Free shipping on all orders over $39

Five best anti-aging serums

Is a Solution for:
Sagging Skin
Reviewed by Marta January 7, 2008 11 Comments
This list of the best anti-aging serums is based on personal experience, reader recommendations and/or scientific evidence. And by the latter, I mean independent, peer reviewed research - not a trial conducted by the manufacturer.

1. Tracie Martyn's Firming Serum. I have used this for years and I really do think it gives skin a healthy glow.  It has antioxidants based on blueberries, plus peptides and a patented Glycosaminoglycan (a kind of carbohydrate that is a component of connective tissues). Very expensive at $185, but can be eked out for a good six months.

Photobucket

2. Image Skincare's Ageless Serum. I have been alternating Tracie's serum with this one made by German plastic surgeons. I have been using it for about three months now and I am really pleased with the results. The key ingredients are a blend of glycolic and lactic acids. It is relatively well priced at around $80. The downside is that it is hard to find. I buy it from my esthetician, Ildi Pekar.

Photobucket

3. Boots No 7 Restore and Renew Serum. The US version of Boots' Protect & Perfect. This is the serum  that had women fighting in the store aisles after it was featured on a BBC documentary and subjected to scientific tests that proclaimed it far better than expensive alternatives and almost as good as prescription creams with tretinoin. For more background click here. A bargain at $21.99 from Target.

Photobucket

4. Alaur Rederma Cellular Energizing Serum. A good friend with great skin swears by the Alaur skin care range. Made by Park Avenue dermatologist, Albert Lefkovits, it has green tea and soy extracts. It costs $135.

Photobucket

5. Care by Stella McCartney Radiance + Youth Elixir. Generally I avoid anything that is called an elixir. However, I like Ms McCartney's approach to her skin car range. She uses organic ingredients and there are no chemicals or silicons. The packaging is simple and the range is refreshingly uncomplicated. The price isn't bad either at $60.

Photobucket
  • July 16, 2012

    by Kim

    Try Celia Wong blck current serum made such a difference with my skin also her facial mask my skin looks great

  • February 1, 2011

    by marta

    Hi JustD, I have been trying Mad Hippie's eye cream and not impressed. A review will be coming soon. One thing thing that I am trying now that seems very good is Cosmedix. I want to give it a bit longer before I write a review, but so far so good. Here's some background on it: http://truthinaging.com/face/cosmedix-affirm-looks-a-lot-like-sircuit-skin-bio-nutrient-and

  • February 1, 2011

    by JustD

    Thank you very much, Julie! I will give it a try.

  • January 31, 2011

    by Julie Kay

    Skinn Crease Release Triple Action Day Cream is lovely stuff- has Matrixyl 3000, Syn-Coll and a ton of botanicals. Here is the link: http://store.skinn.com/Crease_Release_Triple_Action_Day_Cream_p/fg-crd.htm directly to this cream. They offer three sizes w the smallest being $12.50 for 0.5oz, so you can easily afford to give this product a try and not feel vandalized. I still use this day cream, well... daily! ~jk

  • January 31, 2011

    by JustD

    ...ooooooookay, this may well be my first and last DDF product, it's Advanced something, don't have it readily available to give you the name, but you haven't said too much good here on some of the DDF products you've reviewed...I'll just sit here and wait until you tell me something good LOL.

  • January 31, 2011

    by JustD

    OMG! Ok, that's bad, just read your update on that earlier, I must get more diligent about reading ingredients and investigating them. Thanks Marta, appreciate the feedback. Ok, gotta ask this question then, cuz I'm trying to do the right thing here, I will drop the Boots, and continue with the Osmosis & YBF Antioxidants, but what face cream falls into that acceptable and AFFORDABLE bracket that I'm in. I read the Mad Hippie website, which really sounds good, but you haven't reviewed it, so don't know whether to shoot for it or not. Also, using a day cream by DDF, mixed the YBF antioxidants with it and the Replenish, and slather it on in the mornings.

    I was using Olay Regenerist, but haven't gotten any more, I'm trying to get a new routine going this year that is affordable and maintainable within my present budget. Do you have any ideas that you can share with me to help me get started a bit?

    Thank you!

  • January 31, 2011

    by marta

    Hi JustD, so much water has gone under the bridge since this round up. First, the Boots Protect & Perfect made me breakout. Secondly, there isn't much more to it than retinyl palmitate. This ingredient will make your skin very sensitive to the sun and very recent research links it to cancer. http://truthinaging.com/sun-protection/new-study-links-retinyl-palmitate-to-cancer

  • January 30, 2011

    by JustD

    Ok, still trying to stay within the budget, so prior to purchasing Osmosis Replenish, I saw this oldie, but hopefully, still a goody, while I was buying up all my organic hair products at Target a few weeks ago. I had run out of the face creams I had been using, and having read about all the 'parabens' listed in a few of them,(Olay's Regenerist and Cosmedicine and RX for brown skin), I decided to opt out and try something new. So while roaming the aisles I came across Boots’ Protect & Perfect for $22.00. I hadn't read the article above, but it was reviewed and recommended elsewhere so I grabbed a bottle. Again, don't know where is on the radar now, but it feels wonderful and keeps my skin dewy. Before purchasing Replenish and YBF Antioxidants, I noticed that waking up my face felt soft and smooth, and that's a great thing, so hopefully, with the additions of these other two products, it'll amp it up even more. Just wanted to again say thanks, for all you do!

  • July 18, 2009

    by marta

    I haven't seen the full ingredients for Elite Serum, but the actives look good: <a href="http://www.truthinaging.com/face/whats-really-in-the-botox-in-a-jar-formulas/" rel="nofollow">argireline</a>, tetrapeptide-7, <a href="http://www.truthinaging.com/eyes/what-is-it-eyes/eyeliss-a-cheap-and-effective-solution-for-puffy-eyes/" rel="nofollow">eyeliss</a>, hyaluronate. Although nothing really stands out as new and exciting. It will depend on whether they are using good concentrations and what else is there. It's expensive at $90, so I'd want to see a full ingredients list before I committed and I can't find one on the website.

  • July 17, 2009

    by Karla

    Have you ever heard of Elite Serum? It's been getting rave reviews all across the web.

  • May 20, 2009

    by judy carter

    have you evaluated any of the Obagi or Environ products?
    Thank you, Judy

Join the discussion! Leave a comment below.

My Comment

Add a comment...

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...