha piperita (Peppermint) Oil, Menthol, Carbomer, Triethanolamine, Tocopheryl Acetate, Allantoin, D-Panthenol, Disodium EDTA, Hydroxyethylcellulose, Menthyl Lactate.

  • January 1, 2016

    by carol

    Marta, I know you wrote this review in 2011 so i hope you now know that Mentha piperita (Peppermint) Oil and Menthol are 2 very irritating and bad ingredients!

  • October 26, 2011

    by Pam

    I have tried all the Eshee products she has so far. Is coming out with a new serum and an eye cream pretty soon (think end of year last I heard) and love all their products. Yes, expensive but still love. I have used this mask for a year now and love it because it moisturizes without being a heavy cream after you have done acids and such. I do the one where you leave on overnight and feels so soft in the morning. I have used the White Truffle cream also. It almost dries like a prep for makeup, etc. The other cream they have is a heavier one for those needing more moisture on occasion. I love it also. My face tends to be oily and break out but with acids and such, it gets dry during times and I love the heavier one during that time for night and has never broken me out, which is surprising. The White Truffle I would use during the day as a lighter moisturizer but also as a base. It does dry with a little bit of almost a whiteness to it (thus, where the "base" part comes in). If money was no object, I would used everyone of their's daily on an ongoing basis, LOL.

  • August 29, 2011

    by Deanna

    I am 38 and a recovering Retin A junkie. I quit Renova two years ago and have no plans on going back, but it seems that everything I try doesn't give me the same results. I am waking up every morning horrified by my ever changing skin. I have tried Boost over a vitamin C serum and like the results but it isn't strong enough. I would love to try L'shee white truffle!

  • August 25, 2011

    by Jan

    I would love to try this and give reviews.

    My birthday is comming in September. 62.

    I lived for 6 years in Hawaii and have lived in Texas for a while and so I do feel the need for some lovliness for my skin.

    People say I look much younger but it is always nice to find something special.

    Thank you.

  • August 25, 2011

    by Faye

    I'd love to try the L'shee white truffle cream!

  • August 25, 2011

    by aliki

    i know Im in the worst place because i'm living far away (GREECE)
    but i would be super super happy to try this product!!!!!!!!
    i would like to pay shipping costs for that if you want

  • August 25, 2011

    by UlfAlexander

    Hello TIA gang! I would really enjoy being able to evaluate and share my opinion(s) on the White Truffle Radiance Cream.
    After a lengthy illness and a medicine regime that has really aged my skin something horrible, I am just desperate to get some 'life' back into my skin. I'll do anything to get this tired and dull skin on a good track.

  • August 25, 2011

    by Susan McDowell

    Oooo...that sounds lovely. Who doesn't need a little pampering these days?!?

  • August 25, 2011

    by Sarah Caroll

    Wow - white truffle! What will they think of next? I'm 50 and am starting to need all the help I can get...

  • August 24, 2011

    by Tricia

    I would love to try the free sample and comment on how I liked it.

  • August 24, 2011

    by Michele

    I am 58 (but admit to only 55) and my skin does tend to be dry. I would love to try the White Truffle Radiance Cream and see how it makes my skin get radiant and pampered. Thanks

  • August 24, 2011

    by Denise Miller

    I would love to give the white truffle radiance a try. I love the fact that my skin could be more radiant. I'm 54 years old and would love to see what it would do for my skin. My dream has always been to test skin care products so I would appreciate being included in the trial. I'm new to this site but find it very informative without hype.

  • August 24, 2011

    by Eileen

    White Truffle Radiance! Sounds quite interesting. I've been a product junkie all my life (I'm 54)and I'm finding that the older I get the more i appreciate more natural ingredients. Would love to try it.

  • August 24, 2011

    by chris girard

    I am at the age where I need help with products to keep me young and I look forward to reading products that have been reviewed by ordinary people and not 20 somethings advertising wrinkle products. I have only trialed one product before and would love to try E'shee White Truffle Radiance Cream and review it for the readers, given the chance. Thanks for choosing this product .

  • August 24, 2011

    by Pam

    Please include me in a trial of the White Truffle Radiance Cream. I'm 59 and searching for products that don't have such harsh ingredients. I'd love to try this one and report back.

  • August 24, 2011

    by Jan

    I would love to try E'shee White Truffle Radiance Cream and give you the feedback on it. I read the reviews from so many products and appreciate all the effort that is taken to let us ladies know what is working for us and what isn't. Thank you

  • August 24, 2011

    by Elsa

    I would LOVE to give E’shee White Truffle Radiance Cream a try. I have been fortunate enough to have had the opportunity to review products in the past and I would be very excited to have the opportunity again.

  • August 24, 2011

    by Gail

    E'shee is a fascinating range, one I've been eager to try. I appreciated the opportunity to give back to the Truth in Aging community through my review of Arcona's Peptide Firming Complex. I'd appreciate another opportunity to give back through a review of E'shee White Truffle Radiance Cream. Thanks!

  • August 22, 2011

    by Evening Feeding: The $200,000-A-Year Nanny | Mommyish

    [...] E’shee’s Aqua Radiance Hydra Mask (Truth In Aging) [...]

Join the discussion! Leave a comment below.

My Comment

Add a comment...

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...