Free shipping on all orders over $39

Five Best body lotions of 2012

Five Best body lotions of 2012

Reviewed by Marta November 3, 2012 21 Comments

Click here for an updated article: Five Best for Body 2014

The ultimate body lotion has yet to be invented. By which I mean, a good anti-aging moisturizer that is a sensibly priced for the surface it is required to cover. My last Five Best body lotions was in 2010 - there weren't enough new finds last year to warrant an update. But now I am pleased to say that we have a cast that is worthy of putting under the spotlight. Here are the Five Best body lotions of 2012 that will keep your skin from chin to toe looking younger without breaking the bank:

Mukti Pink Grapefruit Hand & Body Lotion (16.9oz/$47 in the shop). Aussie brand Mukti is our new best friend for its pitch perfect natural and effective formulations. The hand and body lotion is no exception. Despite the heavy-hitting moisturizers, the lotion was not greasy and provided just the right amount of hydration for summer months. The citrusy fragrance dissipates quickly so no fear of being a mosquito magnet. The first ingredient in the lotion is aloe vera juice which, when used topically can soothe skin and serve as an anti-inflammatory. Following that, there is an abundance of oils (macadamia ternifolia, coconut, glycerin), an oil derivative (cetearyl glucoside), and butters (cocoa and shea butyrospermum parkii). Macadamia is high up the list and is amazingly nutritional - 22% of the oil is omega 7. Read Nisha’s full review

Juice Beauty Body Moisturizer ($18 for 8oz in the TIA shop). A really rich textured lotion that goes on like a dream to hydrate without being greasy. My experience with Juice Beauty Green Apple Firming Body Moisturizer is that the firming is really about crepey and wrinkly skin (my knees just drink this up). Juice Beauty has ensured that there is the useful anti-aging peptide, Matrixyl, with its collagen boosting powers. Plus there’s antioxidant green tea, borage, anti-inflammatory aloe and nourishing shea butter and honey. Not to mention, JB’s signature citrus cocktail giving it a refreshing, zesty scent.

DeVita’s Shea Butter Brulée ($23.95). has a lovely light/medium texture, and I would consider it a year-round cream. Best of all, it soaks really well into your skin and keeps you moisturized all day. Anti-aging ingredients include the peptide Matrixyl 3000, collagen, vitamin K and B. There is retinol, which would make it advisable to use this lotion at night. It has a light, fresh vanilla scent that I found soothing. (If you don’t like the smell of vanilla, then definitely avoid this.)

Skin-Lasting Super Hydrator ($29 for 6oz in the TIA shop). This multi-tasking spray comes into its own in the summer. No cream, no oil, no sweat! This is extremely moisturizing and exfoliating lotion is a light spray that is so convenient to use (plus you can use it on hands and face as well). The simple formula has glycerin, lactic acid and urea with antioxidant aloe, vitamin C and  green tea. Leaves skin feeling super soft. Read Jelena’s review

SenZen Sealed And Delivered ($44 for 6oz in the TIA shop). A 2010 Five Best Body Lotion. SenZen's Sealed And Delivered is a rich body lotion - with a light but lush mango fragrance - that leaves the skin feeling velvety, nourished and supple. There is an impressive array of antiaging ingredients. I particularly appreciate bacillus ferment, which is an unusual exfoliant. It is a bacteria with the ability to secrete a large number of enzymes that make their way into detergents and in cosmetics as an exfoliant. Bacillus ferment is supposed to be gentler than alpha hydroxy acids and confines itself to removing only dead skin cells.

Ingredients in Mukti: Certified Organic Aloe Vera (Aloe Barbadensis) Leaf Juice; Certified Organic Macadamia (Macadamia Ternifolia) Oil; Certified Organic Shea Butter (Butyrospermum Parkii); Certified Organic Coconut (Cocos Nucifera) Oil; Cetearyl Glucoside (Vegetarian); Certified Organic Cocoa Butter (Theobromo Cacao); Glycerin (Vegetarian);Sclerotium Gum; Grapefruit Seed (Citrus Grandis) Extract; Certified Organic Essential Oils of Orange (Citrus Sinensis), Mandarin (Citrus Nobilis), Tangerine (Citrus Tangerine) & Lavender (Lavandula Angustifolia)


Ingredients in DeVita: Water (purified), Butyrospermum parkii (shea butter), Capric/caprylic triglycerides (derived from coconut), Hydrolyzed Collagen (plant source), Panthenol (vitamin B5), Hyaluronic acid (vegan source), Tocopherol (vitamin E), Phytomenadione (vitamin K), Palmitoyl oligopeptide-palmitoyl tetrapeptide-3, Beta-glucan (derived from oats), Vanilla planifolia (vanilla) bean seeds, Retinol (vitamin A), Vitis vinifera (grape) seed extract

Ingredients in Juice Beauty: Organic juices of pyrus malus (organic apple juice)*, vitis vinifera (organic white grape juice)*, citrus medica limonum (organic lemon juice)*, aloe barbadensis (organic aloe leaf juice)*, vegetable glycerin, helianthus annuus (organic sunflower seed oil)*, octyl palmitate, capric/ caprylic triglycerides, glyceryl stearate, stearic acid, palmitoyl pentapeptide-4, acetyl hexapeptide-3, cetearyl alcohol, butyrospermum parkii (organic shea butter)*, simmondsia chinensis (organic jojoba seed oil)*, oenothera biennis (organic evening primrose oil)*, linum usitatissimum (organic linseed oil)*, borago officinalis (organic borage seed oil)*, xantan gum, magnesium ascorbyl phosphate (Vitamin C), allantoin, tocopherol (Vitamin E), ethylhexylglycerin, sodium benzoate, potassium sorbate, citrus reticulata (mandarin), litsea cubeba (may chang) and cinnamomum camphora (ho wood) pure essential oils * certified organic by a US Department of Agriculture approved agency

Ingredients in Skin-Lasting: Water, vegetable glycerin, lactic acid, urea (carbamide), aloe vera leaf juice, hyaluronic acid, green tea leaf extract, vitamin C, sea salt

Ingredients in SenZen: Water (Aqua), Olea Europaea (Olive) Fruit Oil, Dimethicone, Glycerin, Propanediol, Prunus, Amygdalus Dulcis (Sweet Almond) Oil, Simmonsia Chinensis (Jojoba) Seed Oil, Theobroma Grandifkorum (Cupuacu) Fruit Extract, Mangifera Indica (Mango) Seed Butter, Hydrolyzed Cottonseed Protein, Dipalmitayl Hydroxyproline, Passiflora Edulis (Passion Fruit) Seed Oil, Oryza Sativa (Rice Bran) Oil, Euterpe Oleracea (acai) Pulp Oil, Orbignya Oleifera (Babassu) Seed Oil, Silk Amino Acids, Panthenol, Jojoba Esters, Sodium Hyaluronate, SENZEN Energized Liposomal Blend, Camellia Oleifera (Green Tea) Extract, Camellia Sinensis Leaf (White Tea) Extract, Aspalathus Linearis (Red Tea) Extract, Bacillus Ferment, Montmorillonite (Trace Minerals), Linum Usitatissimum (Flax) Seed Extract, Anthemis Nobillis (Roman Chamomile) Oil, Pelargonium Graveolens (Geranium) Oil, Lavandula Angustifolia (Lavender) Oil, Citrus Aurantifolia (Lime) Oil, Polyacrylate-13, Polyisobutene, Polysorbate 20, Talc, Xanthan Gum, Ethylhexylglycerin, Phenoxyethanol, Fragrance (Parfum), Ferric Ferrocyanide (Cl 77510), D&C Red No. 30 (CI 73360).

  • August 14, 2012

    by Laurie Morris

    I would love to find something that will keep my calves crepey skin hydrated without being greasy. Still searching for my go to body lotion/ cream. I'd love to test and review, Marta!

  • August 13, 2012

    by Oksana

    100% Pure body lotions deserve honorary mention here. The ingredients are impeccable, the texture is very pleasant, and the results are: deep moisture sans oiliness even in the most hot and humid conditions, fading disolorations, improved skin turgor.

  • July 7, 2012

    by Julie Kay

    Marta- you've presented quite the conundrum! I'm drawn to Skin-Lasting for its convenience. I often don't later my legs and other body parts simply because it's a bore. BUT then you've presented DeVita which has Matrixyl 3000! At my age I believe all my skin needs this marvelous anti-ager active. THEN you say Juice Beauty is "is really about crepey and wrinkly skin." Now really! How am I to choose!!??!!! And before the end of the day... But I still love you. ~jk

  • July 6, 2012

    by Ann

    Well, if you need some cellulite to test creams on I'm the girl for you! I have the perfect thighs for that.... ;)

  • July 4, 2012

    by Marta

    Hi Nancy, I just wanted to say congratulations on losing 50lbs - no mean achievement

  • July 4, 2012

    by Ann Rude

    I love that Skinlasting spray. I find it very convenient after a shower. And with it being a spray, you can get that hard-to-reach area between your shoulder blades. I just spray it right on while I'm still damp. It's not messy or greasy and while sometimes it's a little stingy at first (the sea salt?), it dries quickly and is amazingly moisturizing and suppling. For more intense moisture, on areas like elbows and feet, I've just discovered Josie Maran's Argan Balm. It's a lovely little pot which is completely unscented. It can be a bit greasy on your palms for a few minutes, but soaks in and really softens. It can also be a lip balm and hair smoother. Just my 2 cents!

  • July 4, 2012

    by Valerie Perkins

    I have been thinking about trying the Devita Body Lotion and now am sure I will. I'm very sensitive to smells; however, the good news is that I found it also comes in an unscented version. Thought I would pass this along for others like me.

  • July 4, 2012

    by imelda

    Leave it to TIA to find only the best and weed out the undesireables. It's so amazing how there are so many products that claim to do wonders and manage to sell inspite of the unpleasant additives and preservatives. So thankful for TIA's diligence in providing thorough information and engaging readers to contribute in promoting the TRUE winners. The Prana Spaceuticals Attar firming body milk sounds like a contribution to the all around preservation of skin's moisture and elasticity. Surely, that would be worth a try and may just be good value for one in a tizzy for which product to choose, such as "moi"!

  • July 3, 2012

    by Nancy Goodman

    I never used body lotion until 5 years ago when I lost 50 pounds...and all of a sudden my skin was showing the damage from the extra weight. I have tried quite a few lotions and some have better results than others. I would like to try the Prana SpaCeuticals’ Attar Firming Body Milk because it is supposed to minimize cellulite.

  • July 3, 2012

    by Ashley

    I would definitely like to try some samples as I have very dry skin. nothing seems to last very long.

  • July 3, 2012

    by Jan

    Was there an offer extended by Marta to be a tester for one of these listed products? I did not see that in her review.

  • July 3, 2012

    by Dennis

    When I first saw the title of this post, I thought to myself I hope skin lasting at least gets a mention! so glad to see it's actually one of the top "lotions!"

    Meanwhile, I would love to use every one of these, but the prices for 6-8 ounces are not realistic for my budget.

    My go to bargain body lotion is Alba Maximum with AHA's, and some other nice ingredients such as shea butter, vitamin c & e, green tea, and grape seed oil. It's also only $20 for 32 ounces.

    http://www.albabotanica.com/body/body-moisturizers/maximum.html

  • July 3, 2012

    by Ronnie

    I would like to know about this Prana product a few of you are talking about. I don't see it here. I have tried the Juice Beauty product and did not like it for some reason, but I can't remember why. Its may have been the fragrance.

  • July 3, 2012

    by Helen Showard

    I have always used lotions with natural ingredients that hydrate and restore the natural moistures to your body. As I get older it is becoming hard to find one that last all day and is not oily.

  • July 3, 2012

    by Sara

    I would be very grateful to receive a sample of something that really works. I apply lotion frequently and haven't yet found one that hydrates my dry skin for more than a short time and doesn't feel greasy.
    My thanks!

  • July 3, 2012

    by Susan S.

    Hi Marta,
    I was selected to test another product but when I found it contained Argireline, which I'm staying away from, I offered to let someone else test instead, so I'd love to try this as my alternate.

    I just turned 56 and have quite crepey inner arms and though I'm slender, I have some quite ambitious thigh cellulite that has decided to expand from back thigh to inner thigh and now above my knees as well. Ouch!

  • July 3, 2012

    by Debbie

    Hi Marta,

    I would love to try a nice Body Moisturizer -
    Prana SpaCeuticals’ Attar Firming Body Milk sounds great. Thank you for all the information you provide on your site.

  • July 3, 2012

    by Stephanie Peterson

    So, perimenopause has hit me like a ton of bricks, and I'm just shy of 40.
    I feel like more of a science experiment now than when I was pregnant with my son.
    My skin is one place where this is really showing, I exercise but there is some slack that shows, and don't get me started on cellulite. Dryness, check. KP that won't go away no matter what I try, check. Exfoliate and still dull, check.
    Trying to find something that can tackle these issues and still be more nature than chemical? Still looking...
    I Dare, I Dare! Pick Me!

  • July 3, 2012

    by Tara

    I have yet to religiously use a body cream (I occasionally rub on Olay's quench because it has niacinimide) but looking in the mirror at my knees, thighs and backside, it's obviously time to start! I can appreciate Juice Beauty's firming properties (may even order some with my next purchase) but could really use Prana's anti-cellulite ingredients. Hopefully I can provide some anecdotal evidence to confirm the findings on glaucine (ingredient that is supposed to help with cellulite). Little help here please?! :)

  • July 3, 2012

    by Jo

    Thank you. Body moisturizers are something I seriously neglect, and it's starting to show.

  • July 3, 2012

    by Sandra

    Juice Beauty's Green Apple Firming Body Moisturizer is my all time favorite! It's super hydrating and it makes my skin look tighter!

Join the discussion! Leave a comment below.

My Comment

Add a comment...

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...