Free shipping on all orders over $39

Femme Science Age Control

Is a Solution for:
Sagging Skin
Reviewed by Marta May 9, 2010 21 Comments
Calling all 20-somethings and 30-somethings! Finally a brand that claims to aim to take you seriously. You are so beyond Clinique and Bliss and marketing over content. You get the green thing and natural options like Aveda and Amala, but are they really providing you with the best possible blockades against future aging. Then there's all those anti-wrinkle miracle ingredients aimed at the boomers with skin that needs repair over prevention. What's a young person to do? Enter Femme Science.

This Miami-based new company saw you and saw an opportunity saying: "Recognizing that among dozens of choices, there were virtually no skincare lines that addressed this audience, FemmeScience was founded to provide a scientifically developed line for youthful skin." I think Femme Science is right. There is a big gap in the market and I struggle a little to give 20 and 30-somethings product advice when so much of the new breakthroughs have focused on repair rather than prevention.

I have before me Femme Science Age Control ($54). It seems to be a fairly intelligent formulation that covers most bases and doesn't get distracted by too many fillers. Top of the actives are two peptides, acetyl hexapeptide - which is believed to inhibit the release of neurotransmitters and relax the facial muscles- thus reducing expression lines and wrinkles - and palmitoyl oligopeptide, known as collagen builder Matrixyl. Yin and yang-like the roles are complimentary: the first may prevent future wrinkles, the second ensures good skin going forward.

For 20 and 30-something skins, antioxidants are important (see our antioxidant picks for 30-somethings) as is tackling the first signs of skin dullness (see our regimen for 30-somethings). So I was pleased to see multitasking turmeric. This is an important antioxidant, anti-inflammatory, soother of irritations and skin whitener. Curcumin is thought to be the primary pharmacological agent in turmeric. The research is a bit patchy and most of it has been conducted on animals. However, in some studies, curcumin’s anti-inflammatory effects have been shown to be comparable to the potent drugs such as hydrocortisone. In a report in Medical News, one company claims that turmeric’s skin whitening potency is four times greater than that of the conventional cosmetic whitener, arbutin.

Femme Science Age Control also has ubiquinone. Also called CoQ10, this naturally decreases with aging. When applied topically, Ubiquinone is thought to penetrate the skin easily, and reduce free radical damage via its antioxidant properties. It is also been found to assist cells in building collagen and elastin, therefore reducing the appearance of fine lines and wrinkles. Ubiquinone also has properties that allow it to prevent or reduce oxidative damage to tissues, and may be more effective than Vitamin E at preventing this damage.

With moisturizers (avocado and hyaluronic acid) and several vitamins, there's plenty going on here (the only thing to be a bit wary of is DMDM hydantoin and iodopropynyl butylcarbamate).

Ingredients

Acqua purificata (purified water), caprylic/capric triglycerides, stearic acid, acetyl hexapeptide, palmitoyl oligopeptide, curcuma longa root (turmeric) extract, camellia sinensis (green tea) extract, glycerin, ubiquinone (coq-10), niacinamide, soya sterol, beta glucan, magnesium ascorbyl phosphate (vitamin c), retinol (vitamin a), polyacrylamide, persea gratissima (avocado) extract, butylene glycol, c13-14 isoparaffin, hyaluronic acid, carbomer, polysorbate 20, polysorbate 60, lecithin, carnitine, laureth-7, propylene glycol, cetearyl alcohol, glyceryl stearate, thioctic (alpha lipoic) acid, tocopheryl acetate (vitamin e), dmdm hydantoin, iodopropynyl butylcarbamate
  • August 24, 2010

    by marta

    Hi Leigh, FemmeScience went out to Kerry a couple of months ago and this is her review: http://truthinaging.com/face/femmescience-age-control-reader-reviewed.
    Is your Hydropeptide serum the Cellular Transformation Serum. I think they have updated the formula since my post and this is the ingredient (see below). Keep checking and sign up for our newsletter as we have products up for readers to review every week.

    Water, Glycerin, Butylene Glycol, Propylheptyl Caprylate, Hydrolyzed Oats, Sodium Polystyrene Sulfonate, Cetearyl Alcohol, Stearyl Alcohol, Dimethicone, Glycereth-26, Menthyl Lactate, Phenoxyethanol, Sodium Hyaluronate, Palmitoyl Dipeptide-5 Diaminobutyroyl Hydroxythreonine, Palmitoyl Dipeptide-6 Diaminohydroxybutyrate, Dipeptide Diaminobutyroyl Benzylamide Diacetate, Acetyl Glutamyl Heptapeptide-3, Palmitoyl Tripeptide-5, Transforming Growth Factor ϐ1, Human Oligopeptide-11, Human Oligopeptide-1, Hydrolyzed Hibiscus Esculentus Extract, Colostrum Whey, Dextrin, Leontopodium Alpinum (Edelweiss) Extract, Acetyl Tyrosine, Dimethyl MEA (DMAE), Cameillia Sinensis (Green Tea) Extract, Zinc Gluconate, Copper Gluconate, Retinyl Palmitate, Tetrahexyldecyl Ascorbate, Tocopheryl Acetate, Magnesium Aspartate, Squalane, Cetearyl Glucoside, Oryza Sativa (Rice) Bran Extract, Hydrogenated Lecithin, Dimethylacrylamide/Acrylic Acid/Polystyrene Ethyl Methacrylate Copolymer, Simmondsia Chinensis Seed Oil, Xanthan Gum, Hydroxypropylmethylcellulose Stearoxy Ether, 1, 2-Hexanediol,Caprylyl Glycol,Tetrahydroxypropyl Ethylenediamine,Tetrasodium EDTA, O-Cymen-5-OL,Sodium Methyl Stearoyl Taurate, Tropolone, Fragrance, Red 40 (CI16035)

  • August 24, 2010

    by Leigh Guidry

    Hi Marta, I just started reading Truth in Aging several months ago- my mom is a huge fan! I am 28 and a skincare junkie (not makeup, only skincare:) I have battled with acne since I was 15 (several rounds of low dose Accutane cleared me up several years ago, with no scarring). I have been seriously looking into anti-aging skincare though since I was about 23. I had a little boy when I was 22 so I started getting into adult mode pretty quickly:) Anyhoo, besides the occasional "period" zit, my skin is clear, and due to religious sunscreen use since my teens, my late-twenties skin is virtually unchanged since my teens. I read a post by Copley- and seriously, if this line does what it says- I would be ecstatic! I just purchased Hydropeptide Cellular Serum, and am considering returning it as soon as it comes so I can try Femme Science. I am also a little freaked out after reading your post on it. Please help a skincare enthusiast out- I have dropped so much money on stuff it makes me sick. Stuff usually ends up breaking me out, or feeling icky. This stuff sounds perfect for me:)

  • July 29, 2010

    by Jennifer

    I am going to be turning 20 years old and am freaking out because I will be leaving my adolescence years and teenage years. Scary thought! I read up on this and really would like to try it. Having skin blemishes since 12 years old I've tried everything over the counter and from the dr office. I don't want to have to freak out about wrinkles when I'm much older therefore I'd like to PREVENT them. Everything I read on product reviews only treat or renew skins appearance. I want to plan for the future not fix it now. I would be happy to try this product.

  • July 13, 2010

    by Rachel Lorenz

    I just turned 30, and am extremely serious about preventative care for aging, both internal and external. If I am going to live to be 100, like most of the women in my family, I want to preserve the hull for as long as possible. I would therefore be happy to test the product for a month, or even longer.
    If you are still looking for reviews, I am interested!

  • June 23, 2010

    by Kerence

    I have just emailed my review to Marta so it's not long now!

  • June 4, 2010

    by Jami

    Hi!

    I'm a new reader - thrilled to have stumbled upon this site! So much wonderful information! I'm big on product reviews - I find that we as consumers are far more trustworthy than marketing departments!

    I'm mid-20's and would love to do a test on this if you're still looking. I'm really picky with skincare and find that my biggest war is with anti-aging. All of my products ARE targeted at repair, rather than prevention - always making me wonder if I'm just throwing my $ away. Am I getting any prevention? Don't know. Since this product states that it is geared toward prevention, my curiosity is indeed piqued! :) Thanks for your consideration and for all of the wonderful information that you provide!

  • May 31, 2010

    by marta

    Nothing more than a vacation, but I have a close friend, Heidi, who now lives in Paris but hasn't forgotten the lingo.

  • May 31, 2010

    by Kerence

    Oh hold on there Marta, I wasn’t taking the piss! I just thought it was a good test to see if anyone would understand me. Honestly I don’t know how you did, most people just don’t get it and “fair dinkum” is pushing it. You must have spent some time here.

  • May 28, 2010

    by marta

    Oh Kerence, don't come the raw prawn with me!

  • May 27, 2010

    by Kerence

    See Marta, I don't think people would understand me!

  • May 25, 2010

    by Kerence

    Holy dooley Marta,
    TIA shopping for Aussies would be bonser! For a sheila living in Brisvagas with today’s connectedness it’s hardly the back of Bourke.
    I am sick of bodgy products and it’s sometimes hard to find a clayton’s for some of your suggestions, or it just takes yonks. If you do go global Marta, I’d think your blood’s worth bottling.
    As for changing Femme Science’s policy I think I have Buckley’s.
    If I let myself go for a full Aussie earbashing in my review I think the readers would think I was a bit of a dipstick, and other Aussie’s might think I was a drongo. Aren’t the septic tanks sick of Aussie saturation or can they hack it?

  • May 25, 2010

    by marta

    G'day Kerence. I am very pleased that you received the package so speedily (as we chose the least expensive USPS option). We should certainly rethink overseas shipping from the TIA shop. Anyway good luck and million thank yous for introducing the phrase fair dinkum to the TIA community. We look forward to many more ozzie-isms in your review.

  • May 24, 2010

    by Kerence

    Yey! I just received the package of age control today; not bad timing considering it had to travel all the way downunder to OZ! I looked on the website and it is to be used as a treatment product like a serum to be put on before a moisturiser so it will slip in to my routine between toner and moisturiser.
    I also learned from the website that they don’t ship to Australia, so if I do like the product I will never be able to get my hands on it again (shame on you Femme Science! How hard is it for companies to let us pay by PayPal and post an item???).
    I am looking forward to writing my review for the TIA community. My skin is looking particularly drab at the moment so I am hoping that the product will actually do something. The package says-
    Fight the signs of aging and maintain youthful and radiant glow for years to come with a concentrated blend of dermatological-grade ingredients that protect against the appearance of starter wrinkles, loss of firmness and resilience, age spots and dullness.
    So it will be an interesting test! How will I know if it is preventing my aging skin, from aging? How can you tell what and if, a preventative product like this is... preventing?? I suppose I won’t, so I’ll have to look for what I can see and feel.
    I am wondering if the company is just preying on our fear, or if their product is “fair dinkum” and does what they say it will? I Hope so! Read my review in about one month.

  • May 12, 2010

    by Melissa

    I am a long time lurker on the site. I'm pushing 32 and would like to keep my skin looking like a 30 something's skin for as long as I can. I would be honored to try this product and review it for you. I have moderately sensitive dry skin. All the ingredients listed sound good to me!

  • May 11, 2010

    by adrian

    I have very few visible signs of aging even though I just turned 40. I have used SPF products since my 20's, which I think has helped a lot. I definately would use this product as requested and would write a prompt, thorough, and balanced review as well. I have written reviews for other companies and really enjoy it! Thanks for your consideration!

  • May 11, 2010

    by Ines

    I would love to try this multitasking product. I have been using glycolic & arbutin products and see my freckles fade away but there it is, the stubborn sun spot on my left cheek saying hello to me every morning when I look at the mirror.Very curious about turmeric performance. I will turn 37 in July. I am crossing fingers...:)

  • May 10, 2010

    by elizaveta borukhova

    I am glad that they started taking us seriously...would love to try this product and report..I am 35 yrs old.thank you

  • May 10, 2010

    by marta

    Lisa, we'd love to find out too - so please let us know how you get on. In the meantime, you've given me the idea to do a round up of products with turmeric.

  • May 9, 2010

    by Lisa G.

    I was so impressed by TIA's post on the benefits of turmeric, that I went on a wild search for a product with this beneficial ingredient. I've made the switch to natural products and am currently using Skin Perfection Glycolic Cleanser and Radiance in an effort to fade some past blemish spots. My skin is in good condition, but just beginning to experience wrinkles around the eyes. With the high concentration of turmeric blended with other great ingredients, this product might be just the solution for my two skin concerns - I'd love to find out - Thank you!

  • May 9, 2010

    by Kerence

    Please choose me!
    Although I am in Australia I would love to review this product for the TIA community. I know that you don’t ship to Australia from the store but maybe you will for this task. I fit the bill 31 years of age and only the early signs of aging so far. A little dullness and a tiny bit of pigmentation due to the harshness of the Australian sun (as opposed to my forgetful sunscreen application).
    Please, Please, Please, choose me!!!

  • May 9, 2010

    by kim

    This product sounds right up my alley. The ingredients look really interesting. I would love to try it out for a month and report back. I could give the mid 30s take. Thanks!

Join the discussion! Leave a comment below.

My Comment

Add a comment...

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...