Free shipping on all orders over $39

Five Best antiwrinkle serums for 40 and 50-somethings

Is a Solution for:
Sagging Skin
August 18, 2010 Reviewed by Marta 35 Comments

It has been over a year since our last Five Best antiaging serums for 40 and 50-somethings.  And, ahhh, how things have moved on since then! Looking back, I found that they were all good products. But how many of them would be superseded by finds made during the last 12 months? Before embarking on the exercise, I was willing to guess most of them. We’ve had a great year for finding really effective antiaging serums. OK, so these are not the cheapest (check back next week for the best antiaging serums for under $50), but if, my fellow wrinkle warriors, you need the heavy guns at least one of these should be in your arsenal.

Before I proceed with the new Five Best, I need to mention that Skinceuticals CE Ferulic was one of last year’s top picks. Not anymore. Not only has Skinceuticals jacked up the price by $50, we found a near identical formula by CSS for $100 less! I have since revisited another 2009 pick, Medik8, and think it has been surpassed by new finds. As far as ReLuma goes, I really need to try it again to see how it stacks up. And, while I still believe the Circadia is a good product, if you are in the market for something that costs $150 or more, then I think we have found even better. Read on:

E’shee Cellular Repair Serum ($179 in the TIA shop). This serum is hugely beneficial for rosacea, broken veins and deep wrinkles. The key active is the cutting edge FGF 1 (a Recombinant Human acidic Fibroblast Growth Factor). FGF1 is rather bossy and signals FGF2 to get on with fibroblast growth and collagen production, hyaluronic acid and elastin, while getting FGF7 to get busy with hair follicles and grow hair. FGF7 is also responsible for keratinocyte resulting in rejuvenated skin. They also support angiogenesis, which is the growth of new blood vessels. Is this why my broken veins seem to be diminishing? The horse chestnut is the repair for broken capillaries. Horse chestnut trees (particularly the seeds) contain a saponin called escin. This is supposed to strengthen veins and capillaries by blocking an enzyme called hyaluronidase, which can breakdown of proteoglycans (part of the structure of capillary walls). The only other botanical is mulberry. This is typically used in skincare as a whitener. Studies have been shown mulberry leaf extract to inhibit tyrosinase activity. Additionally, several phenolic flavonoids, such as gallic acid and quercetin, and fatty acids, such as linoleic acid and palmitic acid, have been isolated from its leaves. With sodium lactate and lactic acid providing exfoliation and sodium hyaluronate, this formulation covers most bases. This is an expensive potion for 10 ml or 0.34 fl oz., so I target it only where really needed - deep wrinkles and areas of rosacea prone skin with some tiny broken veins. The results are very impressive. Full review of E'shee.

Skin Nutrition Cell CPR ($173 in the TIA store). I just bought a second bottle of this with my own hard earned cash. Skin Nutrition, the maker of Cell CPR says “if our skin came with a manufacturer’s maintenance elixir, Cell-CPR™ is what it would have come with!” I’d have to say that my skin agrees with this bold claim. When I was on a regime of Cell CPR and Osmosis Replenish, I got compliments.  Skin Nutrition’s philosophy is that skin cells are complex things made up of phospholipids, proteins (enzymes, oligopeptides, amino acids), oligosaccharides, oxygen, vitamins and minerals. And so, therefore, is Cell CPR with a whopping 70 or so ingredients. The peptides are especially worth a call out: hexanoyl dipeptide-3 (which is lecithin and norleucine Acetate) activates skin cell regeneration by stimulating the natural desquamation process of the skin, leading to a gentle peeling. Rh-oligopeptide-1 (Egf) is a recombitant human epidermal growth factor. I have seen it in hair growth products and, apparently, it also repairs wrinkles and wounds. More familiar to me is another wound healer, copper tripeptide (also known as copper GHK). One of the most fascinating ingredients is adenosine triphosphate (ATP). It is the main energy source for the majority of cellular – and muscular – functions. This includes the synthesis of DNA. Full review of Skin Nutrition Cell CPR.

KaplanMD Perfecting Serum. KaplanMD’s range is based on what the good doctor calls his 10-3-1 Concept. “There are ten active ingredients per product, to prevent and treat all three types of skin aging, in one concise and synergistic line.” The idea is that the formula uses intensive concentrations of these actives so that you don’t need to use loads of different products (mind you, he has day creams, night creams, toners and whathaveyou like anyone else). Unlike many serums, KaplanMD’s is very hydrating. This is surely due to the fact that this product is a whopping 50% sodium hyaluronate with a helping hand from glycosaminoglycans. The ten actives include Dr Kaplan’s signature black cohosh, which along with grape and soy, is supposed to counteract to depletion of estrogen that women experience as they age and is one of the three causes of skin aging identified by Dr K. Phytogenic (plant derived) hormone therapy is widely touted as a way or women to control hormonal imbalance. Full review of Kaplan MD and reader review.

Osmotics Lipofill ($85 in the TIA shop) is designed to target the labial nasal lines. When I use it, I definitely see an improvement. As well as sodium hyaluronate, there is saccharide isomerate, which works as a moisture regulator by binding to the free amino groups of lysine in the keratin of the outer layer of the epidermis. At the forefront of Lipofill is rye seed. Rich in arabinoxylans that are responsible for the cohesion and mechanical resistance of the plant, Rye extract is said to act as an internal tensor and boosts the skin’s abilities to firm and lift. Artemisia abrotanum, known as wormwood, contains four flavenols with spasmolytic activities. Spasmolytic is a type of muscle relaxer and so could be playing a role here as a kind of natural Botox. There is also the tried and trusted peptide, Matrixyl, plus tripeptide 1. Full review of Lipofill.

Your Best Face Restore ($120). Restore is a lovely product that lives up to its name. Expect skin to be both soothed and brightened. Vitamin C and alpha arbutin will refine the complexion, while antioxidant spin trap and vitamin B (niacin) prepare you for the long haul. Lipochroman 6 is a form of vitamin E that, according to Lipotec who makes lipochronan-6, does a significantly better job of fending off oxidative stress than resveratrol, the antioxidant component of grapes. I turn to Restore again and again, especially if my skin is out of sorts. Over time it will help fade discoloration and hyperpigmentation, as well as smooth out wrinkles. Full review of Restore.

Ingredients in KaplanMD

Water (aqua), Sodium Hyaluronate, Glycerin, Propylene Glycol, Glycosaminoglycans, Gylceryl Acrylate/Acrylic Acid Copolymer, Butylene Glycol, Soy Isoflavones Aglycones, Vitis Vinifera (Grape) Seed Extract, Cimicifuga Racemosa (Black Cohosh) Root Extract, Lecithin, Phospholipids, Maltodextrin, Polysorbate 80, Peg-40 Hydrogenated Castor Oil, Tocopherol, Palmitoyl Oligopeptide, Palmitoyl Tetrapeptide-3, Algae Extract, Yeast Extract, Carnosine, Silybum Marianum Fruit Extract, Glucosamine HCI, Pisum Sativum (Pea) Extract, Glycyrrhiza Glabra (Licorice) Extract, Hydrolyzed Wheat Protein, Dipotassium Glycyrrhizate, Polysorbate 20, Urea, Carbomer, Xanthan Gum, Sodium Chloride, Phenoxyethanol, Methylparaben, Ethylparaben, Butylparaben, Propylparaben, Isobutylparaben, Fragrance

Ingredients in Lipofill

Purified water, caprylic/capric triglyceride, rye seed extract, butylene glycol, artemisia abrotanum extract, isohexadecane, BIS-PEG/PPG-14/14 Dimethicone, ethylene/propylene/styrene copolymer, cyclopentasiloxane, sodium hyaluronate, xanthan gum, tripeptide-1, saccharide isomerate, ethylhexyl palmitate, tribehenin, sorbitan isostearate, palmitoyl oligopeptide, oat kernel, squalane, stearic acid, glycerol stearate, cetyl alcohol, dimethicone, PEG-100 stearate, tocopheryl acetate (vitamin E), ascorbic acid (vitamin C), carbomer, disodium EDTA, diazolidinyl urea, iodopropynyl butylcarbamate, tromethamine.

Ingredients in E’shee

Aqua, Hamamelis Virginiana (Witch Hazel) Distillate, Propylene Glycol, 1.3 Butylene Glycol, Aesculus Hippocastanum (Horse Chestnut) Seed Extract, Glycerin, Morus Alba (Mulberry) Extract, Tinocare GL, PEG-40 Hydrogenated Castor Oil, Sodium Lactate, Sodium Hyaluronate, Triethanolamine, D-Panthenol, Lactic acid, Carbomer, Allantoin, Phenoxyethanol, FGF 1 (Recombinant Human acidic Fibroblast Growth Factor).

Ingredients in Cell CPR

Water (Aqua), Glycerin, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Dipropylene Glycol, Cyclopentasiloxane, Lecithin, Hydrogenated Lecithin, Vitex Agnus Castus Extract, Stearic Acid, Cetyl Alcohol, Phytosphingosine, Malus Domestica Fruit Cell Culture, Ascorbyl Tetraisopalmitate, Tetrahexyldecyl Ascorbate, Tocopherol, Tocopheryl Acetate, Steareth-21, Panthenol, Retinyl Palmitate, Cyclodextrin, Hexanoyl Dipeptide-3, Norleucine Acetate, Centella Asiatica Extract, Lycium Barbarum Fruit Extract, Rh-oligopeptide-1 (Egf), Rh-polypeptide-1 (Bfgf), Copper Tripeptide-1, Dimethicone/Vinyl Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Peg-12 Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Sodium Polyacrylate, Carbomer, Xanthan Gum, Isohexadecane, Polysorbate 60, Butylene Glycol, Arctostaphylos Uva Ursi Leaf Extract, Mitracarpus Scaber Extract, Superoxide Dismutase (Sod), Saccharomyces Ferment Lysate Filtrate, Sodium Hyaluronate, Hydrolyzed Vegetable Protein, Adenosine Triphosphate (Atp), Yeast Polysaccharides, Acetyl Tyrosine, Proline, Oleyl Alcohol, Dioscorea Villosa (Wild Yam) Root Extract, Glycine Soja (Soybean) Sterols, Perfluorodecalin, Ceramide 3, Rhodochrosite Extract, Hematite Extract, Phaeodactylum Tricornutum Extract, Citrus Aurantium Bergamia (Bergamot) Fruit Oil, Sodium Pca, Trehalose, Allantoin, Peg-32, Hydroxyethylcellulose, Olea Europaea (Olive) Fruit Oil, Simmondsia Chinensis (Jojoba) Seed Oil, Steareth-2, Peg-30 Dipolyhydroxystearate, Alcohol,Disodium Edta, Sodium Hydroxide, Phenoxyethanol, Caprylyl Glycol, Ethylhexylglycerin, Hexylene Glycol.

Ingredients in Restore:

Reverse osmosis water, ascorbyl tetraisopalmitate (vitamin C), alpha arbutin, ppg5 ceteth-20, vitamin B5, dimethyl isosorbide,niacin, spin trap (phenyl butyl nitrone), vitamin e, c10-30 alkyl acrylate crosspolymer, sodium hyaluronate, polysorbate-20, Lipochroman-6(dimethylmethoxy chromanol), triethanolamine, paraben du

  • March 1, 2011

    by Pam

    Oh, sorry Marta and Julie Kay, I did not see that you both had posted again also. I will let all know how it goes on the side by side because both sides of my face are pretty much equal in their issues I guess you would say, LOL. Julie, I might still look into YBF Defend later also. I am not against trying all to find what I really like. I did go to their site to look at it and it does sound good.

  • March 1, 2011

    by Pam

    I meant to add Junko that UPS shows I should get them Friday so will probably start Sat since our UPS usually does not come until end of day but will keep you informed via this page. I just better actually write down which side I am going to use which product on or I will forget and go back and forth, LOL.

  • March 1, 2011

    by Pam

    Junko, I did break down and buy both and both have been shipped so I think when I do get them I will do a side by side because even for me with buying those expensive a product, I should know what I think of both instead of layering them and not knowing what I think of each individually. May not be getting the advantage of both that way all over the face but again, I really should know how each of them is doing. I read another article somewhere that claimed they were good in conjunction with each other because each has different products (except both have the FGF 1 luckily) and do different things.

    I found out they have various cleansers and toners and sunblocks and even makeup they use in their salons that they developed because she said they could not find any cleansers and toners and sunblock, etc, they thought were up to the standards they wanted for their salons (I think she just meant they did not have the "formulas" they want personally for their salon since they use it also of course and not because others had no value) but said they aren't up for sale yet on the site but because of so many requests, they are going to try and do that by the end of the year. Doesn't mean all will like their formulas either but they do have their own formulas based on what they like or want.

  • February 28, 2011

    by Junko

    Pam! I'm thinking about trying Bota Therapy because E'shee's Cellular Repair Serum did wonders for my eyes!! I'd be really excited to hear WHICH one YOU think is better ESPECIALLY if you do a side by side!! Side by Side on such expensive little ampoules * you'd definitely have my ATTENTION!

  • February 28, 2011

    by Julie Kay

    Pam- YBF Correct was the first YBF product I used when they had 4-5 products. At that time it wasn't established which product would benefit which age group. Then Boost came out, and I think it was then that "age specific" came into play- to be helpful. I find that some of the products, mostly the eye potions, need this age identifier more. But in the case of Defend, I think it works well into your 40s and 50s if the issues called out are in play in your skin. At any rate, Good Luck! =) ~jk

  • February 28, 2011

    by marta

    Pam, we'd love to hear how you get on with your side by side test!

  • February 28, 2011

    by Pam

    Thank you Marta. I think I read it wrong originally. I am trying both also and can let you know what I see after going through them, which may take a while if I am careful like I should with that expense. Did not intend on it, but may have to use one on one side of the face and the other on the other side to do a true test now, LOL. You have gotten me into this testing mode, LOL, after reading so many reviews. Then I might have to start on trying/testing the YBF Defend as Julie recommended, LOL.

  • February 28, 2011

    by marta

    Pam, I don't say I like it better. I pose the question I am sorry if it isn't clear, but this is what I said:
    "Do I like E’shee Bota Therapy (now in the TIA shop at $189) better than Serum Cellular Repair (which I voted a Five Best antiagers for 2010)? They are pretty similar in effect – they have an impressive smoothing effect on my skin – and in price – they are both audaciously expensive. But if I had to buy a second bottle (my first were free samples), it will be the Serum Cellular Repair and not just because it is $10 less expensive. The serum just seems to suit my skin better."

  • February 27, 2011

    by Pam

    Thanks Marta for responding because your article did say in the first paragraph that you liked the Bota better. But thanks because it is interesting to know because I think they are trying to say the Bota would get rid of big wrinkles better then the other after reading their site and the impression I got after speaking with them by email. Their description even describes it that way - that it is for the dynamic wrinkles. They don't describe dynamic wrinkles but google says it is: crow’s feet, scowl lines, forehead creases, and lip wrinkles (the bigger wrinkles). The cellular repair seems to be, per their description (and the other impression I got from them), for smaller lines and other issues. I could be getting the wrong impression from the emails but even without that, the sight seems to infer such so really glad to get another opinion. Your experience with it is good information to have. I might be trying both so if I do and have a different experience, I will let you know.

    Julie, thanks for your response. No, I have not tried the YBF Defend but I might consider it. It does seem, by the description on the site that links directly from the YBF site, and reviews I have seen by readers on here, to possibly be mainly for younger skin then mine but it does have some good ingredients so I might still consider it.

  • February 27, 2011

    by Marta

    Hi Pam, I don't think I was clear in my Bota review. It is a good product, but I like the Serum better. For me, it does a slightly better job of softening lines.

  • February 27, 2011

    by Julie Kay

    Pam: Have you tried YBF's Defend? It looks like it might help balance out your skin. ~jk

  • February 27, 2011

    by Pam

    Oops, you did review the E'shee Bota Serum. Sorry I somehow missed it in my search of your site. I know you said you liked the Bota a little better but the E'shee Cellular Repair suited your skin a little better? How was that? I know your skin sounded oily and tended to break out like mine so what made the other suit your skin better if I may ask. They claim that both are OK for oily skin!!??

  • February 27, 2011

    by Pam

    You should try out E'shee's Bota Therapy Serum also - for review at least. After you recommended the E'shee Cellular Repair serum, I looked at there site and that Bota serum sounds good also. It is just as expensive (actually $10 more) and I read somewhere that they both have various things to make them good together - if someone could afford both, LOL. I was looking at the Bota Therapy Serum and it has a lot of the ingredients we are used to seeing or want to see and more like and has that FGF-1 also, like the E'shee Cellular Repair serum. I guess it is known for helping with those big dynamic wrikles that you can get between the brows and on the forehead, on the eyes, and the upper lip and beside the mouth.

  • February 23, 2011

    by marta

    Hi Pam, first welcome aboard the TIA community. I would recommend that try <a href="https://truthinaging.com/store/Your-Best-Face-Prep-Microdermabrasion?manufacturer_id=21" rel="nofollow">Your Best face Prep</a> once or twice a week, this will help with large pores, blackheads and will exfoliate. If budget is no object then I think the E'shee will give you a good anti-aging serum that will also mend the broken veins. Sign up for our newsletter and you'll get 10% off.

  • February 22, 2011

    by Pam

    Hi Marta:

    I just recently discovered your site and have been trying my hardest to find a really good anti-aging serum that actually helps with anti-aging believe it or not, LOL. So many do nothing you find out later after reading a story on it, etc. I am 53 but probably have skin, before recently, of 5-10 years younger than that, as far as lack of wrinkles go I think (or maybe I am just denial on that issue, LOL), and I think that is mainly because I have used prescriptions strength Retin A for about 20+ years. However, I do have a few of the small broken capillaries you mention in your first product (I guess these tiny thin red little looking broken veins are that)? I have large pores and normally oily skin (unless I over use drying products) and still get acne even at my age. My skin, despite the Retin A, has been getting larger and larger pores and blackheads or debris and is still breaking out. I have started some alpha/hyrdoxy products to help with the acne and large pores and debris and I think they are helping but I would still like a really good anti-aging/anti-wrinkle serum that can be used with skin that tends to be oily and still tends to break out that would actually help with the anti-aging end based on the available science of course. I think my skin may have just grown accustom to the Retin A and needs a break or something to use maybe on different days, etc. I would find one and they would say it is too oily for your oily skin that breaks out. I looked at your 5 best anti-wrinkle ingredients article also, which led me to looking at Glo and one of theirs you have reviewed before said it would not be good for oily skin but mentioned their super serum would work for all skin types. And under that same review, I went to the Your Best Face site and it did not specify which could be used for oily versus dry skin. I think you might have mentioned under one of these products or another that you have the same type of skin that tends to be oily and break out so would you recommend specifically which one of the 5 you mention would be good for my skin type and/or issues or a different one if that is the.

  • December 29, 2010

    by marta

    Hello Medik8, I would love to see the research you mention from "top scientists". Can you reply with a link. Thanks! In the meantime, before you buy your next Skinceuticals CE Ferulic take note that CSS makes the same formula for $100 less. I am sorry you don't like Cell CPR - although you didn't mention whether you have tried it. I am on my second bottle - paid for with my own hard earned.

  • December 29, 2010

    by Medik8

    Hi Marta,

    Love teh blog as ever. Reading your best of list. I loved it last year and went and bought both Medik8 Firewall and Skinceuticals CE Ferulic. Had amazing results and very happy. The more i read scientific papers on antioxidants the more i notice top scientists repeating the same thing over and over again - you cant just mix it all together and expect additive results. Sometimes more equals less results. One very interesting paper shows how one common antioxidant is good at low doese but actually when you increase it it generates free radicals. I mean this is science and your list last year awarded the prize to companies that test their final products. They have credible scientists behind them. They publish research.

    Bit disappointed in the choice of Cell CPR in particular. Its just a mix of every ingredient known to man or woman i should say. This traps normal beauty writers but surely not you!! Has your blog been hijacked?

    The skin hasnt changed for 100 million years since the dawn on Homo Sapien evolution. Skin creams proven to work in 2009 are just as effective even if glitter and sparkles are now introduced. Ciome on Marta - ask for trials from these newcomers. You can't just get people out here to keep buying new stuff with no evidence other than a fancy list of ingredients which may or may not be better if not included.

    I am keen on growth factors but until i see real evidence, i am sticking with my two brands from last year. In any event, antioxidants have a different role and my skin has never been so good.

  • November 18, 2010

    by susanne olson

    I have tried many creams for dry and older skin, most don't penetrate enough to help wrinkles and sagging. Is there a cream with human growth factor that can help --in the 60's age range.

  • October 11, 2010

    by marta

    Hi Wendy
    You do not need a moisturizer with Cell CPR; I find it quite emollient. Replenish without the Cell CPR needs some kind of moisturizer though.

  • October 11, 2010

    by Wendy

    For dry skin, do I need another moisturizer on top of "Skin Nutrition Cell CPR" and "Osmosis Replenish"?

  • August 23, 2010

    by Laura

    Thanks Marta, I will take you up on your offer in the next couple of weeks. Much appreciated!

  • August 20, 2010

    by Junko

    I don't Twitter, but we need everyone who does to tweet this. Dr. Oz has a form on his site where he asks what it is that we want to see on his show. I'm putting in my request to see Marta on his show.
    I think we all need to help Marta get some national coverage. It's easy to put your request in here: http://www.doctoroz.com/plugger?tid=4880. If enough of us plug her we'll get her on there!

  • August 20, 2010

    by marta

    Hi Gloria, if you love the results with TNS you should stick with it. And it certainly has its fans - as we noted in our product profile. I have never tried it and I should probably do something about that.
    http://truthinaging.com/product-brands/skinmedica-tns-essential-serum

  • August 20, 2010

    by marta

    Sorry about that Jaysie, the KaplanMD ingredients should have been there. They are now.

  • August 20, 2010

    by marta

    Hi Laura

    Given OpenSky's restrictions on shipping outside the US, I am willing for you to have your orders shipped to the TIA office in NYC and then I'll send them on to you at no extra cost. Email me at marta@truthinaging.com.

  • August 20, 2010

    by Gloria

    Marta what is your opinion of the E'Shee compared to the TNS Essential Serum, which has vitamin c added to the human growth? The E'Shee is a bit less expensive but I love the results I have gotten with TNS

  • August 19, 2010

    by Laura

    Thanks Marta, I was leaning towards the Skin Nutrition and would like re-order the Replenish so that works out great. I just have to make sure TIA store is shipping to Canada; after ordering a few products I was informed that they were no longer able to ship to Canada a few months ago. Disappointing since I appreciate the deals and TIA discount.

  • August 19, 2010

    by Jaysie

    Excellent rationale, Marta. Would you mind adding the full Kaplan Perfecting Serum ingredient list to this post so I can compare it to the others? I'd like to see if it has lots of silicones. Thanks!

  • August 19, 2010

    by marta

    Hi Jaysie, the short answer is not if you like what it's doing for you. The longer answer is that relying on TNS alone is putting a lot of faith into human growth factor (See ingredients in Recovery Complex below) because that is all there is. Granted, its supposed to be a complex of HFCMs so they will signal cells to do different things (I imagine). But you aren't getting any other ingredients that would deal with the need for hydration, or with other issues eg thread veins etc. Obviously, E'shee would be a waste because that's another growth factor. I'd probably opt for KaplanMD as it has the different approach of dealing with estrogen replacement and it has loads of sodium hyaluronate. You'd certainly be covering more bases.

    Ingredients: Human Fibroblast Conditioned Media, Isoceteth-20, Ethoxydiglycol, Acrylates/C10-30 Alkyl Acrylate Crossploymer, Aminomethyl Propanol, Phenoxyethanol, Methylparaben, Propylparaben, Isobutylparaben, Butylparaben, Ethylparaben, Fragrance, Disodium EDTA, Hydroxycitronellal, Linalool, Coumarin, Alpha-isomethyl, Ionone, Geraniol, Isoeugenol

  • August 19, 2010

    by Jaysie

    Marta - Do you see any reason for adding one of the above serums if someone has recently started using TNS Recovery complex?

  • August 19, 2010

    by marta

    Laura, that's a tough question. They are all really good. I had best results with E'shee, but I think Skin Nutrition is the best value and I actually bought another bottle of that the other day. Osmosis Replenish is a great product (works well with Skin Nutrition too) and it will be one of the best for under $50 that will be posted next week.
    Also we have a great deal on <a href="http://truthinaging.com/store/index.php?route=product/product&manufacturer_id=31&product_id=77" rel="nofollow">Skin Nutrition plus Osmosis Replenish</a> (two together for $170) http://truthinaging.com/store/index.php?route=product/product&manufacturer_id=31&product_id=77

  • August 18, 2010

    by Laura

    I'm currently using the YBF Restore and once done I'd like to try one of your other recommendations. I'm 50, no major skin concerns (i.e. no rosecea, acne, scars) but usual sun damage, wrinkles (around eyes and lips)and loss of firmness, so looking to boost collagen production with best anti-aging formula. If you would recommend one of the above, which one would it be?
    Thanks Marta, (I've tried and love the Osmosis Replenish, which I am looking to buy again).

  • August 18, 2010

    by marta

    Hi Valerie
    We have written some posts on <a href="http://truthinaging.com/face/a-skin-care-regime-for-20-somethings" rel="nofollow">skin care regimens for 20-somethings.</a> Start with a great cleanser - I firmly believe that it is the foundation for good skin. Here's our <a href="http://truthinaging.com/uncategorized/five-best-facial-cleansers-december-2009" rel="nofollow">Five Best cleanser recommendations</a>. I don't think you should start building collagen before you start to stop producing it. At your age, antioxidants from natural plant ingredients are your best bet to fend off free radical damage. Check our Organic section for good brands that use anti-aging botanicals: http://truthinaging.com/category/organic

    Different growth factors do different things, but mostly they signal cells to do things. They are really to repair damage. As you don't have any yet, they are not for you.

  • August 18, 2010

    by Junko

    I love when the Best Five's get updated. I'm 2.5 weeks into using E’shee Cellular Repair Serum. Will comment on results after 6-8.

  • August 18, 2010

    by Valerie

    Hi,
    I am 25 years old with no signs of aging (Only a few fine lines around the eyes when I smile) but beside using suncreen, I wanted to start prevention (Eg.Collagen build up with peptides, moisturizing,…).Would any of thoses serums be appropriate at my age?

    I also wanted to to know at what age is it ok (Not harmful or too strong for young skin)to use Epidermal Growth Factor (EGF)and Dimethylaminoethanol or dimethylethanolamine (DMAE)?

    What exactly does Epidermal Growth Factor (EGF)do for the skin?

    Could you do a post on Epidermal Growth Factor (EGF)What are the pros and cons? Also at what age it might be beneficial to the skin?

    Thank you
    Valerie

Join the discussion! Leave a comment below.

My Comment

Add a comment...

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...