Free shipping on all domestic orders over $39

Eyelash and eyebrow tinting

April 9, 2013 Reviewed by admin 12 Comments

If you have extremely fair hair that makes lashes nearly invisible or your eyebrows are a different color than your hair is, you may be the perfect candidate for eyelash and eyebrow tinting. Likewise if you’re tired of runny mascara or if you’re finally noticing grays sprouting in your brows.

How Does Eyelash and Eyebrow Tinting Work?

The semi permanent hair darkening procedures are offered at salons in multiple countries. First, Vaseline is used to create a coating of moisture in the area around the brows and under the eyes. Small pieces of cardboard are placed under the eyes after they are closed. The esthetician will then use a cotton applicator dipped in dye (which is normally vegetable-based) to apply the color solution to the eyebrows, eyelashes or both. Eyes remain closed for about fifteen minutes in order to let the solution dry. The esthetician will wash away excess dye with soap and water, and remove any stains from the skin. Eyelash and eyebrow tinting cost approximately $20 each, and last about 4 – 6 weeks.

Is Eyelash and Eyebrow Tinting Safe?

All of this is well and good; it sounds pretty easy and convenient. And it is. But there is one major catch: eyelash and eyebrow tinting are illegal in several places. Massachusetts is one example. In 1999, a woman from Massachusetts had her eyelashes tinted, only to leave the salon with eyes that “looked like they were bleeding” and “had no white left to them at all” as “all the blood vessels were broken.” Though the esthetician told the woman that the dye was vegetable-based, it apparently also contained coal and tar and had a clear warning label on the packaging: "This product should not be used for dying the eyebrows or the eyelashes. To do so may cause blindness." The woman suffered chemical burns to her eyes and permanent irritation.

Sign up for our newsletter to get the latest product reviews and save 10% on all orders over $50

 

How could this have happened? Why didn’t the esthetician use a dye that is appropriate and safe for use in the eye region? Because no such dye exists. The FDA has not approved any dyes for the purpose of eyebrow and eyelash tinting. In fact, an FDA alert has been in effect since 1982 when it was discovered that multiple eyelash dyes imported to the United States (and sold in salons across the country) from Europe contained coal-tar dyes. It has been concluded that anything from irritation to blindness can occur if these dyes come into contact with the eye.

Do At-Home Eyelash and Eyebrow Tinting Kits Work?

Interestingly, there are a few DIY eyelash and eyebrow tinting kits that are sold online, though most of them are described as being quite messy in reviews. Still, they do seem to work. However, while the FDA does not explicitly forbid the ingredients used in these home kits, I personally would be weary about putting them near my eyes. For example, the main ingredient in Godefroy 28 Day Mascara Permanent Eyelash Tint Kit is silver nitrate, which may damage eyes when they are exposed to the substance long-term. It can also stain skin and irritate mucus membranes. Other ingredients that can be found in both the Mascara Tint and Godefroy’s Eyebrow Tint include sodium lauryl sulfate and cocamide DEA.

Essentially, whether you go to a salon or buy a DIY kit, eyelash and eyebrow tinting are very much buyer beware procedures. I would recommend doing a patch test in either case to test for potential allergies beforehand, though regardless of how well your skin takes it, your eyes will always be at risk. Consider alternative options like tinted gels; they’re not semi-permanent, but they are much safer.

sign up for our newsletter

  • June 16, 2016

    by Cheryl

    Hi. Eyelash tinting is now legal in MA again. I had it done at Catherine Hinds Institute yesterday. I would only recommend doing it with a reputable esthetician. I'd avoid nail salons that say they can do it.

  • May 26, 2016

    by Diane

    I was so glad to have found your site! My eye's are saved! Thank you for thinking of others

  • August 27, 2015

    by alex

    So how about henna tattoo is it safe to use I n brows and lashes

  • September 5, 2012

    by Beth

    Susan,

    Thank you for the information. I was considering having my growing-in brows tinted, but now I'll think better of it. Could you recommend a good tinted gel? Thank you!

  • April 19, 2011

    by Pinky

    For what it's worth, silver nitrate is routinely dropped in newborn eyes immediately after birth to prevent infection. I understand that in some states it's even mandatory! It does burn a little, poor things, so some hospitals use erythromycin (sp?) instead.

    (also, the link provided in the article on silver nitrate leads to a company website attempting to sell you an alternative disinfectant (peroxide) for external use, so take their advice with a grain of salt!)

    I wouldn't worry about silver nitrate - if it's safe for babies it should be safe for adults. Just be aware of the sting!

    When I start tinting my eyelashes - I plan to once Rapidlash gives me something worth tinting - I hope I'll develop enough skill so that it never qualifies as "long term use of silver nitrate." I figure, if I can't do better than the occasional whoops I have no business applying the stuff with my own hand.

  • April 17, 2011

    by Susan

    Jaysie,
    Tinting does fill in my brows and I need to use less brow makeup. It is very nice.
    I've been using a copper cream in the areas I'd like more eyebrow growth and it does seem to help.
    Also, I've begun taking thyroid med (T3 & T4). Low thyroid is common among older women, and eyebrow hair loss is a common result.

  • April 17, 2011

    by Jaysie

    Susan - Thanks for all the info! I've seen the Roux kit and have been tempted but it has so many applications I thought it might be a waste if it didn't work well or easily. My eyebrows have shed & thinned as I've gotten older but there is now blond peach fuzz in those places (the same fuzz that is showing up on the rest of my face!) and I thought if I could tint just those areas it would fill in the brows.

  • April 13, 2011

    by Kim

    Hi,
    I am an esthetician from MA who used to do lash tinting all the time with no problems. I was told by someone on the board a long time ago that the woman in question was wearing contacts and it got under the contact. It was mandated by the fda not to use on eyelashes afterwards and as far as I know MA is one of the few states that really upholds their findings. I will say I stopped although i loved doing them. Years later I undertook lash extensions which I now find has a higher incident of developing allergies to the glue. I had one girl who had no problems and suddenly developed an allergy. I researched and found this to happen quite a it. i stopped doing them immed as I am not taking chances with someones vision. I havent heard of any lash tint allergies though.

  • April 9, 2011

    by Susan

    Note: When I wrote eyelashes, I meant eyebrow hairs. I leave eyelash tinting to the pros.
    :-)

  • April 9, 2011

    by Susan

    Hi Jaysie - The Roux tint lasts about 3-4 weeks. It isn't creamy, but I don't need to sit still either.
    I apply the #1 prep liquid with a Q-tip and give it time to open up the hair cuticle--a couple of minutes. I make certain all the lashes are wetted. With a Q-tip I apply the #2 tint over it and let it sit for about 5 minutes. Through the years, I've developed a system.
    I'll tell you a secret. Shhh, don't tell anyone else. Roux used to make a remover containing chlorine for the excess tint on the skin. I could tell so by the odor. It worked.
    Then the formula was changed, probably by some mandate, the odor was gone, and it no longer worked.
    I tried to play along with the new tint remover, but I had to rub so hard several eyelashes would come out and top layers of my skin would be removed. Not fun, especially when tint would remain on my skin.
    Finally, I decided to take matters into my own hands. I bought a small bottle of Clorox and poured an itsy-bitsy amount into the cap. Added water to the top of the cap, soaked a Q-tip and applied to remove tint on my skin. IT WORKED. No lost eyelashes, no red, stripped skin. All excess tint came off my skin easily--as it should.
    This is my secret. I use it at my own risk. I advise no one else to try it. Ever.

  • April 9, 2011

    by Jaysie

    Susan - How long does the Roux tint last on your eyebrows? Is it creamy so it stays in place, or do you have to sit still so it doesn't drip into your eyes? Thanks!

  • April 9, 2011

    by Susan

    Very informative review.
    I've been having my eyelashes salon-tinted for about 20 years, and it makes a huge difference in my appearance sans mascara. I can't imagine going without it.
    I go only to reputable salons with experienced estheticians applying the tint.
    I've learned to have my head tilted upward and to not talk while the tint is on my lashes. These two minor habits help prevent minor tingling/burning from the product.
    I apply Roux on my eyebrows at home and have saved bundles of money DIY.
    Thanks again for providing valuable, timely information to us readers. :-)

Join the discussion! Leave a comment below.

My Comment

Add a comment...

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...