Free shipping on all orders over $39

Five Best Eye Creams 2011

Five Best Eye Creams 2011

Reviewed by Marta June 27, 2011 36 Comments

I love updating our Five Best roundups as they remind me of all our new greatest finds and every year the quality just gets better and better – a tribute to how the cosmetic industry (at least at the boutique end) is improving, as well as to the ever demanding standards of the Truth In Aging community. The 2011 Five Best eye creams herald in some new and notables as well paying tributes to those that stand the test of time.

SenZen Double Dose ($84 in the TIA shop). Deservedly a new entry to Five Best eye creams, Double Dose was launched only last year and already has a lot of love from  TIA users (eg see Sunday’s review ). A dense cream that is nonetheless gentle and massages in easily. This is super hydrating for eye area skin that has become dry. Its mostly natural ingredients include fatty acid rich macadamia and copuacu with lots of antioxidant flavonoids. Dipalmitoyl hydroxyproline, a plant-derived amino acid that provides firming action to the skin. There is also a collagen-boosting peptide, tetrapeptide-17. Read my review for more on SenZen Double Dose.

ReLuma Eye Cream ($95). Another impressive new launch that is Five Best worthy. The key active is obviously ReLuma’s signature stem cell conditioned media, a complex of growth factors that signal cells to go off and do good things such as repair wrinkles or wounds. I have also found ReLuma good for puffy eyes due, I imagine, to Eyeseryl. This is the marketing name for a peptide that is supposed to reduce water retention and ensure lymph drainage, while protecting collagen from cross-linking and causing baggy eyes. Eyeliss also helps puffy eyes. ReLuma touches all bases with haloxyl, a dark circle fader, peptides for inhibiting expression lines as well as collagen forming (Matrixyl 3000). Read my full review on ReLuma Eye Cream.

La Vie Celeste Restorative Rose Hydrosol Eye Cream with R-Lipoic Acid ($60 in the TIA shop). La Vie Celeste is a line that really manages to balance high quality natural/organic ingredients, a luxurious feel and effectiveness. The eye cream does a very good job of hydrating the eye area and helping smooth creepy skin. While perfect for 30-40-somethings, when pushed some of us more mature types felt that it lacked a bit of oomph. La Vie Celeste responded by bringing in the heavy guns in the form of an anti-aging ingredient called ChronoLine based on the peptide, caprooyl Tetrapeptide-3.  It works with laminin 5, a glycoprotein in our bodies that plays a key role in the epidermal basement membrane (think scaffolding).  Of course, the new formulation still has R-lipoic acid, a chirally correct form of alpha lipoic acid, a “universal antioxidant”.  There’s a host of other good things including skin brightening bearberry. Read my review of La Vie Celeste

Your Best Face Correct ($153 in the TIA shop). Yep, its still a Five Best. For the simple reason that I have a newly bought one in my bathroom cabinet and still turn back to it. Plus, the vast majority of those that try Correct become converts too. It is especially good for smoothing crepy skin and fading dark under circles, as well firming the eyelid. A peptide powerhouse with expression line inhibitor, snap-8, collagen building syn-ake and Matrixyl-3000. There’s soothing cucumber and antioxidant raspberry. Hyperpigmentation is held in check by alpha arbutin. At the cutting edge, there is Sepilift, a plant derived amino acid that boosts collagen and the radical scavengers spin trap and lipochroman-6. Rediscovering Your Best Face with Emily. According to numerous reviewers, Your Best Face’s newest eye cream Refresh, also does a great job – especially if you don’t yet need Correct’s heavy guns.

Osmotics Renovage Cellular Eye Repair Cream ($78).  Star of the show here is teprenone (also known as Renovage) and behind some cutting edge research on theories of aging. Renovage/teprenone is supposed to stabilize things called telomeres. It’s pretty complex and you can read more in my post on telomeres, but in a nutshell, they allow cells to distinguish chromosome ends from broken DNA. Osmotics has another ingredient that may help extend the hayflick limit, carnosine. There are plenty of independent studies on another ingredient here, aminoguanidine. It seems that it inhibits the cross-linking of proteins that cause signs of aging such as break down of elastin. Resveratol has been isolated from polygonum cuspidatum root extract, also known as Japanese knotweed. Read the full review.

Ingredients in SenZen Double Dose

Water, Prunus Amygdalus Dulcis (Sweet Almond) Oil, Macadamia Ternifolia Seed Oil, Cetyl Alcohol, Theobroma Grandiflorum (Cupuaçu) Fruit Extract, Glyceryl Stearate, Dipalmitoyl Hydroxyproline, Tetrapeptide-17, Passiflora Edulis (Passion Fruit) Seed Oil, Oryza Sativa (Rice Bran) Oil, Euterpe Oleracea (Acai) Pulp Oil, Orbignya Oleifera (Babassu) Seed Oil, Glycerin, Propanediol, Dimethicone, Caffeine, Phytonadione (Vitamin K), Sodium Hyaluronate, Bisabolol, Silk Amino Acids, Hydrolyzed Rice Bran Protein, Oxido Reductases, Glycine Soja (Soybean) Protein, SENZEN Energized Liposomal Blend, Dimethiconol, PEG-75 Stearate, Ceteth-20, Steareth-20, Magnesium Aluminum Silicate, Cellulose Gum, Xanthan Gum, Butylene Glycol, Ethylhexylglycerin, Phenoxyethanol

Ingredients in ReLuma Eye Cream

Human adipose derived stem cell conditioned media, DI water, acetyl hexapeptide-8, hydroxyl acrylate/sodium, acryloy dimethyl taurate copolymer, jojoba oil, glycerin, Eyeseryl (acetyl tetrapeptide-5), pentapeptide-18/caprylyl glycol, palmitoyl tripeptide-5, Eyeliss (Hesperidin Methyl Chalcone/steareth-20/dipeptide-2, palmitoyl tetrapeptide-7, polysorbate-20) Haloxyl (steareth-20 N-hydroxysucchimide/chrysin/palmitoyl oligopeptide, palmitoyl tetrapeptide-7), shea butter, DL-alpha tocopheryl acetate, squalane (olive oil), niacinamide, phenoxyethanol, dimethicone, grape fruit extract, tetrahexyldecyl ascorbate, Roxisomes (lecithin, arabidopsis thalana extract, green tea extract, sodium hyaluronate, co-enzyme Q10, alpha arbutin, licorice extract, DL panthenol.

Ingredients in YBF Correct

Reverse osmosis water, Eyeseryl (water, acetyl tetrapeptide-5), licorice root extract, Haloxyl (hydroxysuccinimide, chyrsin, palmitoyl oligopeptide, palmitoyl tetrapeptide-3), Snap-8 (water, acetyl octapeptide-3), olivem (cetearyl olivate), Matrixyl 3000 (glycerin, butylene glycol, water, carbomer, polysorbate-20, palmitoyl oligopeptide, palmitoyl tetrapeptide-3), cucumber extract, Renovage (triglyceride, teprenone), nylon-12, triglyceride, Syn-Tacks (glycerin, palmitoyl dipeptide-5, diaminobutyroyl hydroxythreonine, palmitoyl dipeptide-5 diaminohydroxybutyrate), alpha arbutin, nutmeg butter, caffeine, olive leaf extract, vitamin E, ethyhexyl palmitate, vitamin B5, dimethyl isosorbide, spin trap (phenyl butyl nitrone), Lipochroman-6 (dimethylmethoxy chromanol), Sepilift DPHP (dipalmitoyl hydroxyproline), idebenone, alpha lipoic acid, sodium hyaluronate, c10-30 alkyl acrylate crosspolymer, violet leaf absolute, oakmoss absolute, triethanolamine, paraben du.

Ingredients in LVC

Water (Aqua), Rosa Damascena (Rose) Flower Water, Prunus Armeniaca (Apricot) Kernel Oil, Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea Butter), Plumeria Acutifolia Flower Extract, Cetearyl Olivate, Sorbitan Olivate, Caprooyl Tetrapeptide-3, Sodium Hyaluronate, r-Lipoic Acid, Coffea Arabica (Green Coffee) Extract, Anthemis Nobilis (Chamomile) Extract, Cucumis Sativus (Cucumber) Extract, Arctostaphylos Uva Ursi (Bearberry) Extract, Vaccinium Myrtillus (Billberry) Extract, Spirulina Platenis Geitler Extract, Punica Granatum (Pomegranate) Extract, Camellia Sinensis (Green Tea) Leaf Extract, Olea Europaea (Olive) Leaf Extract, Retinyl Palmitate, Tocopherol (Vitamin E, Rosmarinus Officinalis (Rosemary) Leaf Extract, Heliantus Annuus (Sunflower) Seed Oil, Glycerin, Dextran, sclerotium Gum, Potassium Hydroxide, Citrus Paradise (Grapefruit) Seed Extract, Polyaminopropyl Biguanide

Ingredients in Osmotics Renovage

Purified Water, Cyclomethicone, Butyrospermum Parkii Seed (Shea) Butter, Caprylic/Capric Tryglyceride, Squalane, Teprenone, Butylene Glycol, Aminoguanidine, Decarboxy Carnosine HCL, Peumus Boldus Leaf Extract, Polygonum Cuspidatum Root Extract, Spilanthes Acmella Flower Extract, Saccharide Isomerate, Cetyl Alcohol, Stearic Acid, Glycerol Stearate, PDG-100 Stearate, Ubiquinone, Vitis Vinifera (Grape) Seed Oil, Tocopheryl Acetate (Vitamin E), Dimethicone, Zea Mays (Corn) Oil, Retinyl Palmitate, Cholecalcipherol, Oenothera Biennis (Evening Primrose) Oil, Ascorbic Acid (Vitamin C), Carbomer, Titanium Dioxide, Disodium EDTA, Diazolidinyl Urea, Iodopropynyl Butylcarbamate, Tromethamine, Phenoxyethanol.

  • August 16, 2012

    by JudeMcG

    Biggest problem, puffy under eyes...which product is best? Also, when will 2012 5 best eye creams be revealed? TY

  • November 9, 2011

    by Marta

    Hi StephanieB, I think that ReLuma is the better of the two for crepe and puffiness

  • November 9, 2011

    by StephanieB

    I recently tried Arcona (I use all of their products and absolutely love them) The Eyes Have It Regenerate PM and I had a not so pleasant experience. I may have used the product incorrectly and it burned my eye area. I went to the Arcona spa near my home and they were very nice and gave me some products to take care of the red areas. Now I am looking for a good eye cream. I am over 60 and have the crepe thing going on and puffiness. I was thinking of reluma or lift lab. Which would work better? Thank you.

  • November 9, 2011

    by Marta

    Hi Deirdre, the lightest creams in this selection would be the La Vie Celeste or ReLuma. All these creams need only be used in a very small quantity - eg the size of a lentil. Using too much can also cause milia. I hope that helps.

  • November 8, 2011

    by Deirdre

    I have had a hard time finding an under eye cream. I am 40 and have fine lines and would like to stop and prevent more - obviously. Most creams are too rich for me and give me tiny white bumps. I also just don't see any results with the creams anyway. I spend a lot of money, get bumps, and then quit. My skin is combo and I live in a very humid hot climate where I end up with pimples often. Thanks for any suggestions.

  • October 8, 2011

    by Janice

    I LOVE Venomous by Greensations. It is not specifically for the eye area, although it is safe to use in that area. The ingredients are:
    4% Syn-Ake, 3% Matrixyl 3000®, 3% PhytoCellTec® Swiss apple stem cells, 5% Venuceane®, Oleoresin Capsicum (Capsaicin), Pomegranate, Arnica, Vegetable Glycerin, Witch Hazel, Leucidal® Radish extract.
    While it hasn't totally gotten rid of the puffiness (I have another product ordered to try that, as well), it has helped some. For other areas, it has helped the 11's and the tiny lines under the corners of the mouth. At 57, I don't expect miracles, but this did give me good results.

  • October 3, 2011

    by Darrell

    Thank you Julie and indeed Lisa -- I always wish our products can be everything to everyone, so I'm sorry Correct isn't your cup of tea. I take it as feedback though that's kept top of mind any time we revisit formulas.

    Perhaps as we continually upgrade formulas Correct will become something that works well for you too.

    All my best,
    Darrell

  • October 3, 2011

    by Lisa L

    I am not a fan of YBF Correct, having found that it did not improve my fine lines and crepiness, and, overall, my under eye area felt noticeably dryer. I believe that different people have different skin types and, therefore, different needs, so what is "best" for one may not be the right product for another. (Thanks, Marta, for providing options.) I have been getting good results from using Dermophysiologique Optyma at night (the most moisturizing eye cream I have ever used) and ReLuma Eye Cream in the morning, as it also moisturizes and tightens but works better under makeup. I learned about these products--and most of the others that I use--from TIA. I love the site and really appreciate the wealth of helpful information and the store where I can conveniently purchase most of the products I need.

  • October 2, 2011

    by Julie Kay

    I have to shout out (again) YBF Correct is the best eye cream on the market. End of story. BAM! ~jk

  • October 2, 2011

    by Darrell

    Thank you Susan!
    They are great to alternate between the two. Correct is certainly the "rock star" in our lineup, but Refresh and Nourish have great potential to hold their own.

    -Darrell

  • October 2, 2011

    by Susan

    I was given a sample of Refresh. I use Correct and so augmented it with Refresh. I love using the two, alternating between them.

    Correct, I believe, has more anti-aging "power" so to speak, but Refresh seems more moisturizing, plus great ingredients, also.

    I have really enjoyed alternating the two of them. (I got this idea from another TIAer!)

  • October 1, 2011

    by Darrell

    Best of luck Nancy and thank you!

    The sampler kit Marta mentioned includes all three of our eye creams to try -- Correct, Refresh and Nourish. I hope our are a hit with you!

    -Darrell

  • October 1, 2011

    by Nancy Yang

    Thanks so much Marta! I plan on purchasing hydropeptide lash after I do a little bit more research and I've been looking into an eye cream that actually WORKS. So tired of using product after product for my puffy under eyes with no results....

    Thanks for all your honest reviews marta!

  • October 1, 2011

    by Marta

    Hi Nancy, please email samples@truthinaging.com with your shipping address - just to manage your expecations, they are not deluxe sizes but enough for you to allergy test and get a good feel for them. Also if you are interested in YBF samples then we are giving away $52 worth of YBF samples with any orders of $50 and over in the TIA shop (while stocks last).

  • October 1, 2011

    by Nancy Yang

    Hi Marta,

    Is it possible to get samples of any of these products? I'm interested in the ReLuma and Your Best Face Correct. I googled for samples online but couldn't find anything...let me know!

    Thanks :)

  • September 16, 2011

    by Marta

    Hi Dawn, I don't use anything around my eyes at night. It's too easy to rub your eyes and spark off an irritation. So mornings only.

  • September 16, 2011

    by Dawn Taylor

    Marta,
    I agree with you on the florescent lights!! Thank you so much for the offer of a Correct sample, I can't wait to try it! Do you use the Correct AM & PM? Thanks again!

  • September 15, 2011

    by Marta

    Hi Dawn, I make a point of NEVER looking in a mirror under florescent lights. Anyway, I do think Correct will help. The other one that is less good for fine lines, but does do a good tightening job is Dermophysiologique Optyma. Please email us at samples@truthinaging.com and I'll try to get you a sample of Correct

  • September 15, 2011

    by Dawn Taylor

    Hi Marta
    I'm new to your site and love it! Thanks for all the great information. I am 42 and look much older due to my much hated, hereditary under eye bags. Especially in florescent lights...which are almost everywhere! Of course I've got some lines too, but really if I could improve the bags I'd be a happy camper! I know surgery is the only way to get rid of them, but could your recommend a product that might help? I was thinking about trying the YBF Correct you noted in this article, but it is pretty pricey and I wanted to make sure it was a good choice for my problem. I hate to think about all the money I've wasted over the years on products that didn't work at all just for my baggage! Thanks so much!

  • July 1, 2011

    by Marta

    Hi Melissa, I have used all of these on the lids and entire eye area.

  • July 1, 2011

    by Marta

    Hi JustD, SenZen doesn't have any left and we are still waiting for them to tell us when we can expect more. As soon as we are confident that they are in production, we'll set up a pre-order with the discount. We'll keep you posted.

  • July 1, 2011

    by JustD

    Marta, I was going to order the SenZen Dbl Dose, but you appear to be out, I'm going to miss the 20% off ;( Can you tell me when you'll be getting more in? Thanks!

  • June 30, 2011

    by melissa

    Hi -Can anyone tell me if any of the 5 are safe for the upper eye lid? Due to allergies and sinus issues I have very dry upper eye lids. Thanks!

  • June 30, 2011

    by LIna Jacobson

    Marta, thank you I'll let you know!!!!!!

  • June 30, 2011

    by Deborah

    Thanks, Marta - I will order ReLuma now and let you know how it goes!

  • June 30, 2011

    by Marta

    Hi Lina, I would try ReLuma. They provide the Osmosis StemFactor ingredient whit label, but use additional growth factors here so it is more potent.

  • June 30, 2011

    by LIna Jacobson

    Hi, I love the summary. I want an eye cream for the creepy under eye area. For the review, would that be the La Vie. I'm drawn to the ReLuma because I use Osmosis StemFactor....help. I want to take advantage of the 20% off offer!

  • June 29, 2011

    by Marta

    Hi Deborah, how about the ReLuma eye cream? Also, Penny's review of LiftLab's eye cream suggests it is worth trying - it sounds as if it will be a Five Best next time around. http://truthinaging.com/eyes/liftlab-lift-firm-eye-cream-reader-reviewed

  • June 29, 2011

    by Deborah

    Thanks for the list. I have tried YBF Correct, and liked it but just went through it too fast for the price. I also tried Osmotics Renovage but have stopped using it after weeks of really irritated eyes. On occasion, I will use it before bed, but can't use it in the morning because it's very uncomfortable. Has anyone else had that problem? I hate to be a wet blanket :(

    At 51, I definitely need to find a miracle cure. I may try SenZen. Right now, I am using Arbonne eye cream, because it doesn't bother my eyes. But I also don't think it has the same restorative ingredients.

  • June 29, 2011

    by Mark

    Love the "5 Best" updates - there's always new products to put on my 'to try' lists.
    Oksana - thanks for your suggestion, too!!

  • June 29, 2011

    by Junko

    Valerie * are you using the ReLuma serum or the ReLuma Eye Cream under your eyes?

  • June 29, 2011

    by Valerie

    I've begun using the Reluma under my eyes and on my crows feet and I am seeing a difference. I was using the YBF Correct/SenZen combo under my eyes but wasn't seeing a dramatic difference, perhaps I didn't try them long enough. At any rate, I started using those two above my eyes because although, I'm ONLY 39 I had a lot of crepe . They have helped immensely with the crepe above my eye (I like wearing eye shadow again). So, Yay!!

  • June 28, 2011

    by Julie Kay

    Thanks again, Marta! If I ever waver from Correct I'll try ReLuma or Osmotics, I think... *wink ~jk

  • June 28, 2011

    by Marta

    Hi Oksanna, thanks for the tip on Pai. To what do you attribute its effects? Looking at the ingredients, it looks a bit oily for me. But perhaps that's what's working for you?
    Ingredients in Pai Eschium
    purified water, rose water*, apricot kernel oil*, argan oil*, thistle oil*, coconut and corn derived emulsifier, rosehip oil*, shea butter*, echium extract, natural vitamin e, vegetable glycerine*, corn extract, basil extract, rose geranium oil*, orange oil*, natural lactic acid (from sugar beet)

  • June 27, 2011

    by Justd

    Thanks for the update Marta. I am a true SZ Dbl Dose guru. It works for me, but thanks for giving me some other bests to they, I see several that I'm looking at as I write! As always, appreciAte all that you do on TIA.

  • June 27, 2011

    by Oksana

    I finally found an eye cream that deserves to be "shared" - Pai Echium eye cream.
    within 5 weeks the following became very noticeable:
    - under-eye crepiness NONE
    - "crows" shallow, soft, barely there
    - lasting deep hydration
    - when I smile, expression lines bounce right back - improved elastic recoil
    hypoalergenic as well.
    My neck and chest love SZ DD eye cream - too "dry" for under-eye area.

Join the discussion! Leave a comment below.

My Comment

Add a comment...

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...