Free shipping on all orders over $39

Five Best Eye Creams November 2008

Five Best eye creams - updated November 2008

Reviewed by Marta November 5, 2008 6 Comments

A good eye cream is probably the most effective weapon in one's anti-aging arsenal. Nothing will put the years on like crepe, crow's feet, drooping lids and dark circles. Fortunately, Truth In Aging's latest Five Best eye creams have got what it takes. They've all been tried, tested, pronounced the real deal and (the ultimate litmus test) we'd buy them again (and have). Interestingly, there is only one survivor from the last Five Best eye cream round up, Your Best Face Correct. Ejected are Ischia Thermae, Stem Organics, Sundari and Issimo. They are all perfectly good, but we've found better ones for resetting the clock.

IQ Derma RestorEyes Triple Zone Eye Therapy ($85). Our (not so) 'Clueless Reviewer' Julie, absolutely raved about this: "I got amazing results after the first week. Crow’s feet and lines and wrinkles have been softened by a considerable amount. It’s like they’ve been melted back into my skin. But my dark circles . . . Holy Cow." Even her husband noticed. RestorEyes has Matrixyl 3000, aminobutyric acid (also known as GABA, it inhibits movement of the facial muscles) and ceramide 2. Amongst the handful of botanicals there is portulaca oleracea (purslane), which is very high in omega-3. Personally, I'd prefer it if they could cut out the silicones, but if it works for Julie it's good enough for me.


Your Best Face Correct ($150 in the TIA shop). I'm on my second bottle of this (bought with my own money, I'll have you know) and that must tell you something. I've waxed lyrical to the point of going over the top on this and TIA readers are probably getting bored with me. So I'll just say that its cutting edge ingredients, such as spin trap, simply work. A friend of mine ordered some after we had dinner the other night and she said, "you're older than me and your skin - especially around the eyes - looks younger than mine". Not sure that I'd go that far, but I was happy to pass on YBF's details.

Derma Radiant Ageless Eyes ($39). If your budget doesn't run to Your Best Face Correct then you could do worse than give Ageless Eyes a try. Another Matrixyl 3000-based potion, this also has Eyeliss (a flavonoid and peptide combo), which is very effective against puffy bags and dark circles. There are also some useful botanicals, including a plant called eyebright. The only thing not to like is a couple of parabens.

MD Skincare Lift & Lighten ($58). Claire, who admits "nothing quite lives up to Your Best Face", highly recommends this Matrixyl 3000 eye cream. It also has dipeptide-2, which helps to improve lymphatic circulation and is especially effective for under-eye bag drainage. Alpha arbutin and vitamin K have a track record at tackling dark circles.

Gessato Eye Treatment Restoring Gel ($79). We were pleased to have come up with a good men's eye cream and this one got a rave review from Ash on behalf of her husband. In her own words: Its been over three weeks now and I have to admit that the product really works; his skin looks tighter, the fine lines have gone, dark circles have really diminished and he just looks refreshed. So last night, while he did his eyes, I popped the litmus-test question: "Sweety...enjoying yourself?" He replied "...I already ordered another one...Baby." A signature ingredient in Gassato is eleutherococcus senticosus, a faux ginseng that is antioxidant and anti-inflammatory.

Ingredients in IQ Derma RestorEyes


Water, Cyclopentasiloxane, Dimethicone, Butylene Glycol, Prunus Amygdalus Dulcis (Sweet Almond) Oil, Polysilicone-11, Aminobutyric Acid, Barium Sulfate, Behenoyl Stearic Acid, Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea Butter), Cetyl PEG/PPG-10/1 Dimethicone, C12-15 Alkyl Benzoate, Ceresin, PEG-30 Dipolyhydroxystearate, Silica, Borax, Glycerin, DMDM Hydantoin, Di-C12-15 Alkyl Fumarate, Iron Oxides, Titanium Dioxide, Sodium Chloride, Centella Asiatica Extract, Panax Ginseng Root Extract, Portulaca Oleracea Extract, Steareth-20, Palmitoyl Oligopeptide, Ceramide 2, PEG-10 Rapeseed Sterol, Tribehenin, Chrysin, N-Hydroxysuccinimide, Palmitoyl Tetrapeptide-7, Iodopropynyl Butylcarbamate, Ormenis Multicaulis Oil, Rosa Damascena Extract.

Ingredients in YBF Correct
Reverse osmosis water, licorice root extract, snap-8 (acetyl glutamyl hexapeptide-3), pepha-timp (polypeptide), cucumber extract, simugel (C16H34), syn-ake (tripeptide), haloxyl (hydroxysuccinimide, chrysin, palmitoyl oligopeptide (and) palmitoyl tetrapeptide-3), nutmeg butter, matrixyl 3000 (palmitoyl oligopeptide, palmitoyl tetrapeptide-3), dimethyl isosorbide, alpha arbutin, cyclomethicone (and) dimethicone copolyol, ethyhexyl palmitate, spin trap (phenyl butyl nitrone), glycerine, l-proline, provitamin B5, raspberry seed extract, alpha lipoic acid, sepilift DPHP (palmitoyl-1, palmitoyloxy-4 proline), triglyceride, paraben du, sodium hyaluronate, caffeine, cetearyl isononanoate, ceteareth-20, cetearyl alcohol, glyceryl stearate, cetyl palmitate, ceteareth-12, vitamin e, BHT, olive leaf extract, vitamin a, violet leaf extract, oakmoss absolute.

Ingredients in Derma Radiant Ageless Eyes

Deionized water, ceteraryl alcohol, ceterearyl glucoside, glycerin, hesperidin methyl chalcone, montmorillonite, steareth 20, dipeptide-2, palmitoyl tetrapeptide-3, caprilyc/capric triglyceride, hydroxyethyl acrylate/sodium acryloydimethyl taurate copolymer, squalane, polysorbate 60, butylene glycol, palmitoyl oligopeptide, polysorbate 20, carbomer, sodium hyaluronate, retinol, lavender extract, licorice extract, chamomilla recutita (matricaria) flower extract, centella asiatica, euphrasia officinalis, biotin, hops extract, L-tyrosine, rosa canina fruit extract, citric acid, propylene glycol, diazolidinyl urea, methylparaben, propylparaben.

 

Ingredients in MD Skincare Lift & Lighten

 

Water, C12-15 Alkyl Ethylhexanoate, Glycerin, Simmondsia Chinensis (Jojoba) Seed Oil, Hydroxyethyl Acrylate/Sodium Acryloyldimethyl Taurate Copolymer, Aminobutyric Acid, Fragrance, C12-15 Alkyl Benzoate, Silica, Cholesterol, PEG-40 Stearate, Tocopheryl Acetate, Alpha-Arbutin, Magnesium Ascorbyl Phosphate, Retinyl Palmitate, Hesperidin Methyl Chalcone, Tocopherol, Phytonadione, Quercetin Caprylate, Daucus Carota Sativa (Carrot) Root, Epilobium Angustifolium Flower/Leaf/Stem Extract, Hydrolyzed Rice Bran Protein, Arnica Montana Flower Extract, Glycyrrhiza Glabra (Licorice) Root Extract, Pearl Powder, Phyllanthus Emblica Fruit Extract, Pueraria Lobata Root Extract, Glycine Soja (Soybean) Oil, Polysorbate 60, Squalane, Sorbitan Stearate, Ceteraeth-20, Stearyl Alcohol, Acrylates/C10-30 Alkyl Acrylate Crosspolymer, Cetearyl Alcohol, Steareth-20, Caprylyl Glycol, Butylene Glycol, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Chlorphenesin, Tetrasodium EDTA, Palmitoyl Oligopeptide, Ceramide 2, PEG-10 Rapeseed Sterol, Sodium Hydroxide, Tribehenin, Phytic Acid, Chrysin, N-Hydroxysuccinimide, Palmitoyl Tetrapeptide-3, Oxido Reductases, Silica Dimethyl Silylate, Glyceryl Oleate, Dipeptide-2, Phenoxyethanol, Potassium Sorbate, Iron Oxides (CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499), Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891).


Ingredients in Gessato Eye Treatment Restoring Gel

Water, eleutherococcus senticosus, SD alcohol-40, gycerin, acrylates copolymer, VP/polycarbamyl polyglycol ester, hydrolized rice bran, soybean protein, oxido reductases, hydrolized sesame protein, PC-proplyl methylsilanediol, arginine, carbomer, propylene glycol, triethanolamine, panethol, diazoudinyl urea, propylparaben, methylparaben, EDTA, phenoxyethanol, butylparaben, ethylparaben, isobutylparaben.

  • June 5, 2009

    by Tracy Hynes

    I've been reading your reviews on faitox-25 for lip lines and had a look on their website. The before and after pics of the lines around their eyes are very impressive.
    Would you recommend YBF correct to be better for eye lines than Faitox?
    My friend is getting both - as per your recommendation for lip lines - but I only need for the eyes.

  • April 29, 2009

    by marta

    Sel, if you can afford Correct, you should give it a try. Its great for wrinkles and dark circles - read this review: http://www.truthinaging.com/2009/04/your-best-face-correct-works-on-dark-under-eye-circles.html
    Also read our advice for 20-somethings: http://www.truthinaging.com/category/face/face-skin-care-for-20-somethings/page/2.
    Check out Pevonia's new range for young/problem skin: http://www.truthinaging.com/2009/04/pevonia-botanicas-spateen-for-young-skin-and-20-somethings.html
    Good luck.

  • April 29, 2009

    by sel

    hi everyone,
    i am in my late 20's and i have deep crows feet and dark circles around my eyes. my boyfriend is a couple of year older than me, but everyone thinks he is at least 3 years younger! :(
    i still deal with some acne issues too.
    what would you recommend??
    can't wait to hear from you!

  • February 25, 2009

    by marta

    I started to have lines in my 20s as well. Back then, my idea of skincare was Clinique. I think I would use YBF if I was you. It will be a great investment and there isn't anything in it that would harm young skin.

  • February 25, 2009

    by Elizabeth

    Hi...

    I'm in my early 20s and am wondering if its too early for me to start on YBF correct eye cream, but i do have a couple of fine lines and crows feet and i really hate them... always mistaken for being in my late 20s =(

  • January 2, 2009

    by Sharon Gilmour

    I have been using Derma Radiant Ageless Eyes for about 2 months now and just bought more from their website. The price there is $29 (not $39) and it's worth every penny! They also don't charge for regular postage making this a very economical choice.

Join the discussion! Leave a comment below.

My Comment

Add a comment...

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...