Free shipping on all domestic orders over $39

Eyelash growth products- do they work and are they safe 2010

January 11, 2010 Reviewed by Marta 53 Comments

Many readers are curious about whether eyelash growth products really work and whether they are safe. In our latest round-up  we explore the ingredients in eyelash growth products and assess whether they are safe and effective.   Please let us know if we have left out any eyelash and eyebrow growth products and we'll be sure to add them.

Adonia Lash Alive ($135). Claims to be a "natural" and "organic" eyelash growth product, but we haven't been able to track down the full ingredients list. You can read my assessment of Adonia Lash Alive here.

AminoGenesis Lash Garden ($90). Like Marini Lash, Tarte Multipleyes and Code.ai (see below), this eyelash growth product has myristoyl pentapetide-17 as the active ingredient plus amino acids (although we are not told which ones).
Ingredients: Water, Magnesium, Ascorbyl Phosphate, Myrisotoyl Pentepeptide-17, Adenosine, Amino Acids, Calcium Chloride, Glucose, Ribose, Sodium Chloride, Disodium EDTA, Phenoxyethanol, Caprylyl Glycol, Hydroxyethyl cellulose.

Ardell Brow and Lash Growth Accelerator ($2.98). Well you can’t quibble with the price. The main ingredient is peony extract with some wheat protein. Not terribly convincing – although the reviews (if they are genuine) are raves.
Ingredients: Water (aqua), Paeonia Suffruticosa Extract, Panthenol, Polytetrafluoroethylene, Hydrolyzed Soy Protein, Hydrolyzed Wheat Protein, VP/DMAPA Acrylates Copolymer, Polyquaternium 37, Propylene Glycol Dicaprylate/Dicaprate, PPG 1 Trideceth 6, Ricinus Communis Seed Oil (Castor), Iodopropynyl Butylcarbamate, DMDM Hydantoin

Beauticontrol’s Replenishing Conditioner for Eyelash and Brows ($28.50). The most promising ingredient is biotinoyl tripeptide-1, which shows in OOKISA’s hair thickening products and in the Lilash and Cargo eyelash growth products. There is niacinamide, part of the B family of vitamins that are generally considered good for the hair. Note that phenoxyethanol can be an irritant to the eyes.

Billion Dollar Brows ($20). I haven’t tried this lash growth product myself, but my guess is that it might work. Saw palmetto extract is strongly associated with hair growth as is biotin. Proline is one of four amino acids that have been used in hair growth trials. Glycosaminoglycans are naturally in skin and hair follicles and the amount varies throughout the hair growth cycle.
Deionized Water, Magnesium Aluminum Silicate, Propylene Glycol, Saw Palmetto Berry Ext, Biotin, Saw Palmetto Lipidic Sterolic, Proline, Glucosaminoglycans, Water (and) Hydrolyzed Soy Protein, (and) 3 Aminopropane Sulfonic Acid, (and) Sodium Chondroitin Sulfate, Riboflavin 5 Phosphate, Hydroxyethylacrylate / Sodium, Acryloyldimethyl Taurate Copolymer, (and) Squalane (and) Polysorbate 60, Xanthan Gum, Triethanolamine, Citric Acid, DMDM Hydantoin, Phenoxyethanol, Methylparaben, Propylparaben

B Kamins Chemist Lash Fortifier ($72-$90) Natural ingredients of the kind found in hair growth products.

Cargo Lash Activator ($35). A mascara that claims to grow lashes by 169%. The peptide that is supposed to prevent eyelash loss is at the very end of the ingredients. The peptide in question, biotinoyl tripeptide-1, turns up in quite a few hair growth products. More info on Cargo LashActivator.

Cilea ($69.99). This eyelash growth product has peptides, vitamins and botanical extracts. But none come with much proof that they encourage hair growth.

Code.ai Lash Extend Serum ($115). There is also a lash primer and a brow growth product. The active is a blend of peptides and in the serum they are at a 30% concentration.

Dermaquest Dermalash ($95). This lash and brow growth product also worked for me (see review). Longer eyelashes and some new growth. It has done a very good job of filling in my eyebrows as well. No glaucoma drugs (it uses amino acids and vitamin B) and I had no allergic reactions to it. In addition to neutral, there are color formulas that will look as if you have applied eyeliner.

Sign up for our newsletter to get the latest product reviews and save 10% on all orders over $50


Enormous Lash Eyelash Enhancing Serum ($95). Made by Intuit Beauty, which has brought out a new prostaglandin-free, paraben-free formula.


Ingredients: Water, Butylene Glycol, Glycerine, Potassium Olivoyl PCA, Arginine, Alanyk Glutamine, Saccharomyces/Copper Ferment, Phospholipids, Sphingolipids, Panthenol, Caprylyl Glycol, Phenoxyethanol, Isopentyl glycol, Hydroxyethylcellulose, Trisoium EDTA.

FNS Nutrilash Lash & Brow Enhancer ($41.99). I tried this eyelash growth product and it didn’t work after four weeks (read the review here). Perfectly safe though.

Folligen ($17.99). This is a copper peptide solution that I have found works well for hair, eyelash and brow growth. The color is a bit alarming, but fear not as it does not stain.

Hydropeptide Lash ($130). I tested this for a month and my lashes got longer and blacker – read my review of Hydropeptide here.  Prostaglandin-free, this has heavy-duty moisturizers with inositol, which is a vitamin B complex nutrient that has a direct impact on hair growth. Biotin is also associated with promoting hair growth. There are also a couple of hexapeptides, synthetic peptides that behave like growth hormones. This is one of Truth In Aging's best products of 2009.

Keracyte-B ($98). This is a scalp conditioner that uses elastatropin, a synthetic form of elastin. This is aimed at stimulating the hair follicle. There are some anti-aging ingredients, such as matrixyl 3000,  mixed in too. It does not contain prostaglandin. I haven’t tried it, but have heard that it works for brows.

Jan Marini Marini Lash. Jan Marini virtually pioneered the eyelash growth market and about a year ago launched a new lash product without prostaglandin, the glaucoma drug that was in the original formula. I posted a review after trying it for three weeks. It is an eyelash growth product that works and it’s safe.

Lashfood Eyelash Conditioning Stimulant ($115). Annie, our reader reviewer, took photographic evidence to demonstrate that it, well, doesn’t really work to effectively grow eyelashes. Prostaglandin free. Read our review here.

Lash Allure ($49.50). Launched this year. Does not have prostaglandins. The active seems to be a peptide plus some amino acids (although how many and which ones are not specified).
Ingredients: Water, Myristoyl Pentapeptide-17, Amino Acids, Adenosine, Ribose, Hydrolyzed Lecithin, Butylene Glycol, Saccharomyces/Copper Ferment, Sodium Chloride, Disodium EDTA, Glucose, 1.6 Fructose Bisphosphate, Caprylic/Capric Triglycerides, Hydroxyethylcellulose, Phenoxyethanol, Caprylyl Glycol, Panthanoil.

Latisse. Made by Allergan (the nice people behind Botox), this eyelash growth product has FDA approval for prescription-only sale. It contains Bitamaprost, a glaucoma drug. Check out the side effects here before you head to your doctor.

Lilash Eyelash Growth Stimulator ($119). This was developed by a doctor in Scotsdale. Thanks to a reader’s sleuthing skills, we now know that the ingredients for Lilash contain a prostaglandin analogueLibrow (for brows) is a similar formula. Mixed reviews (read our comments here from the delighted, disappointed and victims of allergic reactions.

Lipocils Eyelash Conditioning Gel by Talika ($40). The best thing about this botanical cocktail is that it comes with an origination myth – supposedly invented by accident by some French nurse during the Second World War as she tended to a wounded soldier. It doesn’t work to grow eyelashes.

L'Oreal Lash Boosting Serum ($14.99). This eyelash boosting serum has panthenol, which when it penetrates into lower skin layers, is absorbed into skin cells and processed into pantothenic acid (commonly known as vitamin B5). Plus some amino acids. It also has sodium hydroxide, a known irritant. Studies by the National Institute for Occupation Safety and Health found that this ingredient causes “Irritation eyes, skin, mucous membrane; pneumonitis; eye, skin burns; temporary loss of hair” and recommends that consumers prevent skin and eye contact.

Mavala Double Lash ($11.54). This product lash boosting product is applied like mascara (most of them are applied like an eye-liner). Anyway, it doesn’t work.

Metics Renewlash Eyelash Stimulator ($68.99).  This eyelash growth product has been reformulated and no longer contains a prostaglandin. However, one reader complained of blurred vision.
Ingredients: Water (aqua), glycerin, sodium hyaluronate moisturizer, mineral oil, apigenin, palmitoyl oligopetide, palmitoyl tetrapeptide-7, camellia sinensis, horsetail extract, chamomilla recutita (matricaria) flower extract, nettle extract, aloe barbadensis (aloe vera) gel, biotin, methionine, panthenol (vitamin B5), tocopherol acetate, retinal palmitate (vitamin A), hydrolyzed glycosaminoglycans, phenoxyethanol, cyclopentasiloxane, benzoic acid, triethanolamine and sodium EDTA.

MD Lash Factor ($99.99). This lash growth product reportedly works. It too contains prostaglandin.

ModelCo Lash & Brow Growth Stimulator ($42). Prostaglandin-free, this is a new find. It looks a bit like Hydropeptide Lash with its hexapeptides, biotin and inositol.

Water (Aqua), Ricinus Communis (Castor) Seed Oil, Dipropylene Glycol, Phenethyl Benzoate, Polysorbate 20, Pentylene Glycol, Ethoxydiglycol, Hydrogenated Lectithin, Inositol, Glyceryl Laurate, Tocopheryl Acetate, Brassica Campestris (Rapeseed) Sterols, Xanthan Gum, Citrus Medica Limonum (Lemon) Peel Extract, Hexapeptide 17, Biotin, Gynostemma Pentaphyllum Leaf Extract, Tetrahexyldecyl Ascorbate, Folic Acid, N-Acetyl Cysteine, Citrus Medica Linonum (Lemon) Fruit Extract, Butylene Glycol, Glycerin, Cetearyl Alchohol, BHT, Phenoxyethanol, Methylparaben, Ethylparaben, Butylparaben, Isobutylparaben.

Neova Advanced Essential Eyelash Conditioner ($140). Neova’s signature ingredient is copper and has center stage in this eyelash product. Copper does have a proven track record of stimulating hair follicles and speed up the hair growth cycle. For a cheaper version, see Skin Biology’s Folligen below.
Ingredients: Water (Aqua), Panthenol, TEA-Carbomer, Alanine/Histidine/Lysine Polypeptide Copper HCl, Hydrolyzed Glycoaminoglycans, Sodium Hyaluronate, Hydrolyzed Keratin, Guar Hydroxypropyltrimonium Chloride, Dimethicone, Copolyol, Ethylhexylglycerin, Phenoxyethanol, Sodium Benzoate.

Nutra-Lift Lash Renue ($49). Launched this year, this lash growth product has peptides and B vitamins. It doesn't have a prostaglandin. It doesn't even have a nasty preservative.
Ingredients: Aqua (Deionized Water), Vegetable Glycerin, Myristoyl Pentapeptide 8,Cyclomethicone, Bis-Vinyl Dimethicone Copolymer, Dimethicone, Biotin (Vitamin B7), dl-Panthenol, Cucurbita Pepo (Pumpkin) Seed Extract, Cyanocobalamin (Vitamin B-12), Allantoin, Pyridoxine HCl (Vitamin B6), Hesperidin Methyl Chalcone, Steareth-20, Dipeptide-2,Palmitoyl Tetrapeptide-7, Polysorbate-20, Xanthan Gum, Sodium Hyaluronate, Retinyl Palmitate (Vitamin-A), Punica Granatum (Pomegranate) Extract, Cucumis Sativus (Cucumber)Fruit Extract, Camellia Sinensis Leaf (White Tea) Extract, Ethylhexylglycerin

Peter Thomas Roth Lashes to Die For ($119). This contains a prostaglandin analogue listed in the ingredients as 17-Phenyl Trinor Pge2-Sa.

Rapid Lash Eyelash Renewal Serum ($48). This lash renewal serum contains a prostaglandin analogue called isopropyl cloprostenate. There is some evidence that copper tripeptide-1 improves hair growth by strengthening the follicle and speeding up the growth cycle. Indeed, I have used Folligen, a copper peptide lotion on hair and lashes with great success.

Refectocil Longlash ($20). This eyelash growth product has the benefit of being cheap and RefectoCil does not contain prostoglandin. I can’t imagine that it works since it is just a concoction of plant extracts. If your esthetician tries to get you to try it, bear in mind that the maker markets it to salons by saying they can expect a 300% profit margin when they sell RefectoCil.

Renew Eyelash Revitalizer ($80). I haven’t used it and haven’t come across anyone who has. Renew doesn’t contain prostaglandin. It really seems as though it is a hair regrowth product that is being marketed for eyelashes. The main ingredients are: tripeptide-1, a kind of protein used to prevent the breakdown of collagen, and biotin, a B vitamin used in hair regeneration products..

Revitalash ($). Some reviewers report a burning sensation when using Revitalash. If it doesn’t bother you, it does seem to work. Revitalash used to be based on an ingredient called bitamoprost (this is what prompted the FDA recall of Jan Marini’s original product). Revitalash reformulated the product to use prostaglandin. The newest version claims to be 100% safe. Read Copley’s review here.

SD Lash & Brow Conditioning Gel ($90). Supposedy developed by an RN, this eyelash and eyebrow conditioner has natural ingredients with the active being hexapeptide 11 (derived from yeast). Some readers have reported good results.
Ingredients: Water (Aqua), Glycosaminoglycans,  Saccharum Officinarum (Sugar Cane) Extract, Citrus Medica Limonum (Lemon) Fruit Extract, Betaine, Hexylene Glycol, Pyrus Malus (Apple) Fruit Extract, Camellia Sinesis Leaf Extract (Green Tea), Hexapeptide-11, Paeonia Suffruticosa Root  (Peony) Extract, Ricinus Communis (Castor) Seed Oil, Panthenol, Sodium Hyaluronate, Glycerin, Tromethamine, Disodium EDTA, Chlorphenesin.

Skin Actives with KGF. The main active is keratinocyte growth factor. This is a protein in humans that is encoded by the FGF7 gene. Studies on mice suggest that this gene is responsible for  hair development. After testing this for eight weeks, it didn't work for me at all.

Skin Research Laboratories Neulash $139).This contains a prostaglandin analogue. More details here.

Skin Biology’s Folligen ($17.99). A copper peptide cream that is primarily designed for hair growth. It works by strengthening the hair follicles. I have had really good results on brows and lashes.

Skin Blends Lashes LTD ($70). The active ingredient is methylamido dihydro noralfaprostal - a prostaglandin derivative.

Tarte Multipleye ($65). This claims to be all natural and has no prostaglandins. However, Copley was less than impressed in her review.

sign up for our newsletter

  • September 11, 2017

    by lori milton

    have you ever reviewed Eyenvy? I love it . it works amazing

  • November 18, 2014

    by Lynn

    I lost nearly all my lashes last year. No idea why. Just woke up one morning and suddenly noticed really sparse lashes with empty areas and only a few lashes on the bottom. Did a bit of research and bought Lipocils by Talika on eBay - it was something like $20 and free postage. Fast forward 3mths and my lashes were back AND fuller and longer! I've always had one tiny spot on my left lashline that was missing a lash - been like that for as long as I can remember - but now I can't even tell where it was!

    I don't write reviews because most beauty products I buy usually end up being empty promises but this definitely gave results! It's been over a year now and I use it about once a week, just to play it safe.... :)

  • April 11, 2014

    by S

    Lipocils by Talika DOES work. Visibly. On me, on a lot of people. They have clinical studies, and look at the before/after pictures on Google !

  • January 4, 2014

    by Wendy

    Thank you so much for this comprehensive list Marta! I am wondering if anyone has tried the following, it's $95 at Nordstrom so very spendy. Only 3 reviews too. Does it contain any harmful prostaglandins or preservatives? Seems like prostaglandins have so many cousins that I don't know what to look for anymore. I want to make sure before investing all this money that at the least it's not harmful, thanks!

    Le Métier de Beauté

    'Peau Vierge' Lash Growth Serum

    Active ingredients:
    - Syntoc Actif Complex: Potent form of vitamin E to assist the absorption of key ingredients for fast, effective, lasting results.
    - Myristoyl pentapeptide-17: 5-amino acids to help strengthen lashes.
    - Dimethyl isosorbide: Promotes the effective delivery of key ingredients for quicker lash growth.
    - Panthenol: Non-irritating form of vitamin B to correct dryness and add moisture.
    - Aloe barbadensis: A natural conditioner and anti-irritant.

    Ingredients

    Syntoc Actif, Myristoyl Pentapeptide-17, Dimethyl Isosorbide, Panthenol, Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Juice.
    Ingredients are subject to change at the manufacturer's discretion. For the most complete and up-to-date list of ingredients, refer to the product packaging.

  • September 16, 2013

    by Carly

    Hi! Can you please include City Lash? I've been seeing some mixed reviews.

  • August 1, 2013

    by binnie

    I REALLY want to know, which prostaglandin-free product is one with lasting results?? A lot of products work, but within a few weeks of attaining gorgeous lashes, they all fall out. I've tried Ardell, which was fantastic, but everything fell out later. I've used Folligen, Vicki LaMotta, RapidLash and NONE of these work.

    PLEASE, which is recommended for the most permanency?????

  • July 6, 2013

    by Eileen

    Anyone have thoughts on GrandeLssh-MD. I'm skeptical but was given it as a gift. Hesitant to start using for fear that my already sparse brows and lashes will fall out rather than grow in thicker. Perhaps I should just take biotin supplements.

  • April 26, 2013

    by lashless

    What about City Lash, anyone know? Says it's prostaglandin free and active ingredient is Myristoyl Pentapetide 17. Supposedly safe and effective and this would be my first try, I have an underactive thyroid (treating) and thusly, thinning hair, lashes and eyebrows :( Would love to try something so I am not such a slave to touching up my make-up!

  • March 10, 2013

    by L the girl

    Hi, glad to have found this site! Have you had a chance to review Amplif-Eye? This is the serum that is suggested to be used when one has Xtreme Lash extensions.

  • March 1, 2013

    by ella

    I tried Latisse before with great results and tried Revitalash with so so results... I must of purchased new formula of Revitalash because I've heard old one worked great and new one doesn't work as well. I am using Fysiko right now and like it very much. I have no side effects and have pictures before and after. Is there any way I can submit review of this great product? As soon as I took pictures before and after and it made huge difference for my eyelashes and eyebrows?

  • January 15, 2013

    by Michele Watson

    This is a dynamic thread-I only order through TIA so will be interested in what new eyelash/eyebrow growth products appear this year. I tried Hydropeptide last year and it worked I had no irritation but it was very slow. Be good if we could create a shortlist based on our community experiences as bit confused after reading all of these!

  • January 14, 2013

    by Zahra Rashid

    Hi Marta,

    Can u please include info on safety and effectiveness of MAC's Prep and Prime Lash Serum? Love the info on this site!!.. thanks :)

  • December 6, 2012

    by Chrsiti

    Add Eyelash Power Treatment by GlyMed Plus. Just a note, I hear over and over in these posts about "long lasting" Unfortunately, what you are all forgetting is that any product that works and changes or extends or supports the growth phase (anagen) of your hair MUST be used forever or we revert back to our original inherited growth cycle. NOTHING will last forever, you must always continue to use any of these eyelash enhancing products to maintain results.

  • November 7, 2012

    by sara

    i used L'Oreal lash boosting serum for a month last summer. it has been a year that i have constant eyelid inflammation which is very bad at nights and i can't put make up. im still growing new abnormal lashes. have anyone experienced this?!!!!

  • October 9, 2012

    by Marta

    Hi Mary, where did you find the list of all the ingredients? I cannot find one on their website or elsewhere. If you have one, please post it here and I will gladly comment on it. In the meantime, please note that prostaglandins and their derivatives are usually at the end of the list, since they are a powerful drug and only used in small doses. The concentration is enough, presumably, to be active and ensure that eyelashes grow and, therefore, may also be sufficient to cause a reaction.

  • October 8, 2012

    by Mary

    I am wondering if you have done any research on the product GrandeLash-MD. It does have the ingredient Protaglandin in it. But it is listed the very last ingredient, so does that mean there is very little of of the hair growing ingredient. Would it still work and what about the long list of other ingredients are they harmful or helpful ?

  • July 25, 2012

    by Aletha

    Have anyone used Lash Revitalizer by Andrea a American international industries?

  • July 15, 2012

    by Alla

    Foltene eyelash And eyebrow treatment. Is it safe for eyes? Does it contain prostaglandin?

  • July 10, 2012

    by Jan

    Just a quickie.....wanted to throw my 2 cents in. I've tried Skin Actives, Mychelle, Revitalash and Folligen cream. Hands down, Folligen has worked THE best on my eyebrows and eyelashes. I'm hypothyroid.....and overnight my lashes decreased in length and volume. The eyebrows have been sparser for a few years now. For my lashes, I actually use the eyeliner type brush from the Mychelle product tube (I know, not the most sanitary, but I'm careful and wash it off each night). Serious eyebrow and eyelash growth that I did not experience with any of the other products. Budget is an issue for me right now....who would have thought the least expensive product would have the best results. I continue using at night, very pleased.

  • July 9, 2012

    by Marta

    Hi Karen, it is hard to say since LashMantra doesn't list the ingredients. I'll write to ask for them.

  • July 9, 2012

    by Karen

    Hello Marta. I'm wondering what your perspective is on LashMantra. It's reported to be all natural, chemical free and uses botanical extracts to promote growth of eyelashes (and eyebrows). I see Sarah posted a comment related to LashMantra in August of 2010, but would love to have your input regarding your thoughts on the safety and effectiveness of this product.

    Also, I love your website! It's my main source for anything related to beauty and antiaging. Thanks so much for all you do!

  • May 3, 2012

    by Kimberly

    One more question about the best lash serums.....Lashipix? Anything you know about this product?

  • May 3, 2012

    by Marta

    Hi Kate the lotion is very liquid and not suitable for eyebrows as it might drip into the eye area.

  • May 2, 2012

    by Kate

    I am curious, is there a difference in Folligen cream vs lotion? which one had better results for eyebrow growth?
    thanks

  • April 4, 2012

    by J. Cheng

    Marta,
    Please comment on a (purported) eyelash growth stimulator called "Amplif-Eye." It's made by Jo Mousselli who also makes lash extensions called Xtreme Lashes. I recently went for lash extensions, and the woman pushed and pushed Amplif-Eye. She eventually admitted that most women who use it to grow lashes are so addicted to extensions, they do both. I'd love to know what you and other readers have to say!
    Thanks,
    Wondrousworld

  • October 9, 2011

    by Joan

    I picked up a tube of Cilea in a duty-free shop and have been using it for about 5-6 weeks - mostly on my terribly thin brows (hypothyroid) but also my scrawny lashes and this stuff really works.

    Since my daily make-up routine involves filling in my eyebrows with pencils and powders, it's obvious that I've been needing less and less to do the job. In fact, the pencil has become unnecessary and with just a few strokes of powder, I'm good to go.

    The lashes don't seem to be much longer, but they're definitely darker and fuller. I can clearly see there are more lashes than a few weeks ago and when I add mascara they almost look too full ... like false eyelashes.

    It took about 4-6 weeks to really see results, although the brows were more obvious a little sooner. I'll definitely purchase this again.

  • August 15, 2011

    by Linan Yang

    Hi Marta,

    So glad to come across this site. I posted my review on tumblr for others to read....I'm finally coming to the realization that these products are really harmful and have some serious side effects. Lilash completely changed the dynamic of my eyes...so so sad.

    http://nancyyang.tumblr.com/

    If you have safe product that works, I would love to know it!

  • June 16, 2011

    by Marie

    Has anyone tried GrandeLASH -MD (www.grandelashmd.com)? My esthetician recommended it, but I haven't seen any reviews yet.

  • March 9, 2011

    by JustD

    Ok, I'll also bite, has anyone experimented or knows anyone else who has used Dulash for over 2 months and has a review? It'd be interesting, the website boasts natural ingredients, but as I'm such a newbie, I'm not sure I can trust me to do an accurate comparison of the product. Just curious since Jennifer noted it here...and there wasn't any response to her comment....anyone?

  • March 9, 2011

    by lucia

    Thank you Marta, i already ordered, will see if its gonna work.

  • March 9, 2011

    by marta

    Hi Lucia, I haven't tried Idol. But it does not contain a prostaglandin. The active ingredient is Myristoyl Pentapeptide-17.

  • March 8, 2011

    by lucia

    Hello Marta and all, have anyone tried the Idol lash?? does anyone know if its safe? I read some good reviews on it. and here the ingredients:
    Water
    Butylene Glycol
    Glyceri
    Hydroxyethylcellulose,
    Panthenol,
    Allantoin,
    Alfalfa Extract,
    Arnica Extract,
    Propylene Glycol,
    Honey Extract,
    Chammomile Extract,
    Kelp Extract,
    Sodium Hyaluronate,
    Acetamide MEA,
    Hydrolyzed Keratin,
    Propylene Glycol, Sorbitol,
    Sodium Cocoyl Collagen Amino Acid,
    Cocoyl Sarcosine,
    Wheat Germ Acid,
    Triticum Vulgare (Wheat) Germ Oil,
    Linolenic Acid,
    Linoleic Acid,
    Sulfur,
    Polysorbate 80,
    Oleth-10,
    Simmondsia Chinensis (Jojoba) Seed Oil,
    Tocopheryl Acetate,
    Hydrolyzed Glycosaminoglycans,
    Nettle Extract,
    Myristoyl Pentapeptide-17,
    Phenoxyethanol, Ethyhexylglycerin,
    Bitter Orange Flower Oil,
    Polysorbate 20,
    Tetrasodium EDTA

  • January 14, 2011

    by Brittany

    JoyMarie--any updates on your use with BioLash?
    Has anyone tried the Dulash also?

  • September 27, 2010

    by Jennifer

    you need to add dulash. http://www.dulash.com . I've been using it now for 2 months with great results. It doesn't contain prostaglandin. I had problems with lilash and vowed not to use eyelash growth products again, until I found dulash. It's all natural and give natural growth and adds thickness to your lash. Thanks!

  • August 27, 2010

    by Sarah

    I don't see my favorite product LashMantra in the list. They have recently come out with a new formula, will buy it once my old bottle gets over.

  • August 9, 2010

    by binnie

    To let everyone know, I've now tried Billion Dollar Brows...does not work at all. Anyone heard of FabuLash? It's getting good reviews.

  • August 5, 2010

    by Elena Roig

    I have been using Lash Alive for 10 months. It is suppose to lengthen and thicken eyelashes, has not worked much for me, only lengthen my corner lashes a little, but they fell out too soon, and if it ran into my eye it stung like hell.I chose it because it said only nature ingredients used, but having read Marta's comment on not been able to track whatthe ingredients are, I don't think I will carry on using it.

  • July 1, 2010

    by marta

    Hi Sam, Code:ai worked for eyebrow growth for me if I used both the lash product and the eyebrow product together. Otherwise, try Folligen. Emu oil also helps. Here are a couple of links for you.
    http://truthinaging.com/product-brands/folligen-101
    http://truthinaging.com/hair/uniquely-emu-oil-for-hair-growth

  • July 1, 2010

    by Sam

    Any one have any luck for eyebrow growth? I have tried latisse code ai rapid lash and stimilash fusion. Latisse and code ai helped with length and rapid lash and stimilash made my hairs fall out. So now im desperate. Any one try sd lash and brow gel?

  • June 21, 2010

    by Joy-Marie

    Hi Marta, as an aesthetician, I would like to retail a safe and effective lash product to my clients. I am just now trying BioLash (here are the ingredients they list on the manufacturer's web which I copied for mine:
    http://www.joiedevie.com/joiedevie/products-eyemakeup.htm#Bio). In 3 weeks I have noticed mine seem to be darker, with a faint shadow under bottom lashes as well. Next week I'll have my daughter check to see if they look longer yet.
    Would be interested to hear from you, if you have tried this one yet and what you think, at least of the ingredients if you haven't tried it...
    Also, Glymed Cosmetics has just launched their lash product ("Eyelash Power Treatment" which I list ingredients on same page as my BioLash) this week so I have not tried it. It is to retail at $99.00.

  • June 17, 2010

    by marta

    Hi Irina, I saw the new Serious Skincare eye cream too and was thinking I should follow up. Now that you've prodded me, I will.

  • June 16, 2010

    by Irina

    May be it's interesting. Serious Skin Care launched new product on HSN last week - Eyetality Total Eye Transformation - 0.5 oz morning and 0.5 oz evening cream. The list of ingredients is too long. Evening cream "formulated with targeted eyelash optimizers, helps improve the appearance of lash length, fullness and thickness".

  • May 30, 2010

    by marta

    Binnie, all eyelashes fall out. <a href="http://truthinaging.com/eyes/what-is-it-how-hair-eyelash-and-eyebrow-growth-works" rel="nofollow">They have a growth and shedding cycle like all hair</a>. The sad fact is that there isn't a permanent fix. You have to keep using these products with every cycle. http://truthinaging.com/eyes/what-is-it-how-hair-eyelash-and-eyebrow-growth-works

  • May 30, 2010

    by binnie

    Marta, thank you much for replying so quickly, but I'd already seen that list. Unfortunately it doesn't delineate longevity and even includes products that I've used that absolutely did not work. As I said, the cheap Ardell was incredible but all the new lashes fell out within a few weeks as well as the gorgeous long lengths returned to normalcy.

    Please, if there's anyone out there who has used a product that gives LASTING results for lashes, where you cultivate new ones and they'll remain, I'd appreciate the tip. (Of course, prostaglandin-free...the Rapid Lash turned my lids brown; fortunately it was reversable)

  • May 30, 2010

    by marta

    Hi Binnie, here is a link to the <a href="http://truthinaging.com/uncategorized/five-best-for-eyelash-and-brow-growth-2010" rel="nofollow">Five Best eyelash growth products</a> that we have tested.
    http://truthinaging.com/uncategorized/five-best-for-eyelash-and-brow-growth-2010

  • January 27, 2010

    by Michelle

    Thanks for the info Junko! I appreciate it! I've used about 2 tubes of revitalash now, and I think I'll stick with it for now until I hear of something that works better, or works just as well for cheaper. I was looking into the Hydropeptide one, but it seems to be about the same price. I stopped using Revitalsh for a while after the first tube, and my lashes started to fall out or go back to how they used to be before I used it. This is even when I tried what I think is the SECOND version of Jan Marini's lash conditioner, which I heard/think doesn't really work. I heard the first one made them grow like weeds, but it was recalled, the second one doesn't work, and the third one, Marini lash, does work (but I haven't tried this one). Thanks again, please keep me updated if you find anything better. =]

  • January 26, 2010

    by marta

    Lisa, thanks for the tip. I've just taken a quick look and it does look interesting. I'll do a bit more digging.

  • January 26, 2010

    by Lisa

    Any reviews or comments about Code.ai? I've heard good reviews and according to their site (www.codeai.com) it has no side effects and is non-irritating which I guess is everyone's main concerns. It claims to "result in the enhanced appearance of naturally darker, stronger, thicker, and more plentiful lashes".

    Any thoughts?

  • January 18, 2010

    by Junko

    Michelle,
    1st Tube Revitalash * longer not thicker or more numerous. 2nd Tube MD Lash Factor * status quo. Going directly from Revita to MD my lash's remained looking the same. 3rd Tube Revitalash * fallout and lash's grew in shorter. 4th Tube Revitalash * no fallout and lash's are the same shorter length but healthier (more hairs). I think there's been a reformulation, and it seems a lash Conditioner as the tube says instead of a growth product. My lash's are now shorter and there are more of them. Will use up what I have and see if anyone is raving about one of the products on this list

  • January 17, 2010

    by Kimberley

    Just wanted to let you know that I have used the "Renew Eyelash Revitalizer". I will say that it does work, however the first two weeks of using it were a trial because it made my eyes very itchy. Once I got past the first week, it got better and past the second week I had no reaction. After about 4 - 5 weeks I noticed a definite improvement in the length of my lashes. I'm not sure if I noticed a difference in the thickness (the product says you will have longer, thicker, darker lashes). And there was a slight improvement in the darkness of my lashes.

    I stopped using the product because of the price. I just couldn't justify spending $100.00 (this is what my salon charged for it) on my lashes.

    Another interesting side note... I was told that once I stopped using it, the results would go away, but I haven't noticed that. It has been almost a year since I stopped using it and my lashes look exactly the same as when I used it daily.

  • January 17, 2010

    by marta

    Thank you Junko. I'll add Nutra-Lift once I have confirmed the ingredients. The list on their website doesn't seem complete to me:
    Myristoyl Pentapeptide-8, Cucurbita Pepo (Pumpkin) seed extract, Hesperidin Methyl Chalcone, Dipeptide-2, Palmitoyl Tetrapeptide-7, Retinyl Palmitate (Vitamin-A), Punica Granatum (Pomegranate) Extract, Cucumis Sativus (Cucumber) Fruit Extract, Camellia Sinensis Leaf (White Tea) Extract

  • January 17, 2010

    by Michelle

    Yes, it's a very long list, but some of the reviews don't include whether the product actually works or not, but does talk more about the ingredients and whether they are safe or not. I've been using Revitalash, and it works to lengthen and grow the lashes, but I'm curious to try other brands to compare. I'm skeptical to try other brands because they might not work, and Revitalash has been working for me without any noticaeable side effects. Has any tried both Revitalash and Hydropeptide Lash? How do they compare since they're about the same price? I heard MD lash factor helps lengthen but not so much thickening.

  • January 15, 2010

    by Junko

    The length of this list already makes my head spin, so why not add another ?? ... Nutra-Lift Lash Reneu.

Join the discussion! Leave a comment below.

My Comment

Add a comment...

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...