Free shipping on all domestic orders over $39

Five Best Eye Serums

Five Best Eye Serums 2013

September 17, 2013 Reviewed by Marta 17 Comments

Eye serums and eye creams are the most vital weapons in our anti-aging arsenals. I am forever on the look out for the best for firming, lifting and smoothing wrinkles (depuffing and treating dark under eye circles are important bonuses). For my 2013 Five Best eye serums, I am pleased that community endorsed AQ and Your Best Face are still firmly on our roster, while there are three new winners with great quality to price ratios.

  • Amarte Eyeconic Eye Cream

    Amarte Eyeconic Eye Cream ($80 in the shop). I never thought that I would take to retinol in an eye serum, but Amarte, a Korean cosmetic company that we’ve been getting to know, won me over. Retinol is here in Eyconic Eye Cream at a 3.8% concentration, no less. I like Eyeconic’s smoothing and firming effects so much that I would recommend it to anyone with crepey eye area skin issues. I do not find it at all drying or irritating. This is due to a well-balanced formula that includes glycerin and argan oil. There is also epidermal growth factor (EGF) that is nano-encapsulated. I am guessing that this makes the EGF more stable and efficient at penetrating the skin. The botanical extracts in Amarte Eyeconic include ginkgo biloba nut, which has high levels of quercetin, a common and powerful antioxidant. Nutmeg is an antioxidant due to an abundance of myristicin.

  • Nature’s Beauty Bee Venom Eye Serum

    Nature’s Beauty Bee Venom Eye Serum ($49.95). Another very good eye serum it the “around 50 buck” price bracket. Honey bee venom contains at least 18 active substances. These include the peptides melittin and apamin, which are anti-inflammatories. Nature’s Beauty Bee Venom Eye Serum has, like all self-respecting New Zealand beauty products, a good dollop of the country’s famed manuka honey. Easyliance is a formulation of two natural polymers that is supposed to give an instant tightening effect. I think my lids looked a little lifted when wearing this serum. There is also Argireline, the peptide that helps restrict expression lines. For nourishment and hydration, there are fatty-acid-rich evening primrose and avocado oils, plus glycerin and sodium hyaluronate.

  • Your Best Face Correct

    Your Best Face Correct ($150 in the shop). Second place winner in the recent Truth In Aging Reader’s Choice Awards and a long time go-to of mine, Your Best Face Correct is consistently one of the best eye serums out there with ingredients like Syn-Hycan to lift sagging skin. With peptides tetrapeptide-17 and Matrixyl 3000 and powerful radical scavenger hunters, Correct remains one of the most advanced anti-aging eye serums that I know of. Gina credits Your Best Face Correct for keeping her eyelids lifted and not having under eye bags.  Vicky says the product has made the transition from her 50s to 60s more graceful.

  • AQ Eye Serum

    AQ Eye Serum ($99 in the shop). First place winner in our recent Truth In Aging Reader’s Choice Awards and deservedy so. As Bess said: after using the eye serum for a year, she stopped using under-eye concealer altogether. The skin beneath her yes is firm and bright. Although great for under eye circles, it also depuffs, firms and smooths wrinkles. The key active is AQ’s human fibroblast conditioned media. This contains growth factors – specifically, TGF-Beta, GM-CSF and PDGF. There are peptides, including Matrixyl 3000, and no less than three ingredients that depuff the eyes and reduce dark circles.

  • Michael Todd True Organics Intensive Organic Cream Eye Treatment

    Michael Todd True Organics Intensive Organic Cream Eye Treatment ($38). A rare eye cream with copper peptides and at a great price to quality ratio. Copper peptides’ anti-aging actions are backed up by botanical antioxidants in rooibos tea, pomegranate and acai. Ensuring it is a good all rounder, Michael Todd has added Eyeliss at 3% and Haloxyl at 3% for helping dark under eye circles and puffiness. As JustD put it: “It is a very good eye cream treatment that is affordable and is giving me the type of results I have been hoping for in a very balanced way.

  • July 17, 2014

    by Virginia

    I have been searching for a product to try for my eye puffiness . So I am willing to try this product to see if it will work for me. Thanks.

  • January 9, 2014

    by Betty

    I just turned 64 in December but have been told that I do not look that old. I try to take care of my skin and have tried several antiaging products. I really need a boost that would tighten the skin, help with puffiness. I would like to try this if given the opportunity. I am looking into purchasing the led light and sonic antiaging device from your shop. Just looking at all the pros and cons on the different devices.

  • October 14, 2013

    by Marta Wohrle

    Thank you for bringing this to our attention Lisa, it has now been fixed

  • October 6, 2013

    by Mia Gordon

    Im the author of Natural Home Made Skin Care Recipes and I make lots of serums that contain vitamin C, and many other regenerating anti-aging ingredients made from all natural ingredients. I like using rose hip and carrot seed oil as a base and add other ingredients to this base :)

  • October 2, 2013

    by Sunnymay

    Osmotics Eye Surgery and Osmotics Prevage work together to help my undereye bags, circles and make me look more awake overall like bright eyed and bushy-tailed. Haven't tried any of the above, but would be willing to try to get my eyes looking great and have it last longer.

  • October 2, 2013

    by Cynthia

    I would love to try this!

    Thanks

  • October 2, 2013

    by Carolyn

    I would love to try this device! I already use the Michael Todd eye cream and the scrub that I received in the last Discover with Marta collection. I am very impressed with the results and I love the organic ingredients. I'm very excited at the prospect of trying this device! Thanks for the opportunity. :)

  • October 1, 2013

    by Kai W.

    My eyes makes me look old. I would love to try something that works.

  • October 1, 2013

    by Sophie

    Crepey eyes are creeping up on me! Would love to give the Eye-O-Sonic a try!

  • October 1, 2013

    by Julie

    Just left a comment, but not sure if it posted. I am currently using ultra renew, and it is awesome. This would be perfect to use with. I know it will work

  • October 1, 2013

    by Julie

    I would absolutely love to try this devise. I currently use the ultra renew, and love love love it. This would be perfect to use with

  • October 1, 2013

    by Adele

    At that age I'm starting to notice lines around my eyes and a more sunken appearance.... Would love to test the Michael Todd Eye-o-sonic.... Thanks for the great info as I'm also very concerned about the ingredients in my cosmetics/skincare. Will def try one of these after I finish my LOL :)

  • October 1, 2013

    by Diane

    This is the first time I'm entering to test and review a product. I read on the cover page about the Michael Todd gadget and I hope this is the correct location to state why I would love to test and review this product.

    I am a beauty fanatic and love everything about the beauty industry. I'm a Beauty Influencer for Vogue, Elle, Marie Claire, Allure, Lucky, to name a few and often test and review products sent to me by companies who produce skincare, cosmetics, hair products, new gadgets, such as Nuface Trinity, etc. I am always searching for the next best skincare product and am constantly researching what products and procedures are in development or soon to be released that will aid in restoring youthfulness to one's skin, particularly the face.

    I've tried most of the high end skincare and cosmetic lines and as such, can write excellent reviews of new products, comparing them to those I've already used. Many products are good but what is the purpose of testing and reviewing products to recommend to your readers unless the reviewer can compare and contrast the new product to what is already available on the market, what qualities distinguish the new product from all the others, for better or worse.

    I have NO affiliation with any beauty company, do NOT get paid to review any products and write extremely honest assessments. Especially in these difficult economic times, when most people have limited funds to spend on beauty items, your readers are depending on the knowledge of the reviewer to determine what products to purchase. I know I could do a great job writing informed reviews for your blog and your readers.

    Thank you for giving your readers these wonderful opportunities to test and review so many terrific beauty products.

  • October 1, 2013

    by Laura

    The ingredients in the Michael Todd eye cream look lovely and compelling. I'm nearing 40 and have a 3 month old so my under eye area has seen better days! I'm currently using 100% pure's caffeine eye cream and am finding that I need something with a bit more heft, so I would love to try this eye cream. Thanks, TIA!

  • October 1, 2013

    by Kath

    I would love to try this Marta!

  • September 17, 2013

    by lisa

    Michael Todd True Organics Intensive Organic Cream Eye Treatment is not available at the 15% discount.

  • September 17, 2013

    by Michelle K

    AQ eye serum is my favorite and I don't think anything would even compare !
    Thank you Marta for the list and mostly thank you for introducing me to AQ products.

Join the discussion! Leave a comment below.

My Comment

Add a comment...

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...