Free shipping on all orders over $39

Evan Healy’s Rose Vetiver Day Moisturizer

Is a Solution for:
Rosacea, Dry Skin, Oily Skin
Reviewed by Marta August 16, 2010 11 Comments
Evan Healy’s Rose Vetiver Day Moisturizer $37.95 does an excellent job of hydrating that most difficult of complexions, the combination skin. As well as balancing both oily and dry skin, Rose Vetiver is an accomplished multitasker that leaves a hydrated softness behind it whether used on the face, neck or hands.

Although vetiver is way down the ingredients list, I suspect that it punches above its weight and is responsible for Evan Healy moisturizer’s somewhat musty smell (that may not to be everyone’s taste).  In India it is called khus grass and there researchers looking for an alternative to carcinogenic BHT, found it to be a strong antioxidant and since then it has been well established that the essential oil of the root is an effective free radical scavenger. Vetiver is also an antibacterial that will keep acne at bay.

Oil from rosa damascena is an emollient that also has cicatrisant properties that encourage normal scar tissue formation. The farnesol contained in the oil is supposed to be good for reducing broken capillaries and thread veins, as well as boosting poor circulation.

Although horsetail, with its high content of natural silica, is more commonly seen in hair care products, it makes a lot of sense for skin care as well. Silicon is pretty much everywhere in the human body as it essential for the functional strength and stability of the tissues.

The hydrating qualities of this daytime (Evan Healy doesn’t believe in night creams, by the way) moisturizer are enhanced by marshmallow. This extract has a lot of mucilage, the thick, gooey stuff in plants that aids water retention.

Evan Healy has been nothing if not thorough with Rose Vetiver and has covered all bases with the addition green tea, vitamins, seaweed and lecithin to mention just a few of the ingredients here. At under $40, this is excellent value for money and a great product for combination 30-something skin – although anyone at any age who needs some softening up will appreciate it.

Ingredients

Distilled water, hydrosols of rose and neroli (Rosa damascena floral hydrolate,* Citrus aurantium dulcis hydrolate),* aloe vera gel (Aloe barbadensis),* botanical extracts of marshmallow root (Althea officinalis),* horsetail silica (Equisetum arvense),* comfrey root (Symphytum officinalis),* calendula (Calendula officinalis)*, elderflower (Sambucus Canadensis),* mallow blue flower (Malva sylvestris),* chickweed (Stellaria media),* green tea (Camellia sinensis).* Vegetable oils of safflower (Carthamus tinctorius),* jojoba (Simmondsia chinensis),* avocado (Persea gratissima),* borage (Borago officinalis),* macadamia nut (Macademia ternifolia),* olive (Olea europaea fruit oil).* Shea butter (Butyrospermum parkii),* orange wax (Citrus aurantium dulcis peel cera), seaweed extracts (algae extracts),* non-GMO (soy lecithin),* natural liposomes (lecithin), vegetable (glycerin),* emulsifying wax (NF), vitamins A retinol palmitate), C (ascorbyl phosphate), E (tocopherol), rosemary and sage extracts (Rosmarinus officinalis extract, Salvia officinalis extract), paraben-free grapefruit (Citrus Grandis) extract, essential oils of rose geranium (Pelargonium graveolens), rosewood (Aniba rosaeodora), vetiver (Vetiveria zizanoides), carrot seed (Daucus carota), clary sage (Salvia sclarea).

* Certified organic
  • February 8, 2011

    by Pascal

    I have had a very different experience than the reviewer with this Evan Healy’s Rose Vetiver Day Moisturizer. I was using it daily as an after-shave and I quickly developed a very itchy and incredibly dry area below my lips on both sides of my chin. I stopped for a few days, the skin recovered. I started again and, in three days, the inflammation was back with a vengeance. Weirdly enough, no allergic reaction on the neck or cheeks.

    Product with lovely texture, fabulous smell but totally banned from my bathroom, forever. Sorry Evan!

  • August 20, 2010

    by Junko

    I don’t Twitter, but we need everyone who does to tweet this. Dr. Oz has a form on his site where he asks what it is that we want to see on his show. I’m putting in my request to see Marta on his show.
    I think we all need to help Marta get some national coverage. It’s easy to put your request in here: http://www.doctoroz.com/plugger?tid=4880. If enough of us plug her we’ll get her on there!

  • August 20, 2010

    by Jan

    I would LOVE to try tis more natural line and have the benifit of something so pure.

    THANKS MARTA for all you help.

  • August 19, 2010

    by Lisa G.

    Marta,
    Back in May I posted a comment about seeking products that produce noticable improvement to my skin and that I was trying out Skin Perfection's cleanser and Radiance moisturizer. You asked me to let you know how I got on. Well, I didn't experience the improvements the products claimed and instead seemed to produce some congestion - probably too heavy for my combination skin. Recently I've learned the importance of sunblock. After years of flawless skin, the past's sun damage (living in sunny south Florida and currently in the Vegas desert) is now surfacing via broken capillaries and blotchy pigment spots. With the list full of active ingredients that benefit while excluding pore clogging fillers, Vetiver sounds amazing. I would love to try it and find out - thank you!

  • August 18, 2010

    by jess

    Marta,

    I'd love to try the Pomegranate Repair Serum. I've been experiencing 'product fatigue' lately, due to a few expensive skincare failures and an overabundance of sample packets, and have been too jaded or just plain disinterested to try out a new line. Reading the ingredient list and Evan's skincare philosophy (not to mention seeing her lustrous skin) has renewed a trace of cautious optimism. I'm also squeezing out the last few pumps of my current serum (YBF Restore, love it!), so now's the perfect time to rejoin the ranks of devoted guinea pig. Plus, Sea Buckthorn sounds like a pretty intriguing ingredient, particularly for someone with mild rosacea and a handful of stubborn acne scars.


    Thanks for the great review!

    Jess

  • August 18, 2010

    by Kerry

    Marta,
    After the A’kin I’m still looking for a good moisturiser for my 30 something, easily congested skin which could defiantly use some hydration. I would love to try this one out for the TIA!

  • August 17, 2010

    by marta

    Hi Osksana,
    Good to know. I'll check out Evan Healy's cleanser. We tried to get Epicuren for the Truth In Aging shop, but couldn't work anything out with them.

  • August 17, 2010

    by Oksana

    Marta,
    thank you for this review. I have started using Evan Healy's Rose Cream Cleanser, having go through too much trouble trying to re-purchase Epicuren's Milk Cleanser. I love the Rose Cleanser!
    will definitely try this moisturizer, once run out of L'Uvalla's Balancing Cream.

  • August 17, 2010

    by marta

    Hi Rileygirl, as a fellow rosacea sufferer I am pleased to know you are getting good results from Evan Healy. I agree that I want to try more from the range.

  • August 17, 2010

    by rileygirl

    Thanks for the review, Marta. I am interested in more of her products. I use the "blue" kit products for rosacea in the morning and I really like them, especially the oil.

  • August 16, 2010

    by Jaysie

    Vetiver happens to be my all-time favorite men's cologne scent - to me it's woodsy and clean - so I'm fascinated to see it in a woman's product and to read about its positive botanical qualities. On the other hand, rose is my *least* favorite fragrance as I find it musty and funereal.

    The prospect of a hydrating cream that smells like vetiver, plus a really splendid looking ingredient list, is very tempting, even though it's a tad expensive for a hand & leg moisturizer which is where I'd probably use it the most. But thanks, Marta, for featuring this product - it's going on my wish list.

Join the discussion! Leave a comment below.

My Comment

Add a comment...

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...