Free shipping on all orders over $39

FDA clamps down on cellulite busters lipodissolve and mesotherapy

Is a Solution for:
Cellulite, Stretch Marks, Sagging Skin
Reviewed by Marta July 30, 2010 12 Comments
The FDA is starting to clamp down on spas and clinics that offer lipodisollve or mesotherapy, an injectable treatment for cellulite.

Mesotherapy – also called lipolysis, lipozap, lipotherapy, or lipodissolve - is unregulated and there are no standard procedures. Mesotherapy uses a cocktail of fat cell busting medications, vitamins and plant extracts. No two doctors will necessarily administer the same cocktail. Some seem to use an emphysema drug called aminophylline. It is used in mesotherapy as it is proven to help improve blood flow in patients with respiratory problems and the hope is that it will do the same with those who have cellulite. One study in 1999 suggested that there is no evidence that aminophylline works.

Other practitioners use a couple of biological detergents (one comes from cow bile) that are known fat cell busters. One of them, phosphatidylcholine is a licensed drug in Germany for treating blood vessel blockages. It is not licensed for cosmetic surgery. Phosphatydlcholine is one drug used in mesotherapy that the FDA actively lobbies against, because it is a drug that the FDA is able to regulate and is not approved by the administration for any sort of use. Despite this, it is still a very popular component in many mesotherapy kits, sold under the name Lipostabil. It is also commonly abbreviated as PC or PPC.

Yohimbine is a commonly used drug approved by the FDA, but not for mesotherapy. It was actually originally used to treat erectile dysfunction. It works in a manner similar to aminophylline, as it causes vasodilation, thus increasing blood flow. It is believed that increased blood flow reduces fluid retention, and reduced fluid retention can possibly lead to less cellulite.

The FDA is warning consumers that:

  • It has not evaluated or approved products for use in lipodissolve

  • It is not aware of evidence supporting the effectiveness of the substances used in lipodissolve for fat elimination

  • The safety of these substances, when used alone or in combination, is unknown

  • It is not aware of clinical studies to support medical uses of lipodissolve

  • In addition, FDA has reports of unexpected side effects in people who’ve undergone the lipodissolve procedure. These side effects include

  • Permanent scarring

  • Skin deformation

  • Deep, painful knots under the skin in areas where the lipodissolve treatments were injected












  • November 17, 2010

    by Bella

    I have seen people do all sorts of crazy things to rid the body of fat & cellulite. First, I provide these treatments but not without being honest... It's the diet that needs adjusting!
    Why don't men have cellulite? Their estrogen is lower than women. Women are bombarded with endocrine disruptors (cosmetic products, plastics, dairy, soy) that attack us as "bad estrogens" and offset our natural hormonal levels.
    I promote a natural hormonal balance called Progessence Plus serum (essential oils), while addressing the dietary factors, and the actual goal that is desired by the client.

    When there is a problem with the skin, start looking within.

  • November 1, 2010

    by jacksonville zoo

    Hi Marta,

    I have lipodissolve five years ago, back then cost me almost as if I had a liposuction but I had it because it was less risky than a lipo. Weekly shots were very painful and left my skin very irritated and swollen for about 2-3 days, after 4 weeks I could see a noticeable change in my body so I knew for sure it works. But during the last session one of the needles went into my arm muscle I guess and I was not able to lift my arm over my head for almost a year. I will never have this procedure done again, side effects are nasty and thank God I have my arm 99.99% recovered (I feel a a bit of tightness when lifting my arm when doing my stretching excersices). Good diet and excercise are my best bet now.

  • September 16, 2010

    by mary

    Hi Marta!
    I am a 35 year old mom..and I am 5ft4 and 259...I recently visited a new doctor and she offers lipodissolve injections...I am really interested in this,she told me it has recently been approved..and that it does wonders..is this true?can it work for me?she also offers lipotropic injections..adipax prescription pills...hcg injections...do any of these really work?if it works..I think I would be willing to take the pain for as long as it takes to look good for myself and my husband

  • August 12, 2010

    by Ana

    Hi Marta!

    I'm reaching 30 and have had some degree of cellullite since I hit puberty, it wasn't too bad in my teens & early 20's, but I've put on some weight and the dimples have spread :S

    Over the years I think I've tried almost every cellulite cream/treatment there is... the expenisve, the not-so-expensive, I tried mesotherapy for a while (did nothing for me), massages,endermologie, ionithermie... you name it, I've tried it. I am almost on the brink of considering a lipo (would rather wait until I've had my first child), or carboxitherapy but to be honest I'm scared because I've heard its very painful -injecting gas under your skin doen't sound very good.

    I'd love to try this new cellulite cream and provide a review, hopefully it will do my dimpled thighs and butt some good!

  • August 5, 2010

    by Susan

    Hi Marta,
    I've had Mesotherapy and wouldn't ever do it again. Way too painful for not enough return on investment. I've tried about 3 different cellulite creams for the backs of my thighs, the most recent being NutraLift, and so far no success. I'd love to be able to try it and promise to give you either before and after photos or the "do one side and compare to the other" test.

  • August 5, 2010

    by Frances

    I too have tried all types of exercise and still have trouble moving celulite. Ilook forward to the review of serum Minceur, i enjoy reading all your articles, they are so interesting, Thank you

  • August 5, 2010

    by Lindi

    I have tried the daily squats, I exercise regularly and I do body brushing religiously followed by my cellulite concoctions, but nothing has rid me of my orange peel yet! Short of trying the unmentionables above, I would love to be able to find a lasting solution for cellulite. I am really looking forward to the reading the review of Serum Minceur by the lucky reader - perhaps my beach sexy butt is in sight afterall! Thanks for all the great articles and product reviews as I am an ingredient junkie :)

  • August 4, 2010

    by Suely

    Hi Marta:
    Brasil is a country so into all the latest "hardcor" treatments for celulite, etc etc and s much exposure of the body on the beaches make it become an unstopable "racing" after some miracle treatment to have whole body looking good...Lots of my relatives, cousins, sisters, have done liposuction and mesotherapy already and I ASSURE you, if your genetic/DNA is not to be slim and tight, it all(celulite and fat) unfortunatelly come back after a year or two...it is what happened to them all in our family, no exception :( A great beauty surgeon and kinda friend of mine in Brasil always told me, if you want NOT to have celulite, avoid too much white sugar or other toxicines in food, and drink LOTS and LoTS of water daily...I love to walk as exercize, but as the fall/winter approaches I feel already the evil celulites sorrounding my legs and middle section :( ...so I'd love to try this product and report in details what this can do for a over 40 busy mother of two that can only afford somewalking as exercize. Thanks Marta!!!

  • August 4, 2010

    by SaRaia

    i can remember when silicon injections for breast enlargement was prevented due to the large number of women who had severe adverse reactions to the substance.

    I can appreciate the FDA stepping in to protect women from these procedures for removing celulite. Many, Many women are vunerable and it's not worth the risks;

    I'm am thankful the FDA has stepped in as well as 'Truth in Aging' staff keeping up to date to inform us.

    I'd rather be safe... so I am thankful for this news alert.

  • August 4, 2010

    by Jing

    I am a 46 year old female. I am 5 ft and 102 lbs. I exercise 3x a week (zumba, pilates, fast walk) and watch my diet (cals, veggies, etc) but I still have this cellulite ( I have it since highschool) and I can not seem to get rid of it.

  • July 31, 2010

    by marta

    Hi Ines, thank you for sharing this. It is really helpful for us all to hear from people who have direct experience - bad or good - of these procedures. Good diet and exercise are really all you need - although they require dedication. For some ideas and tips, check out our sister site<a href="http://truthinslimming.com/" rel="nofollow"> www.truthinslimming.com</a>

  • July 30, 2010

    by Ines

    Hi Marta,

    I have lipodissolve five years ago, back then cost me almost as if I had a liposuction but I had it because it was less risky than a lipo. Weekly shots were very painful and left my skin very irritated and swollen for about 2-3 days, after 4 weeks I could see a noticeable change in my body so I knew for sure it works. But during the last session one of the needles went into my arm muscle I guess and I was not able to lift my arm over my head for almost a year. I will never have this procedure done again, side effects are nasty and thank God I have my arm 99.99% recovered (I feel a a bit of tightness when lifting my arm when doing my stretching excersices). Good diet and excercise are my best bet now.

Join the discussion! Leave a comment below.

My Comment

Add a comment...

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...