Free shipping on all domestic orders over $39

Five Best affordable eye creams

using tea bags on eyes
July 26, 2010 Reviewed by Marta 26 Comments

OK, so these are not quite as cheap as a couple of tea bags, but these eye creams are affordable and effective. All our Five Best affordable eye cream picks have been thoroughly tested and recommended. They will work a treat for anyone just noticing the appearance of fine lines. For those trying to repair wrinkles and crepiness, you will - I believe - still need to reach for the serious players in our Five Best eye creams, however, you can eke them out by alternating with something that is less expensive. With that in mind, all of these affordable picks will provide excellent maintenance, doing a  more than adequate job of holding the fort until you need to call in the cavalry and heavy artillery.

Reviva Labs’ Firming Eye Serum ($34). This has a refreshingly short list of ingredients that includes the cosmetic industry’s new botanical darling, mulberry extract, an antioxidant and skin brightener. In my experience, brightening is what this eye cream is best at. I don’t really have a dark circle issue, but I did notice that the skin around my eyes looked especially clear. Along with mulberry, the alpha lipoic acid had a hand in this. This “universal antioxidant” helps fight future skin damage and repairs the existing by diminishing fine lines, giving skin a healthy glow, and boosting the levels and efficacy of other antioxidants, such as the vitamin C.

Nurture My Body Isanna, Kim and Copley love this eye cream. Its whipped cream texture goes on smoothly.  It has a visible effect on fine lines, crepiness and puffy, tired eyes. A Five Best eye cream in any price category (in fact it was one of our Five Best eye creams of 2009). The formula is populated with too many lovely botanical infusions, extracts, and oils to mention. But worth a shout out are eyebright, which calms irritated eyes and reduces puffiness, and lavender and red clover with their anti-inflammatory actions, while comfrey root has the ability to stimulate cell proliferation by virtue of muco-polysaccharides.

Nutra-Lift Maximum Eye Repair ($35). I'm not sure how Nutra-Lift does it, but it seems to get great ingredients and keep prices keen as mustard. As well as botanicals (including bearberry and cape gooseberry, Maximum Eye Repair has added  as many power peptides as it could muster - Pentablend-ST9, Matrixyl 3000 and Argirline - plus Hyaluronic Acid, this eye cream is aimed at the expression and fine lines around the delicate eye area.

Dermaradiant’s Ageless Eyes ($32). Ageless Eyes will send your bags packing with something called Eyeliss. This is made up of hesperidin methyl chalcone, a flavonoid extracted from citrus fruits that helps reduce capillary permeability (so the little blood vessels around your eyes don’t leak) and a couple of peptides. Ageless Eyes does more than provide quick relief. There is the antioxidant peptide formulation, Matrixyl 3000, which along with retinol, encourages collagen synthesis. DermaRadiant, for what it’s worth, claims to use mid-leaf aloe, which it says is where the most potent properties reside. This was featured in our roundup of Beauty Bargains That Do A Great Job.

Your Best Face Concentrate ($55 in the TIA shop). Can’t afford my all time favorite eye cream, YBF Correct at $150, then get the next best thing. Concentrate was formulated exclusively for Truth In Aging readers and it contains two of YBF’s signature anti-agers, spin trap and Lipochroman 6. Use on its own or mix it with that drug store eye cream that you’ve got lying around. Suddenly, it will have antioxidant power that punches above its weight.

NB: There are no additional shipping costs on any products in the TIA shop.

Ingredients in Nurture My Body

Purified Water, Vegetable Emulsifying Wax, Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea Butter)***, Vegetable Glycerin, Euphrasia Officinalis (Eyebright) Infusion**, Lavandula Officinalis (Lavender Flowers) Infusion**, Symphytum Officinale (Comfrey Root) Infusion**, Trifolium Pratense (Red Clover) Infusion**/****, Avena Sativa (Oatstraw) Infusion**, Carthamnus Tinctorius (High Oleic Safflower) Oil**, Olive Squalane Oil, Simmondsia Chinensis (Jojoba Seed) Oil**, Chondrus Crispus (Seaweed) Extract**, Aloe Barbadensis (Aloe Vera) Gel**, Rosa Damascena (Bulgarian Rose) Hydrosol**, Calophyllum Inophyllum (Alexandrian Laurel) Oil**, Persea Gratissima (Avocado) Oil**, Borago Officinalis (Borage Seed) Oil**, Macadamia Ternifolia (Macadamia Nut) Oil**, Glycine Soja (Soy Lecithin), Matricaria Recutita (German Chamomile) CO2**, Tanacetum Annuum (Blue Tansy) Essential Oil***, Lavandula Officinalis (Lavender) Essential Oil**, Carota Sativa (Carrot Seed) Essential Oil***, Rosmarinus Officinalis (Rosemary) CO2**, Salvia Officinalis (Sage) CO2**, Citrus Paradisi (Grapefruit) Extract

Ingredients in YBF Concentrate

Reverse osmosis water, triglyceride, ppg5 ceteth-20, vitamin E, spin trap (phenyl butyl nitrone), C10-30 alkyl acrylate, crosspolymer, Lipochroman-6, triethanalomine.

Ingredients in Nutra-Lift

Deionized Water, Aloe Vera Gel, Acetyl Hexapeptide-3, Glyceryl Stearate, Vegetable Derived PEG-100 Stearate, Cetearyl Olivate, Sorbitan Olivate, Carbomer, Polysorbate-20, Palmitoyl Oligopeptide, Palmitoyl Tetrapeptide-7, Hyaluronic Acid,C12-15 Alkyl Benzoate, Butylene Glycol, Tetrahexyldecyl Ascorbate (Vitamin-C), Prunus Amygdalus Dulcis (Sweet Almond) Oil, Caprylic/Capric Triglycerides, Stearic Acid, Sesamum Indicum (Sesame) Seed Oil, Sigesbeckia Orientalis Extract, Plant Derived PPG/SMDI Copolymer, Phyllanthus Emblica Fruit Extract, Glucosamine HCl, Algae Extract, Yeast Extract, Urea, Cucumis Sativus (Cucumber) Fruit Extract, Glycrrhiza Glabra (Licorice) Root Extract, Glycerin, Theobroma Cacao (Cocoa Butter) Seed Butter, Triethanolamine, Hydrolyzed Wheat Proteins, Cococos Nucifera (Coconut) Oil, Imperata Cylindrica Root Extract, Arctostaphylos Uva Ursi Leaf (Bearberry) Extract, Xanthan Gum, Citric Acid, Mangifera Indica (Mango) Butter, Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea Butter), Retinyl Palmitate (Vitamin-A), Natural Mixed Tocophorols (Vitamin-E), Centella Asiatica (Hydrocotyl) Extract, Echinacea Angustifolia (Coneflower) Extract.

Ingredients in Dermaradiant

Deionized water, ceteraryl alcohol, ceterearyl glucoside, glycerin, hesperidin methyl chalcone, montmorillonite, steareth 20, dipeptide-2, palmitoyl tetrapeptide-3, caprilyc/capric triglyceride, hydroxyethyl acrylate/sodium acryloydimethyl taurate copolymer, squalane, polysorbate 60, butylene glycol, palmitoyl oligopeptide, polysorbate 20, carbomer, sodium hyaluronate, retinol, lavender extract, licorice extract, chamomilla recutita (matricaria) flower extract, centella asiatica, euphrasia officinalis, biotin, hops extract, L-tyrosine, rosacanina fruit extract, citric acid, propylene glycol, diazolidinyl urea, methylparaben, propylparaben.

  • May 11, 2011

    by Darrell

    Hi Noel,
    You point out what is often true about many eye creams, but is certainly not the rule.

    -D.

  • May 11, 2011

    by Noel

    I'm assuming everyone here is aware that eye creams are a product of pure marketing. The only perceivable difference with the skin around the eyes is the level of sensitivity. The skin around the eyes are usually more sensitive the rest of the facial skin due to how thin it is. This is a scientific FACT. Skincare companies want people to purchase eye creams because you pay just as much, if not more for eye creams for such a smaller amount of product.

    Facial skin is much thicker than the skin around the eyes. The more deeply an ingredient is absorbed, the more efficacious it will be. Since facial skin is thicker, so facial products need to contain more of the active ingredient. I can say for a fact several skin care brands that the amount of active ingredients in their eye products are either equal or LESS than that of their facial product counterparts. The eye products are simply just more moisturizing. I learned this unfortunate reality via their training sessions for aestheticians that work in spas that carry their lines. They are taught to push the eye products because they are the products that generate the most money. Two of the several companies are Skinmedica and Skinceuticals.

    Rule to live by regarding eye creams. If you have seen a facial product that actual gives results. The results will be more dramatic when used in the eye area. Give it a shot. You will be amazed.

  • May 10, 2011

    by Oksana

    hi, Sunday
    thank you for the info
    I checked the reviews on makeupalley.com - http://www.makeupalley.com/product/showreview.asp/ItemId=54758/Replenishing_Eye_Creme/Artistry/Treatments_(Eye)
    please, let me know, if you decide to start using it.

  • May 10, 2011

    by Sunday

    Oksana! Amazing my friend ended up going back to the same eye cream she has been using for 10+ years after what was trial and error for her too. (she is 44 and has sensitive skin prone to breaking out that gets more sensitive as she ages) Anyway we are going to swap a bit & a dash and I'll see how it goes for me.

    http://www.amway.com/Shop/Product/Product.aspx/ARTISTRY--essentials-Replenishing-Eye-Creme?itemno=105531

    She found this back when her&hubby tried being AmWay reps years ago, and after they moved on THIS is one product from them she swears by...interesting, right now it is on back order.

    Thank You Oksana, I do feel radiant too:-)

  • May 9, 2011

    by Oksana

    Sunday,
    thank you so much! I, too, would love to know your friend's secret! I'll post later on my results. You do look radiant ;-)

  • May 9, 2011

    by Sunday

    Well Oksana tell you what, I'm going to give this mixture a whirl and see how it performs 'after awhile' and I'll definitely post back ~ maybe it will be a good one.

    I'm also going to ask my girlfriend who I hadn't seen for about 8mo. what she is using (whatever it is I know she bought it at Sephora, at the same time I found TIA she decided she was 'moving on up' to the big $$ store) we both were amazed at each others skin but had way too much other things to catch up on...later she texted me to comment again on how refreshed I looked, but I also said YOU look great too Girlie...now I want to know WHAT she is using because her 'crows' looked soft and supple! I'll get a dash of whatever it is, and swap some YBF AOX with her.

    Thank You for all your information Oksana!!!

  • May 9, 2011

    by Oksana

    hi, Sunday
    right now I am trying Dr.Alkaitis Organic Eye Cream - so far very good! much better than I expected in r/t fine lines and crepiness. I had a sample, and it came very handy a few days ago, when I realized that my under-eye area just could not take anymore DD. I have experienced some sort of slight itching after every application of DD; it went away each time, but left me guessing. I thought, it was because of the perfume in the cream - I asked Marta to look into it, since none of the listed ingredients point that "direction".
    Anyway, there is another eye cream that I'd like to try - Pai Echium Eye Cream. It has some great ingredients; one of them is echium seed extract, rich in GLA and stearidonic acid (type of omega 3 present in fish oil), the other one is argan oil.
    I have tried so many eye creams, including YBF Correct, Dermaxime, Nurture Your Body, etc. - none of them wooed me. On the other hand, I have been very fond of Eminence Plum Eye Cream - gentle, moisturizing, and full of excellent ingredients.
    I start feeling, that less is truly more with eye creams - the ultimate goal is to preserve and improve the turgor of under-eye skin.

  • May 9, 2011

    by Sunday

    Oksana! Yes I will post back. Right now I have this mixture on and so far so good. When I opened the little pot the mixture was still creamy and mixed, it isn't lost on me that YBF uses a airpump bottle to dispense their Antioxidants so I do hope I have no issue with the mixture tightening up and/or separating. If I were to guess I probably have about 10 days worth of mixture, assuming I only use it on my eye area =) Otherwise I will post how the mixture worked elsewhere too.

    I found this idea of Marta's for use as an eye cream when I was trying to find any YBF Antioxidants DIY ideas since my at home cream arsenal isn't as diverse as some of our fellow TIA members.

    I think I need to keep all other treatments away from my under eye area from now on...no matter how tempted I am...and stick with only hydrating/moisture creams. Lumixyl Lightening Lotion is working on my face and drying out my undereyes, but because I have a larger under eye area with small 'leopard spots' I've applied the lotion there as well. Now I am constantly trying to keep plumping up that skin again.

    Oksana what are you using for your under eyes now that you've 'moved on' from SenZen?

    To answer your specific question ~ YBF AOX added to Cellbones AOX was to get the best of both their ingredients listed and see what may happen. I do like how they blend beautifully together, nice absorption with a smooth residue that feel very moist to the touch and works really well with my make-up. The residue diminishes by the time I'm done getting ready (45 minute-ish)and the texture of my skin does seem firmer, especially on my cheeks where my little fine lines do diminish and I really like that!

    I will be moving on from Lumixyl very soon here (and reviewed) because I don't think I'm getting the full benefits due to my current Lumixyl System adherence...I just checked my eyes in the mirror and I'm a happy camper...smooth diminished lines, soft texture and what seems to be an enhanced skin firmness.

    I'm not going to jump the gun here, right now I like what I'm seeing...alot...but I'm going to keep an 'eye' on future dryness because I was really surprised when that started to happen from SenZen DD =( but my neck seems to like it.

  • May 8, 2011

    by Oksana

    Sunday,
    please, post how you get on with this "dynamic duo" - very interesting! Do you mind sharing, how YBF AOX made you other product different?
    thanks!

  • May 8, 2011

    by Sunday

    The YBF Antioxidants Concentrate has made it through the Honeymoon phase and YES! I still love it...and have been using it as my added boost for ~ well so far EVERYTHING I add it too becomes fantastic ~ my eye cream.

    Right now I've mixed the bottom of the jar remnants from Cellbones Super AOX Skin Firm Moisturizer and 1 pump YBF in a little pot and I'm going to see if they still do their magic after sitting together for how ever many days that little bit lasts me...because I already know how great they are together mixed and then immediately applied...so maybe a little time to 'gel' might be good too. It's just my little experiment ~ if it works, great, if not then I only lost 1 pump of YBF and the scrapings from the bottom of a AOX jar. But these 2 together have become my new current Eye Cream.

  • March 5, 2011

    by Jaysie

    Junko - FYI, I'm testing yet another new shampoo & conditioner from Australia and am hoping it will be review-worthy! :D

  • March 3, 2011

    by JustD

    Junko, you're a blessing! Thank you so much, everything you said hit home and I will eagerly be watching and waiting to utilize all the wisdom you shared with me here.

    Thanks so much for a wonderful response!

  • March 3, 2011

    by marta

    Hi Dennis, I think Dermaradiant will work well for puffy eyes. The lavender issue is 1) its dose dependent, so you can hope that cosmetic amounts are relatively small, 2) linalool, the compound in lavender oil, is the culprit and I am wary if I see linalool is an ingredient. My take, as I said in my post on lavender, is that I would be cautious about products with linalool and would not start rubbing pure lavender extract on my skin. But a small amount of lavender in a product is probably acceptable (at least until there is more research).

  • March 2, 2011

    by Junko

    JustD * Empathetic to the feelings * elation, floundering, and frustration when I first found TIA. I was ELATED that TRUTHFUL information was here and just started buying EVERYTHING that sounded good from the daily features. I came to realize how personal and unique routines & products are to each individual. Money, time and personality all drive this. You WILL find YOUR way, and the key here is Your Products, Your Routine and what ingredients You are looking for and what ingredients YOU are trying to avoid. Try to align yourself with others that seem similar on some level with what YOU're looking for. As you read, you'll become familiar with the community, skin types and you can always Ask. Generally regular posters and commenters will answer. I know that Mark has normal oil skin like mine so I always have interest in what he's putting on his face. Copley is young, but she often surprises me! Jaysie has hair like no-one else and if ever she finds a great hair product..I'll be buying whatever she's got! I look to Julie for neck and hands, her face is much drier than mine. Whatever she's using on her face would surely break me out. Knowledge is the power with which you'll help yourself. Use the search field and put in products, read the reviews, put in ingredients and people that you want to know about that are posting and commenting here. Put their names into the search field. We will HELP you as you start to figure out what it is YOU want to use on YOUR body. Pleading and begging on numerous posts for Marta's attention, often helps too :) WELCOME JustD!!

  • March 2, 2011

    by JustD

    I so agree with Linda, it's what I've been looking for, cuz I'm still relatively a newbie and I'm so lost with all this information. It's great to know, but how to process it and make it work well for me is another issue. I need HELP!

    I purchased the Replenish, only to find out that it's been reformulated. It seemed to help with my pores, so I purchased another one and the NutraLift Vitamin C serum as well. I also bought the YBF Antioxidant and I think it's working for me in the Mad Hippie Moisturizer I'm using, it feels wonderful going on and keeps my face feeling dewy. But honestly, I don't know if it's working the way it should or if my folk's great genes are still just kicking. LOL. I feel a bit overwhelmed by it all.

    Nevertheless, Dennis, you asked exactly what I was wondering as well. I've been trying to come up with a grocery list, one that's not redundant in doing the same things, but alas, I'm still a bit of an ingenue regarding all this. I was a woman who just slathered on a moisturizer and called it a day, now I'm trying to figure out what all of you are talking about and how am I suppose to use it and in conjunction with what. That aside, Marta, do tell us if you have any new cheap as in affordable favs that do a similar job that the big guns proclaim to. I'm in need of a good overall facial moisturizer, one that I can use and feel confident about, at least where ingredients are concerned!

  • March 2, 2011

    by Dennis

    Any new cheap favorites, Marta? I'm looking for mum and her biggest issue is bags/puffiness. She likes clinique's all about eyes, but I'm trying to steer her from dept store brands.

    I was interested in the Dermaradiant for her, but it's got lavender extract - is this not a no no (still confused on the lavender issue)? Also, I'm not thrilled with the parabens.

  • January 27, 2011

    by marta

    Hi Linda

    You make great points. We could certainly do more to give our reviewers guidelines to cover those bases. However, I think that you will find that more often than not, they do give some information on their skin or hair type, and some valiantly give their age. But we should certainly be more rigorous. In the meantime, don't hesitate to ask if you have questions about specific products.

  • January 27, 2011

    by Linda A

    Newbie here, having stumbled across this fantastic site yesterday. Big kudos to you all! I'm already planning to order two products, and forwarding links to your site to others.

    Just an observation which would help, I think, for readers trying to decide if a product is for them (at least it would me!):

    Can the reviewers state what type of skin they have had historically (oily/dry/combo) and what type of hair (fine-thin, fine-thick, coarse, curly, straight, etc.) as well as problems they've experienced with aging with respect to these? Also, the age of the reviewer (or at least an age group) would be helpful.

    The only reason I am not buying more is none of the reviews I've read specify this info, and as I can't tolerate really heavy, oily products, can't determine how they might affect me. (And of course I ALREADY have drawers full of buyer's remorse products that didn't work out--don't need to add to it!)

    Thanks!

  • August 11, 2010

    by Jan

    I would LOVE to try the eye creams. I have some sun damage from years in the Hawaiian sun
    and always hope to find the perfect eye cream.
    Thanks, Marta!

  • August 5, 2010

    by Ines

    Hi Herdis,

    I dont see any problem when Marta or anyone on TIA recommends a good brand like Nutra Lift. I particulary have tried two wonderful products from this brand, Nutra Lift Shampoo and the Herbal Nonsoap cleanser, this two are a keeper to me, and honestly I dont see why the Maximum Eye Repair wouldnt be another one. Anyway, these are only suggestions, the reader has the free will to try it or not. Some products may or may not work for me or you. ie. the Nutra Lift Conditioner didnt work for me.
    I strongly support TIA, specially when the word "affordable" appears in its articles.
    Keep the good work!
    Rgrds,
    Ines

  • July 29, 2010

    by Herdis Jensen

    Hello! It seems to me that you are very "fond of" Nutralift's products - or am I wrong?? Therefore I'm always a bit curious weather or not you really are objectiv in your ealuations??

    Take care!

    Herdis

  • July 28, 2010

    by Alison Sullivan

    I love my Arbonne RE9 eye cream, with my preferred client discount it comes to $44. I started using the orginal formal back in 2008 and now use their new formula. When I'm in a pinch I use the their other line which doesn't have the anti aging but its only $24 with discount.

  • July 27, 2010

    by marta

    Isanna, I also meant to say that we have deactivated the message board as we found the plug in used has some security issues. We are reviewing some new options.

  • July 26, 2010

    by Shyema

    Good list -- I need an eye cream that actually works and most of the ones I thought would be "good" fall into the $50+ range!

  • July 26, 2010

    by marta

    Hi Isanna

    You were showing up in the system as unverified. Check your email and you'll be asked to verify and all should be well.

  • July 26, 2010

    by Isanna

    Slightly OT: What happened to the message board. Is it no longer active? I want to ask question about peptide eye cream. Secondly, I've been trying to register and so far no luck. I've tried six times in the past few months. I get email the registration was completed but when I try to sign in, it tells me I have incorrect password or I need to enable my cookies. I know for a fact I have cookies enabled and the password is correct.
    Thank you

Join the discussion! Leave a comment below.

My Comment

Add a comment...

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...